Why are we not talking about this?

A few very precious people on here.
And very revealing that they’ve obviously never been to country footy games.
But hey, they can continue to sit faceless in a crowd of tens of thousands and never ever have real connections with real people who participate in the game.
Umpires and opposition players are abused, wI think limits,over the fence in the real world, then meet in a social setting where those things are put aside and friendships are formed.
This is the way of the real Australia.
I wouldn’t expect the majority of you to understand.

Unfortunately, people like dom dom are their own special category of crazy, beyond club affiliation and beyond help.

Life hasn't been good for these folk since the dastardly Whitlam years and the second wave of feminism and the Family Law Act. It's all gone a bit too far, it seems.

The real victims are men. We built stuff and conjured capitalism and we protected women from the beasts and from their own debased inclinations, and how do they repay us? By telling us that we're part of the problem!

god bless gough...

But hey, they can continue to sit faceless in a crowd of tens of thousands and never ever have real connections with real people who participate in the game.
Umpires and opposition players are abused, wI think limits,over the fence in the real world, then meet in a social setting where those things are put aside and friendships are formed.
I think you make a good point. There is a part of australia which you might call real australia or traditional australia, which completely ignores these kinds of debates. Their general feeling is that if you can be dumped upon from a great height and take it with a smiley face, then you're a good bloke or sheila....

I'm proud to know my response to the abuse of men and women is to condemn and abhor both.

The only difference between you and me is I feel compassion for every person who is abused or demeaned. I don't have any conditional compassion/empathy which is dependent upon the genitals of the victim. I am happy to stand by that value system.

Both my son and daughter were victims of vicious street assaults which left them scarred for life. Do you think I shed more tears or felt more pain over the assault of my daughter? What sort of sick person treats human beings differently based upon their gender?

Oh yes, I know that you are the Compassionate Man, you've told me many times. The irony is that you're often accusing me of virtue signalling at the same time.

I'm no fan of suffering. I took my bashings many times in earlier days, domus, and I can't say that I developed a liking for it.

The AFL commissioned an evidence-based report which makes it very clear that female umpires are targeted in specific ways. They are often targeted because they are female, because a particular sub-species of bloke can't handle the notion of a female adjudicating their game. That's one part of the gender-based aspect to this.

They are often targeted with threats of sexual assault. If you can't see why young women adjudicating a man's game might feel a deeper and more immediate sense of vulnerability in those circumstances, then...I won't be surprised. But other people see it clearly for what it is. It is another component of the gendered aspect of the abuse.

It's quite clear, mate. You look to deny the special characteristics of the situation because you are determined to deny the situation itself. Trying to make it invisible. There's something more than sad in that effort.

it might seem strange to say this.... but i really enjoy demonstrations of good sportsman or sportswomanship. I used to like watching ash barty at the end of matches show respect for everyone involved.

I dont know what happened in my youth for me to end up with this attitude. Most people used to love guys like john mcenroe who effectively cheated as far as I was concerned. Evidently love conflict and friction. It's exciting and passionate. You have to throw things to really want to win. If you dont abuse an umpire then you're not a fair dinkum supporter.

I blame my parents ...

The thread was about the abuse of female umpires. It was presented as some kind of uniquely horrific abuse. Some posters, including me simply asked why the threats male umpires endure are any less abhorrent and you leap to saying I am the reason the Collingwood fanbase has such a terrible reputation. What upsets you so much? What is wrong with asking for the same level of concern for men and women?

You are the poster boy for knee jerk BS responses the moment someone dares to suggest we show the same compassion for man and boys as we do women and girls.

You bring race into the discussion too. What sort of bigot does that? How do you know what colour I am any way?

You are the person with a problem.

You need all the strength God can give you.
You are delusional. Genuinely incomprehensible to be as out of touch with you.

Stop with the pathetic attempts to make it out as if anyone who cares about women doesn't care about men. Your posts in this thread are a continuation of your disgraceful social takes.

Unfortunately, people like dom dom are their own special category of crazy, beyond club affiliation and beyond help.

Life hasn't been good for these folk since the dastardly Whitlam years and the second wave of feminism and the Family Law Act. It's all gone a bit too far, it seems.

The real victims are men. We built stuff and conjured capitalism and we protected women from the beasts and from their own debased inclinations, and how do they repay us? By telling us that we're part of the problem!
You carry such deep seated bias. It's sad. I'll never understand this endless dismissal of male suffering in our society. What drives it? You mock me for daring to say I care as much about men and boys as I do women and girls. In our society this is considered an unacceptable view to hold. It's insane. I have never once written a derogatory word about women or girls in all my time on Big Footy yet because I speak up for males I have been branded a sick women hating misogynist who supports the rape and abuse of women and girls.

Why?

I love all of the many women and girls I have in my life. They would laugh at your comments and all you infer about me.

If our media endlessly focused on the issues confronting men and boys for decades I would be asking why we don't care about women and girls. I have no agenda. I just respond to the blatant bigotry in our society.

What disturbs you all so much when I ask for compassion for men?

The real victims are men you write with contempt. But what you write in disgust is in fact indisputably true. Other than family violence in which men make up one third of all victims, men are the overwhelmingly most affected by the major societal scourges. Suicide, workplace death, homelessness, Family Court outcomes, education and health. These are the areas we examine to identify the well being of people in our community. Why do you mock the suggestion that the deaths of men in their workplace, on our streets or by their own hand indicate that men are indeed suffering.

I won't throw up all the stats because you don't care anyway-but if the stats showed women to be the gender making up the overwhelming majority of suicides, homeless, workplace deaths, longer prison terms for the same crimes as committed by the other gender, had a shorter life span and were failing miserably in our education institutions you would point to these facts as signs of our lack of care for our women and girls and proof of our society's contempt for their suffering.

But at best we shrug these facts away or lay the blame for them on the men themselves-you know, victim blaming.

Other than family violence in which men make up one third of all victims, men are the overwhelmingly most affected by the major societal scourges. Suicide, workplace death, homelessness, Family Court outcomes, education and health.
How weird that you omit things like domestic violence. It's almost as if you're pushing a misogynistic agenda! Either that, or the DV crisis in Australia doesn't count as a "societal scourge" in your book. In which case you're ****ed up

Yeah mate, that hows its done.. These Melbourne fellas got no idea mate, in their smog and virus infected backyard mate yaeh.

Love it mate, yeah, throw a few tinnies down, abuse those maggots, thats what they are mate yeah.

Its Ok, after the game, throw a few more down.. best mates then hey... life long mates and that, few more tinnies.. best man at their wedding and that .

They like it you know, the abuse and that. Its just banter, calling maggot scum and that... few tinnies sorts any hard feelings hey.

Majority wouldn't understand... dont even understand high beams and that... city folk hey, sheep's back and that hey

if i may intervene for a second, domie, I think there might be differences in the experiences between male and female umpires. The report indicated that males -either players or in the crowds were making inappropriate comments or sending dick flicks or generally making the women umpires feel uncomfortable while they went about their duties.....

now i'm not sure if too many male umpires get pics of various female parts in the course of their duties....

and, as in the bumping matters, the outcome is the focus. Not enough female umpires are coming forward and many are leaving the ranks......and it should be said that many male umpires are leaving the ranks too....

so there are similar problems between the sexes but females do have some special cases...
But different doesn't mean worse which is what is implied every time these surveys or articles are written.

You carry such deep seated bias. It's sad. I'll never understand this endless dismissal of male suffering in our society. What drives it? You mock me for daring to say I care as much about men and boys as I do women and girls. In our society this is considered an unacceptable view to hold. It's insane. I have never once written a derogatory word about women or girls in all my time on Big Footy yet because I speak up for males I have been branded a sick women hating misogynist who supports the rape and abuse of women and girls.

Why?

I love all of the many women and girls I have in my life. They would laugh at your comments and all you infer about me.

If our media endlessly focused on the issues confronting men and boys for decades I would be asking why we don't care about women and girls. I have no agenda. I just respond to the blatant bigotry in our society.

What disturbs you all so much when I ask for compassion for men?

The real victims are men you write with contempt. But what you write in disgust is in fact indisputably true. Other than family violence in which men make up one third of all victims, men are the overwhelmingly most affected by the major societal scourges. Suicide, workplace death, homelessness, Family Court outcomes, education and health. These are the areas we examine to identify the well being of people in our community. Why do you mock the suggestion that the deaths of men in their workplace, on our streets or by their own hand indicate that men are indeed suffering.

I won't throw up all the stats because you don't care anyway-but if the stats showed women to be the gender making up the overwhelming majority of suicides, homeless, workplace deaths, longer prison terms for the same crimes as committed by the other gender, had a shorter life span and were failing miserably in our education institutions you would point to these facts as signs of our lack of care for our women and girls and proof of our society's contempt for their suffering.

But at best we shrug these facts away or lay the blame for them on the men themselves-you know, victim blaming.

The problem of this self-indulgent post is that I do in fact have compassion, for men and women.

I've indicated as much, but like always you see what you want to see.

How weird that you omit things like domestic violence. It's almost as if you're pushing a misogynistic agenda! Either that, or the DV crisis in Australia doesn't count as a "societal scourge" in your book. In which case you're f’ed up
I didn't mention it because it is the one area where women are the majority of victims-a fact we are reminded of every day. Can I assume that because you didn't mention suicide, homelessness, workplace deaths (over 100 men a year) that you don't consider these societal scourges in which case you'd be f'ed up?

As I said DV's the one area women are the majority of victims but even then men make up one third of victims but receive zero funding from the government and zero recognition in the multi million dollar advertising campaigns. How can this be justified?

Men are more than three times as likely to commit suicide but I've never heard anyone suggest we should put a stop to male suicide while completely ignoring female suicide. That would be outrageous.

Seventy thousand men died fighting for our country. I'm not sure how many women have but I'm thinking less than fifty. But that doesn't stop us from honouring the sacrifice of our brave men and women on ANZAC Day. So why does the DV industry run campaigns in which they deliberately exclude male victims of DV just because there are less of them and literally ask us to end DV against women and only women? I'd like you to explain why this is necessary.

Women kill as many children as men do but all of the campaigns say: Protect women and their children again implying that men and only men are a threat to a child's safety.

Three weeks ago RCD burned their daughters ( two each) alive and killed themselves as well. Another mum placed her baby on the train tracks in the outer eastern suburbs and it was killed. There was no huge media outcry. It was just presented as a sad tragedy. When a man kills his children all men are told they must step up and have conversations with their mates and children and teach then not to kill and rape. Why? Why are men held collectively responsible for the crimes committed by a person who happens to share their gender?

A Cairns mother stabbed eight children to death-the worst child murder in our country's history. Her name disappeared from the papers within a couple of days.

Did you know that a candlelight vigil is held annually in Federation Square? They read out the names of women killed by men. They don't read out the names of men killed by women or children killed by women. Do you find this rather disturbing?

How do you think the many dads who wander around an empty house because their wife murdered their kids feel when they watch the advertisements asking men to stop violence against women and their children?

G'day, this is my brother Daryl, this is my other brother Daryl....................

By the way-I loved Gough. I stood in the Box Hill Town Hall chanting his name and almost touched his outstretched hand! I wore my green It's Time tee-shirt. You have no idea who I am.

I didn't mention it because it is the one area where women are the majority of victims-a fact we are reminded of every day. Can I assume that because you didn't mention suicide, homelessness, workplace deaths (over 100 men a year) that you don't consider these societal scourges in which case you'd be f'ed up?

As I said DV's the one area women are the majority of victims but even then men make up one third of victims but receive zero funding from the government and zero recognition in the multi million dollar advertising campaigns. How can this be justified?

Men are more than three times as likely to commit suicide but I've never heard anyone suggest we should put a stop to male suicide while completely ignoring female suicide. That would be outrageous.

Seventy thousand men died fighting for our country. I'm not sure how many women have but I'm thinking less than fifty. But that doesn't stop us from honouring the sacrifice of our brave men and women on ANZAC Day. So why does the DV industry run campaigns in which they deliberately exclude male victims of DV just because there are less of them and literally ask us to end DV against women and only women? I'd like you to explain why this is necessary.

Women kill as many children as men do but all of the campaigns say: Protect women and their children again implying that men and only men are a threat to a child's safety.

Three weeks ago RCD burned their daughters ( two each) alive and killed themselves as well. Another mum placed her baby on the train tracks in the outer eastern suburbs and it was killed. There was no huge media outcry. It was just presented as a sad tragedy. When a man kills his children all men are told they must step up and have conversations with their mates and children and teach then not to kill and rape. Why? Why are men held collectively responsible for the crimes committed by a person who happens to share their gender?

A Cairns mother stabbed eight children to death-the worst child murder in our country's history. Her name disappeared from the papers within a couple of days.

Did you know that a candlelight vigil is held annually in Federation Square? They read out the names of women killed by men. They don't read out the names of men killed by women or children killed by women. Do you find this rather disturbing?

How do you think the many dads who wander around an empty house because their wife murdered their kids feel when they watch the advertisements asking men to stop violence against women and their children?
Your ability to type such a wall of shit without any pang of shame is truly unbelievable!

So a report is compiled to directly address why female umpires are leaving game and undercovers abhorrent behaviour from male colleagues and members of the public towards them YET this report should have also concluded male umpires get abuse too?

I mean it wasn’t what the investigation and report were addressing but it just should have been mentioned because you know “men have it bad too”. That we shouldn’t forget all the male suffering should have been the ultimate conclusion of the report, just to make sure we acknowledge it.

I mean why would a report into why female umpires are leaving in droves not just focus on the poor plight of their male colleagues? I just don’t get it?

I may have a brain injury.

So a report is compiled to directly address why female umpires are leaving game and undercovers abhorrent behaviour from male colleagues and members of the public towards them YET this report should have also concluded male umpires get abuse too?

I mean it wasn’t what the investigation and report were addressing but it just should have been mentioned because you know “men have it bad too”. That we shouldn’t forget all the male suffering should have been the ultimate conclusion of the report, just to make sure we acknowledge it.

I mean why would a report into why female umpires are leaving in droves not just focus on the poor plight of their male colleagues? I just don’t get it?

I may have a brain injury.
This thread has given me a severe one. Time for a beer (or 20)

I was shocked when i read this quote

"Along with the above recounts, other complaints include female umpires having to share change rooms with naked goal umpires described as “grandpas” as well as being racially vilified."

I doubt that i will ever walk around naked at home again.... those female umpires should be punished

Why are we not talking about this?