Who are the young guns?

Originally posted by funky_monk
Again you Pies fans insult Freo! Hmmph!
Comparing Didak to Hase?!?!?!

Your a funny guy.
You will eat those words in a few years. They are different body types and Didak has been on the Malthouse slow development program. He has now been released and will start playing in the midfield as Nick Davis gets fit. Haselby is a bigger build and made a more immediate impact. Didak has rare class. He wont get the hard ball as often as Haselby but he will slice through sides in years to come.

And I get called delusional...

Rohan your comments about McPharlin will go down as one of the most blatantly wrong comments on this site ever.

"What is so special about McPharlin? He is an athlete who can mark. Pity he has terrible foot skills."

He is no trent croad.
Since his return I would say he has rivaled Riewodlt for the second half of the year.
He has been sensational since coming back from injury.

On the haselby not as good as didak comment?
Haselby will go close to wining the brownlow this year, he is probally a top 5 midfielder at the moment and he won the norich rising star in his first year.
And you dare say that Didak (who really has done nothing) is a better player and will be in the future?
There is no midfielder near haselby's age that has his range of weapons.
He marks like a forward.
Kicks like a forward
Is the top clearance player
And one of the top hand ballers.

Didaks pace will die as he gets older, haselby has no pace and hence chances are when he is 30 he will be playing as good football as his 20's.
Didak on teh other hand will peak early like all midfielders that rely on there pace and then drop away.

Who do you believe is the best young gun at your club, and also for the leauge? which player do you think has what it takes to become the next leigh matthews or wayne carey - onfield that is ;) ? At the Roos, I think Digby Morrell will be the next big thing, but as for the whole AFL... Reiwoldt, a champion in the making.

The best young un in our club IMHO would have to be David Teague. Honourable mentions include Leigh Harding, Dylan Smith, Drew Petrie and co, but there's too many to list. :cool:

I find it hard to list the best young un in the league. It would probably have to be Chris Judd or Nick Riewoldt. Other young players that are playing good footy include Jason Cloke, Jon Brown, Daniel Kerr, Shaun Burgoyne, Ramanauskas, Pavlich, Hasleby. There's heaps of them running round at the moment and it's too list them all.

Originally posted by sabre_ac
Since his return I would say he has rivaled Riewodlt for the second half of the year.

I wouldnt go that far. He's done alright...had a few average games and some good ones but nowhere near as good as Riewoldt has been.

(based on Mcpharlins 9 games and Riewoldts last 9 games)
Mcpharlin - 9 games, 80 kicks, 53 marks, 49 handballs, 7 goals
Riewoldt - 9 games, 91 kicks, 80 marks, 46 handballs, 7 goals

And you dare say that Didak (who really has done nothing)

How can you say that Didak has really done nothing yet say that Medhurst is one of the upcoming stars of the game?? Theyve both had very similar years.
Remember, Didak isnt playing in a natural position. He is a natural midfielder/ball getter - not a forward pocket.

Didak has still not been given an oppurtunity to show how good he really is due to Malthouse not willing to play him/burn him out. He will be as good as haselby once he is given teh chance to play in the midfield (something he has not done yet)

The other players will probably be the spine for a premiership in 4 years time.

Freo - premiership in 4 years? News Flash! The Grand Final isn't player in WA, so you can forget about it...

Best youngsters at Collingwood:

Alan Didak - could be a bit quicker but skills and goal sense are sublime.

Mark McGough - Slow, funny body shape, but so was Greg Williams. Terrific awareness, will be an excellent in and under player to feed the midfield.

Jason Cloke - Doesn't have the physical attributes required to hold down a key position, but has a heart the size of Phar Lap which more than compensates.

Josh Fraser - Better below his knees than any other ruckman in the comp - needs to build some strength and work on his overhead marking and ruckwork. Will be a superstar in about 3 years.

Best in the League:

Riewoldt - Best youngster in the last 10 years I reckon, absolute star.

Headland - Was always going to be hard to break into an awesome team like Brisbane, but has shown why he was a no.1 draft pick. Would be one of the first blokes picked now.

Thanks Mark T for a reasoned and sensible comment re: Cloke and McGough.

I agree that Reiwoldt and Kosi are both very good, Reiwoldt is a stand-out, but you can't say Ball is better than anyone because he hasn't played a game and the jury is still out on Clarke. Del Santo is handy as well.

I don't always agree with Macca but I have to agree on Brown. Brown will be a handy player who will gaps where needed but he won't ever be a superstar or even a star but a workhorse he is and they are players that all teams need.

Pavlich, Hasleby and McPharlin will all be excellent players in the AFL. Longmuir when fit will be a player who will be a top 10 goal kicker in the AFL as he is not that far away now.

I have liked what i have seen of Polak and he is certainly better than his brother ever was but I will reserve judgment until the end of next season when his shoulder is back to full fitness.

I keep hearing these great wraps on Fraser and he seems to me to be very similar to what Clem Michael was in that he is a mobile ruckman who is very good at clearances but I am not sure he will be as good as everyone thinks he will be. He will always be a better than most but I am not sure if he will reach the elite.

Tarrant has the same problem Longmuir does. They both look very lazy out there and then they turn it on for a quarter or two and you wonder why they can't do that every week but that is the sort of players they are.

And I get called delusional...
"What is so special about McPharlin? He is an athlete who can mark. Pity he has terrible foot skills."

He is no trent croad.
Well answered sarbre. Saves me the trouble. Not in same universe. Riewoltd is a super star right now and has barely played a game. We are not talking potential we are talking 1 or 2 in marks for the season in a side that has not won many games.
On the haselby not as good as didak comment?
Haven't seen that one.
Haselby will go close to wining the brownlow this year, he is probally a top 5 midfielder at the moment and he won the norich rising star in his first year.
Yep he is a quality footballer.
And you dare say that Didak (who really has done nothing) is a better player and will be in the future?
Not exactly.
Didaks pace will die as he gets older, haselby has no pace and hence chances are when he is 30 he will be playing as good football as his 20's.
Didak on teh other hand will peak early like all midfielders that rely on there pace and then drop away.
Who said Didak relies on pace? Daicos was no speed freak, had knee injuries and foot problems but was going ok more than 10 years after his debut. A couple of copelands as an onballer and 90 odd goals in a season as a forward. He read the play and was elusive not because he was fast but because he moved first and had balance. Didak is Daicosesque.

The context of the Didak discussion was not that he was better than Haselby, but that was comperable as trade option IMO. He will be a very good player as will Haselby. As Macca said, Didak is a first player to all intents and purposes and has won a couple of games as a forward. He has barely been given a run on the ball because Malthouse has him on his own development programe. He will play midfield and forward next year and you will see how good he is/will be.

Originally posted by Joffaboy
Reiwoldt, Kosi, Ball, Del Santo, X man. All better than your dismissive posts suggests. (And better than the examples from either Freo or Collingwood).
The post wasn't meant to be dismissive but I disagree with you. Ball has a rep but hasn't played so you can't say he is better than anyone. Kosi is undoubtedly good but not better IMO. Reiwoldt as I have said is an absolute gun and at the top of my hypothetical (delusional?) shopping list. The rest of your juniors are talanted but not making the impact the Collingwood ones are making IMO (or even last year for that matter). What some people under estimate is that where Collingwood are now is due to two senior players in Buckley and Burns, a few middle players like Rocca, Lica and Lockyer and a big group of guys 22 and under (down to 17 at times). I think they have run out of puff alittle but I have always been realistic. Next year I will be much more demanding.

No wonder Freo and the Saints have the best list of youngsters in the league. Finishing last will do that.

Btw- (from Macca's post).

(based on Mcpharlins 9 games and Riewoldts last 9 games)
Mcpharlin - 9 games, 80 kicks, 53 marks, 49 handballs, 7 goals
Riewoldt - 9 games, 91 kicks, 80 marks, 46 handballs, 7 goals

The difference between McPharlin and Riewolt is basically 27 marks (3 marks per game). Which is impressive. But not that much really considering one of the guys is coming back from OP and who medically was not meant to be playing this year. McPharlin is going to be Freo Dustin Fletcher for the next 10 years.

Lonie, pleeeeeeeease. Will you admit any Freo player is better than a Magpies player.

Haselby has been dead set amazing at times this year and is clearly the most skillful player in our team. Didak will have to be damn good to compare and Hase already has the runs on the board. Very bad comparison.

Originally posted by Bulldog1954
I would have thought St Kildas youngsters were probably better then both Freo and Collingwood

Geelong's long list of impressive yungsta's (Corey, Kelly, Bartel, Ablett, Johnson, Wojcinski, Spriggs - when he gets over his reconstruction, Scarlett, Ling, Chapman & Enright) are by far the most impressive in the League at the minute. Bomber has treaded carefully with the core of the younger brigade of this group (eg; Bartel & Ablett) by not rushing them into the side full-time and must be salivating at the prospect of potentially keeping these guys together and doing some wonderful things in 3-4 years time.

PS; Peter Street HAS to be on his last chance this week.. Fit for dog food and that's about it - not that you'd get any meat off his bones... :D ;) :D

Geelong have the best list of 1st, 2nd and 3rd year players in the league by far. Our recruitment policy has been amazing. Over the past three years we have finished towards the middle of the ladder so we haven't got as many good picks by default as the Saints and Freo.

Of the nine players who have made their debut this year, I rate them in this order.

1. James Kelly
2. Jarad Rooke
3. Steven Johnson
4. Jim Bartel
5. Gary Ablett II
6. Will Slade
7. Charlie Gardiner
8. David Johnson
9. Paul Chambers

Of these nine, I think the top five would be an automatic selection at any other club. The other four haven't had enough game time to really impress although Slade looks the goods.

Add to these new players some of the other young players who have established themselves:

Scarlett
King (still only 23, can ya believe it?)
Harley (has played 74 games without missing one)
Clarke
Chapman (like Jason Johnson 4 years ago, but a little bit tougher)
Rahilly
Wojcinski
J. Corey
Enright
Spriggs

Geelong will be recognized as a football power by halfway through next year, and will remain powerful for up to a decade. That's how long you can expect the core of players I've listed to dominate in the blue&white.

McPharlin is about the only key position player i would possible take ahead of riewoldt,
as you said last 9 games were almost comparable, take into account that for almost a year his training was limited and they expected him to maybe just sneak into the afl this year.
So many great players this year have had bad years simply because they had limited pre seasons, it shows how much a difference it makes, i dont know how riewoldts pre-seaon was but i beleive mcpharlin has more talent and potential
hes faster, more athletic and has a better leap, seems to be stronger and i expect will be AA chb next year if he plays there,

about the only freo player thats not overrated

Originally posted by PortPremiers'02

PS; Peter Street HAS to be on his last chance this week.. Fit for dog food and that's about it - not that you'd get any meat off his bones... :D ;) :D

what do you mean? he's not got any opportunities because we've got steven king who has been on fire all season.

Originally posted by ah_19
McPharlin is about the only key position player i would possible take ahead of riewoldt,
as you said last 9 games were almost comparable, take into account that for almost a year his training was limited and they expected him to maybe just sneak into the afl this year.
So many great players this year have had bad years simply because they had limited pre seasons, it shows how much a difference it makes, i dont know how riewoldts pre-seaon was but i beleive mcpharlin has more talent and potential
hes faster, more athletic and has a better leap, seems to be stronger and i expect will be AA chb next year if he plays there,

about the only freo player thats not overrated

He is now!!

Lonie better than Mcpharlin that is gold :p

I'd take Mcpharlin before any other player off the freo list thansk very much the guy is just going to be an out and out star.

Lonie is a dime a dozen player

IMO, Riewoldt is the standout of the AFL.

At the Hawks: Hodgey, Ries, Brown...etc. Bloody hell, they're playing better than some of the more experienced senior players ATM!

Jason Cloke has been the best for us, closely followed behind by McGough. Didak is finally starting to show his goods but hasn't been as consistent as the other two.

Originally posted by funky_monk

The difference between McPharlin and Riewolt is basically 27 marks (3 marks per game). Which is impressive. But not that much really considering one of the guys is coming back from OP and who medically was not meant to be playing this year. McPharlin is going to be Freo Dustin Fletcher for the next 10 years.

I'd like to see how many contested marks difference there is, and that's a telling factor right there.

Roos:
Teague (So much courage:D:D Could do with some more pace.. but his hard work and courage makes up for ne lack of pace)
D.Motlop (Any guy that gets to the Roos side on potential will be a star.. and this guy has been in on potential twice this year..:D:D Those marks in the magoos will come into the snrs one day.. then watch out:D:D)
Jones( Sweet.. if only he didnt have stress fractures most of this year)
Drew Petrie (Gonna be a champion)

And we still have David Hale hidden away in hte Magoos..:D:D

Go Roos

Who are the young guns?