Review Winners and losers of Trade week.

On the W/L column for the trade period...

Despite the best efforts of the #1 Flog in the Media (D Barrett), this has turned from a disaster to a potential positive for the Dogs. Last week was rough, but to get the #1 KPF from last year to the Kennel is huge. Not just for profile (it's good there too), but for structure. We now have the #1 and #2 players from last years draft - in terms of potential impact in the long term

It frees up Crameri and Stringer to get the #2 and #3 defenders. Stringer finished with 22 goals in 9 games up forward to end the year (not exact - don't shoot me). Getting the #2 or #3 defender may see this number increase further, or see him move into the middle for short bursts. If we can get 25 goals (a goal a game) from Boyd (double Jones' output for the year) and 30+ from Stringer and Crameri - we'll be a 30 goal per season better side than this year.

While we have clearly paid overs now, it's a long term investment. Other pieces of the Dogs puzzle can hopefully be picked up through this and subsequent Draft/Trade periods.

Obviously it's not all positive, as I'd loved Pick #6 for a KPD as well - and to lose Griffen was heartbreaking.....

West Coast the biggest losers I reckon. An ordinary list which did not change one iota.
Also, I think Geelong have played the riskiest hand in this trade period. Their list now looks slow and top heavy (does Geelong have the slowest midfield in the comp?), but if Clark and Stanley can produce it may be worth it. Will be worth revisiting in 12 months time.
Brisbane, Port, Hawthorn, GWS and Gold Coast the clear winners in trade week. Saints and Blues did ok. Jury out on NM, Ess, Melb and Collingwood.
WB recovered something from the mess but I still can't fathom why they got rid of their coach AND the senior players he was supposed to have upset. Why did McCartney have to leave again? Supposedly he is a brilliant development coach and now the Dogs have an incredibly young list which seems full of talent. Wouldn't McCartney be a good coach to lead them?
Adelaide did next to nothing and only got a couple of back-up players. Fail.
Richmond and Freo, like West Coast, didn't do anything but at least their lists are already in ok shape.
And Sydney - all round disaster really.

Apart from that little contradiction, I pretty much agree.

I like what WB did. Gutsy.

Hawthorn played an amazing hand.

Port have improved significantly.

Brisbane have developed a powerhouse midfield. Impossible to feel sorry for them over last seasons walkout when they have shown they can play the game both ways.

North have improved their position.

All the best players in our history have come through the draft. Can't think of too many good players for WCE who were traded or FA pickups.

Trading isn't just about players, it can also be about picks. You guys traded to secure the Wirrpanda pick for example. Trading is about the profile of your list, and you guys need some qualitative improvement in your midfield to instantly become a serious finals contender.

Brisbane 'winners' is a bit of an overstatement imo.

They grabbed two one way mids- which they already have plenty of- both with a reasoanble history of injury as well- and both they have paid overs for.

Melbourne is just taking the piss- Heritier the Prince and Garlett- was Garlett brought in just so Prince Lumumba would have someone to preach to about not going out at night and getting into fights??

KAngaroos- must win a flag in the next year or two or they will be the stuffed for the next 5.

Hawks- frawley massive overs but o'rourke could be a cracker

Port- all dependent on SC notices really

Bombers- some good- Giles- some iffy- Cooney

Blues- seem to have done pretty well- but time will tell- got rid of some dead wood and picked up a few potentially good players.

Cats- strange strange strange- all not well in pussy cat land- Rhys stanley?? Scott brotehrs must've had bets on who could recruit the most useless player

Bit difficult to see their forward line getting heaps of opportunity though. Bit of a strange move for me.
I don't think Jeffy had a lot of options. Melbourne probably the keenest to give him a 2 year deal. If he can chase, tackle and crumb he's an upgrade as the team will be more inclined to move the ball quicker and more reliable defensively. Doesn't have to set the world on fire, if he's best 22 and solid he's a win. I certainly like getting him more than what we gave up for Lumumba and Frost.

Last year we gave up a lot for quality and then took lesser picks. This year we just scraped around with what to give up in order to keep top picks. I'm not sure which is better. Probably the first, in these days of free agency/heavy trading if you get top kids and look on the rise then someone will want to join you.

Probably fair to say the first club in history to be banned from trade week without actually doing anything in trade week was the loser.

Minor edit.:)

Anyhoo...

The big winners were Hawthorn and Brisbane. IN: Frawley, O'Rourke, OUT: Pick 19, Cheney, Lowden, Hallahan. Disappointed to lose Hallahan, but top clubs always lose fringe players eventually. He's simply worth more and will get more game time at GC. Ready made replacement at full back and the #2 draft pick from 2 years ago for not much. Have to be happy with that as the reigning premier.

IN: Beams, Christensen, OUT: Pick 5, Pick 25, Patfull, Crisp. Footy gods did a full 180 from a year ago with Beams and Christensen lobbing at their doorstep. Would've preferred to keep Patfull, but turning a 30 year old who wanted to move to NSW within the next 1-2 years into Christensen is win. Pick 5 may end up a gun, but you'd take Beams for that (+ 25/Crisp) every day of the week.

Port will be very happy with Ryder for 17 and 37 also. Exactly the sort of player they need and they got him without needing to trade out any players. Win.

On the flipside, Geelong turned Christensen into Rhys Stanley. I can't even type that and keep a straight face. Clark for Varcoe looks good on the surface, we'll wait and see whether Clark can get back to his best.

North got Higgins and Waite for nothing then lost Greenwood for pick 25. Would not be surprised to see Levi play more games than Shaun and Jarrad combined in 2015.

St Kilda and Melbourne shopped around picks 1, 2 & 3 but eventually didn't contribute a whole lot to proceedings. St Kilda got rid of Rhys Stanley which is a win on its own let alone the pick 21 they got in return.

The Boyd/Griffen trade will be the one talked about in years to come. Did the Dogs trade too much? Will the mooted contract ruin them? Ballsy move to go after Boyd after GWS' raid on Griffen, so massive props for that. I've got GWS ahead on points but if Boyd becomes what people think he can then expect a late round KO from the Dogs.

Richmond tried to sign Trengove (why?) then it fell apart due to a failed medical. I have them 9th in trade week.

Essendon lost Ryder and signed Cooney. Bottom 6.

Adelaide kept Dangerfield away from the 'I'm contracted but I want to leave' crowd so that's a win. Didn't really bring in any players of note. Downgraded pick 10 to 14. Why?

West Coast and Freo obviously did trade week by correspondence. Not even sure why we bother. I guess when we turn up we downgrade top 6 draft picks or go after Sharrod Wellingham so it's safer we don't.

Melbourne is just taking the piss- Heritier the Prince and Garlett- was Garlett brought in just so Prince Lumumba would have someone to preach to about not going out at night and getting into fights??

Essendon are still taking the piss. Act tough for a week before taking 17 and trading 37 for Cooney. Giles for a packet of chips. You showed them!

Are they going to win a flag with Goddard, Watson, Fletcher, Gwilt, Cooney, Winderlich and Chapman?

The elephant in the room will trumpet no.

It's almost like Parkin or Sheedy have taken control to keep going for that flag by bringing in veterans for one last shot.

Like Melbourne overall. Not sure about Lumumba, but picks 3, 4, Frost, 40 and 53 plus Stretch is a fair return for a bottom club. Garlett was a free kick. They didn't need to use the Matt Crouch selection on a veteran. Could be nothing or something like the player you'd draft with pick 61.

Have GWS as a winner. Picks 4, 6, 7 and 23 plus Steele and another project tall in Finlayson. Could easily draft three KPF with 4, 6, 7 and 23. They still have Cameron, Tomlinson, McCarthy, Stewart and Patton (albeit injured). SOS would be happy.

Dogs might be paying some of Griffen's wage. Feel tougher mids could work in the finals more than the Suns' efforts. They've done it without Ablett who kept them afloat. Griffen isn't Ablett, but he'll add inside and outside class.

Hawks may have pulled a fast one to offload Hallahan, Lowden and Cheney to get picks. Don't know why the Suns need Hallahan after taking Lonergan two years ago.

Cats better leave my bandwagon Ahern alone with 10. Might need some pace with Hunt, Christensen and Varcoe departing. Stanley could be a Hale-type or even ruck next to Clark. McIntosh looks a bust. Don't rate Simpson. I guess the KPF in the draft can't play forward/ruck. Or there aren't any rucks in the draft.

Pies could end up ahead if their players buy in. Doubt that they rate Buckley who will be under the pump next year. Pick five will need to be a game breaker or another KPP. They folded.

Biggs should have gone to the Dogs for the pick we gave up for Jones. Small loss on paper.

That depends on the state of your list and how important it is to recruit some players to improve.

For Fremantle I rate our week as a nil all draw.

i guess you could call it that.

freo are in a strange place though. they look clearly ahead of a chunk of the competition , and clearly behind the top bracket in the competition.

as an outsider , i cant see you having the improvement on your list to close the gap , which is sad as you have some great guys who have been great stalwarts of your club and very near the end. this off-season could have been about correcting that but that hasnt happened , and there is really no one in the draft at your picks who i reckon is gonna change your side to a premiership side quick enough.

if this off-season was about taking that next step ild give freo a D-

sometimes though as much as you want them to be there just isnt the required guys around that are available. just bad timing.

and if this off-season freo felt around and got nothing , and are going to try to add a good bunch of juniors for the future then its a passable mark. not too much else can be done i guess.

I would have thought Freo (and to a lesser extent, Richmond) would have been trading/acquiring players with unreserved aggression. Do Freo believe they have enough oomph in their squad to go that extra step and win a flag? Do Richmond think they are good enough to reach the top 4? Based on their respective trade periods, they'd seemingly think so. Not sure I agree.

We're a loser for not (publicly) making a play for anyone of note. We're not premiership material and if you don't improve your list you go backwards.

We should be targeting O'Meara, Swallow, Bennell, Martin, Coniglio with a scattergun approach. Won't get them all, probably won't get one - but should be trying. Convince one to return to WA then we can argue about what picks/players we can offer.

Lol, because your list is so much better. You finished ahead of us by beating a Swans team who clearly didn't care

We'll finish ahead of Richmond next year
With 2 A-Graders (borderline) in your entire list and one of the worst bottom sixes in the league West Coast are going no where.

Brisbane 'winners' is a bit of an overstatement imo.

They grabbed two one way mids- which they already have plenty of- both with a reasoanble history of injury as well- and both they have paid overs for.

KAngaroos- must win a flag in the next year or two or they will be the stuffed for the next 5.

Hawks- frawley massive overs but o'rourke could be a cracker

Port- all dependent on SC notices really

Blues- seem to have done pretty well- but time will tell- got rid of some dead wood and picked up a few potentially good players.

Cats- strange strange strange- all not well in pussy cat land- Rhys stanley?? Scott brotehrs must've had bets on who could recruit the most useless player

Beams wouldn't of gone to the Lions if his brother wasn't playing there imo.

Review Winners and losers of Trade week.