• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

What's happening in the Bendigo Football League

Junky, i know Shawn and his family quite well and i know that travel and being away from his family was always in the back of their minds when he took the job. I believe that things have changed slightly both in a business and a footy club stance. Shawn is a great man and if he has decided to leave Balranald then thee must be a huge reason for it. We all must rememer that family and life after football are so bloody important. Goodluck to him and if he decides to play with Derek and his clearance is granted i think it would be a fantastic story for them as a family and for the BFL in general. Goodluck Shawn :thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:

Roota if you say you know the family quite well could you answer this question.

Is it true that shawns wife is extremely ill and will need to spend considerable time in Bendigo for treatment hence making his decision to leave easier?

Roota if you say you know the family quite well could you answer this question.

Is it true that shawns wife is extremely ill and will need to spend considerable time in Bendigo for treatment hence making his decision to leave easier?

Dont think we need to go there with personal stuff on this forum.

As a club Balranald seems happy to be dictated to by the number 1 sponsor, has this gone on for a long time, and what will happen if this fella pulls out of the club? If the coach aint got 100% control of the playing side of things then its a truly commendable decision walking away for what you believe in I reckon :thumbsu: I read somewhere that the late recruitment of Jase Dennis was the final straw, I hope that wasn't the reason?

Dont think we need to go there with personal stuff on this forum.

As a club Balranald seems happy to be dictated to by the number 1 sponsor, has this gone on for a long time, and what will happen if this fella pulls out of the club? If the coach aint got 100% control of the playing side of things then its a truly commendable decision walking away for what you believe in I reckon :thumbsu: I read somewhere that the late recruitment of Jase Dennis was the final straw, I hope that wasn't the reason?

settle down doona not having a crack at them merely asking roota if he knows the family if this could be the case. i don't think that is being offensive to anyone. that is a rumour that is going on up around mildura way and was keen to know if it strue. is that alright with you?

will brad wright get a gig in the south ones this sat
after all the bloods and the hurst are playing for the graeme wright trophy and graeme was brad's Dad
:confused:on another game --- how come flat and the burra seniors have to play sunday is that becoz they stretch out all the games --- juniors and netty combined --- to last 2 days for the herby milburn/johnny squires shield :confused:

Brad Wright would definatley get a game this week, not just because the game pays respect to his father but also because he is a highly respected player within the club and certainly a valuable contributer within the seniors. however, he wont play due to an ankle injury that also kept him out of the north city game

settle down doona not having a crack at them merely asking roota if he knows the family if this could be the case. i don't think that is being offensive to anyone. that is a rumour that is going on up around mildura way and was keen to know if it strue. is that alright with you?

Fine with me gloved 1, have just seen uneccessary things get pretty personal on other threads thats all :thumbsu:

have also noticed on the CMFL thread that my question was answered by someone else claiming they are from balranald and that filo's decision is based on the illness of his wife, and i didn't even ask the question on that thread.

Well they should just grant the clearance and let it go if that is the case. I know Shawn and he is not the type of bloke to be playing games. If he wants to leave because of some bloke who thinks he owns the club - well that is what I'd expect, you might buy the bloke's services, but you will never buy his soul.

That is aside from business and family issues.

Better to walk away with your dignity intact and let Shawn play out his career with his brother in a different league than face the prospect of never being able to get another decent recruit again I say.

Fair enough, i respect the bloke for standing up and sticking to his principles. And i think whats happened down at the club is fu*^ed up! But if Shawn wasn't playing games with the club, then why doesn't he just come out and say.... "I would like to leave the club because of family and business issues!"

Can everyone move on from the S Filo crap please.... it's become boring.

Tips for Round 10

South B v Sandhurst - Dragons >30

I've doubted South all year, and they didn't change my opinion with their "lucky win" against North City. North had 18 scoring shots to 17, yet lost by 9pts. What if....

Gisborne v Cmaine - Gisborne >60

At the graveyard, no chance for the Pies. Was impressed by what I saw of them against Square last week though....

Kyenton v Maryborough - A draw

No reason for this tip... I just don't care about this game really.

North City v Golden Square - Square <30

If this was on the wide spaces of Austar Arena, I'd be tipping North... but it's at the "neutral" and small Princes Park, so since Square like small grounds, I'll tip them.

KFlat v Eaglehawk - Hawks >150

Saw their game against Gissy and was very impressed. BFL Yardstick.

If this was on the wide spaces of Austar Arena, I'd be tipping North... but it's at the "neutral" and small Princes Park, so since Square like small grounds, I'll tip them.

quote]

seams like an interesting comment to make when north are yet to win on the wide spaces of austar arena, and yet have been able to suffocate there opposition for large portions of there last two matches on tighter grounds.... if the weather plays out the way it has been predicted i cant see this match having a final margin of more than a few goals... north by a kick

quote]

seams like an interesting comment to make when north are yet to win on the wide spaces of austar arena, and yet have been able to suffocate there opposition for large portions of there last two matches on tighter grounds.... if the weather plays out the way it has been predicted i cant see this match having a final margin of more than a few goals... north by a kick

They'll be lucky to get a kick

nice to see your taking recent form into account with that statement

If i was taking recent form into the statement i'd say they'd be getting heaps of kicks. No point gloating about the last few weeks mate, just my opinion but i reckon they'll cop a hiding tomorrow, looking forward to observing from the sidelines with beer in hand!

im not so much gloating as i am pointing out that north are a much improved side from the last time the 2 sides met... i cant see it being a hiding in the wet conditions that will face the players tomorrow, and gotta say the city boys will surely have the advantage over the rest of the league in the wet and cold weather cos god knows we're used to it haha

Got me on that one! I am just looking forward to seeing more of a contest than the drubbing that occured last year, should be a good game

far better chance of seeing a contest at princes park tomorrow then we would have if it was played at austar... can almost say now that if this rain continues the ballarat boys wont be playin another home game at austar as the surface retains far too much water and wont dry out in the near future... and this is probably the best news the side could be given as i cant see any advantage playing on an oval that every week without fail blows a gale

Can everyone move on from the S Filo crap please.... it's become boring.

Tips for Round 10

South B v Sandhurst - Dragons >30

I've doubted South all year, and they didn't change my opinion with their "lucky win" against North City. North had 18 scoring shots to 17, yet lost by 9pts. What if....

Gisborne v Cmaine - Gisborne >60

At the graveyard, no chance for the Pies. Was impressed by what I saw of them against Square last week though....

Kyenton v Maryborough - A draw

No reason for this tip... I just don't care about this game really.

KFlat v Eaglehawk - Hawks >150

Saw their game against Gissy and was very impressed. BFL Yardstick.
tigers will win with ease

Nice work from the goat in todays addy, having Ollie Messoudi as the number 1 player in the comp at the moment. There were a few blokes on this thread that potted Ollie earlier in the year, suggesting he was overated.

Also good to see big man Jason Duff-Tytler in the goats top 20, another bloke that was written off by some .

X's Tips for Round 10

South v Sandhurst - Dragons <20 points only cos of the rain

Like Dr K i think the South are very over rated this year!!! Only thing that will save the south from a belting will be the rain

Gisborne v Cmaine - Gisborne - 40 points

Gisborne wont lose a game at the graveyard all year! Cmaine have been very up and down this year, i think they will put in a gallant effort.

Kyenton v Maryborough - Kyenton - 10 points

Kyenton will win at home in front of a crowd small crowd of no more than 20 people! Seriously who would want to go to this game!!!!!

North City v Golden Square - North - 15 points

I cant wait to see how the young fellers go against a confidence riddled Square. Interesting to note South B flogged Square by 6 goals earlier in the season and North got within 9 points and from all reports should have won! Playing at Maryborough were North played last week, i am going with the stats here... North play well at Maryborough and got closer to South than Square did! I love taking a chance, come on young fellers!

KFlat v Eaglehawk - Hawks >100

Eaglehawk - Enough said!!!

Nice work from the goat in todays addy, having Ollie Messoudi as the number 1 player in the comp at the moment. There were a few blokes on this thread that potted Ollie earlier in the year, suggesting he was overated.

Also good to see big man Jason Duff-Tytler in the goats top 20, another bloke that was written off by some .
respect there bears boy, been very impressed with ollie. as hard at it as they come.

The Dragons won by 32 points this afternoon... although should have pumped South by 60 points or more for two reasons:

1. They had 32 shots to 20... did not kick straight!
2. Brady Childs and his mates were in Bali for the week!

Still... a win is a win and it puts the Slagheads in the top 4...:thumbsu:

p.s. Mitrovic played a full game in the reserves and killed 'em. He'll be back in full flight for Golden Square game next week, as will N Gilliland.

The Dragons won by 32 points this afternoon... although should have pumped South by 60 points or more for two reasons:

1. They had 32 shots to 20... did not kick straight!
2. Brady Childs and his mates were in Bali for the week!

Still... a win is a win and it puts the Slagheads in the top 3...:thumbsu:

p.s. Mitrovic played a full game in the reserves and killed 'em. He'll be back in full flight for Golden Square game next week, as will N Gilliland.

according to the radio South got back with 7 points and had Rick Coburn nailed a goal would have been a strong chance to win so that analysis would appear to far different to yours.
South are capable of beating all sides in this competition but are lacking the consistency to be considered a Premiership AT THIS STAGE. I still reckon there is a fair bit of improvement left in them.
Gisbourne would still be a slight favourite to win this years flag for mine kicked 10.17 last week and got nutted by 2 goals on the Borough's home ground there still travelling alright.