Who are the young guns?

So far. Kane Cornes promised a lot more than he's shown so far. Allan Murray hasn't had a decent go, but he's got good football attributes.

the way i saw it was that you got two murray's, and two burgoyne's.

that's 4 players who are pretty much the same, except for talent...obviously.

you didn't simply draft them because they were brothers did you?

Originally posted by Mattster
that's 4 players who are pretty much the same, except for talent...obviously.
We only got 3 brothers.

Chad Cornes is key position; Kane Cornes is a midfielder type, likely defender.

Derek Murray is a very small rover that finds the ball well at SANFL level; Allan Murray is bigger and stronger and is notable for taking speccies and kicking freak goals.

Peter Burgoyne is a solid midfielder, Shaun Burgoyne's height and build lend more to being at either end of the ground.

you didn't simply draft them because they were brothers did you?
Only partially, I reckon...all three were rated as top 30 draftees in the 2000 AFL website mock draft. There's no doubt that it helps with team harmony....and there's another Burgoyne in the wings.

Originally posted by K9-54

I can understand that a Port supporter may have that view given he played well against you this year. I'd love it to come true but there's many of our youngsters that I rate well ahead of him.

I can also understand a Port supporter who may not see many Bulldog matches not having Murphy in given he didn't have a very good day against your mob, but he's a clear number 1 at the Bulldogs in my view.

Jordon McMahon

A young player constitutes debutans of 99 or thereafter and 22 years and under.

Adelaide - Grahan John****
Brisbane - Des Headland
Carlton - luke Livingston
Collingwood - Nick Davis
Essendon - Adam Ramanauskas
Fremantle - Matthew Pavlich
Geelong - James Bartel
Hawthorn - Luke Hodge
Kangaroos - David Teague
Melbourne - Brad Green
Richmond - David Rodan
St.Kilda - Nick Rewoildt
Sydney - Adam Goodes
West Coast - Chris Judd
Western Bulldogs - Danial Gianciracusa

The under 20's at the Saints would be

1. Riewoldt, heck he's our best player under 30!
2. Koschitztke, want to see them both fit, playing together
3. Ball, ranked with Judd and Hodge.
4. Clarke
5. Dal Santo
6. Maguire (real sleeper this kid)
7. Oliver
8. Montagna
9. Houlihan

Using Mightypies criteria add Hayes, Baker, Begley, Wulf and Knobel.

Best in the league under 20 would be
1. Riewoldt - How many key possy players dominate early?
2. Koschitztke-
3. Hodge
4. Judd
5. Kerr

Followed by Kelly, Ablett, Bartel

Geelong are a really good team in the making, as are the doggies, add Geelongs young midfielders to the Saints young key position players and you'd have the team of the next 10 years.
Doggies are in the same boat.

For the overall competition Nick Riewoldt is going to be the next Wayne Carey....he is a champion in the making!!!

As for North the future stars will definetly be David Teague and Leigh Harding.
:D :D :cool:

I would like all references to Nick Ries deleted from this thread. No-one is supposed to know about him. Bugger off and leave him alone! :D

The boy 15, he really is something special. He's only played 13 games, and he's already gone to fourth in our unofficial B&F, and he could conceivably go past Richard Vandenberg into third before the end of the season.

Other clubs. Riewoldt is a freak, and Judd continues to impress.

Robert Murphy
Daniel Giansiracusa
Sam Power
Mitch Hahn
Jordon McMahon
Lindsay Gilbee
Ryan Hargrave
Kieran McGuiness

As for young Guns from other clubs I would love these guys at my club

Luke Hodge
Chris Judd
Nick Riewoldt
Mark McGough
David Teague
Danny Jacobs
Matthew Pavlich
Mark Coughlan
Cameron Bruce
Matthew Scarlett

Richmond could field a team (19) of good kids....
Hilton and Tivvers are 23 ...bit light on for height.

Zantuck...Vardy...Newman
Hyde....Homewood...Tivendale
Dragga...Fiora...Pettifer
Poyas......Hall.....Mills
Krak'r....Hilton...Mcgrath
Ottens...Coughlan...Rodan
Ednie......

More to come ...

The obvious leagus standouts are Riewoldt, Hodge...
you guys have called 'em already.

:)

Drew Petrie
Corey Jones
Digby Morrell
David Teague
Leigh Harding
Dylan Smith
Daniel Motlop
John Baird
Brady Rawlings

All in North's best 22 IMO.

Of the comp?

Going to out on a limb and say Riewodlt.

Hodge will get close to the above IMO. Big fan.

I don't know how old Ramawhatsis is, but I want him in blue and white.

I would take Kerr before Judd easily.

Hasleby

Murphy. I like the way he moves.

Originally posted by Danny Chook Fan Club
I would like all references to Nick Ries deleted from this thread. No-one is supposed to know about him. Bugger off and leave him alone! :D

The boy 15, he really is something special. He's only played 13 games, and he's already gone to fourth in our unofficial B&F, and he could conceivably go past Richard Vandenberg into third before the end of the season.

There is no secret about Nick Ries! I've observed for a while that he is quite adept in the middle - certainly well ahead of Brett Johnson as a centre option.

As for that #15 - while he hasn't set the world alight this year, you can just see the ability simmering away ready to be unleashed! Dare I say it, but he exhibits Voss-like characteristics.

As for Richmond, in a few years time, Coughlan will be help in the same esteem as Brett Ratten is now.

People quite often forget that Haselby is the same age as Pavlich and was taken in teh same draft.
Of the 2 he is the better player thus far and has had the better season this year.

Young gun I wouls say it goes
Riewoldt
Haselby
Judd
Kerr

Originally posted by sabre_ac
People quite often forget that Haselby is the same age as Pavlich and was taken in teh same draft
People often try and forget lots of things about the great Freemantle players who have achieved nothing but you keep reminding them so it's kinda difficult. Anyway, Pavelich is key position player and Haselby is a midfielder. Pavelich is miles more valuable IMO.

For the Pies: Didak of the very young and N.Davis of the next group.

For the comp: Reiwoltd is the best second year player I have ever seen by quite a margin and he barely had a first year. It is scary that he has some strength to gain and will learn a lot playing in a key position and being moved all over the ground. He also seems to have a brain. I would put him at the top of my shopping list.

Originally posted by MarkT

People often try and forget lots of things about the great Freemantle players who have achieved nothing but you keep reminding them so it's kinda difficult. Anyway, Pavelich is key position player and Haselby is a midfielder. Pavelich is miles more valuable IMO.

Coming from a pies supporter??
Do I have to remind you that before this year the pies were the only side to have a worse record than the dockers?
And of course Tarrant,Fraser and Didak have taken the game by storm.....Just like you keep tellling us.

Haselby has been the better player thus far.

And of course Tarrant,Fraser and Didak have taken the game by storm.....Just like you keep tellling us.

Tarrant has - he was fantastic last year. Injury has ruined his year this year (just like how you reckon Longmuir is a superstar yet he hasnt done much this year either). Fraser hasnt taken the world by storm yet. Didak has been as good as Medhurst.

Coming from a pies supporter??
Yes.
Do I have to remind you that before this year the pies were the only side to have a worse record than the dockers?
No, but I was referring to you and your ridiculous pumping of a list which is promising but aciecvementless, not your club. I have only ever said we have a promising list and I have only said it this year.
I wouldn't say that - hey I actually didn't. They have, however, done enough to see their club 4th with minimum help from anyone over the age of 25 for what it's worth.
Haselby has been the better player thus far.
Because he is a midfielder. Apart from Reiwoltd, whi is a freak IMO, name a key position player who has actually been consistenly great in his first/second year. I would take Pavelich over Haselby and a first round draft choicve in trade but that's just how I look at it.

Originally posted by Macca19

Tarrant has - he was fantastic last year. Injury has ruined his year this year (just like how you reckon Longmuir is a superstar yet he hasnt done much this year either). Fraser hasnt taken the world by storm yet. Didak has been as good as Medhurst.

I'd say Tarrant is about as good as Croad (maybe marginally better). Big deal.

Considering Didak was a first round pick and has had a couple of years in the league the comparison to Medders is a good one. Thanks.

Originally posted by MarkT

I would take Pavelich over Haselby and a first round draft choicve in trade but that's just how I look at it.

Pavlich, Pavlich, Pavlich! (not Pavelich).

And if you would take that deal then I hope you are member of the Collingwood footy dept. and Freo trades Pav to you guys.

Haselby has been our match winner this year. Not Pav. Hase will improve just as much as Pav as well.

Who are the young guns?