Year of the Dogs

scooter600x said:
Fantastic to watch.

"If I see one bloke accepting a pat on the back I'll spew up!"

I would have loved to see another 15 minutes added to the end showing a bit of what happened in the 97 season. I think it would have been good viewing to follow up the miserable 96 with a bit of success only to be shown again how cruel sport can be.

"Should I go 'em? Yeah, I'm gonna go 'em"

Most embarrassing moment.........Alan joyce telling the players at halftime that he'd "pull on the jumper and play if he could". I'm certain that it would have been at that exact moment the players realised Joyce had nothing left to offer them as a coach.

To think that this documentary is as recent as 1996. My god we were a rabble.

always right said:
Most embarrassing moment.........Alan joyce telling the players at halftime that he'd "pull on the jumper and play if he could". I'm certain that it would have been at that exact moment the players realised Joyce had nothing left to offer them as a coach.

To think that this documentary is as recent as 1996. My god we were a rabble.

To think that we got within 2 points of a Grand Final in 1997 is what's remarkable.

NO!NO!NO!NO!NO!

I don't want to think about it, it will bring back the nightmares.

:)
The Dice Man said:
Was browsing one of the Gold Coast's public libraries today and stumbled upon this little gem.

Ive never seen it, but wil be watching it tonight and look foward to it. I was quite suprised that this was the only AFL related DVD in the library:thumbsu:

This was recommended to me as a really good watch - and I had already checked out the online catalogue for the gold coast city council library system and it wasn't there!

Re checked when I read that - *still* wasn't there!!!!!

Did a search using the subject footscray instead and it came up ... as year of the dogs (I had only typed year of the dog!).

Only problem I have with the club is everyone is Collingwood and so you are forced into some degree of empathy with them :(

Thanks for the heads up Dice - item is now on hold :)

Viceregal said:

This was recommended to me as a really good watch - and I had already checked out the online catalogue for the gold coast city council library system and it wasn't there!

Did a search using the subject footscray instead and it came up ... as year of the dogs (I had only typed year of the dog!).

Only problem I have with the club is everyone is Collingwood and so you are forced into some degree of empathy with them :(

Thanks for the heads up Dice - item is now on hold :)

Ahh so you'll be chasing the same copy I have right now?

In that case, I'll watch it tonight and return it tomorrow.

Watch for Libbas 100 metre goal from centre wing against Collingwood. Very good creative editing by the producers.

Excellent doco and I'll just mention a few things that stood out to me.

The editing was a crack up in parts, you had the two ladies going crazy after a goal against the Pies at the G, except its clear as day that the ground they're actually sitting at is the Western Oval when you see the advertisers signs at the back of teh stands. I missed Libba's 100 metre goal unfortunatley.

Just on libba, I can understand why so many of you guys love him to death, but I have to say seeing him with a bruised, scratched and battered eye after one game did put a smirk on my face:)

Tough, determined little nugget and Id have hated to be the one who had to tell him his career was over when the time came.

Terry Wallace. You could see immediatley the energy and enthusiasm he bought into the position after Joyce walked, and understand how he was offered 2 years.

Was that Allen Jakovich I saw kick a goal at one stage too? If it was he wasnt in any other part of teh film that I saw...

And finally, Shaun Baxter. Does anyone know whats happened to him in the years since? I mean did his cancer stay in remission or did it come back?

Great film in a horrid year, and a disappointing ending to the season (****in bombers!), but was good to see Sheedy at the end go over and give Wally a genuine pat on the back.

The Dice Man said:
Just on libba, I can understand why so many of you guys love him to death, but I have to say seeing him with a bruised, scratched and battered eye after one game did put a smirk on my face:)
Yes, he gave them, he copped them and he wore them.

TDM: Jackovich played around 5 games for us in 96.

Everyone else: you got ripped off buying it from JB, I paid $19.95 for the box sex at k-mart, when it came out :)

One of the best sports documentaries i've seen.
It would be interesting to know what was said when Wallis asked for the cameras to be turned off. I'm pretty sure i know what the jist of it was, and who it was about.

alwaysadog said:
Yes, he gave them, he copped them and he wore them.

The other thing about Libba that I noticed and forgot to mention, was that he bawls his eyes out even more than Sir Nick Sooky lala Reiwoldt.

I reckon in 4 out of 5 Libba shots in that doco, he's crying about something.

Thanks for that info on Baxter Scooter, was interested to hear whether he played on, and stayed in remission. By the sounds of it, both happened:thumbsu:

Not sure where he is now, but Shaun did make it onto Geelongs Supp list in 98? I remember seeing him kick a few against us in the reserves down at KP one day.

Viceregal said:

Thanks for the heads up Dice - item is now on hold

Returned it this morning mate, so should be on its way to you soon, enjoy (ps... dont forget to watch the Barrassi 'War Without Weapons' as an extra.. a real treat regarding the good old days of Footy (pre-Elliot).

Palace03 said:
Not sure where he is now, but Shaun did make it onto Geelongs Supp list in 98? I remember seeing him kick a few against us in the reserves down at KP one day.

Pretty sure he spent some time at East Perth during their premiership run in the early part of this decade. Not sure if he played in any of the GF's though...I also seem to recall he was working as a junior development officer at the time...

Can I buy this online? Anywhere that the dogs would get some of the coin?
I have it on VHS, but a DVD copy would be tidy.

Year of the Dogs