Yarra Valley - Mountain District FL Forum 2

You know the umpire in question and what ever his deal is or was, hes from Upwey and does Upwey games and is terrible. Does the twos now and is talking point around the Yarra Valley. Did both unders games against us and single handedly won the game for Upwey and was high fiving players. Im sure Upwey are not unaware of his actions.

Ahh, now I understand Nochance, you have obviously obtained your information from H.C. Anderson.

Anyone who suggests that Leigh is a dodgy umpire should really stop following the game. This bloke has a real passion for the game, so much so he was willing to umpire 2nds footy. If it wasnt for Upwey we possibly would have lost Leigh to Yarra Valley footy or umpiring. I think some of you would be better served heading down the local rather than ruining our pleasant Saturday arvo at the footy.

(One of your ressies flags doesn't count - you cheated last year by using a dodgy club ump)

I wont argue about success as everyone has their own definition of what it is.
But to say that our ressies flag last year doesn't count because we had a dodgy club umpire is a joke-Our Umpire was Leigh Walters who had umpired Senior First Division in 2007 and has returned to them this year.Leigh is not a member of our club but we took the opportunity to use him after a chance discussion over a beer at a cricket game,we felt privileged because he is certainly one of the better umpires to have graced our football fields -But if you think Leigh is dodgy you had better notify the powers that be in the league umpiring fraternity so that they can remove him immediately-we would hate to have any dodgy umpires in this league

Anyone who suggests that Leigh is a dodgy umpire should really stop following the game. This bloke has a real passion for the game, so much so he was willing to umpire 2nds footy.
If it wasnt for Upwey we possibly would have lost Leigh to Yarra Valley footy or umpiring.
I think some of you would be better served heading down the local rather than ruining our pleasant Saturday arvo at the footy.

You've just given everyone another reason to hate Upwey!
Leigh did OK on Saturday. He's a magician. Made $21 of Monny Money disappear in a flash.

PS. "Dodgy umpire" is an oxymoron!

Watched Mt Evelyn two's on Saturday Mt Evelyn were to good for Warby but were helped by there ex twos coach who umpire the game he was shocking and favored Mt Evelyn all day, Not good for football :thumbsdown:

The umpire in question has never coached our twos, he was team manager last year and was assistant coach of the 18s a few years back.

I wouldnt say he favoured Mt Ev, more that he didnt call a thing all day and that may have been due to the abuse he copped from warbys players....

The umpire in question has never coached our twos, he was team manager last year and was assistant coach of the 18s a few years back.

I wouldnt say he favoured Mt Ev, more that he didnt call a thing all day and that may have been due to the abuse he copped from warbys players....

"Agree should not have been abused"
I would have thought being the umpire he would stamp his mark on the game and speak to all players about abuse from the start with an attitude like that I personally don't think he should be umpiring.

FOOTBALL WRAP 20 JUNE

1ST DIVISION
Alexandra took it right up to Silvan on the weekend, Silvan did win but only by a slender 20 points. Final Scores: Silvan 13.9.87 defeated Alexandra 9.13.67. At half time Silvan held sway by a mere 7 points. Silvan got their running game going in the 3rd term and booted 4 goals to 1 to take a handy 29 point lead into the final quarter. Alexandra outscored their opponents in the last but Silvan held on to win in a hard fought affair. Silvan’s best: Rhett Newell, Stephen Andrews and Daniel Norman. Alexandra’s best: Chris Mullin, Sam Kid and Marcus Hill (5 goals).

Gembrook Cockatoo 17.8.110 defeated Wandin 14.9.93. Although it was only a 17 point margin Gembrook never looked in danger of dropping this game. A 7 goal to 2 opening term set up the win for The Brookers. Wandin did look dangerous at times with Matthew Peterson kicking 6 goals and Paul Grayling kicking 5. Gembrook on the other hand had more options going forward with Stephen Goodie the pick of the bunch booting 5. Gembrook held a 5 goal lead at the last change and held off a strong finish by Wandin to win their 2nd game of the season. Gembrook Cockatoo’s best: Craig Clarke, Scott Black and Nathan Muratore. Wandin’s best: Cameron Taylor, Simon Young and Andrew Goodwin.

Healesville took on the undefeated Upwey Tecoma and at quarter time The Bloods held a 6 point lead. Upwey then showed why they are undefeated as they kicked 10 goals to 1 in the next 2 quarters to put the game well beyond doubt. Healesville tried hard but the running dominance of Upwey couldn’t be matched. Final Scores: Upwey Tecoma 16.8.104 defeated Healesville 7.12.54. Upwey’s best: Steven Broja, Jayden Orger and Nick Stow. Healesville’s best: James Dunnett, Ryan Carruthers and Michael Anson.

Monbulk played Woori Yallock in what was tipped to be the match of the round. At half time it was anyone’s game with Monbulk holding a narrow 11 point lead. The 2nd half saw Monbulk play some of their best football for the season, 8 goals to 2 in the 3rd quarter followed by a 6 goal to 3 final term. In the end Monbulk ran out 11 goal winners with a tremendous display of football in the 2nd half. Final Scores: Monbulk 21.9.135 defeated Woori Yallock 10.9.69. Monbulk’s best: Shannon Koole, Michael Hughson and Chris Mitchell. Woori Yallock’s best: Danny Ryan, Sam Ismail and Robert Allen.

Mount Evelyn 19.11.125 defeated Warburton Millgrove 13.10.88. This game was a battle of the forwards with Mt Evelyn’s Kane Jones booting 7 goals while Warby’s Scott Muir kicked 6. Warby were good for 3 quarters and gave themselves every chance going into the last trailing by just 20 points. Mt. Evelyn’s last quarter was terrific as their fitness came to the fore, they kicked 7 goals to 4 to finish the game off in style. Mount Evelyn’s best: David Curnow, Jarrod Sneddon and Kane Jones (7 goals). Warburton Millgrove’s best: Brenton Morris, James Iacono and Kurt Henderson.

2nd DIVISION
Kinglake 19.14.128 defeated Emerald 13.10.88. Even though the final margin was 40 points it took 3 quarters for Kinglake to shake Emerald off. Kinglake have been brilliant in the final quarters of late and this game was to be no different, Kinglake kicked 7 goals to 4 in the final term to win their 8th game for the season, they now sit 2nd on the ladder and will be looking to sew up a double chance come finals. Kinglake’s best: Brent Gallicho, Casey McNaught and Alexander Carpenter. Emerald’s best: Matthew Steer, Steven Wright and Kristian Fidanza.

Olinda kept their unbeaten record intact with an 8 goal win over Seville. Final Scores: Olinda Ferny Creek 17.14.116 defeated Seville 9.14.68. Seville started this game well and at quarter time held a 2 point lead, Olinda played a lot more direct in the 2nd term to turn the game around as they booted 6 goals to Seville’s 2. Olinda slowly increased their lead in the 2nd half as they kicked 8 goals to 4 to win the game in workmanlike fashion. Olinda Ferny Creek’s best: George Azzam (5 goals), Scott Tregoning and Nick Broomhall. Seville’s best: Shaun Wilson, Matthew Kershaw and Mark Cecere.

Yarra Glen had to beat Thornton Eildon if they were to keep their slim finals hopes alive. Thornton however spoilt the party as they held on to win in a tight battle by 8 points. Final Scores: Yarra Glen 12.7.79 defeated Yarra Glen 10.11.71. The 3rd quarter was where this game was won with Thornton kicking 5 goals to Yarra Glen’s 1. Yarra Glen threw everything at Thornton in the last and it looked as though they may have run over the top of their opponents but time ended up being their enemy. Thornton Eildon’s best: Brandon Kapakoulakis (4 goals), Adam Mclean and Jarryd Chapman. Yarra Glen’s best: Peter Moate, Michael Ashton (3 goals) and Ryan Richards.

Yarra Junction 12.12.84 defeated Powelltown 8.8.56. The first quarter of this game was terrible, at quarter time the score was Yarra Junction 1.4 to Powelltown 1.2. The football did get better but it never got to any great heights. To be fair the conditions weren’t easy with only 4 of the 20 goals kicked for the day booted at one end, the wind certainly did play a factor. Junction was just that little bit smoother kicking with the breeze which was the difference in the end. Yarra Junction’s best: Tyson Wheeler (6 goals), Darcy Kieran and Daniel Edwards. Powelltown’s best: Sam Camilleri, Andrew Nurse and Lindon Walker.

In a low scoring game Yea kept their finals aspirations alive with a 45 point win over Belgrave. Final Scores: Yea 12.9.81 defeated Belgrave 5.6.36. Belgrave never looked in the hunt after quarter time as Yea slowly stretched their lead as the game went on. The 2nd quarter was Yea’s best as they kicked 5 goals and held Belgrave goalless to set up the win. Yea’s best: James Clavarino, Chris Graham and Ryan Akers. Belgrave’s best: David Bilston, Nathaniel Fage and Ben Fitzgerald

Bigcon!!! Now I'm all sentimental.
I've missed you..
and yes - Mr Walters is a dodgy umpire, you just can't trust wicketkeepers any time...
Sorry Caggs, have been in hiding. Sounds like a good past month for the Bulkers. Will do my best to get to the Dome in a few weeks. Don't wanna miss that one.

Haaaaaaa Moin Ive missed you more. YUCK
I'm close to getting me weekends back (fingers crossed) might be able to spare Wally, put him in covers, then again, maybe the king of spin should make a return. Yeh - Big Con is back

Cos Clinchy did such a bang up Job! Were you even watching the same game as everyone else?

Ah ALFI ya back on the scene, I been playing 2s this year but sorry I'll disagree with ya I thought the umpiring wasn't to bad, besides that 50 metre penalty, well I think even the Mt Ev ump would agree in hindsite was a disgrace. Besides from one opposition umpire who I wont mention were from who was an out and out cheat (not from upwey either) the umpiring hasn't been too bad. One thing we all need to remember there only guys from the club doing the right thing and trying to help out, there not proper umpires, they like us players will make mistakes.

Hopefully I might get some votes now:p

JDS I don't know what game you were watching but I don't think the umpires copped much abuse on saturday.

Rip it Up you make some great points about 2nds umpiring. And yes i think he would admit the 50m penalty was a little over the top.

I was playing in the game, thats how i know there was a bit of abuse going on. Nothing too sinister but by the time it came to the last qtr i think he'd had enough, hence the 50m penalty...

I don't know what your smoking but it must be good-let me repeat we have never had club umpires for our unders and in the majority of our ressie games this year have had league appointed umpires.
You know why you have league appointed umpires for your twos and not the bloke from your club anymore? Now take a look at whos smoking what? Same bloke who did your kids last year started doing the twos right?

As for the Mt Ev twos ump doesnt call anything either way which is frustrating to both sides. As for Clinchy you wont get an argument from any twos side that they got a rough deal only Warby as hes often to unbias.

You know why you have league appointed umpires for your twos and not the bloke from your club anymore? Now take a look at whos smoking what? Same bloke who did your kids last year started doing the twos right?

As for the Mt Ev twos ump doesnt call anything either way which is frustrating to both sides. As for Clinchy you wont get an argument from any twos side that they got a rough deal only Warby as hes often to unbias.
Get your facts right you dill-In a word NO

How is Benny Haynes going this year. Few rumours out our way where he is from is it will be his last season at silvan, may come back this way with moorcroft, anyone heard this??

Obviously you dont know yours! If anything Ive said is untrue tell me because I know that Im right and if you dont beleive ring the umpires boss yourself.
I know more than you think and what I have stated is fact not fiction never the less I will not get drawn into a slanging match with someone who for some reason or another seems rather bitter and twisted

I know more than you think and what I have stated is fact not fiction,never the less I will not get drawn into a slanging match with someone who for some reason or another seems rather bitter and twisted

Yup! Well done on not getting drawn in UF!
Reckon we're all just about done on this thread, guys!
Sid, TeeS, can you give us a hand here?