Player Watch Welcome to Hawthorn - Conor Nash. Extends to 2029!

HE GOT TO PLAY RUCK!!! haha and it was actually good colour me shocked…

It really helped having an extra runner in Phillips but would not want it to detriment Nash’s game, but it’s a tool we now know we can use.

He should take a lot of confidence out of beating Goldstein a couple of time, considering he flogs us usually.

I was wondering if Conor would see any time in the ruck.
Again, some similarities to the position he played in gaelic football, whereby the 4 midfielders would contest possession from a throw-in at the start of the game and the restart following half-time, with the idea being you win clean possession or tap it to a teammate.

95203.jpg

There is also a 1 v 1 contested throw-in for some infringements, which basically pits the two tallest opposition players against each other.

95203 (1).jpg

Was great when the game was on the line. He is a very handy player to have in the side. Can literally play any position now. Good sides always have this sort of player.

As we have gone smaller both down forward and back he becomes more important. On Sunday when Lynch went down by showing he can compete well as the 2nd ruck it meant we could keep our structure. If he wasn't there the only ones who could possibly have done it were Lewis or Frost.

He didn't get a lot of it but we were better out of the middle when he was in there. It stopped the easy clearances they were getting in the first

Great game as a midfielder ruckman.

I have been reading your stuff in here and all I will say is that I admire your optimism. I can't help thinking that you dish out mad-blowies to Conor before and after every game though. He's not a fraction of the player that you think he is.

He did a good job on Saturday and certainly his size, strength and speed give us some options. But he is far from a nailed on part of our best 22 (Bramble, Day, Breust and McEvoy have to come in) and we are a really poor football team.

He is not elite. He's very much a role player at this stage.

He's multiples of the player you think he is.
6 games in the midfield, 6. And his first rucking.
Look up.
Which midfielder had as many ruck tap outs as him?
None.
So, as I said, a great game as a midfielder/ ruckman.
100% DE too. Just saying.

He's multiples of the player you think he is.
6 games in the midfield, 6. And his first rucking.
Look up.
Which midfielder had as many ruck tap outs as him?
None.
Do a great game as a midfielder/ ruckman.
100% DE too. Just saying.

10 possessions. 3 hitouts.

Massive. :rolleyes:

Ummm... he had as many tackles as your footballing IQ. I think you'll find he did more than play a role.

I said that he did a good job. Is comprehension not your strong suit mate?

But talk of him being an elite midfielder is utter nonsense.

10 possessions, 3 hitouts, 7 tackles. He played a role. :drunk:

In fairness, hasn't grown up with a Sherrin in hand.
flies in not knowing what role he has to play & what position best suits.
He had to sit at BH hoping to learn the caper.
He finally now has a belief and understanding of what his role is.
Sheesh cut him some slack.
I'm sure our other new irish import will go through the same situation.
He ain't on Mcgovern (carlton)bucks......then you could reason to complain.

In fairness, hasn't grown up with a Sherrin in hand.
flies in not knowing what role he has to play & what position best suits.
He had to sit at BH hoping to learn the caper.
He finally now has a belief and understanding of what his role is.
Sheesh cut him some slack.
I'm sure our other new irish import will go through the same situation.
He ain't on Mcgovern (carlton)bucks......then you could reason to complain.

Jesus, I am not even bagging the guy.

But for a team that will likely finish in the bottom 4, you'd reckon all of the "elite" players we have are underachieving somewhat, wouldn't you?

It's more pressure on the guy running around calling him elite than it is to just let him grow into his role. He played well enough and did his job but he hasn't even consolidated a long term position in an ordinary team yet.

Do we mark him harder because he has been in the system longer than guys like DGB etc?
He will be finding his feet like all of our new guys are.

Do we mark him harder because he has been in the system longer than guys like DGB etc?
He will be finding his feet like all of our new guys are.

I mark him against his output. He's a project player doing a decent job trying to find his feet at this level.

But he's been called an elite midfielder in here. Bontempelli, Oliver, Fyfe, Walsh, Wines, Petracca, Martin, Macrae, etc are elite midfielders.

We don't even know if Nash is a midfielder yet.

We are not a destination club anymore.
We haven't been able to attract a big name for awhile now.
The club will need to go find players that aren't superstars and develop them.
This is the case with Conor.
Matthew Kennedy was a player we went after.
has played 62 games on big money at Blues.
been very ordinary...takes this long to payback the blues with a great game last week.
Conor has played 30games & not on huge dollars compared to Kennedy.
I'de still take Conor with the upside he brings.

Player Watch Welcome to Hawthorn - Conor Nash. Extends to 2029!