Welcome With rookie pick 31 Geelong Football Club select: Joe Pike

Yay !

Pushing for us to pick up Joe last year. Nice size already (don’t have to wait years for the strength, weight), promising in the ruck attributes and, importantly, seemed resilient. Good rookie pick IMO.
Have a mass of young rucks on our list now - surely 1 or 2 now have to stay fit and develop!!! (I hope…)

Very happy with picking up Joe. He looked promising and worth a speculative selection.

Is he a better option than Furphy? Hard to tell

Miles better than furphy.

But I'm still not sure if Pike will make it but he has way more chance. I'm very optimistic that he could be a player.

Very happy with picking up Joe. He looked promising and worth a speculative selection.

Is he a better option than Furphy? Hard to tell
Reckon Furphy was better as a pure Ruck but you need more tricks than that to make it in modern footy, Pike being 6 years younger, more mobile and able to play forward should have more upside.

Yay !

Pushing for us to pick up Joe last year. Nice size already (don’t have to wait years for the strength, weight), promising in the ruck attributes and, importantly, seemed resilient. Good rookie pick IMO.
Have a mass of young rucks on our list now - surely 1 or 2 now have to stay fit and develop!!! (I hope…)
Plus depending on athleticism can't hurt if we get sorted with rucks to try and convert one into a defender or into a forward/ruck.

Look forward to seeing how he goes. There were times when i thought he looked as promising as conway. The test now will be to handle the extra load and tougher opposition.

We have come a fair way and no one could say we have not tried to fix our issues thru the draft. We have probably covered the loss of Stanley and then some.

Now we just need a little luck.

Look forward to seeing how he goes. There were times when i thought he looked as promising as conway. The test now will be to handle the extra load and tougher opposition.

We have come a fair way and no one could say we have not tried to fix our issues thru the draft. We have probably covered the loss of Stanley and then some.

Now we just need a little luck.
That is the KEY!!

Very happy with this.
Raw but talent is there as seen in VFL. Cheap punt that could pay off and keeps the local kids seeing the pathways can work

Will take full 2 years or more to come on but thats ok by me
Go Catters

Very happy with this.
Raw but talent is there as seen in VFL. Cheap punt that could pay off and keeps the local kids seeing the pathways can work

Will take full 2 years or more to come on but thats ok by me
Go Catters

This .. and the others that have just missed. Some of the names that were mentioned in the lead up that missed out totally.

He missed being draft.. and listening to SWells … they gave him feedback , he showed a willingness to work on them. He improved ..played sometime for the VFL and the Falcons …was talked about as prospect in the MSD ..and missed again… and still kept the his head down. And attitude inside the club must play a part.

Now he has been picked near the last possible number…and my bet he keeps going, keeps his head down. It would not surprise me if he surprises and pushes his name forward quicker than 2 years.

It will get down to him coping with high level demands. Probably more running and more work than he ever has had to do etc…

but I say good luck to him. I love guys who work hard for their chance.

I knew it was a big number but i didn't think it was that big nice to see

It would be interesting to know which VFL/State team has had the most draftees over that period of time

Because there's some teams you could sign to play for knowing that you'll play plenty of minutes, while there's others that you may have to work harder at for those same opportunities but could place you a better position going forward

Welcome With rookie pick 31 Geelong Football Club select: Joe Pike