Who will be better in 2025 - Geelong or Hawthorn?

Who will be better in 2025?

I would say they were the hype teams, assisted in that by being the Melbourne teams.

We can disagree on this
They were in the top few for offense and defence.

IMG_7404.jpeg

View attachment 2193160
I remember the hype for Hawthorn and WB was pretty crazy because of this. One had an embarrassing EF exit (Hawks were great but that Bulldogs performance was like a worst of Bevo finals montage...I'd have backed the Saints to beat them on that performance) and the other lost a SF to one of the more embarrassing prelim teams this century. I'd love to pump Geelong up there but really they did what any quality team should have done to Port in that QF.

Port played their GF against Hawks on the back of an insta comment… couldn’t find even half of the same desire to compete in a prelim(or qualifying final).

It wasn't even desire. They simply weren't good enough. If they met a GWS 2023 it would've been the same SF outcome as a year earlier. Luckily Hawthorn didn't have an imperious night. If they did, it would've been a 5 or 6 goal win.

There pressure rating in the Prelim was the lowest pressure rating of any finalist, from memory. A week earlier it was the highest.

Hawthorn had a really good run of games that coincided with the easiest part of their draw which in turn built their confidence so that they were up and about for the harder games.

Hawthorn fans are optimistic (rightfully so) but there is something to being the hunted rather than the hunter.

The final against Port (due to their injuries and form despite being at home) was probably the first time the Hawks went in as the hunted team all season.
Mate we had 2 of our most important players not out there either and played rubbish for most of the night. Port had 55 inside 50s and kicked 11 goals. We were definitely hunted and Port came up with a game plan to thwart what we had been doing so well offensively but our defence is completely underrated and kept us in the game. People talk about this game like we were soundly beaten. We had the game on our terms for 2 patches of about 15 mins all night and scored regularly. That's because maintaining focus and Intensity against our style the whole match is taxing. Mitchell is training the boys to outlast everybody which is the basis of Hokball. That's why he has guys like Weddle roaming the ground where he wants because he's an athletic freak in the mould of Blicavs. All about how we start next year. Instead of 0-5 we are 3-2 or even 2-3 with a tough opening month look out. Reckon we will finish the year with the outside run down the straight so to speak.

Just not a good team. The strong performers put them away. Hawks had an off night. 4 out of 5 times they win that match by a few goals.
Off night and still nearly won. Defence was absolutely brilliant which gets lost in the aftermath. Port dominated territory for long periods but couldn't sustain scoreboard pressure enough to put a gap in us because we were able to absorb it. If the roles were reversed we would have scored more frequently without a doubt. Territory and not getting the game on our terms long enough cost us the match.

View attachment 2193160
We were coming from a LONG way back to. The last 3 months we were braining everyone on these metrics. Lost 4 games with 3 by less than a kick. Only game we got heavily mauled offensively and defensively was Geelong at GMHBA. Only team to really put the Pies to the sword all year who weren't as bad as people are saying and there best footy was finals worthy. Mauled the Dogs who with us were in as good as form as you could be and made them look silly. All this could be just a 1 year wonder thing and now that we are the hunted we will come back to pack. Mitchell is coaching with this knowledge ATM so expect to not expect the same thing next year.

Who will be better in 2025 - Geelong or Hawthorn?