• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

What's happening in the Bendigo Football League

ah yeah g'day valued big footy posters. just wondering what is everyones thoughts on this weeks round of bfl footy. here are my tips and i am open for suggestions.
eaglehawk vs GISBORNE
KYNETON vs kangaroo flat
castlemaine vs SANDHURST
MARYBOROUGH vs north city
SOUTH BENDIGO vs golden square

hope you all have a good day at the footy. have a hot dog for the WEED. WEIDEMAN OUT!

bearsboy said:
Gisborne by 39 Kyneton by 42 Castlemaine by 40 odd
Ive just returned home from canterbury park ,were i watched a pretty good game of footy ,between two of the top sides in the comp ,eaglehawk are a much improved unit this year taking it up to Gisborne for three quarters but couldnt match the physicality of the bulldogs for the whole game , the dogs got out to a 52 point lead at one stage in the last , eventually winning by 39 . Kain Robbins may have had 47 touches last week , i reckon he had about 4 today . as long as Eaglehawk have Nick heath as there no 1 ruckman i dont think they are capable of beating Gisborne any time soon , he may have been handy in his day but his time is long gone , no marks ,1 kick , no handballs ,about 5 hit outs all day and 4 frees against , time to give it up big fella .

bearsboy said:
Ive just returned home from canterbury park ,were i watched a pretty good game of footy ,between two of the top sides in the comp ,eaglehawk are a much improved unit this year taking it up to Gisborne for three quarters but couldnt match the physicality of the bulldogs for the whole game , the dogs got out to a 52 point lead at one stage in the last , eventually winning by 39 . Kain Robbins may have had 47 touches last week , i reckon he had about 4 today . as long as Eaglehawk have Nick heath as there no 1 ruckman i dont think they are capable of beating Gisborne any time soon , he may have been handy in his day but his time is long gone , no marks ,1 kick , no handballs ,about 5 hit outs all day and 4 frees against , time to give it up big fella .

how did matty gretrix go? has been in good form of late.

The Talking Goat said:
really looking forward to today's clash at the Q. could go either way i reckon. south bendigo must win some respect back after last week. square will be tough to beat though.

Should be a cracker Goat, south must be itching to get back on board after last week's disaster. Few ominous looking clouds hanging around bendigo, who do you think a wet ground would favour (if anyone) today?

spoke4923 said:
Should be a cracker Goat, south must be itching to get back on board after last week's disaster. Few ominous looking clouds hanging around bendigo, who do you think a wet ground would favour (if anyone) today?
congratulations to nick knight on his five goals today. very impressive. kicked a couple of crackers in the last quarter. good on him, the goat has put him under a bit of pressure in the first two weeks and he responded when it counted.

How do we rate the contenders at this stage? Golden Square's round one win over Gisborne a deceiving form guide or did last week's big effort over the dragons take too much out of the dogs? Is it still a case of Gisborne then daylight?

spoke4923 said:
How do we rate the contenders at this stage? Golden Square's round one win over Gisborne a deceiving form guide or did last week's big effort over the dragons take too much out of the dogs? Is it still a case of Gisborne then daylight?
Spoke my friend, i believe gisborne is still clearly the team to beat. have been good in the past two weeks against teams seen as big threats to them - south bendigo and eaglehawk.
gisborne still way out in front, then take your pick out of square, eaglehawk and south.
south was very good in downing golden square today, but face a massive game against eaglehawk this week. that promises to be an absolute corker of a match. maybe after that we may get just a little big better understanding on where everything is at. but lets' remember fellas, still very early in the season.
Some quick odds on the flag
$3.40 Gisborne
$9 South Bendigo
$14 Eaglehawk
$15 Golden Square
$100 Castlemaine
$101 Sandhurst
$160 Kyneton
$185 Maryborough
$480 North City
$500 Kangaroo Flat

The Talking Goat said:
Spoke my friend, i believe gisborne is still clearly the team to beat. have been good in the past two weeks against teams seen as big threats to them - south bendigo and eaglehawk.
gisborne still way out in front, then take your pick out of square, eaglehawk and south.
south was very good in downing golden square today, but face a massive game against eaglehawk this week. that promises to be an absolute corker of a match. maybe after that we may get just a little big better understanding on where everything is at. but lets' remember fellas, still very early in the season.
Some quick odds on the flag
$3.40 Gisborne
$9 South Bendigo
$14 Eaglehawk
$15 Golden Square
$100 Castlemaine
$101 Sandhurst
$160 Kyneton
$185 Maryborough
$480 North City
$500 Kangaroo Flat

I think i might take the $3.40 you're offering on the dogs there goat. how do those odds compare to your pre season flag odds, just out of interest? i still think the burra are the second best team in the comp. Also, a quick congratulations on the fixturing. Footy on saturday, saturday night and sunday, in my humble opinion, is a cracking concept. along with the pre season comp, it's good to see the powers that be mixing things up. all that's needed now is a heritage and split round!

spoke4923 said:
I think i might take the $3.40 you're offering on the dogs there goat. how do those odds compare to your pre season flag odds, just out of interest? i still think the burra are the second best team in the comp. Also, a quick congratulations on the fixturing. Footy on saturday, saturday night and sunday, in my humble opinion, is a cracking concept. along with the pre season comp, it's good to see the powers that be mixing things up. all that's needed now is a heritage and split round!
I'm prepared to put the $3.40 out there and see what interest I can get. if there is plenty, obviously those odds will be brought in. couldn't agree more, love the mix up in fixturing.
okay fellas, we're now 3 weeks in. what has been the story of the season so far. btw, i just took a $500 dollar bet on gisborne for flag. they have just come into $3.25

The Talking Goat said:
I'm prepared to put the $3.40 out there and see what interest I can get. if there is plenty, obviously those odds will be brought in. couldn't agree more, love the mix up in fixturing.
okay fellas, we're now 3 weeks in. what has been the story of the season so far. btw, i just took a $500 dollar bet on gisborne for flag. they have just come into $3.25

I'll have 500 before they shorten again. The story for mine is the Leigh Rees debacle. South must have put up in excess of 6000 to get him up the highway. He must be feeling a bit of pressure?

spoke4923 said:
I'll have 500 before they shorten again. The story for mine is the Leigh Rees debacle. South must have put up in excess of 6000 to get him up the highway. He must be feeling a bit of pressure?[/quote
No pressure after a 10 goal win pal I think the pressure may be saved for Squares recruits? Martens, Hewitt, Rosa, all very quiet!!

On The Money said:
spoke4923 said:
I'll have 500 before they shorten again. The story for mine is the Leigh Rees debacle. South must have put up in excess of 6000 to get him up the highway. He must be feeling a bit of pressure?[/quote
No pressure after a 10 goal win pal I think the pressure may be saved for Squares recruits? Martens, Hewitt, Rosa, all very quiet!!
I think south would be reasonably happy with rees' first up effort for the bloods. and remember, it didn't cost them $6000 to get him, south got quite a bit of that money back.

The Talking Goat said:
On The Money said:
I think south would be reasonably happy with rees' first up effort for the bloods. and remember, it didn't cost them $6000 to get him, south got quite a bit of that money back.

Should have seen the goal i kicked on saturday.... awesome! baulked around 2 blokes then speared it through from the boundry!

I did the chicken dance after it! Look out seniors here i come!

Josh Mcloud said:
The Talking Goat said:
Should have seen the goal i kicked on saturday.... awesome! baulked around 2 blokes then speared it through from the boundry!

I did the chicken dance after it! Look out seniors here i come!

By the way JMc if your going to snipe do it on this thread and not through private messages. It makes you look like a weak dog.:thumbsdown: :thumbsdown:

Kings Army said:
Josh Mcloud said:
By the way JMc if your going to snipe do it on this thread and not through private messages. It makes you look like a weak dog.:thumbsdown: :thumbsdown:

The only weak dogs i have seen lately were Golden Square on the weekend!

Josh Mcloud said:
Kings Army said:
The only weak dogs i have seen lately were Golden Square on the weekend!

You better hope Brezza doesn't read that comment Josh, It won't help your senior chances.

Giving other sides ammunition after three rounds isn't a smart move, but then again your not a very smart boy.

wobble said:
Josh Mcloud said:
You better hope Brezza doesn't read that comment Josh, It won't help your senior chances.

Giving other sides ammunition after three rounds isn't a smart move, but then again your not a very smart boy.

Ammunition?

If you need a comment made on an "anonymous" website to get you fired up to play footy then you may aswell be playing marbles!

I wasn't having a go at anyone, i was just asking if anyone saw my "goal of the year" on the weekend.... it seems that everything i say on here get dumped on....

I'm a person too you know! i'm a person too!