Who is the best side in the comp on their day?

Im saying St Kilda playing close to their best can pull a team away from playing at their best, and St Kilda not playing at their best cost them.

I still do not believe that 56 points is both sides at their best.
That's Collingwood's best and St Kilda's worst.

I can't agree with you that that was Collingwood's best. Our best was in the first half against Geelong in the Prelim Final had we played like that in GF 2 we would have won by a considerably bigger margin. I have only seen Collingwood play one match that was more complete than that one and it was the 86 point win against Geelong in 08 and that was far and away the best and most complete match I've seen Collingwood play in 20 years.

That quite possibly was St Kilda at there worst but I can't comment on whether that is the worst St Kilda can play because I don't watch them anywhere near as much as Collingwood.

I can't agree with you that that was Collingwood's best. Our best was in the first half against Geelong in the Prelim Final had we played like that in GF 2 we would have won by a considerably bigger margin. I have only seen Collingwood play one match that was more complete than that one and it was the 86 point win against Geelong in 08 and that was far and away the best and most complete match I've seen Collingwood play in 20 years.

That quite possibly was St Kilda at there worst but I can't comment on whether that is the worst St Kilda can play because I don't watch them anywhere near as much as Collingwood.
The first GF was certainly StKilda's finest game - both Hayes and Goddard had the best games of their careers. Pendlebury was crook and half the prime movers for the side had off matches and they still couldn't make the grade. :rolleyes:

The true reflection of the gap between our sides are 4 encounters during the season. 5 goal win to you where we had you on toast, 8 goal win to us, a draw where we had you on toast and a 9 goal humiliation.

These results show a 56 points gap is not far of the mark.

Hoping you don't do your own Tax Return.

St Kilda at their best are always close to anyone because of their style. If they are 100% switched on it's nearly impossible for a side to break away from them on the scoreboard.

Collingwood are the best side overall so that probably makes them a 1 to 3 goal better side when both are at their best. 56 points is too many imo.

Honest.

Hawthorn are an average team....the results speak for themselves..a team that is tracking at sub .500 for the last two years is an average team.

Funny that Hawthorn supporters cant seem to fathom that.
You've just put yourself at odds with the majority of people who see a list with Franklin, Hodge, Mitchell, Rioli, Roughead, Sewell, Burgoyne, etc, and think they should do more.

It's the very reason Clarkson is under the pump.
If we were as mediocre as you think, Clarkson would be getting an extension, not a boot up the arse.

????

Those four blokes were key members of your premiership team.....all are no longer there.....and you aint replaced them.

Bit like Geelong, will they be able to replace Gazza.....I dont reckon they will.

I wonder if their supporters will still crap on about 2009 next year if they are struggling down in 8th spot?? If Hawthorn is an example they will still post threads saying everybody fears them and they are still a challenger.
Your comparison is feeble to Geelong.
We didn't lose the best player at our club after 2008. And we were still a very young list, with room to improve.

We lost a Champion who played most of the year through injury, a handy ruckman, but no world beater and a CHB who most opposition supporters loved to hang shit on for not being up to it.

Up until that point no one rated them that highly, or in Crawford's and Dew's case thought they were passed it.
After we win the flag, but have two down years, all some people can do is say it's because we've lost some premiership players, but our down years have gone much deeper than that.

Anyway, you've given me enough of your thoughts for me to form my opinion on them.
We'll leave it at that.

You've just put yourself at odds with the majority of people who see a list with Franklin, Hodge, Mitchell, Rioli, Roughead, Sewell, Burgoyne, etc, and think they should do more.

If we were as mediocre as you think, Clarkson would be getting an extension, not a boot up the arse.

Your comparison is feeble to Geelong.
We didn't lose the best player at our club after 2008. And we were still a very young list, with room to improve.

We lost a Champion who played most of the year through injury, a handy ruckman, but no world beater and a CHB who most opposition supporters loved to hang shit on for not being up to it.

Up until that point no one rated them that highly, or in Crawford's and Dew's case thought they were passed it.
After we win the flag, but have two down years, all some people can do is say it's because we've lost some premiership players, but our down years have gone much deeper than that.

Anyway, you've given me enough of your thoughts for me to form my opinion on them.
We'll leave it at that.

fact.

you were crap before 2008 and you've been crap ever since, lots of people call your flag "the bradbury flag", you were lucky, once your game plan was worked out that was it, your coach had no more rabbits in the hat.

you have a serious A grade elite KPF fwd, you have another servicable B/B+ grade KPF, your midfields average (not a bad midfield but behind at least 6 other teams), your backline's crap.

play collingwood at their best and you wont only get beaten, you'll be destroyed, just like every other team in the competion.

It's Kennett's that making that call. You think he is in touch with the list or delusional like quite a few on this board?

If Collingwood fans think St Kilda were at their very best in GF 1, you are mistaken.

The second half was close but not the very best, where Collingwood kicked 2 goals for the half, and St Kilda came from 24 points down to lead it late.

But that was just a half, for the first half however I wasn't thrilled.

If Collingwood fans think St Kilda were at their very best in GF 1, you are mistaken.

The second half was close but not the very best, where Collingwood kicked 2 goals for the half, and St Kilda came from 24 points down to lead it late.

well what do you want to do mate?, play it again perhaps? opps, they already did.

Please tell me who other than shculz kicked a bag on us last year? Our backline's not great but it is not as bad as people make it out to be. Our midfield is better than "average". Our B/B+ KPF is held in higher regard amongst BF members as shown in a poll. It was about 45-15 I believe.

Collingwood were nowhere near their best for the entire First drawn GF so what's your point?.

his point is that lots of Collingwood experts are saying that the saints were at their best in GF1, when they were nowhere near it.

Please tell me who other than shculz kicked a bag on us last year? Our backline's not great but it is not as bad as people make it out to be. Our midfield is better than "average". Our B/B+ KPF is held in higher regard amongst BF members as shown in a poll. It was about 45-15 I believe.

well lets call him B+ then shall we, you arnt trying to call him an A grader are you?

fact is, over the last 2 seasons you've played 45 matches, you've lost most of them, and you've lost the only final you've played to a ridiculously injury riddled team who we smashed on their home turf whilst they were at full strengh.

you beat us "once" fair enough, shit like that happens when you give charity games to hacks to get their 200th (that alone should tell you about our mindset) we also allowed that hack to ruck most of the game, lots of other strange moves by us in that game as well (cant recall them now though) im sure you guys experimented too but dont read anything into that result.

fact.

you were crap before 2008 and you've been crap ever since, lots of people call your flag "the bradbury flag", you were lucky, once your game plan was worked out that was it, your coach had no more rabbits in the hat.

you have a serious A grade elite KPF fwd, you have another servicable B/B+ grade KPF, your midfields average (not a bad midfield but behind at least 6 other teams), your backline's crap.

play collingwood at their best and you wont only get beaten, you'll be destroyed, just like every other team in the competion.
Stopped reading there.
No Premiership team is lucky. It takes a lot of effort and commitment, just to get there.

The way some of you Collingwood supporters are going on about blowing every team out of the water, it's like you went through the year undefeated.

his point is that lots of Collingwood experts are saying that the saints were at their best in GF1, when they were nowhere near it.

were they at their best when we pantsed them in our last HaA encounter?, were they at their best in the first final? how about the second? the last 3 times we've played them have resulted in 2 10 goal wins and one draw.

What does this have anything to do with St Kilda's best?

well lets talk about the cats best if you like, we played them 2 weeks before the finals and won by 4 goals, most experts said it felt like a 12 goal hammering though, destroyed the dogs in our first final (we let up late as usual), absolutly destroyed the cats in the prelim, howd the saints go against the cats in the final series?, less than a kick IIRC and the cats shouldve won that IMO.

fact is we had one blotch on our season and that was the drawn GF, it was played again and we did what we did to every other team we came up against in the finals, we didnt beat shit teams either, we smashed good ones, teams the saints struggled to beat we destroyed, you just cant accept that fact, and we did it with the youngest AFL team to ever to compete in a finals series.

I was at the draw and thought that the second half was the best I had seen the saints play certainly in last two thirds of the season. Goddard had probably the best game of his career.

A very good friend, a lifetime Saints supporter, said after the game it was the best game he had seen them play in a final.
It's all pretty subjective though.
The second match was more indicative of both sides seasons and form coming into and during the finals.

That's not to say St Kilda were not clearly top 3 in the category described in the OP.

Collingwood would be the obvious choice this year, but as stated early by others Geelong would be the clear choice if you are going to look at the last 3 years. St Kilda would have been a very close thing with Geelong last year. If the Saints can make the GF next year you'd have to say they have had an exceptional 3 years, more so if they snag a flag.

Geelong appear to have peaked and started the slide back down, albeit just, but if the Saints don't salute next year then obviously the slip in the rankings.

Making and failing in two consecutive GF's is undervalued, because you come away with nothing, but it certainly takes it's toll on the playing group as Collingwood showed in 2002/2003. If the Saints don't make the GF next year there will be wholesale changes and a rebuild undertaken I think.

This thread isn't about who performs at their best most consistently, it's about whos best is better. And if you payed attention to the thread you would have noticed that I said that the pies best was the best. (refering to the distributer)

It's Kennett's that making that call. You think he is in touch with the list or delusional like quite a few on this board?

Looks like the bookmakers & punters of Australia are all delusional as well.

Either that or yourself, the distibutor, et al have your heads up your butts.

2011flag.jpg

......you've lost the only final you've played to a ridiculously injury riddled team......

Fremantle were a "ridiculously injury riddled team" in the EF. :eek:

Can you please name the plethera of players they had missing, oh wise bandwagonner.

I was at the draw and thought that the second half was the best I had seen the saints play certainly in last two thirds of the season. Goddard had probably the best game of his career.

I agree that they were at their best in the second half, but to say that the game as a whole is their best is incorrect.

Only repeating the thoughts of another who was at the game from a Saint supporters perspective.
As I said, pretty subjective really. If they had got that last point it would have been their best game in living memory.