Winner and margin Carlton vs Essendon

I must say i am a little surprised with all of my fellow Essendon supporters.
Almost 5 pages in and every single one of you has tipped an Essendon win (assuming Dyson doesn't play:). It was the same in the pre season, a few good performances and the over rating begins. We struggled to get past a woeful West Coast team who clearly wasn't taking the game too seriously yet now we are good things against the Blues. The Blues are nothing special but they are better then us.

I would be very surprised if we lost too Carlton by a considerable margin. We have a lot of players who match up well against them (vice-versa) and we saw that last time we beat them, their best players had great games and we still beat them, quite easily too. So I'm assuming thats where the confidence is coming from.

Further, we have been playing pretty good footy for the last few weeks (bar the 2nd half against Hawthorn) and should've beaten WCE by a lot more if he had've converted our opportunities earlier in the game.

We are a completely different side (mentally) to that you played in round 3, if we turn up with the intensity we have displayed over the past fortnight we should win it.

Bombers fans take solace in the fact Collingwood were saying the same thing to us last week :D

We have too much on the line to lose this though imo, blues by 3-5 goals :thumbsu:

bombers to run riot, superior forward line to they're backline, Ryder to keep Fev to 0.1. Lloyd + Lucas 7 each, McPhee 4, Neagle 5. Hille to have 55 hitouts, 35 possies and 3 goals. Watson to have 47 touches, 40 of them handballs

i love ur optimism mate.
but watson having 47 touches is a tad to far :p
lol

you're midfield better than ours? you have 1 big goal kicker, shut him down shut you down. and our midfield>you're midfield, you have Judd and murphy, but thats it, and maybe Stevens if he can shed his fattyness

then how did we win the game against port?
fev only got 1 or 2!!
explain??

Geez, you bet pretty big for a uni student. I wish i had that sort of money to risk when i was back in uni. :thumbsu:

I am now thinking of taking that $300 and flying up to see the game actually Jimo! :)
Probably sold out though. I think I will save it for the next blockbuster.

Essendon 18.7.115
Carlton 16.12.108

Goals:
Essendon - Lucas (4), Neagle (3), Lloyd, McPhee, Jetta (2), Myers, Hille, Laycock, Monfries, Reimers
Carlton - Fevola, Fisher, Judd (3), Betts (2), Kreuzer, Stevens, Simpson, Murphy, Gibbs

Best:
Essendon - McVeigh, Lucas, Fletcher, Ryder, Lonergan
Carlton - Judd, Murphy, Simpson, Gibbs, Kreuzer

you're midfield better than ours? you have 1 big goal kicker, shut him down shut you down. and our midfield>you're midfield, you have Judd and murphy, but thats it, and maybe Stevens if he can shed his fattyness

I don't think so.

Explain the win V Fremantle & the win V Port Adelaide.

Carlton by 73 :thumbsu:

Carlton: 18 14 122
Essendon: 12 9 81

Goals:
Carlton- Fevola 8 Kruezer 3 Judd 2 Betts Murphy Gibbs Fisher Waite
Essendon- Llyod 5 Lucas 2 Lovett 2 Hille Monfries Remiers

Best:
Carlton- Judd Fevola Murphy Gibbs Russell
Essendon- Hille Llyod McVeigh Remiers Lucas

Worth a go :p

Go Blues!!!

Form goes right out the window in Essendon Carlton games. You should know that.

Ya right you know Goona....

Essendon by 3 goals....but Fevola is in red hot form and has to be stopped.

I love the fact that Carlton fans think they're on the fasttrack to a premiership because they beat the 2nd biggest chokers in the comp and then collingwood.

Seriously, if we play to our potential, we will beat them.

They will not be able to match up Neagle, McPhee, Lucas and Lloyd....Neagle being the key for mine!

If watson, Stanton and Lonergan do their jobs, we should be fine.

If the same side that played Richmond turns up though, we'll lose by about 8 goals.

I predict Essendon by 8 points, in what would be a big 'upset', but not before Fevola kicks a couple more in the last to scare the crap out of us!

Call it bias, I don't mind.......we'll find out on Sunday!

Usually we play Fev into form, hopefully this time we can play him out of it :thumbsu:

He needs to be smashed around. Too many teams go easy on him I reckon. He can be sucked in to losing his focus if pushed around long enough. I don't think we have any one strong enough to stop him.

I had a dream last night that murphy had at least 39 touches, and Fev kicked over 10+ goals (in this game).

A dream, or a vision of the future?

A wet dream perhaps. Make sure you change the sheets before your mommy spanks your bottom. Come back to reality when your ready wet dreamer. ;)

There is no denying the dream was exciting and invigorating.
Fev kicking 10+ is not unlikely, he loves playing against Ess and had 14 scoring shots last week...

I'm sure it was, just keep your wet dreams to yourself because you are quickly becoming the biggest tool on this site.

The question is not who is the winner when these clubs meet.
It's who is less of a loser.

Carltons last wooden spoon: 2006
Essendons last wooden spoon: 1933

Whoops!

Ryder is an absolute spud. If Ryder > our backline, how come we can hold teams to under 100 points constantly?

Because we play an attacking brand of football we're more susceptible to the rebound.

Carlton's backline is its weakest link moving forward, I think Carlton have a bright future. Jamison and Waite are obvious standouts in terms of the future Carlton backline but I have serious question marks over Thornton and O'hAilpin, O'hAilpin did some ok things against the Pies but I honestly can't see him playing any part in future Carlton successes. Blues should've agreed to a trade of Thornton to the Hawks when he had value.

The question is not who is the winner when these clubs meet.
It's who is less of a loser.

Carltons last wooden spoon: 2006
Essendons last wooden spoon: 1933

Whoops!

Means nothing now my friend. We've done the suffering, we've done the reaping of the rewards, now we'll leave the left overs for you, preferably during the draft lock out. :thumbsu::thumbsu:

The dark days are over at Princes Park, they're only just beginning at Windy Hill.

FWIW, Blues by 73.