Why Hawthorn Are The Most Insecure Club In The League

Lemme get this straight, are you saying if a supporter of club X starts a thread about club Y it is because he feels his club is inferior?

I'll use the search function whilst I await your reply :)..........

No, I'm not saying anything so generic. I'm saying that the amount of overwrought, quality-allergic anti-Hawthorn threads on the bay is clearly an indication of how much Hawthorn is on peoples minds, and of how uncomfortable those thoughts are for certain people. I am saying that this has the effect of reassuring Hawthorn's fans that the Hawks are rightly feared and respected, in spite of what turned out to be a dismal season.

It's a trend that is stark and undeniable, and it feels fantastic.

1. Don`t mention the barren years 1925-1960
Mention them all you like. They make the last 50 years all the sweeter! ;)
2. Not all of them voted no to the merger. Would love to see if any were man enough to admit that they did vote yes. They are out there, because there were plenty of them.
In fact, Hawthorn was the club that stopped the merger. Their were some insecure members who went the other way, but at the end of the day If Hawthorn didn't say no, it would've happened. And given that this turned out so clearly to be the right course of action, all those who voted yes have put it behind them and will never have cause to think such thoughts again.

eg. Random Essendon flog making a dick of himself by trtying to stir us up by trying to undemine what is undeniably a point of pride for us does not constitute cause for doubt.;)

Epic Failure by you. We dont include non-ticketed memberships such as these in our official talley. However Hawthorn offer 2 free memberships when a family signs up hence the pet membership tag line for Hawthorn, and the artificial inflation of Hawthorns memberships. Should of read my OP maggot.

You do realise the AFL audit all membership figures - Hawthorn actually had 700 members not counted in their official tally due to them getting on too late.

Our membership includes all ticketed members. Get over it.

1. Don`t mention the barren years 1925-1960

10 flags in 50 years.

7 flags in my life time.

Newsflash for you sunshine, I don't give a flying rats tossbag what happened in 1897. You can have your mickey mouse, round robin, knickerbocker amatuer flags.

I'll take my modern era, colour TV, professional flags.

2. Not all of them voted no to the merger. Would love to see if any were man enough to admit that they did vote yes. They are out there, because there were plenty of them.

Hawthorn had 12,300 members in 1996. That means only 3,690 people voted to merge. And that was 15 years ago.

We are the family club. The family membership allows for a family of up to four kids. So what? I would have thought Richmond and Collingwood would have gotten onto this ages ago given the socio-economic status of their member base.

And it gives the bonus of 2 extra free members, hence the useless numbers and cats and dogs rumors.

Richmond interstate members

So what

Oh and for lulz

Richmond Pet membership

Is not included in our official talley unlike Hawthorn who include the freebies mentioned above in theirs.

Collingwood 3 game membership

They have a few useless members too but not as much as you. At least we know they have a support base which is in fact large. Hawthorn do a number of things to make their numbers larger, Collingwood are only doing one thing.

By the way. Just let me get this straight, it's ok for Richmond to have interstate members, but not the Hawks. Yeh?

Nope it was a typo and you latched onto it like a failing flog clutching straws in a losing battle against artificial membership inflation. Anyclub can have interstate members.
Your just a typical Hawthorn flog peice of shit who only hears want they want hear. Stop believing your own bullcrap you look stupid.

crybaby.jpg

Have a sook.

Hawthorn = 52,000+ members. :thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:

Fact.

You do realise the AFL audit all membership figures - Hawthorn actually had 700 members not counted in their official tally due to them getting on too late.

Our membership includes all ticketed members. Get over it.

Sure you did, prove it mate. How do you know that you dont combine them? I mean your numbers are excessively large for a team that rarely outdraws us who has a "supposed excess of 15k" more members than Richmond.

Even if the AFL audits them they will still include the extra bonus memberships because they are part of the initial deal which did include an exchange of money.

10 flags in 50 years.

7 flags in my life time.

Newsflash for you sunshine, I don't give a flying rats tossbag what happened in 1897. You can have your mickey mouse, round robin, knickerbocker amatuer flags.

I'll take my modern era, colour TV, professional flags.

You are a recently succcessful club whoever brought that up is an idiot, all teams have bad patches.

Hawthorn had 12,300 members in 1996. That means only 3,690 people voted to merge. And that was 15 years ago.
Look i'm just saying all this because the last few years Hawthorn flogs have been beating off over this stuff when in fact it's a load of bullshit. Sad thing is that you all believe it, or know about it but just stick your heads in the sand and pretend your dick is huge.

crybaby.jpg

Have a sook.

Hawthorn = 52,000+ members. :thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:

Fact.
failure.jpg

I have you starved for words, we all know when people resort to these measures they have failed. You lost the arguement, that number is nothing.

Hawthorn = Artificially inflated minow propped up with bogus memberships and lucrative sponserships that involve selling part of the clubs identity to a different state. :thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:

In the family membership, the 2 kids memberships still have names on them.
Are you saying it's somehow dishonest to get your kid a membership to the family club? Are you saying this family membership deal was conceived as a way to rip you off, as opposed to investing in our own supporter base?

Your arguments are nothing if not insecure. :eek:

I think one of the reasons can be found in another sporting code.

New_England_Patriots_51cb.jpg

Denver Broncos: 1960-62 (1962-96)

As a part of this year’s celebrations of 50 seasons since the American Football League began (originally a rival, it merged with the NFL in 1970), the original eight AFL teams have been wearing throwback uniforms in selected matches. Unfortunately, this has meant a renaissance for the hideous brown and mustard yellow Denver Broncos kit, which was so unloved that when it was ditched after two seasons, it was burned at a public bonfire.

I mean imagine being a hawthorn fan and having to look in the mirror each weekend asking, of all the colours in the world they had to choose these. Then having the indignity of walking out in public. It must be hard for them so please leave them alone. Its not their fault.

^^^^^^^^^^^ 9 flags in 32 years, flog
0 flags in years that are not 1961, 1971, 1976, 1978, 1983, 1986, 1988, 1989, 1991 & 2008.

Therefore in my arbitrary chosen time period which contains 103 seasons (a very representative sample), we lead 16 > 0.

I challenge you to pick selective years and get a 16 premiership lead on Essendon. :) :thumbsu:

I mean imagine being a hawthorn fan and having to look in the mirror each weekend asking, of all the colours in the world they had to choose these. Then having the indignity of walking out in public. It must be hard for them so please leave them alone. Its not their fault.

Way to pwn yourself.

How insecure must you be? :eek:

some interesting comments...I just think Hawthorn supporters are misunderstood...I think what confuses most non hawthorn supporters is why the Hawks left their spiritual home at Glenferrie and moved to a housing estate in the middle of nowhere??

and why would such a successful / member rich club play home games in Tassie....why play games away from your faithful supporters in Melb?? they dont need the cash....surely not.......

0 flags in years that are not 1961, 1971, 1976, 1978, 1983, 1986, 1988, 1989, 1991 & 2008.

Therefore in my arbitrary chosen time period which contains 103 seasons (a very representative sample), we lead 16 > 0.

I challenge you to pick selective years and get a 16 premiership lead on Essendon. :) :thumbsu:

Another insecure flog who owns himself by posting the old 16 > arguement.

I feel so proud to be a part of the family club. For the hawks to absorb the cost of the third and fourth child on a family membership really shows how much they care about their members. And what an amazing club to be able to attract 14000 members outside melbourne. Shows how much the club's supporters want to be involved - even if they don't have as many chances to see their team live. Just awesome.

some interesting comments...I just think Hawthorn supporters are misunderstood...I think what confuses most non hawthorn supporters is why the Hawks left their spiritual home at Glenferrie and moved to a housing estate in the middle of nowhere??

Given you're probably 14, I'll explain it to you.

Glenferrie Oval sits between a major train line and a street. It has two grandstands at one end - one of which is Heritage Listed but at the other end, is the Council owned pool.

Long story short - there is no room to build a facility given the trainline can't go anywhere, the stand can't be demolished and the street has houses on the other side of it.

So unless you can solve this problem, I don't see how we had much choice.

and why would such a successful / member rich club play home games in Tassie....why play games away from your faithful supporters in Melb?? they dont need the cash....surely not.......

And in a worst-case scenario, clubs including Melbourne, North Melbourne or the Western Bulldogs would struggle to survive without income from the MCG, drawn from tickets and broadcast rights.

Link

Notice how Hawthorn aren't mentioned? Thanks to our 52,000 members and our great sponsorship with Tasmania, we are now in a much, much better financial position than many clubs. Our Board has taken the view that if we continue with this deal, we can pretty much guarantee the survival of the Hawthorn Football Club.

Forever.

:thumbsu:

Why Hawthorn Are The Most Insecure Club In The League