Toast Round 2 = Western Bulldogs 70-76 Collingwood

Frampton, comfortably.

Dean is not KPP size or strength
Horses for courses most weeks ideally, but Frampton has to be it vs Carlton given Curnow and McKay’s size.

Think against Sydney it’ll come down to who is ahead in the pecking order though

Horses for courses most weeks ideally, but Frampton has to be it vs Carlton given Curnow and McKay’s size.

Think against Sydney it’ll come down to who is ahead in the pecking order though

I disagree with key defensive posts.

I think we need to pick 1 bloke and get him and the defense knowing how to play with each other.

Nothing worse than a different teammate next to you each week, you can't gel.

Frampton and Moore are what we have, Dean is the injury backup. We are gonna need a lot of Darcy Cameron taking marks in defensive 50.

Should have won that game by at least 5 goals but for the insipid deplorable goalkicking by all concerned in the forward line.

You take the 4 points but geez that was tough to watch. Going to be a long long year.

The effort was there, but it wasn’t a sharp performance.

I think on paper we had them by 5 goals, with kicking straight/no muppet mistakes costing us dead certain goals we win by 3.

But we won by 1. We really minimised the result.

Doggies with a full team will trouble us off that at the G. We need to find a good second tall defender soon. Darcy is sensational, almost Buddy headaches.

McStay CHB? It’s a structural problem which causes us to leak goals with not many entries.

If Weitering or Lever played for us instead of Houston, I reckon we would be miles better.

The forwards let us down in round 0 and almost again tonight. Need better coming up

The effort was there, but it wasn’t a sharp performance.

I think on paper we had them by 5 goals, with kicking straight/no muppet mistakes costing us dead certain goals we win by 3.

But we won by 1. We really minimised the result.

Doggies with a full team will trouble us off that at the G. We need to find a good second tall defender soon. Darcy is sensational, almost Buddy headaches.

McStay CHB? It’s a structural problem which causes us to leak goals with not many entries.

If Weitering or Lever played for us instead of Houston, I reckon we would be miles better.

The forwards let us down in round 0 and almost again tonight. Need better coming up
To be fair we have beaten the Dogs with Ugle Hagan, Bont , Treloar and Weightman all playing. Footy is a funny game. Everyone thinks the team will go to another level when the stars return and it doesn't always happen.

Should have won that game by at least 5 goals but for the insipid deplorable goalkicking by all concerned in the forward line.

You take the 4 points but geez that was tough to watch. Going to be a long long year.
What a negative Nancy. It was a sensational game played at a finals like intensity. Our set shot kicking was poor tonight but that occasionally happens. The Dogs were primed for a big game in front of a huge crowd. Hard to watch? There were countless moments of brilliance and courage by our boys. Get a grip.

Hope not. I’d replace Pendles CBA with Perryman. JDG will get more too eventually.

View attachment 2257091

McCreery won 3 out of the 4 center bounces attended.

Lipinski really needs a rocket for his lack of physical want and effort in contesting the ball in dispute or making it into a contest at all. Slowed up to not contest and backed out multiple times. It costs us.

Bad luck to Reef hopefully he recovers well.

Howe and Steele stood up, Pendles had some moments in the last Q too.

Not sure with Pendles they need to experiment more with him either HFF or HBF.

I said a 10 point win was more likely than 10 goals, and I wasn’t far off. Much better start to the season this year at 2 - 1, rather than the diabolical 0 - 3 from last year. Gotta love other teams’ supporters sooking about the free kick count. Getting given a lot of free kicks is meaningless unless you use them effectively (and thankfully we did). Had we had the same amount of free kicks, but we frequently burned them by kicking or handballing it straight back to a Dogs player, resulting in more scoring opportunities for them, those supporters would be whistling a different tune. Take the win and run, reset over the bye, and come out breathing fire the following week.

I reckon dogs played a good game for the blokes they could put out on the park. Definitely a few key outs that once they return, will make them a challenger come September.

So in saying that, I recognise the dogs are the real deal and still formidable even with those outs.

We had moments but mostly I know we are capable of better footy than we played.

I take this as a positive. We played a decent side, off our game and still got a win.

Can’t hear the commentators so just watch the subtitles, so many mentions of the free kick count in the last qtr and half, couldn’t see who was whining.

I assumed it was Hodge in the last when DeGoey took the mark and someone piped up it should have been a push. Clearly someone who hates Collingwood and doesn’t know the rules.
Sam Darcy did the same thing early in the game when pushed from behind but did so from a side angle and commentators called it a good mark.

DeGoey does the same thing, actually less obvious and half the commentators lost their minds or questioned it.

The media wanted Bulldogs to win understandably, so Pies fans just have to move on and hope the team play better because the same glaring slowness at the middle is a worry.

I reckon dogs played a good game for the blokes they could put out on the park. Definitely a few key outs that once they return, will make them a challenger come September.

So in saying that, I recognise the dogs are the real deal and still formidable even with those outs.

I take this as a positive. We played a decent side, off our game and still got a win.

Yeah, Bulldogs are a top 6 at worst team given they are healthy and a real genuine top 4 contender.

Can’t believe I’m saying this but Schultz and Sidebottom were two of our best. Easily.

Howe best of the defenders

Howe last night made me realize he doesn't have an immediate replacement, especially with Reef out over a year. Howe's veteran calmness and poise under pressure is essential for a dependable backline. Howe is even more stable than Moore a lot of times.

It means Frampton comes back in, but one of the midsize youngsters may need to be bloodied as a defender to help with Howe taking rests and breaks.

Howe last night made me realize he doesn't have an immediate replacement, especially with Reef out over a year. Howe's veteran calmness and poise under pressure is essential for a dependable backline. Howe is even more stable than Moore a lot of times.

It means Frampton comes back in, but one of the midsize youngsters may need to be bloodied as a defender to help with Howe taking rests and breaks.
Howe is huge for us. He is rated but I would still say he’s largely underrated by the masses.

I would hope in the offseason this year, we target a key defender. Easier said than done. But it’s our biggest weakness and vulnerability.

Howe is huge for us. He is rated but I would still say he’s largely underrated by the masses.

I would hope in the offseason this year, we target a key defender. Easier said than done. But it’s our biggest weakness and vulnerability.
For me, need a Mitchell replacement. A quick, bulldog like player to tackle and win over the back at the middle helping Nick and a younger version of Howe or a new Nick Maxwell, someone to bring calmness and poise out back to help Moore do his job.

If our forwards kick the easy goals, we win comfortably..

I needed to leave at 3/4 time so all of this is with that in mind.

I posted in the changes thread that the key to stopping Darcy was up field in pressuring the ball carrier to prevent soft hit ups. You then make Darcy earn his SOG with contested marks and I felt we did that in transition. He got on the end of a few silly ones (that kick from Moore and the 11 metre kick from McNeil), but he took 6 contested marks which you can’t do much about with his size. I’m with McRae that given the context Moore had a good night. To me it’s mostly about how ****ing good Darcy is. There is a small part of me that watches Darcy and thinks if only Cox had sticky hands…

It was pleasing to get a dirty win despite leaving at least 4 goals out there. I’m not even talking stuff like the McStay to Membrey one I’m looking at the Lipinski dropped mark I50 stuff. It was a similar story to OR where we didn’t finish our work and you just have to bank the win in scenarios like that or you end up in the position Carlton’s in.

That’s the worst I’ve seen Houston play in years. Perhaps it was the result of the shuffle following McInnes going down or extra attention following last weeks performance, but he looked flat. I’d expect a bit of a lift v Carlton for him.

Were the sky balls strategy or execution? There was a period of about 20 minutes in the 3rd quarter where we had slow play on the outer wing and half a dozen of the release kicks went higher than long. It was a bit strange.

I loved what we were doing around stoppage with hands. I felt like we got away with a few flick passes, but it really allowed us to exit contest with pace and opened the ground up. The problem was generally that last option.

Lastly Pendles. You keep your feet in the contest and you’re as sublime as ever. Thank you for showing me there’s plenty of fight left in those old legs.
Robert Redford Nod GIF

Edit: Caught up on the replay. Wow that last quarter would have been excruciating to watch live. I’d estimate we left 8 goals out there in total last night between dropped marks I50 and simple set shot misses. I’m mentally struggling with whether this is a weakness or an opportunity to improve because it’s a repeat of opening round.

Toast Round 2 = Western Bulldogs 70-76 Collingwood

Write your reply...