Your player expectations for the rest of the season

Aug 29, 2010
Canada
Winnipeg Jets
it may already have been done but hear you can put your expecations for players for the rest of the season.. and then later on we will bump it an see whos underachieved/overachieved... so you can be held accountable/celebrated for your 'guesses'

mine are that

james strauss should play some good senior games by the end of the year.. im not sure he will though

jack watts- see above

tapscott and gysberts to keep getting better and better and be established players by seasons end

maric needs to play some good senior footy by seasons end

bate , newton, macdonald, warnock playing for their future

green might taper off and be not as effective

sylvia needs to star week in week out , davey is in the exact same boat

bail , jones, mckenzie to fight for a spot in the middle against trengove scully and gysberts in a grit and determination v style an class...

cale morton- he will be a star by seasons end

STEF MARTIN- will be known as one of the top 5-10 second ruck options by the end of the season.. i can see him going past hale, hawkins and co but still being behind ryder, kreuzer, natanui, clark, brown

Big call on Morton but if he can get his 2009 form back & now with a slightly more mature body he has that potential to step up significantly.

thats what the thread is for lol
but i really do have faith in the kid i think he has copped some really harsh criticism on these boards, hes played 49 or 50 games and hes still 20-21 has the body size once he fills out to play as a second tall at either end and can run through the middle and ooze class.. ala goodes goddard.. im hoping he can reach those heights

thats what the thread is for lol
but i really do have faith in the kid i think he has copped some really harsh criticism on these boards, hes played 49 or 50 games and hes still 20-21 has the body size once he fills out to play as a second tall at either end and can run through the middle and ooze class.. ala goodes goddard.. im hoping he can reach those heights

I agree. Cale has the goods to become as good as gods :D

jack watts - will continue to develop as expected by the club

tapscott - to cement spot in half back line, kicking over the zone and hopefully becoming our full time kick-in specialist

bail - to actually be held in high regard for his elite running and heavy body work

gysberts - to be top 5 in league for clearances

mckenzie - to be our new "juniour"

morton - to work his way into the season as it progresses and nail down a spot on the wing as link man

Sylvia - a few brilliant games, a few quiet games; don't see his "break out" year happening

Green - form to slip due to added weight of captaincy

Russian - backing up AA

Davey - to play in the forward line for 5 games to get confidence then go back into the middle / half back and shaking tags

will do more later

Jebus! Thats lumping a lot of expectation on a kid! You reckon he'll be up there with the likes of Judd, Swan, Bartel, Cross, Mitchell etc in his first full season? I rate him extremely highly but not at that level yet!

It's simply an opinion

And I simply said clearances - his major asset IMO along with getting the contested ball

Finished top 5 in the league for the round in his 1st game back

Amazing clearance player

If he can stay fit for the season, I expect he'll finish up there in clearances come end of season....maybe top 10 to be more conservative :p

It's simply an opinion

And I simply said clearances - his major asset IMO along with getting the contested ball

Finished top 5 in the league for the round in his 1st game back

Amazing clearance player

If he can stay fit for the season, I expect he'll finish up there in clearances come end of season....maybe top 10 to be more conservative :p

Fair enough- wasn't having a go just surprised at the prediction!

He looks like he will be a top 5 clearance player one day- if he is top 10 this year it will help us immensely. We have suffered at the stoppages over the last few years and if he can help out that much we're looking good!

theres no doubt the kid will be a special talent one day... seems to have the class to play both inside and outside something we lack of..him scully and trengrove and morton certainly give us a young midfield to accompany the hard nuts of moloney, jones, sylvia, mckenzie, tapscott to go along with the leg speed of jetta bennel blease davey bail

Yeah realise you weren't having a go, and I guess the point of this thread (the way I read it at least) was to be bold in predicitons

The kids possession rate is insane, 26, 27, 10 (in less than a half before Barham laid a knee into his back and ended his season) and 25.

I'd love to know what percentage of that is 1st possession / clearance

I have to say, when his name was called with pick 11 I did the "who the hell??" but have been more than pleasantly surprised

The fact the Gys backed up his form last year with an amazing 1st up performance goes to show, it wasn't a flash in the pan

He's quality, real quality.

Gys is gold. This midfield progression is all important for us. Our forward line will only develop if there is quality flow out of stoppages and through the centre. If Jurrah had Buddy's supply...

Speaking of which, I cant believe they were ragging on Jurrah last week when the whole team had 35 inside 50's! He kicked 2 and handed one to Green in the goal square, an equal/better return than Buddy who had 75 inside 50's to select from.

hey, guys, sorry to get off the track here.
Can anyone tell me why Ricky Bobby didnt play against brisbane ?
ive been trying to find out everywhere but cant get an answer.
surely he wasnt dropped.

wow, i was sure he must have been injured during the week or something.
very surprising.

i have a feeling it has more to do with the fact he was the sub in round 1 vs the swans, maric was sub round 2 and was dropped after that and i wouldnt be surprised if morton was dropped aswell...all to do with match fitness loads and all that crap

altho did here bailey wasnt impressed with petterds tackling , pressure etc

Yeah realise you weren't having a go, and I guess the point of this thread (the way I read it at least) was to be bold in predicitons

The kids possession rate is insane, 26, 27, 10 (in less than a half before Barham laid a knee into his back and ended his season) and 25.

I'd love to know what percentage of that is 1st possession / clearance

I have to say, when his name was called with pick 11 I did the "who the hell??" but have been more than pleasantly surprised

The fact the Gys backed up his form last year with an amazing 1st up performance goes to show, it wasn't a flash in the pan

He's quality, real quality.

thats what i was hoping for.. sorta morphed into gysberts love in and wheres petterd lol

i was hoping for like...' bates career will be over by years end'

'watts will still be crap later in the year'
' maric will be a gun by seasons end'

so i can bump it later and see who picked who and also say if watts ends up being good we can say see 'have faith'

Jared Rivers to reach the potential we had seen in him in his rising star winning season. (He has had a shocker run with injuries you do realise)
Luke tapscott Poll top 3 in the rising star award with the likes of swallow and heppel. Will be our priority at kick ins and will be top 10 at rebound 50's by season end. Could see dean putting him in the forward line for a stint later in the season, will be labelled a master move.
Nathan Jones Will have a breakout season for the dees this year. The flogs will get on the bandwagon as he has taken the advice to stop trying to break tackles. He's got a tank and will use it to advantage to get on top of his opponents will be a very valuable player to the club this year.

Jared Rivers to reach the potential we had seen in him in his rising star winning season. (He has had a shocker run with injuries you do realise)
Luke tapscott Poll top 3 in the rising star award with the likes of swallow and heppel. Will be our priority at kick ins and will be top 10 at rebound 50's by season end. Could see dean putting him in the forward line for a stint later in the season, will be labelled a master move.
Nathan Jones Will have a breakout season for the dees this year. The flogs will get on the bandwagon as he has taken the advice to stop trying to break tackles. He's got a tank and will use it to advantage to get on top of his opponents will be a very valuable player to the club this year.

Great call there way back in april, man did i make some bad calls

but some good ones also

james strauss should play some good senior games by the end of the year.. im not sure he will though

jack watts- see above

Another good call there, you forgot to mention that one in your last post. :thumbsu:

Im going at better than 50% then, tell gaz and cameron to give me a call! Hopefully when i do this at the start of next season more people put there balls on the line!

I agree. Cale has the goods to become as good as gods :D

I just wish he'd lower the socks or something. He looks so awkward on the footy field with the socks up. :D

Seriously though, I hope to see Morton but his head over the ball or go hard at the pack a few times. Its ok to be an outside player but when your mate on the field needs help, you need to commit. Some of his spoiling attempts appear to be half hearted efforts which is annoying.

I think its time to give some games to the kids and rest those who are/were 50/50. Jamar could go a rest I think given he was in doubt and I'd love Max Gawn to see out the last two games in a major ruck role. Garland too, since he was 50/50 for the Tiges, and give someone like Warnock a last chance to show something.

For the rest of the squad, I want to see commitment and hardness from all and not some for 4 quarters especially the senior guys like Green, Rivers, Davey.

You made a top call on Martin though.

AAAhh.. but are they outweighed by the morton call:p

Im gonna set this thread up again during pre season next year and we can find out who are the real 'experts' lol

I cant wait to see some of the stings and bigsexc's predictions!

Maybe biff can start a dud watch thread on Morton and kick start his career

Your player expectations for the rest of the season