Why are Soccer players not being Targeted?

There are many, many AFL footy players that have tried to make it as a footballer at the highest level in Australia and have consequently failed. They then usually try their hand at getting into the AFL. Concurrently, I have yet to find an example of any football player in this country that has tried to make it at Australian Rules, couldn't make it and then tried his hand at football. That says it all.

Since AFL is a league for Australian Rules FOOTBALL and since by any objective argument the highest level of football in Australia would be AFL football, your statement is stupid but correct.

Footy players try to make it at the highest level and fail , true.
Footy players keep trying , also true.

Going back to the original question of this thread.

The answer is because by and large they lack cojones.

For an insight into this phenomenon, I recommend this serious piece of American sports investigation and reporting, from one of America's better known sporting shows:

[youtube]5xLn-X8YJRg[/youtube]

Zig and Zag AFL-zealots (you know who you both are - your posts dominate this thread),

You need to take a break like your AFL heroes and take time to allow others to enjoy the biggest sporting event this world can hold - nothing the AFL can do will ever, ever come close to the passion, global interest that soccer, yes soccer is generating. World cup just shows how insignificant AFL is, sorry.

Your constant wolfcries that soccer players lack cajoles just highlights how delusional you are. The reality you need to understand is that some players dive, a few also do in AFL. Some players are rougher than others in both sports - the serb defence looked pretty mean, I reckion they'd roughen up any AFL team but you won't know b/c you didn't watch. But wI digress, you need to understand that despite your views, the exposure that soccer has created in Australia in not only the last few months, but generally these days - is going to encorouge more kids to kick the soccer ball. The only challenge is to stop those desperate AFL talent scouts lurking in the soccer-ground sidelines calling our soccer kids over to their cars and soliciting them to defect to the indigenous code with sticky lolipopps. More kids are kicking soccer balls - there are not enough grounds to go around - AFL grounds are hogging our space. We just need to get rid of the AFL media whores that hog ouor media space and give a bit more balanced coverage, please.

It's a great time for soccer. So Zig and Zag, keep banging away - it won't change a thing!

I'm loving the World Cup.... but

2nta8nt.jpg

The more Australians see this sort of garbage (which is actually condoned by the soccer world), the more Australians come to understand that the emperor is wearing no clothes.

And, the more we see incidents like Steve Baker trying to hit Steve Johnson when he's not looking, Aussies understand that AFL is nothing more than street fighting with an oval ball.

If Aussie Rules actively or tacitly allows technical wizards like Johnson to be constantly assaulted by a guy like Baker, who is 1 step evolved from a street thug, more and more technically gifted Aussie Rules players will be drawn to games, like Association Football, which idolises artistry and skill on the field ...

... as opposed to Aussie Rules, which lauds the king-hit and common-law battery.

And, the more we see incidents like Steve Baker trying to hit Steve Johnson when he's not looking, Aussies understand that AFL is nothing more than street fighting with an oval ball.

If Aussie Rules actively or tacitly allows technical wizards like Johnson to be constantly assaulted by a guy like Baker, who is 1 step evolved from a street thug, more and more technically gifted Aussie Rules players will be drawn to games, like Association Football, which idolises artistry and skill on the field ...

... as opposed to Aussie Rules, which lauds the king-hit and common-law battery.

So rather than a careful evaluation of what has occurred ( using such high tech stuff as video ) during the game. The umpire should just think to himself, hmm , there's Stevie J having a tiff with Stevie B. Ohhhh, everyone knows that Stevie J is a technical wiz, so it must all be Baker's fault. I'll just hand that no good Stevie B a red card.

We could then extend it. We all know that Geelong are a much higher quality team than StKilda, so we should make the umpiring fit in with the preconcieved notion. If we make bad decisions, no one will mind as long as the Cats get up.

Now where could this sort of notion come from? :rolleyes:

So rather than a careful evaluation of what has occurred ( using such high tech stuff as video ) during the game. The umpire should just think to himself, hmm , there's Stevie J having a tiff with Stevie B. Ohhhh, everyone knows that Stevie J is a technical wiz, so it must all be Baker's fault. I'll just hand that no good Stevie B a red card.

We could then extend it. We all know that Geelong are a much higher quality team than StKilda, so we should make the umpiring fit in with the preconcieved notion. If we make bad decisions, no one will mind as long as the Cats get up.

Now where could this sort of notion come from? :rolleyes:

What are you on about?

I never said anything about "red cards in AFL" or giving advantage to Geelong.

I merely said:

1. Steve Johnson is a technical wizard and Stephen Baker is, basically, a street thug who displays no football artistry.

2. The AFL - despite the use of post-match video surveillance - continues to turn a blind-eye to thuggish behaviour and I wouldn't be surprised if technically gifted Aussie Rules players sought a career in a sport that idolises technical genius; as opposed to "king hits and cheap punches".

What are you on about?

I never said anything about "red cards in AFL" or giving advantage to Geelong.

I merely said:

1. Steve Johnson is a technical wizard and Stephen Baker is, basically, a street thug who displays no football artistry.

2. The AFL - despite the use of post-match video surveillance - continues to turn a blind-eye to thuggish behaviour and I wouldn't be surprised if technically gifted Aussie Rules players sought a career in a sport that idolises technical genius; as opposed to "king hits and cheap punches".

What I;m saying is it doesn't matter if you think Steve Johnson is the messiah. The AFL look at what actually happened in the game. If you think that Baker has been the subject of preferential treatment I suggest you pull your head out and look at some history.

It's the Soccer ref's who seem to make decisions based upon preconcieved idea's, and you seem to support this notion by suggesting that the AFL should go harder on Baker because you think he is a thug, and you worship Johnson.

( I disagree regarding your opinion of Baker's football ability, but I'm not going to go into it here ).

...If you think that Baker has been the subject of preferential treatment I suggest you pull your head out and look at some history.

It's the Soccer ref's who seem to make decisions based upon preconcieved idea's, and you seem to support this notion by suggesting that the AFL should go harder on Baker because you think he is a thug, and you worship Johnson.

I never said Baker is subject to preferential treatment.

I just said Baker is a technically poor footballer, who relies on his fists and illegal tackling to beat an opponent.

Baker continued to hit Johnson - from behind, which is the lowest of acts - when the ball was nowhere near him.

Like all skilled professionals, Johnson will alway plays the ball but, like any human being will react if assaulted and law enforcement turns a blind eye.

I never said Baker is subject to preferential treatment.

I just said Baker is a technically poor footballer, who relies on his fists and illegal tackling to beat an opponent.

Baker continued to hit Johnson - from behind, which is the lowest of acts - when the ball was nowhere near him.

Like all skilled professionals, Johnson will alway plays the ball but, like any human being will react if assaulted and law enforcement turns a blind eye.

Wow you live in a nice little black and white world, and you think AFL is for dummies. Do you think Johnson should wear a white hat, and Baker a Black hat, to make it easier for the umpires?

Don't be juvenile. It's got nothing to do with St Kilda or Geelong.

I could make the same point about a technical wizard like Nick Dal Santo, who is constantly subjected to illegal behaviour on the field. When Riewoldt injured his shoulder a few years back I recall opposition players from Brisbane trying to add to the injury when Riewoldt was trying to get up and wasn't looking and couldn't brace himself for the assault.

In football, all professionals have respect for each other. If someone is injured they'll lend them a helping hand. Even in the HAL GF this year, when Archie went down with a ruptured knee ligaments, Sydney FC Goalkeeper waved to the ref to stop play.

In AFL, a guy like Baker would try to kick, punch or cause further injury to an opponent as when they are in a vulnerable position as they try to get up.

Thuggish behaviour is thuggish behaviour. I expect it in Rugby League because it's a game for neanderthals who have limited technical ball skills.

There are some Aussie Rules players with outstanding ball skills.

I reckon the gifted technicians should turn their attention to Football and let the thugs continue to play Aussie Rules and either form of Rugby.

EDIT Baker rubbed out for 7 weeks. Thankfully the AFL has given this thug a suitable penalty and let's hope it's a warning to other AFL players, who have no football ability, but rely purely on thuggish behaviour to survive.

Don't be juvenile. It's got nothing to do with St Kilda or Geelong.

I could make the same point about a technical wizard like Nick Dal Santo, who is constantly subjected to illegal behaviour on the field. When Riewoldt injured his shoulder a few years back I recall opposition players from Brisbane trying to add to the injury when Riewoldt was trying to get up and wasn't looking and couldn't brace himself for the assault.

In football, all professionals have respect for each other. If someone is injured they'll lend them a helping hand. Even in the HAL GF this year, when Archie went down with a ruptured knee ligaments, Sydney FC Goalkeeper waved to the ref to stop play.

In AFL, a guy like Baker would try to kick, punch or cause further injury to an opponent as when they are in a vulnerable position as they try to get up.

Thuggish behaviour is thuggish behaviour. I expect it in Rugby League because it's a game for neanderthals who have limited technical ball skills.

There are some Aussie Rules players with outstanding ball skills.

I reckon the gifted technicians should turn their attention to Football and let the thugs continue to play Aussie Rules and either form of Rugby.

EDIT Baker rubbed out for 7 weeks. Thankfully the AFL has given this thug a suitable penalty and let's hope it's a warning to other AFL players, who have no football ability, but rely purely on thuggish behaviour to survive.

You are an idiot. It is supposed to be the action that determines the punishment ( though there are obviously flogs like you on the MRP, making decisions like the one not to penalise Judd ) ,not anyone's predetermined idea's about the players football ability.

Ooops. My mistake. Apparently, the street thug, Stephen Baker, has been suspended for 12 weeks.

I guess, he can now go out partying with other miscreants, who seem to have a home at Moorabbin?

Im loving the AFL but:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=S0RcDgw0luk

Happening every week in the AFL, little wonder that Australia vs Serbia gets higher ratings then Geelong vs St Kilda, a match that has been pumped up in the media for the last couple of weeks and was even telecast live, in prime time, on a nice cold Melbourne winter night when you'd think there was nothing else to do. Can't blame most Australians though, Geelong vs St Kilda is a big letdown from the thrills and passion that was on show in the Aus-Serbia clash.

Im loving the AFL but:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=S0RcDgw0luk

Happening every week in the AFL, little wonder that Australia vs Serbia gets higher ratings then Geelong vs St Kilda, a match that has been pumped up in the media for the last couple of weeks and was even telecast live, in prime time, on a nice cold Melbourne winter night when you'd think there was nothing else to do. Can't blame most Australians though, Geelong vs St Kilda is a big letdown from the thrills and passion that was on show in the Aus-Serbia clash.

Spot on. I've been a fan of Geelong in recent years but it seems the mediocrity of the opposition has even dragged Geelong down and they are now exhibiting poor technique and their tactics are reverting back to the primitive like the rest of the AFL competition. I switched to the Geel v St Kilda game during ad breaks on Master Chef but realised it was more interesting to watch Christiano Ronaldo "go to hot places and cold places" than watch players just converge on an oval ball and show no indication of structure or strategy.

Even AFL players and commentators are addicted to the 2010 WC and are constantly talking about the latest game and latest controversy from the World Cup.

Funny, I never heard Martin Tyler, Paul Dempsey, Zelko Kalac, Ned Zelic or Dave Zdrilic talking about the Baker and Johnson episode from Friday night ... Why? Because no one cares.

figjam

but Australians care, it doesn't matter what the rest of the impoverished, uneducated world knows or doesn't know about this part of the world.

figjam

but Australians care, it doesn't matter what the rest of the impoverished, uneducated world knows or doesn't know about this part of the world.

Then explain the intimidatingly high TV ratings of 8,000 viewers in the Sydney TV market for the biggest H & A AFL League game of the season, Geelong vs St Kilda Grand Final rematch. 8,000 viewers out of 4.5 million watched the highest profile AFL match of the season so far and you think that it's a national sport?

The key is the 3 million viewers the AFL gets on FTA, around the country, every week, 26 weeks of the year, year after year.

That's the key.

That wasn't the question I asked. Apologies if you have trouble reading, but could you please kindly answer my original question?

8,000 viewers out of 4.5 million watched the highest profile AFL match of the season so far and you think that it's a national sport?

I don't claim AFL as a national sport.

To have a truly national sport in this country it would need to be the size of the AFL and NRL combined.

Neither the AFL nor the NRL can lay claim to being our national sport. Soccer is way out of the picture, before you even start thinking that way.

Please don't start to confuse national competition with national sport either.

That wasn't the question I asked. Apologies if you have trouble reading, but could you please kindly answer my original question?

YOu need a lesson in the fundamentals of running a sports business.

Here is another one.

The AFL has 600,000+ memberships, that's triple the number of the other three codes combined.

That adds up to a very succesful business model.

It's why Mexican food giant, Mission, shuns soccer in this country when wanting to enter the Australian market, much preferring to sponsor an AFL club, and why Adelaide Utd is stuck with Jim's Mowing.

You and figjam need to understand the fundamentals of running a sports business.

Why are Soccer players not being Targeted?