WRFL Div. 2 Season 2008 and Beyond

get it straight people........its 450

they get a sherrin footy drink bottle hat t'shirt........

work that out footy is worth what 40 to 60
drink bottle 5 to 10
hat 10 to 20
t shirt 10 to 20
drink bottle t shirt and cap is all puma stuff so its not cheap.....

so they get equipment worth about 100 to 120 bills for nothing.......

so at the moment there has been 2 negative posts back about the rohan smith footy academy and all the rest positive........i cant wait till there is hundreds of kids doing this training and it will put a few of you back in your box..........also what about your kid if he/she is playing at a jnr club and some 1 from his/her side has done the ten week course and he or she comes home and wants to do the course what are you gonna say no too expensive.....hahaha.......i say give your kids the best oportunity to be their best.........you can encourage all you like but at the end of the day if they dont go in and get it it stands out from miles away......i am a jnr footy/cricket coach and being a non-parent having played a bit of footy myself i dont like the fact that parents think their kids are the best and they should be doing this and they should be playing in this position it just pisses me off when i know for a fact they havnt played any footy themselves.......believe me this academy has only started and once the word gets out your kids will be asking to do it.........

cheers...

im not here to debate who should do it who shouldnt do it im just getting the word out.......and if it gets a couple of kids im sure they will benefit from it......

Say what ever you want to promote your little academy...but that sentence is just a toolish thing to say. Not everyone is made of money, footy is about anyone being able to pick up a ball and have a crack. A lot of parents will have to say 'no too expensive', how is that funny? I usually agree with you but your a bit of a twat on this one.

it is funny because im sure the parents wouldnt be saying that to the kids.......anyway....and if your kids do come home and ask you will think about it........and he isnt the type of bloke if you are struggling with cash you could pay it off.......and at the end of the day there are kids out there who are getting coached by nuffies who are coaching cause their kids are playing and to me thats not on........this bloke aint no nuffy.....

i wish it was my academy......are you thinking im rohan smith.....?hahahaha im just a retired fat back pocket kick in specialist in the div 2 ressies coaching the kids........hahaha

I reckon for the cost it sounds like a piece of sh!t. What a rip off. Once again another example of the widening gap in socio economic status. What about all those kids who can't afford this? How much of this cash is going straight in his pocket. I agree with the post a few back, money hungry. Why shouldn't he put something back into the community...a community that supported him unconditionally.

so you agree with me do you........?
whats this about widening the gap in socio economic status.......?
cmon buddy even you dont know what you are saying........

piece of sh1t this piece of sh1t that ..........what a load of crap.........

Nothing against the academy or Rohan Weapons but i hope to Christ he gives you a free drink bottle because youve given it an almighty plug mate !!!!!!!!

hey weapons what does this academy have 2 do with division 2 football? start ur own thread for that crap.

anybody know if madigan is actually gonna play this year or stay retired?

yeah go on send your kids to AUS kick and get some hack of a father who never played footy at a decent level with a 4 hour course in coaching telling your kid how to play the game and giving them skills coaching .... At least these kids have an option - if you dont like it DONT SEND YOUR KID THERE... if i had a boy at the right age i would pay that NO QUESTIONS ASKED....

At the end of the day AFL players DO alot for the community. charity work, hospital visits etc.. if i took your job away from you at the age of 33 what would you do for money ?? would you work for the company that supported you all those years for FREE ??? i dont think so...

Think about it next time you have a an opinion based on your first instinct - its not for everyone but it is bloody good option for those that CAN afford it. if you cant afford it... then so be it but dont get jealous for those that will sacrifice to give there kids what they never could have!

Firstly, If I knew that my job was going to be taken away from me at 33, Id either prepare for life after it or not go down that path initially. I agree with a lot of what you said. AFL players do a lot around the community and I agree that he shouldnt have to do it for nothing. He would have given plenty back during his playing days. I thought this clinic was a fitness clinic to get kids fit, not skills based, hence why I said that they could get fit kicking a footy around a park. I agree that kids would find it much more enjoyable having an ex AFL star taking the clinics but you dont need to be a 300 game AFL player to teach a 10 yo how to kick and handball a footy. I learnt my skills off 'hacks' at Vickick and my kicking has always been pretty good. I think that an ex AFL player would be much greater value to a kid who is over the age of 15 or 16, when he can pass off tips and teach them the tactical side of footy (where to stand in different situations, how to push opponents under the ball at stoppages etc etc), rather than handballing and kicking. Hanballing and kicking takes years of practice to get right. If parents can afford it then go for it but im sure we could all teach our kids (if we had them) how to kick and handball just as well as he could. Its like any business, he is in it to make money and I dont think there's anything wrong with that so good luck to him. If its too expensive, parents dont have to send them there. I personally just dont think its worth it and we are all entitled to an opinion.

hey weapons what does this academy have 2 do with division 2 football? start ur own thread for that crap.

Have heard that he was appointed coach on condition he was non playing although watching super rules this year he would still get a kick at D/P if he played.

If i'm not mistaken i said it sounds like a piece of shit for the cost...cost being the whole argument of this conversation. And I'm talking about agreeing with you for most other posts, but not this one. And if you wanna know how much i really do know about what i'm talking about i'd be more then happy to discuss it with you, but on this thread lets just talk footy.

Let's move on....

Any other clubs back training? North Footscray were back this week. Good turn out on Monday night, not so many last night. Have a few new guys training so things looking on the up for 08'.

well it got people talking.......where are all the heights boys they used to do all the talking........what happened did use lose a granny or something.......hahahaha

im just helping a mate out and then all these box hills come on and stir up crap........

we will have a potent f/ward line this year put it that way........midfield you will see hard at it players not the so called softies heights had last year........

red devil good to see north getting numbers to training can u let me know who ur assistant coach is this year for the seniors???? and lets just forget about this rohan smith crap its getting boaring if he wants to do it let it goes this is wrfl div 2 chat as far as im aware
districts 32 first night on the track

red devil good to see north getting numbers to training can u let me know who ur assistant coach is this year for the seniors???? and lets just forget about this rohan smith crap its getting boaring if he wants to do it let it goes this is wrfl div 2 chat as far as im aware
districts 32 first night on the track

Hello HT07. Would rather not say who the assistant is at this stage. I will leave it up to him or the club to announce! Good pick up though.:thumbsu:

Hey Red Devil Minty is a pretty handy pickup for the devils (well I gather he will be playing) but I hear on the grape vine that some more experienced players may either be retiring or moving on namely scratcher and the cougar and one of your late season goal kickers has left not sure of his name. Will certainly need to pick up some good ball winners because if true about 2 of the above then where is the drive going to come from.

Pressure is on this year due to the result of last and with Deer Park seeming to be on the rise and Heights will be there abouts again North will have to find another gear with some of the young players needing to step up.

Hey Red Devil Minty is a pretty handy pickup for the devils (well I gather he will be playing) but I hear on the grape vine that some more experienced players may either be retiring or moving on namely scratcher and the cougar and one of your late season goal kickers has left not sure of his name. Will certainly need to pick up some good ball winners because if true about 2 of the above then where is the drive going to come from.

Pressure is on this year due to the result of last and with Deer Park seeming to be on the rise and Heights will be there abouts again North will have to find another gear with some of the young players needing to step up.

Mate you are certainly on the ball with your comments there. Not a Devil yourself?

Minty is a terrific player and the club is happy to provide him an opportunity on the coaching front. The guy is a winner, so hopefully can be of real benefit throughout the year.

I think there is some doubt over Scratcher, but the club will be working hard for him to go around again. He may walk around like an old man but is still only early 30's. I reckon he is one of the toughest footballers I have seen play.

The Cougar is definitely going around again. He loves it.

We have lost a forward (Lachy Peterson) who is going to live in Brisbane. There are already a couple of likely replacements. There is also some very handy young players coming through ( including a few who had a taste last year) so I actually think we will have a stronger list. Fingers crossed we can play well.

well it got people talking.......where are all the heights boys they used to do all the talking........what happened did use lose a granny or something.......hahahaha

im just helping a mate out and then all these box hills come on and stir up crap........

we will have a potent f/ward line this year put it that way........midfield you will see hard at it players not the so called softies heights had last year........

hey weapons ur forever stirring the pot rnt u ??? if ur gonna stir then make it a decent comment cos if ur serious about saying that matty caruana and nick mallia and michael nicolaides are soft then u r gonna lose that little bit of credibility u have left on bf!!!!!

No mate not a Devil but have got friends who play there, a pretty easy going place to visit.

Hopefully Minty can provide you with that little extra experience and talent to be able to go to the next level but I dare say he will need to bring some players with him or else you may need to recruit a couple of big game (finals) players as it seems that this is what you are lacking. I know the last 2 years has been a good experience for some of the younger players to play finals but for how many years can you use this as a reason for not doing better. North has been down in divvy 2 for way to long and it seems that the culture maybe happy with this unfortunately, especially for such a proud club.

May need to find that extra cash just to get the 1 or 2 extra players that can play.

Jesus Minty coaching - I can imagine North's training sessions now - how to slide through puddles, kick goals out of your ass and of course the new training uniform of bits of material around the "guns" ala The Ultimate Warrior in wrestling. But seriously well done Minty, hope you have a great year.
ColeReserve - very nice on the training/clash jumpers, big fan they look great - and 32 on the track Hammo, if you can keep that number up and get everyone fit and off to a good start, you would have to consider yourself to be final contenders

Jesus Minty coaching - I can imagine North's training sessions now - how to slide through puddles, kick goals out of your ass and of course the new training uniform of bits of material around the "guns" ala The Ultimate Warrior in wrestling. But seriously well done Minty, hope you have a great year.
ColeReserve - very nice on the training/clash jumpers, big fan they look great - and 32 on the track Hammo, if you can keep that number up and get everyone fit and off to a good start, you would have to consider yourself to be final contenders

hahahaha i had forgotten about the ultimate warrior night ! that was gold. although last year you missed it mate huffy and me trained in power ranger outfits one night.... the hard part was breathing through the bloody mask tho! haha

seriously tho i am wrapped to be down at north and especially in a assitant coaching role.. great bunch of guys down there and i think batts is on the right track ! hoping to have a really good year on the field with the boys and get some good results !

ive herd that the essendon supers are training there as well.......hope thats not including them.......?

No mate not a Devil but have got friends who play there, a pretty easy going place to visit.

Hopefully Minty can provide you with that little extra experience and talent to be able to go to the next level but I dare say he will need to bring some players with him or else you may need to recruit a couple of big game (finals) players as it seems that this is what you are lacking. I know the last 2 years has been a good experience for some of the younger players to play finals but for how many years can you use this as a reason for not doing better. North has been down in divvy 2 for way to long and it seems that the culture maybe happy with this unfortunately, especially for such a proud club.

May need to find that extra cash just to get the 1 or 2 extra players that can play.

Don't know about the extra cash, but like I said I think we will have a better side (on paper) than last year. Disappointing numbers at training on Wednesday though, so the boys will need to start firing up.