What's happening in the Bendigo Football League

whats going on lads. Heard nick knight has been burning it up on the track at harry trot oval for the past week or two. Sounds like he's set for a cracker jack year, wouldn't mind lookin at his odds.

journeyman said:
Doona I reckon you might be being a bit harsh. I've been a country footy journalist in the past and it can be tough to keep track of 4 or 5 leagues at once. If i was still doing it I would log onto Big Footy constantly to see what's going on.

Without trying to sound like Matty Pillios, I'm good mates with T. Perry and I'm sure he wouldn't mind.
All the best with your (many) coaching roles

Spent 5 years in the newspaper caper meself mate, and the first thing I woulda done was at least contacted Tav or a club official to confirm it or at least say a story was being published. The Shepp News boys are also using Big Footy as a tool and theyd be mad not to but why not at least give credit to the source, whether it be a T.Perry, a C.Nolan or "as read on the best source of country football gossip bigfooty.com" . . . . thats all Im saying.

Bigger Bulldogs ready to bite back
Luke West
Saturday, 25 February 2006

THERE is a sense of unfinished business as Golden Square approaches the 2006 All Seasons Bendigo Football-Netball League season.

For all but two weeks of the home and away season last year, the Bulldogs occupied a position in the top three.

But after losing their last three games of the season, the Bulldogs fell to fourth and were subsequently beaten by South Bendigo by 45 points in the elimination final after looking near-certainties to have the double chance for the majority of the season.

It was a disappointing end to a season that had promised plenty, especially after wins over top-two sides Gisborne and Castlemaine in rounds seven and eight.

"Our last month of footy was disappointing - we lost three of the last four games and due to some key injuries, our depth was tested," Golden Square spokesman Brock Pinner said yesterday.

"We had a few injuries to key guys at that time; Aaron Hawkins was out, Mark Lloyd, Brendan Fraser and Darren Walsh (coach) were out for a few games as well, so leading into the finals, we didn't have the best preparation.

"But at the same time, we didn't have enough depth, although you can't cover that calibre of player.

"We think we've been able to recruit a bit of depth this year so if we do get one or two injuries like that, we will be able to cover it," Pinner said.

"But if you get injuries to four quality players like we did, it certainly is difficult.

"We think we were better than where we were finished last year, so we think there is unfinished business," he said.

"We've prepared ourselves well this year and we think we're ready to have a good crack at it.

"Our younger guys around the club are all a year older and have had a taste of senior football.

"We will be looking to guys like Stacey Fiske, Adrian McErvale, Matt Klien-Brettler and Brenton O'Connell to contuinue their development into solid senior players."The number one area the Bulldogs needed to address over the pre-season was height, and they appear to have done that well.

Among the new recruits who have been cleared to Country Vet Oval are Matt Tyrell (from White Hills), Luke Rosa (Warrack Eagles), Chris Bell (Wycheproof-Narraport), Jason Curtain (Bendigo Bombers), Jason Hewitt (Nullawil) and Wes Pye (Lake Boga), who all stand over six-foot tall.

"Looking back to last year we didn't have enough tall blokes to match up against some taller oppositions, who regulary had several guys over six-foot three," Pinner said.

"Our major focus for our recruiting has been getting a bit more height and adding a bit more depth, and we're very happy with what we've been able to come up with.

"The addition of Chris Martens from Port MacQuarie should also add a bit to our midfield."Walsh is embarking on his third year at the helm of the Bulldogs, while Phillip Walsh will coach the reserves and Jamie Hogan the under-18s.

The Bulldogs have a tough first-up assignment when they host reigning premier Gisborne on Saturday, April 15. Golden Square was the only team to beat Gisborne last year.

Doona2 said:
Spent 5 years in the newspaper caper meself mate, and the first thing I woulda done was at least contacted Tav or a club official to confirm it or at least say a story was being published. The Shepp News boys are also using Big Footy as a tool and theyd be mad not to but why not at least give credit to the source, whether it be a T.Perry, a C.Nolan or "as read on the best source of country football gossip bigfooty.com" . . . . thats all Im saying.

Doona - I'm in the legal game. For someone who likes to have a crack at journos for not revealing sources, I hope you've got the green light from the Advertiser to post their footy stories on this website.

As for Port Adelaide, it's still cricket season. P. Burgoyne went okay though.

Gareth Keenan said:
Doona - I'm in the legal game. For someone who likes to have a crack at journos for not revealing sources, I hope you've got the green light from the Advertiser to post their footy stories on this website.

As for Port Adelaide, it's still cricket season. P. Burgoyne went okay though.

Me and everyone else Gareth!!! Mate every news item I post onto Big Footy always has the publication and if possible the journalist to give them added exposure outside their readership area.

Didnt mean to have a crack if thats the way you read into it, would just like to see this wonderful website grow and get a bit of a pump up thru the media outlets.

Doona2 said:
Me and everyone else Gareth!!! Mate every news item I post onto Big Footy always has the publication and if possible the journalist to give them added exposure outside their readership area.

Didnt mean to have a crack if thats the way you read into it, would just like to see this wonderful website grow and get a bit of a pump up thru the media outlets.

I too publish newspaper articles on our club website. Am I wrong in thinking that acknowledgement of source, date and author is sufficient recognition for legal purposes?

I have been following the transfers pretty closely and it always seems to be interesting that clubs reject players wishes to play at another club. Obviously they would like them to stay at their club and say that they are required players but if the player does not want to play there is there any point trying to hang on to them? Wouldn't it be better long term to work the problem out verbally and even if it is reluctantly, clear them so they might return in the future.

Grimmett said:
I too publish newspaper articles on our club website. Am I wrong in thinking that acknowledgement of source, date and author is sufficient recognition for legal purposes?

I didn't mean to scare you, Charlie.
I wouldn't think the newspapers will take any action, but for your own benefit it would be nice to have something in writing in case something happens down the track.

No fee for the legal advice.

If any of you guys are in Ballarat can you give me an update on Contessa at North City.
I wouldn't mind having a crack with Pickles on Contessa for the Michelsen.

Righto my fellow punters out there in Big Footy land, we've had a look at the premiership market, we've had a glance at the Michelsen Medal, let's now have a look at the betting for the Ron Best Medal.
Here's how I see it:
Luke Beattie $4.80
Kain Robins $6
Phillip Lobb $8
Matt O'Toole $8.50
Mark Fitzgerald $12
Damien Brown $14
Marty Shadbolt $17
Reed Wills $18
Matt Gretgrix $22
Luke Saunders $26
Matt Stagg $28
Wayne Eve $30
Wayne Mitrovic $32
Derrick Filo $33
Danny O'Bree $40
Darren Walsh $48
Matt Knox $52
Brett Cook $53
Nick Night $55
Brad Else $58
Stuart Crameri $65
Jake Matthews $66
Alexander Collins $67
Shane Davis $70
Brendan Fraser $70
Troy Auld $75
Darren Farrugia $80
Mark Austin $85

Picklesmeoldmate said:
Righto my fellow punters out there in Big Footy land, we've had a look at the premiership market, we've had a glance at the Michelsen Medal, let's now have a look at the betting for the Ron Best Medal.
Here's how I see it:
Luke Beattie $4.80
Kain Robins $6
Phillip Lobb $8
Matt O'Toole $8.50
Mark Fitzgerald $12
Damien Brown $14
Marty Shadbolt $17
Reed Wills $18
Matt Gretgrix $22
Luke Saunders $26
Matt Stagg $28
Wayne Eve $30
Wayne Mitrovic $32
Derrick Filo $33
Danny O'Bree $40
Darren Walsh $48
Matt Knox $52
Brett Cook $53
Nick Night $55
Brad Else $58
Stuart Crameri $65
Jake Matthews $66
Alexander Collins $67
Shane Davis $70
Brendan Fraser $70
Troy Auld $75
Darren Farrugia $80
Mark Austin $85

I'll put $100 on Auld and Collins! Thanks pickles. I think you have overrated Beattie and Lobb though!

Picklesmeoldmate said:
Here's how I see it:
Luke Beattie $4.80
Kain Robins $6
Phillip Lobb $8
Matt O'Toole $8.50
Mark Fitzgerald $12
Damien Brown $14
Marty Shadbolt $17
Reed Wills $18
Matt Gretgrix $22
Luke Saunders $26
Matt Stagg $28
Wayne Eve $30
Wayne Mitrovic $32
Derrick Filo $33
Danny O'Bree $40
Darren Walsh $48
Matt Knox $52
Brett Cook $53
Nick Night $55
Brad Else $58
Stuart Crameri $65
Jake Matthews $66
Alexander Collins $67
Shane Davis $70
Brendan Fraser $70
Troy Auld $75
Darren Farrugia $80
Mark Austin $85

Seems that there is a lot of toungue in cheek there. What about the Flag market Picklesmeoldmate?

You Beauty!! said:
Seems that there is a lot of toungue in cheek there. What about the Flag market Picklesmeoldmate?
You beauty my fellow Big Footy forumer. There is being no tongue in cheek there at all mate, that's honestly what I think. There already is a flag market that has been posted on previous pages that you can have a punt on. If you would like to throw in some multiples, i'm prepared to offer a market on that. who would you back in that goalkicking market my fellow follower of football.

Picklesmeoldmate said:
You beauty my fellow Big Footy forumer. There is being no tongue in cheek there at all mate, that's honestly what I think. There already is a flag market that has been posted on previous pages that you can have a punt on. If you would like to throw in some multiples, i'm prepared to offer a market on that. who would you back in that goalkicking market my fellow follower of football.

My apologies oldmate. Due to my excitement of being a new member i didn't read the full quote and missed that it was the goalkicking not the michelson. Keep up the great work you seem to know most players in the BFL. My money would be with yours, Beattie?

You Beauty!! said:
My apologies oldmate. Due to my excitement of being a new member i didn't read the full quote and missed that it was the goalkicking not the michelson. Keep up the great work you seem to know most players in the BFL. My money would be with yours, Beattie?
Apology accepted my friend, no hard feelings. I'm glad to see you have joined the Big Footy family. I have left Steven Reaper off the list because according to a report in this morning's paper, it's unlikely he will pull the boots on for kyneton. And if he does happen to play, i don't think he would be abe to play enough games because of his roles with the VCFL to be a serious challenger for the goalkicking medal. but we all know how good a player he is, so you never know. my reasons for selecting beattie at the top is that he is they key focal point up forward in what i believe is going to be a very good south bendigo outfit this year. there is going to be a lot of ball going into the bloods attacking 50 this year and i get the feeling beattie is going to be on the end of a lot of them. he showed last year he is capable of kicking big bags of goals, and i think there's going to be more of it this year. How about we get some forumers to toss up some ideas on who they may think could be some of the leading contenders for the rising star award this year. adam pokrvosky is probably out of contention, but from what i hear from down gisborne way, is absolutely flying on the track at the moment. i'm going toi bring him into $24 on my michelsen medal market. my preferred multiples at this stage of the season are gisborne for the flag into kain robins for the michelsen medal into luke beattie for the ron best medal at odds of $14, which presents reasonable value.

Russ74 said:
What is Reaper's role with the VCFL?
The paper said he is tied up with the VCFL selection committee for the team to play in the country championships. i guess that means he has to spend a lot of weekends going to various venues and keping an eye on the players who are travelling well. it's a pity we probably won't see him because he is a great player that i enjoyed watching. if he was playing, he would be about $1.90 for the ron best medal.

Big Bundy Reaper is an accountant by profession as I understand it, but he's obviously studying after hours to get higher quals.
Newspaper article said today he's also building a house -- or having one built, more like it.
He's employed by the VCFL. Also a selector for the VCFL team which will contest this year's Aussie country footie titles on the Gold Coast in July.
So he'll have to attend each of the 4 inter-league carnivals this year: most of May and early June.
Never know, could be a gun player going around in the Div. 4 titles in the Yarra Valley who the selectors can slot into the Big V side.
Reaps booted 37 goals for Kyneton last year after resuming from retirement (September 2004). Came back agst. Maryboro in Round 8, 2005.

Picklesmeoldmate said:
Here's how I see it:
Luke Beattie $4.80
Kain Robins $6
Phillip Lobb $8
Matt O'Toole $8.50
Mark Fitzgerald $12
Damien Brown $14
Marty Shadbolt $17
Reed Wills $18
Matt Gretgrix $22
Luke Saunders $26
Matt Stagg $28
Wayne Eve $30
Wayne Mitrovic $32
Derrick Filo $33
Danny O'Bree $40
Darren Walsh $48
Matt Knox $52
Brett Cook $53
Nick Night $55
Brad Else $58
Stuart Crameri $65
Jake Matthews $66
Alexander Collins $67
Shane Davis $70
Brendan Fraser $70
Troy Auld $75
Darren Farrugia $80
Mark Austin $85

I'd definitely chuck some money on Jake Matthews at $66 if he was still playing. I'll have $50 on Luke Saunders at good odds and I know he's not there so we'll just say you've got him on heaps, so I'll have $200 on Matty Fitzgerald of Gisborne

Top work on the markets pickles, though i did notice wayne Eve at $30. Surely they're huge unders? Anyway, what odds on a South-Mark Fitzgerald (Michelsen)- Luke Beattie (Ron Best) triple? Put me down for $20

Does anyone know anything about some of the unkown recruits for G square this year? We know a bit about Rosa, Tyrrell and Curtain, but what about some of their other new talls like Pye, Hewitt, and what about Martens, they say he's handy enough too! Does anyone know?

spoke4923 said:
Top work on the markets pickles, though i did notice wayne Eve at $30. Surely they're huge unders? Anyway, what odds on a South-Mark Fitzgerald (Michelsen)- Luke Beattie (Ron Best) triple? Put me down for $20
I'll give you $25 for that multiple spoke. I can't see Fitzgerald winning the Michelsen Medal this year, so that's what blows those odds out a bit. He is a good player though and he will kick 50 + goals this year, but don't know if he will poll enough votes. I admit mistakes when I make them, and yes, I had jake Matthews in the ron best medal betting when he is obviously playing with the bombers. wayne eve is at $30 because there obviously has to be questions about him playing enough games to win the medal. that's my reasoning behind that.

I know a bit about Pye for Golden Square. Big strong player. Similar to Tony Plim with a lot more talent, is the perfect addition to the doggies line up. They will have to be a chance this year.

What about Dillon Anderson for the Michelson, if not then Rudy Hawkins would be my next choice.

The Nest said:
I know a bit about Pye for Golden Square. Big strong player. Similar to Tony Plim with a lot more talent, is the perfect addition to the doggies line up. They will have to be a chance this year.

What about Dillon Anderson for the Michelson, if not then Rudy Hawkins would be my next choice.

Geez you've given Wes Pye a bit of a rap there nesty!!! T Plim has been the premier ruckman in the district for the past decade.
As for Dillon Anderson he's been down for a few years through injury & form and i have no doubt he can return to the form which saw him make the VCFL squad in 2002. I think he's currently getting over a stress fracture in his foot.

As for Aaron Hawkins he had a steller 2005 and was a roughie for last years Michelson.....apparently he's been flying on the track and is looking forward to just enjoying his footy after having a stint as Ass Coach.....
Good bet.