Why can't Adelaide retain players?

iu

While you guys are at it, does anyone want to come to Richmond? Low pay but Premiership club. We have new application forms. No need to apply unless you have the eye of the Tiger, a fighter, dancing through the fire 'cause I am a champion and you're gonna hear me ROAR!!!!!!!! (Katy Perry-check it out)

If the Crows just picked SA players then we’d finish in the bottom 4 every year. There just aren’t that many top-level SA players compared to the rest of Australia put together.

On top of that, if the Crows just picked SA kids, what happens when they have pick 5, but the best SA kid gets taken at pick 4? The second best SA kid could be only worth around pick 20, which would be a terrible use of a top 5 pick.
Listened to 6 pr last night and they had Cornes on (snr) and he'd disagree with that he's suggest that the club look at homegrown talent. TBH I think it's a bit of a stretch to say you'd be bottom 4 every year

Currently the best SA talent going around would probably be Jacobs, Laird, Smith, Betts, Gibbs, Grundy, Fantasia, Neale, Mackie, Menzel, Davis, Burgoyne, Puopolo, Viney could be considered part SA, Ebert, Wingard, Grundy, Hurn and Daniel.

Of that list that aren’t at or we’re at Adelaide Fantasia, Neale, Menzel, Burgoyne, Puopolo, Grundy, Ebert and Daniel were available for us to pick, the Crows actually selected SA players before Fantasia and Neale so discount them.

That means if we take Graham Cornes advice our list would not have both Crouches, Sloane, Talia, Cameron, Douglas, Lynch, Jenkins and instead have Grundy, Ebert, Burgoyne, Puopolo, Menzel and Daniel. Being willing to draft outside SA may lose us some stars, but it has left our list in an overall stronger position.

Neither does paying half the team a million bucks like we would of had to to keep them when there's a salary cap.

Look at it like this.

Say we have 44 players that we pay 250k.. A price that all other clubs agree is a fair price. We then develop them all in to players that other teams are willing to pay a million each to.

Clearly the salary cap doesn't allow us to keep all 44 players and pay 44 million dollars.

Developing players into players that other clubs are willing to pay big $$$ for isn't a culture problem lol. It's the opposite.

We just need to select players with more ticker and loyalty.

But If lever stands there and looks you in the eye 3 yrs ago and says he wants to be a 10 to 15 yr Crows player and prove everyone wrong that let him slip to pick 14 I would probably tend to believe him as well.

Problem is our culture developed him into a player other teams are willing to pay a million bucks to. As we have with many others. We simply can't afford to pay every player our culture develops.

Geelong had this ideology in the 80s and refused to pay Greg Williams an extra 5k a year. They ended up losing him and 4 Grand Finals. Food for thought.

Kinda sucks, this one more than most because he has only played 3 seasons. Its a sign of the times where free agency puts all the power in the hands of player managers.

Lever is going for the money first and family second which Adelaide can dump back on Melbourne if they like because Melbourne have poached him in the background. Hogan would look good in the Adelaide strip ....

Is it derelict of a club to pay that high amount to a defender who plays the intercept mark role (which is very important but not the most important in a team)? IMO yes it is derelict.

I reckon Mitch McGovern could play Lever's role just as well. Has the same read of the ball and "gecko hands" as his brother, just remains to be seen if he could slot into the structure.

Currently the best SA talent going around would probably be Jacobs, Laird, Smith, Betts, Gibbs, Grundy, Fantasia, Neale, Mackie, Menzel, Davis, Burgoyne, Puopolo, Viney could be considered part SA, Ebert, Wingard, Grundy, Hurn and Daniel.

Of that list that aren’t at or we’re at Adelaide Fantasia, Neale, Menzel, Burgoyne, Puopolo, Grundy, Ebert and Daniel were available for us to pick, the Crows actually selected SA players before Fantasia and Neale so discount them.

That means if we take Graham Cornes advice our list would not have both Crouches, Sloane, Talia, Cameron, Douglas, Lynch, Jenkins and instead have Grundy, Ebert, Burgoyne, Puopolo, Menzel and Daniel. Being willing to draft outside SA may lose us some stars, but it has left our list in an overall stronger position.
So I guess you accept then that neither of the Adelaide teams could not be wholly and truly South Australian, if you want my opinion those SA players match those Vic players you've mentioned for talent

They must start investing in their own local talent instead of poaching from Vic.

However Tex 'cry baby, throw the toys out of the cot' response when Levy did the respectful thing to call him also show, why would you even go to the crows. You have a captain who cares mate about the national anthem stance than he does in regard to putting his body on the line in the biggest game. I'm sure of the captain of the year award was done after the grand final, he would not have got it.

Also starts from the top with their management walking out of a meeting with Melbourne, unable to cope or negotiate anything on the table. It's a friggin business Adelaide, not a suburban football club. Get proper people in that take the emotion out and looks at the best outcome. Lucky these guys are in football as they would be crucified in the business world.

Sook up Tex.

So I guess you accept then that neither of the Adelaide teams could not be wholly and truly South Australian, if you want my opinion those SA players match those Vic players you've mentioned for talent
The problem is it's not just the 2 SA clubs picking those players. If the Crows have pick 17 and 35 then they're probably not going to get the best 2 SA players with those picks. Other clubs will likely snap them up before they get the chance.

Similarly, what happens if the Crows have pick 5, but the best SA player is rated around pick 20? Yes, the Crows could trade down, but it's not always that simple.

Most of the Apricot Slice brigade, a substantial part of your supporter base, the Ednas, the Beryls, the Barrys, the Trevors still firmly believe in it. The first line of your song proudly proclaims you are the pride of South Australia FFS. As you pointed out, you wear the State colours. No other club or franchise in the league relies/uses or leans on "state pride" quite like the Crows. It must be very off putting for a young Victorian recruit to know they are outsiders from the very outset.

And your song says "we'll never give in until the flag is ours for the taking" yet that's far from what Port have delivered for several years now.

It's almost like a line from a song doesn't completely define the club. Whoa, who knew? :eek:

Tomorrow’s Advertiser back page “Crows In Crisis”

Yep, nothing says crisis like finishing minor premier, making the GF and trading a player for 1 (and possibly 2) picks that are worth more than the pick that player was originally drafted with.