Where does Marcus Bontempelli sit in the players of this era

I’m sure you mean classy and elegant. A stand out hairstyle in the league among the riff raff of unemployable looking mullets.
I am not talking today but 2014-2019, he did rock a manbun.

Bont's game improved since he went for a more normal hairstyle.

The football public really has to stop giving prestige to the Brownlow as the ultimate individual prize. On a weekly basis think the umpires are poor judges of football, yet elevate their opinions in this. People who are fatigued running around with a limited view of the game. It's a little bit stupid.
It's not so much the umpires voting but more due to the flaws of the voting system.

I would happily place him second to Ablett this century. More strings on his bow than Ablett, but Abletts bow was more finely tuned.

Doubtful. Ablett was better IMO. Undoubtably the best of his era which included a peak Franklin.

Bont has always had 1 or 2 guys you could argue were having a better year than him over the journey.

**misread your post 😅

For all the talk of the lack of a Brownlow, Bont is well and truly on his way to the most career votes by any player. He needs 93 more votes to overtake GAJ and should move into the top 10-11 this season.

Assuming he racks up 25-30 this season, another 2-3 elite seasons will have him challenging very soon which is possible given he’s still 28. I hope he has Pendlebury like durability and can play in a less intensive role and last until his mid 30’s.

Since he entered the AFL he is the second best behind GAJ.

Has suffered from playing in a team with a weird list build. Had he played for a more balanced team he’d have 2+ Brownlow and probably be considered one of the best of all time.

For careers since 2000 - GAJ, Franklin, Martin, Dangerfield, Pendlebury, Judd IMO are the most likely walk up legend selections on playing careers alone and sit above Bont right now. Pavlich and Enright should sit in this category as well IMO, but I'm less sure with their selections.

Bont is probably in the Selwood, Hodge, Swan, Gawn, Pavlich, Enright, N Riewoldt, Hawkins, J Riewoldt, Gray category right now as future Club Legends, AFL Hall of Famers and possible AFL Legends. These players have exceptional varied accolades but careers may have some gaps such as either AA selections (Hodge, J Riewoldt, Gray), modern longevity/games played (Bont, Gawn, Swan, Gray), best midfielder season Brownlow/AFLCA/AFLPA (Selwood), premiership (Pavlich, N Riewoldt, Gray), Goals (Hawkins) or being a defender (Enright)

Assuming he gets his sixth AA this year then in Bont's case its longevity needing probably at least three more high performing seasons (around 300 games) to attempt to move the needle on that legend discussion.

How much money does adelaide brisbane gcs gc sydney gws freo and wc pay for their home stadium developments??

You get crap timeslots because you dont draw audiences on tv or crowds at the games. You get the appropriate gametime slots that is best for business.

You are a financially responsible and independent club?? Dont make me laugh. This is an article from 2022 in the age:

A report from The Ageshows the league’s variable funding of clubs from 2012 to 2021, with a huge $100 million gap between the top (GWS) and bottom club (Collingwood).

Including 2021 estimates, the Giants reportedly received $203 million in funding since 2012, leading the Suns ($198m), Brisbane Lions ($160m), St Kilda ($156m), Western Bulldogs ($139m), North Melbourne ($134m) then Melbourne ($132m).
The fact you had to come on this thread about the indomitable Marcus Bontempelli, not give him any credit and try and pour crap on our club shows your calibre and insecurity.

For careers since 2000 - GAJ, Franklin, Martin, Dangerfield, Pendlebury, Judd IMO are the most likely walk up legend selections on playing careers alone and sit above Bont right now. Pavlich and Enright should sit in this category as well IMO, but I'm less sure with their selections.

Bont is probably in the Selwood, Hodge, Swan, Gawn, Pavlich, Enright, N Riewoldt, Hawkins, J Riewoldt, Gray category right now as future Club Legends, AFL Hall of Famers and possible AFL Legends. These players have exceptional varied accolades but careers may have some gaps such as either AA selections (Hodge, J Riewoldt, Gray), modern longevity/games played (Bont, Gawn, Swan, Gray), best midfielder season Brownlow/AFLCA/AFLPA (Selwood), premiership (Pavlich, N Riewoldt, Gray), Goals (Hawkins) or being a defender (Enright)

Assuming he gets his sixth AA this year then in Bont's case its longevity needing probably at least three more high performing seasons (around 300 games) to attempt to move the needle on that legend discussion.
100% agree with what you said. Well written and explained

Him alongside Petracca, Oliver, Curnow, Miller have taken over from the Dusty, Fyfe, Dangerfield era.

Is the best player in the game, Potentially the best player to play at his club (Whitten and Grant are the only 2 dogs I feel you can make a case for)

Did have a shit hairstyle for the first 5 or so years in his AFL career.

Whitten is the best self publicist to have played the game. He was not a primo player.

Gary Dempsey is probably the best Dog I’ve seen play. Bont would be somewhere in the top five.

Of players drafted since 2000, I reckon Ablett and Franklin are a clear 1 and 2. Then there is a group that includes Judd, Martin and Dangerfield. I would now have Bont as part of that group. Next group is guys like Riewoldt, Hodge, Pendles, Stewart, Pavlich, Gawn, Selwood, Fyfe, Swan ect.

I expect him to overtake Danger and could finish as high as number 3.

1. Ablett
2. Franklin
3. Judd
4. Martin
5. Dangerfield
6. Bontompelli
7. Riewoldt
8. Selwood
9. Pavlich
10. Gawn

You can not have Judd and Ablett that high then leave Dane Swan out of it. He was their equal at his peak. And certainly above Bontempelli who is mk 2 of Pendles.

Scott Pendlebury literally plays for the Pies and if you could find two players who are so similarly respected by most supporter groups it's Bontempelli and Pendlebury.

So your theory doesn't exactly hold up.

I'd have Bontempelli at the teir of player that Pendles is on. Will see if he can make it to 400 games though.

Of players drafted since 2000, I reckon Ablett and Franklin are a clear 1 and 2. Then there is a group that includes Judd, Martin and Dangerfield. I would now have Bont as part of that group. Next group is guys like Riewoldt, Hodge, Pendles, Stewart, Pavlich, Gawn, Selwood, Fyfe, Swan ect.

I expect him to overtake Danger and could finish as high as number 3.

1. Ablett
2. Franklin
3. Judd
4. Martin
5. Dangerfield
6. Bontompelli
7. Riewoldt
8. Selwood
9. Pavlich
10. Gawn
It’s obviously subjective but I reckon you’ve got a couple of different eras there.

Ablett, Franklin, Judd, Riewoldt, Pav

are the era before

Martin, Danger, Bont, Selwood, Gawn.

Edit: was literally in the first line but somehow I missed the players drafted since 2000. Still think they’re more like two different groups though.

For all the talk of the lack of a Brownlow, Bont is well and truly on his way to the most career votes by any player. He needs 93 more votes to overtake GAJ and should move into the top 10-11 this season.

Assuming he racks up 25-30 this season, another 2-3 elite seasons will have him challenging very soon which is possible given he’s still 28. I hope he has Pendlebury like durability and can play in a less intensive role and last until his mid 30’s.
You can’t see why he wouldn’t. Has size and length and already plays forward to an incredible standard. No reason you couldn’t play him forward or back once natural athleticism starts to wane.

This thread reeks of overtly lovely comments because he plays for a cellar dwellar club that nobody ever worries about and is an insignificance besides AFL wellfare cheques.

If he played for collingwood or geelong, the bashing and hate would be severe

The Dogs have been a relevant and prime-time heavy club for almost a decade now. Pretty much right from the moment Bont started at the club.

Bont is popular and receiving 'lovely' comments because he's the best player in the game while simultaneously being super competitive but super fair and 'nice'.

Generally the ruthless competitors rustle feathers due to the 'win at all costs' aura they create. Bont doesn't come across that way. He just let's his footy do the talking. And he's better at pretty much every part of the game than every other player in the competition.

I'd have Bontempelli at the teir of player that Pendles is on. Will see if he can make it to 400 games though.
I might cop a bit of shit for this, and I mean no disrespect because I think Pendlebury is an absolute treasure to the game but I think Pendlebury is a tier below Bontempelli.

Bontempelli pretty much has all of Pendleburys individual career achievements (will match his 6x All Australians this year, and exceed his 5x Best and Fairests) and is still going to be playing for another 5 years at least. He is significantly ahead on Brownlow votes at the same stage of their career (+33 votes, despite winning 14 fewer H&A games) and statistically is just better in pretty much all areas.

This thread reeks of overtly lovely comments because he plays for a cellar dwellar club that nobody ever worries about and is an insignificance besides AFL wellfare cheques.

If he played for collingwood or geelong, the bashing and hate would be severe
You've nailed "Geelong Entitlement" in less than 50 words.

Great work!

The Dogs have been a relevant and prime-time heavy club for almost a decade now. Pretty much right from the moment Bont started at the club.

Bont is popular and receiving 'lovely' comments because he's the best player in the game while simultaneously being super competitive but super fair and 'nice'.

Generally the ruthless competitors rustle feathers due to the 'win at all costs' aura they create. Bont doesn't come across that way. He just let's his footy do the talking. And he's better at pretty much every part of the game than every other player in the competition.
All these thoughts you have are because he is mr vanilla at a welfare club. Nobody outright says it, but its what drives their comments.

There is a reason players like ablett dusty franklin judd, dangerfield cop some heat. They are huge stars at big clubs who agitate with their performances.

Nobody at the western bulldogs will make any fans feel like this

All these thoughts you have are because he is mr vanilla at a welfare club. Nobody outright says it, but its what drives their comments.

There is a reason players like ablett dusty franklin judd, dangerfield cop some heat. They are huge stars at big clubs who agitate with their performances.

Nobody at the western bulldogs will make any fans feel like this

Never watched Bailey Smith or Cody Weightman play football then I take it?

Bailey Smith is also the most followed footballer on social media. Not bad for being at a welfare club!
(Also, a 'welfare club' who was one of only a handful who could have financially survived an entire Covid year shut-down).

Danger cops heat because he went from being everybody's favourite opposition footballer at Adelaide to a sook who constantly plays for free kicks as soon as went to Geelong. The culture of the club changed the way he went about his football. Didn't distrupt his talent, but he added unnecessary and unbecoming extras.

Where does Marcus Bontempelli sit in the players of this era