Preview 2022 Round 3 Carlton vs Hawthorn Sunday April 3rd 1.10PM @ MCG - Team Post #1413

We have an engine room guilty of being the best I can so far see, having looked closely at what’s on offer from every other mob, barring the Dee’s.
A forwardline complete finally with Chaz and Haz, Durdin at the feet with Owies, Motlop, Honey etal.,CC doing things like Thursday, that boundary kick wins you most games, even grannies.
Voss is the baker and the icing and he gets to take our club into a stratosphere only we get to taste, 17.
McG floating across back, the way his DNA is programmed, Williams mopping up before the boss sees it, Doch needing something immortal.
The pieces have never been put in places like this for a very longtime.
Still to see, Stocker, Kemp, Honey, Carrol, our backline talls need a hit up, although I have always trusted the Young acquisition, need more though.
TLDR
We have a men versus boys outfit that net several flags now, time is ours.
Voss will ensure we skip ahead of the pack and keep our tally the benchmark, as much as I live and pay honour to Taylor Hawkins, I guy I met, my partners cousin grew up with, we our flag bound.
Be aware
What a stream that is cc, you ok?
😎

This will take a while to unpack … once I run this through a translator…

Hawthorn were very good against Port. The played at a lot higher intensity, they were super hard at the contest. My thought that Hawthorn might not be that good has changed, they don't have a lot of stars but they have a team who plays the game the right way and plays their role well. To me this is a danger game, this is a game where if the foot comes off the peddle even a little bit, the momentum goes the other way pretty quickly.

Interesting how Port dominated the possessions and were beaten so easily. If you don't know the score and look at the stats you would think Port must win but that wasn't the case. The story was all about both team's defence and attack. Port struggled to make the most of their entries while Hawthorn defended well and their forwards did the job up the other end.

What this tells me is that this will be a big game for our defenders and our teams ability to apply pressure and defend. Our defence has been about our ability to win the ball and keep it out of the oppositions hands so we are going to have to dominate as Port did but we also need to be scoring. Luckily we have a potent forward line. I think it's going to be a real test for our defence. If they get going we need to keep their score down, which Port failed to do. TBH Port's desire to defend as a team was pretty poor and this is where we need to be good.

To be honest I feel we have the team to beat them. It's crucial our forwards keep their defenders busy, can't have Sicily marking and owing the defence the way he did. Their speed worries me a bit but we should be able to field a quick side this week. Lewis, Bruce and Gunston got off the chain but we have good match ups for them. Weitering, McGovern and Williams there will be a crucial matchup.

Certainly not expecting a walk in the park, this will be another challenge this week. Blues by 25.

Hawks have an average midfield and a good backline. They love to attack from defense.

Port played right into their hands by winning the clearances and kicking it straight to hawthorn defenders and applying very little forward pressure.

If Carlton forwards can break even / lock it in the forward line we will win. If our forwards get on top we will win comfortably.

On Pixel 2 using BigFooty.com mobile app

Carlton v Hawthorn. The 1980s called: they want their blockbuster back!
Not just yet, you guys are a season or two ahead of us in development.

Another couple of years before we get close to becoming serious contenders again if we draft well and Sam Mitchell develops the team well.

We will give you guys a good game but at the moment Carlton are playing a great brand of footy and will be far to polished for us.

Port had no forward line or defence …. Who have the Hawks really beaten? Port also had a gruelling game last week.

As long as the team turns up, doesn’t get complacent and plays like it’s been playing we will win reasonably comfortably.

It is a danger game for last year’s CFC … if that mob turns up we will learn a hard lesson.

Game of the Round!!! Who woulda thought that 2 weeks ago?!

I love it. I am thrilled we're going to get a massive crowd next week.

Play a Carlton v Hawks game on Sunday 1:10pm! How dare you AFL!

This Hawks performance doesn't scare me. In fact it excites me.

Hawks will see next week we're another Level to Port. They cannot allow us to dominate the midfield like they are allowing Port. Our midfield and forward is far too good to play that style.

Port without Voss is an average team.
I think they are just missing good players. Ok...maybe a little of both. ;)

Gday lads, what's your ins and outs looking like?
Ins: whoever will beat Hawks
Outs: whoever isn't up to beating outs.
Cheers and good luck for Sunday. Should be a ripper match.

Excited for Sunday..my 1st live game this season and we have new seats. Reserved wing. Wow!!
Can't wait. I hope we win. I think we will.
Should be a great game.

TBF port were missing Aliir and Dixon which would be similar to us losing Weitering and McKay in terms of importance.
In saying that Hawks were bloody impressive. I don’t think Port really played into their hands either. They tried to control the ball and work it forward and they also managed 70 tackles, 30 more then we did this week for instance. They also took as many marks inside their 50 as we did this week with our gun forwards.
Unfortunately I think Mitchell coaching looks as impressive as they could have ever hoped for. Luckily we are more talented then the Hawks and also seem really well coached and will probably have an extra behind the ball more often then Port did that should make it harder for the Hawks to score.
Carlton by 25

Not just yet, you guys are a season or two ahead of us in development.

Another couple of years before we get close to becoming serious contenders again if we draft well and Sam Mitchell develops the team well.

We will give you guys a good game but at the moment Carlton are playing a great brand of footy and will be far to polished for us.
I thought you could be reasonably competitive this year. Mitchell, O’meara, Wingard, Sicily, Gunston, Breust, McEvoy & a couple of emerging youngsters is still elite talent.
Your issue is you have an imbalanced list. In 2 or 3 years many of these players will be fading or gone. That is why Kennett suggested they were tradable

Pittonet and TDK working well together. Beyond surprised if this duo don't stick together going forward for us

I was sceptical about the two ruckman before round 1 but so far so good. They both provide a point of difference and TDK has enough forward craft to make it work.

Most clubs are back to two ruckman. JSOS is serviceable around the ground but the centre clearance is now far too important to be going in with an undersized battler.

I’m flummoxed at guessing who goes out, aside from Fogarty.

Cerra & Martin will come in (and Voss🙂); of that I have no doubt.

LOB & Setterfield have been very good on the wing, and, along with Owies, crucial link players. And despite having a modest game, Durdin has been terrific with the pressure.

And I’m really liking TDK’s role and you get the feeling he’s ready to tear a game apart.

So yeah, I have no idea.

I was sceptical about the two ruckman before round 1 but so far so good. They both provide a point of difference and TDK has enough forward craft to make it work.

Most clubs are back to two ruckman. JSOS is serviceable around the ground but the centre clearance is now far too important to be going in with an undersized battler.

TDK is mobile enough to make it work...you wouldn't want 2 slow, lumbering rucks.

TDK is a threat in the air up forward and has been a decent target so far...currently he needs to improve his kicking though so he actually hits the scoreboard a bit.

When he does go in the ruck, he's been competing well.

It's a strength of ours to be able to stretch opposition defences and ruck combos...like the Dogs game one of their weaknesses is their ruck division and we got on top in that area. Our team structure is quite a bit like Melbourne's which is a good thing.