Yarra Valley - Mountain District FL Forum 2

Yes it is me GW, take what hard? I was getting sick of the umpire discussions. They are never going to be perfect but we do not have a game for our kids to play if we don't have them. So I am sure that all of the interested parties could come up with some more interesting fooball topics.

Oh! I thought you were on about the game at Woori - A little 'seniors moment' - but I thinkI get your point now.
Anyway, we won on Sat so the umps ARE perfect. They've just had the one slip-up this year.

The game on the weekend may have been what the Upwey boys needed to harden them up for your boys this weekend (I will see you there as it should be a great game). The Woori boys were keen on this game back at interleague and thought they would do what they did

Can anyone from Woori fill us in on how many games they expect Wayne Campbell to play in the 2nd half of the year ?
It maybe a different Wayne Cambell, could be the son of a soup maker, could be a truck driver or maybe he can sing the Rhinestone Cowboy like his father Glen ??????

either way i would like to welcome him to the two first names and two last names club :D

Any decent games to watch tomorrow? Buggered if I'm going to Thornton to watch my little mate (although a spot of fishing and about a 10 can car trip sounds quite inviting...).

I actually cheated and went and saw the side formally known as East Ringwood play Balwyn. Well, most if their team now plays in the YV and they don't even play at East Ringwood at the moment either...

Quite funny though, watching all those ex-AFL stars (and some who weren't stars) playing on Croydon Nth's ground.

Monnie Hawk-it appears more players have become available the side for next Saturday now reads from
Sam Magro,Stuart Betts,Terry McCormick,Paul Marshall,Steve Saynor
Matt Jones,Anthony Ryan,,Noel MacDonald,Dave Stirling,Shane Cross,Peter Williams,Chris Chalker Mark Moir,Mark Sandilands,Darren Campbell,Jarrod Adem,Peter Johnston,Mark Davis,Barry Williams ),Rohan Atherton,Kevin Delaney,David Dunstan
But remember mum's the word

Upwey Fan, that would be a great side to watch run around.

About 508 premierships between them, 307 Club B&Fs, no league B&Fs though !

If I had my choice of an opponent, I'd take Tony Ryan and I'd bring a slab with me and 2 chairs.

Monnie Hawk-it appears more players have become available the side for next Saturday now reads from
Sam Magro,Stuart Betts,Terry McCormick,Paul Marshall,Steve Saynor
Matt Jones,Anthony Ryan,,Noel MacDonald,Dave Stirling,Shane Cross,Peter Williams,Chris Chalker Mark Moir,Mark Sandilands,Darren Campbell,Jarrod Adem,Peter Johnston,Mark Davis,Barry Williams ),Rohan Atherton,Kevin Delaney,David Dunstan
But remember mum's the word

STOP IT!!!
I'm misting up already!

Sid, At least you have a real surname. I've got to live with a description!

true wraggy
hey upwey fan nice list i remember playing 1 qrt on stirling about 100 years ago man could he play i did ok on the ground so they moved him deep and it was good night.... i was out of there a few years later they made me chase pete campbell around.... i am still sore now....also betts was a good player and did see his older brother play with the mighty bloods in the early eighties

true wraggy
hey upwey fan nice list i remember playing 1 qrt on stirling about 100 years ago man could he play i did ok on the ground so they moved him deep and it was good night.... i was out of there a few years later they made me chase pete campbell around.... i am still sore now....also betts was a good player and did see his older brother play with the mighty bloods in the early eighties

Damn!
Blown my cover!

sorry about that didn't no it was a secret :eek: big game this week for you blokes BTW anyone surfing in the bay this morning?

FOOTBALL WRAP 27 JUNE

1ST DIVISION ROUND 10

Warburton Millgrove 19.9.123 defeated Gembrook Cockatoo 14.12.96. After an even 1st quarter with Warby holding a 2 point lead, it was the excellent 7 goal to nil 2nd quarter that set up the win for The Burra’s. After half time it was an even game with Gembrook outscoring their opponents by 2 goals. The Brooker’s last quarter was great kicking 7 goals but it was their scoreless 2nd term that ended up possibly costing them the game. Warby’s best: Tim Mckail, James Iacono and Kurt Henderson. Gembrook’s best: Shane Williams, Steven Gough and Craig Clarke.

Healesville 15.27.117 defeated Wandin 13.4.82. It took until the last quarter for Healesville to shake off a determined Wandin. There was only 15 points in it at the last change; Healesville kicked a very inaccurate 5.9 in the last quarter to Wandin’s 2.1 to end up winning by 35 points. The Bloods should have put Wandin away a lot earlier in the game as they wasted their forward attacks. Wandin on the other hand made the most of their opportunities and kicked very accurately to keep themselves alive for most of the day. Healesville’s best: James Dunnett, Mark Gibb & Matthew Fraraccio. Wandin’s best: Luke Watson, Geoffrey Bartling and Andrew Goodwin.

Monbulk 31.14.200 defeated Alexandra 6.5.41. Monbulk showed no mercy as they handed Alexandra an embarrassing loss. Monbulk’s Timothy Wragg was outstanding kicking 10 goals, he was supported superbly by Michael Hughson who kicked 6 goals himself. Shannon Koole kept his excellent season going with another best on ground performance. Alexandra was held goalless in the 2nd and 3rd terms and if not for their 4 goals in the last quarter this would have been an even more horrible loss. Monbulk’s best: Shannon Koole, Timothy Wragg (10 goals), Christopher Walken and Michael Hughson (6 goals). Alexanra’s best: Andrew Johansen, David Bourke and Neil Oakleigh.

The last time Mount Evelyn played Silvan, Mount Evelyn lost the game after holding an 8 goal lead in the 3rd term. Mount Evelyn was out to redeem themselves for that game and they delivered in spades. Final Scores: Mount Evelyn 26.24.180 defeated Silvan 8.9.57. At quarter time Mt Evelyn held just a 1 goal lead but after that Silvan never got a sniff. The last 3 quarters belonged to the Mounter’s as they piled on 21 goals to 4. Mount Evelyn had 8 players who kicked 2 goals or more with Cameron Buckland kicking 6 and Brendan James kicking 4 being the best of them. Mount Evelyn’s best: Shane O’Brien, Keith Elliott and Christopher Tesoriero. Silvan’s best: Daniel Norman, David Bissels and Rhett Newell.

Woori Yallock has now certainly put their hand up as a genuine premiership threat after handing Upwey Tecoma their first loss of the season by an impressive 50 point margin. Final Scores: Woori Yallock 17.11.113 defeated Upwey Tecoma 9.9.63. This game started slow with both teams only managing 1 goal in the first term. It was Woori who got their running game going and started to stretch the lead as the game went on. You were always waiting for Upwey to come at Woori but Woori had other ideas as they skipped away in the last booting 8 goals to 5 to win in emphatic style and send a message that it’s not just a one horse race anymore. Woori’s best: Matthew Stolarczyk, Joel Adams and Matthew Wright. Upwey’s best: Daniel Sheers, Lucas Matthews and Michael Charles.

2nd DIVISION ROUND 11

Yarra Junction sits 1 game clear in fourth spot after defeating a determined Belgrave by 9 points. Final Scores: Yarra Junction 12.10.82 defeated Belgrave 10.13.73. This game was in the balance for most of the day, the difference was Yarra Junctions Tyson Wheeler who booted 6 of his teams 12 goals, Belgrave didn’t have anyone that could match that effort even though Darren Sidebottom tried hard booting 2. A good hard fought win by Junction and finals are now certainly more of a reality than not. Yarra Junctions best: Darcy Kiernan, Tyson Wheeler (6 goals) and Travis Selby. Belgrave’s best: David Bilston, Darren Sidebottom and Tim Riley.

Kinglake 17.23.125 defeated Yea 13.8.86. Kinglake was given one hell of a fright as Yea took it right up to their opponents. At quarter time Yea held a 2 goal lead and the Laker’s knew they were in for a tough fight. Kinglake slowly clawed their way back in front and at 3 quarter time held a narrow 6 point lead. Kinglake have been masters of the final term in recent weeks and this week was to be no different as they showed their fitness to finish off the game with an 8 goal final term. Yea certainly weren’t disgraced as they managed 4 goals themselves. A good win by the Laker’s as they keep their 2nd spot on the ladder intact. Kinglake’s best: Travis Mccrea, James Walker and Michael Quee. Yea’s best: James Clavarino, Marc Scoble and Rhys Toulson.

Olinda Ferny Creek kept their dominance of 2nd Division going with a massive win over Yarra Glen. Final Scores: Olinda Ferny Creek 27.22.184 defeated Yarra Glen 10.8.68. Olinda got off to a flyer kicking 11 goals to 2 in the first quarter before Yarra Glen knew what hit them. To Yarra Glen’s credit they could have flown the white flag but instead they played some hard tackling, attacking footy and outscored Olinda by a goal in the 2nd term. Unfortunately for The Thunder they couldn’t maintain that form in the 2nd half as Olinda kicked 6 goals to 1 behind in the third, then 6 goals to 3 goals in the last to win comfortably. Olinda’s best: Patrick Rosier, Scott Tregoning and Glen Stevens. Yarra Glen’s best: David Watt, Daniel Hurley and Matthew Hocking.

Seville 18.20.128 defeated Powelltown 7.13.55. The only real highlight of the game was Seville’s 2nd quarter where they kicked 8.1 to Powelltown’s 1.3 which set the win up for the Blues. It was a reasonably even game apart from that quarter and Powelltown did look good in patches but they let themselves down in the last as they could only manage 4 behinds as Seville kicked 4 goals to run away with an easy win. Seville’s best: Kieran Mullett, Shaun Wilson and David Wallace. Powelltown’s best: Jason Cornish, Luke Darwall and Brian Muller.

Emerald 17.10.112 defeated Thornton Eildon 15.9.99. This was arguably the best game of the round. Both these teams threw everything at each other, a high scoring first half with both teams on 10 goals at the long change and Thornton holding a 1 point lead. Nobody could grab the upper hand in the 3rd as Thornton increased their lead to a narrow 6 points. If Emerald is to feature in finals then they needed to show some finals form in the last quarter and that they did. Emerald ran out the game brilliantly kicking 5 goals to 2 to win a great game of footy. Unfortunately for Thornton they had to suffer yet another close defeat. Emerald’s best: Matthew Livermore, Matthew Steer and Daniel Porter. Thornton’s best: Shane Parker, Jarryd Chapman and John Creighton.

How is Benny Haynes going this year. Few rumours out our way where he is from is it will be his last season at silvan, may come back this way with moorcroft, anyone heard this??

Jarman, he was offered a substantial amount of money from a club who I wont name to leave mid season this year and declined. Hearing this you would think he is fairly happy and loyal to Silvan. As for how he is going this year, my sources tell me he has been playing the last 4 weeks with a fractured ankle that is why he didnt play last week against Mt Ev.

Question to any Upwey fans, what is the latest on Ports. Is he a chance to play again. How serious is his injury.

Tough day at the office for alex. could only manage 3 points. Will be happy to go down to divvy 2 id say

What's everyones thoughts on divvy 2???
Can Seville or Kinglake knock off Olinda???
Kinglake look to be going alright coming in to finals? But have to play both Olinda & Seville, but should have a double chance sewed up! Gallicho has been playing of half back apparently, but is still kicking bags, Seville is travelling well & have picked up 2nd position on the ladder this week, Will be a huge game this week with the winner out of Seville & Kinglake taking a outright postition in 2nd!!!

Also what's everyones thoughts on the swearing rule??
Some of the players being sent off has been a joke?
Surely if someone swears & it is not directed at umpires or offensive to the crowd they should not be sent of?
Common sense should be used in all cases!!!

What's everyones thoughts on divvy 2???
Can Seville or Kinglake knock off Olinda???
Kinglake look to be going alright coming in to finals? But have to play both Olinda & Seville, but should have a double chance sewed up! Gallicho has been playing of half back apparently, but is still kicking bags, Seville is travelling well & have picked up 2nd position on the ladder this week, Will be a huge game this week with the winner out of Seville & Kinglake taking a outright postition in 2nd!!!

Olinda haven't dropped a game in the 1sts or under 18's. Their seconds have been belting other sides in the 4 of late. I reckon they'll win all 3.

Olinda should romp it in.
After just playing Seville for the second time i can't believe how no one but Olinda has beaten them!!
Also Kinglakes mid-field, nothing like Olinda's.

Olinda should romp it in.
After just playing Seville for the second time i can't believe how no one but Olinda has beaten them!!
Also Kinglakes mid-field, nothing like Olinda's.

Seville had about 7 quality players out through injury and about the same amount playing with gastro and then lost there full back 10 minutes into the game. Olinda came away with a 48 point win playing a team made up of U 18's and ressies.
Don't think Seville did to bad considering.