Unofficial Preview 2022 Mid-Season Rookie Draft

None of our MSD picks thus far have been short-term thinking. Makes sense to keep giving long contracts if we keep drafting young prospects.
Yup. 22 years old. We look at the long term, but also he is someone that can play right away

A goal kicking, big bodied, clearance beast mid. And lets be honest.. we need more players that can win the hard ball to help out adams.

Don't you think every other club will want to take them also if they last till the end of the year and improve a lot between now and then? you take your chances before the opposition has a chance. Hine needs to go and the sooner the better
The question I'd ask is how many blokes who were eligible for last year's mid season draft and missed out were added to a list before the end of the national draft. Maybe 1 or 2. What's the likelihood of that being the guy you would have picked?

It's not like we were the only club who passed or didn't create a possible extra list spot. It's not a free hit.

Yup. 22 years old. We look at the long term, but also he is someone that can play right away

A goal kicking, big bodied, clearance beast mid. And lets be honest.. we need more players that can win the hard ball to help out adams.

His pace looks ok and apparently his running capacity is good. Can only take it on trust via the stats, that he can win the clearances…

The question I'd ask is how many blokes who were eligible for last year's mid season draft and missed out were added to a list before the end of the national draft. Maybe 1 or 2. What's the likelihood of that being the guy you would have picked?

It's not like we were the only club who passed or didn't create a possible extra list spot. It's not a free hit.
ahh well, as I said, I'm happy with Carmicheal

Hmm, wouldn’t be a Collingwood draft night if we didn’t go for a average mid. Guess he’d fit in well with our other VFL average midfield. Wtf do we not go for talls considering the ones we have got are very ordinary.
and why do you reckon our talls are so ordinary?

posts such as this one and the msd melts are baffling. Nobody is more aggravated by our paucity of quality talls than me. The reason ours are ordinary is that rather than invest some nice juicy 1st or 2nd round picks on talls, we are always trying to get them cheap - category A rookies, category B rookies, and the mid season draft. And now punters are complaining that we didn’t return for the 100th time to the bargain basement and stock up once more on cheap talls - bizarre

What about his pathways? Were any of them elite.
I think he’s probably to old for the pathways line, but I think it’s safe to say that elite pathways falls under the elite systems blanket, therefore, minimal exposure to those too!

The hole in our inside mid stocks is every bit as gaping as our hole in KPP.

Mate, the chances of finding an AFL calibre key position player at the back end of the mid season draft is almost non existent.

I wouldn’t be surprised if the list of 5-6 blokes Hine mentioned only included Dawson and Derkson as those key position players. Both of whom were gone (and personally thank god Dawson was with his god awful kicking skills).

Even Kelly and McMahon would currently be in front of the rest of the available nominees. And they are both available to play at the moment if the short term is what you are worried about.

Hopefully our real key position targets are in the national draft.

Lemmey/Scully/Keeler/Jefferson etc etc
Let's wait and see who Hine picks in November, then we will continue this conversation. The question was if hine can pick KPP and the answer is still no.
I am with you on Dawson, dodged a bullet there

He’s only 22. It’s his first year in the SANFL after playing in Merbein in the Sunraysia Football League last year. Won the B&F last year.
He’s shown heaps of development.

He played on and beat Matt Crouch yesterday.

Just watching his game from yesterday day:

• he likes the contest and is good at it.
  • he’s not timid going for contested marks and tackling players.
  • can take a mark.
  • goal kicking midfielder.
  • great kick into the 50.
  • gets back to help out the defence room.
  • can read the ball off the pack.

Things he can improve:
  • get to more contests. (Improve running).
  • stick a few more tackles. (Get stronger).

1st quarter yesterday:

• he kicks 45 into the Center square. Leads to a goal.
  • fills a hole in defence. Takes a mark inside the D50.
  • he runs past the ruckman, gets the handball and nails a kick into the forward 50. Leads to a goal.
  • marking contest on the goal line. Josh hits the front of the contest. Snaps - goal.

I wish SANFL games were free so everyone could get to watch the games.

I’ll keep you updated with the other quarters.

If anyone wants a quick read on Josh during 1 quarter against the Crows.

Great pick - 191cm mid, a huge tank, with a seasoned body, all excellent foundations to immediately leverage.
Good performances in the VFL may see him elevated as quickly and permanently as Noble.
I was thinking about how quickly Noble debuted and couldn't come up with an answer. I'm sure someone will know.

Let's wait and see who Hine picks in November, then we will continue this conversation. The question was if hine can pick KPP and the answer is still no

If agree, if he overlooks the key position talent in this years national draft I will be beyond livid.

That will be the real test.

Not the mid season draft today.

and why do you reckon our talls are so ordinary?

posts such as this one and the msd melts are baffling. Nobody is more aggravated by our paucity of quality talls than me. The reason ours are ordinary is that rather than invest some nice juicy 1st or 2nd round picks on talls, we are always trying to get them cheap - category A rookies, category B rookies, and the mid season draft. And now punters are complaining that we didn’t return for the 100th time to the bargain basement and stock up once more on cheap talls - bizarre

We got some Descent Talls they just on the Injury list at the Moment

I was thinking about how quickly Noble debuted and couldn't come up with an answer. I'm sure someone will know.

Think was between 2-4 Weeks

See how he goes on Sunday vs Suns in the VFL

Have a Huge Game and might have a Chance to Debut Queens Birthday

Despite being heavily linked to West Adelaide midfielder Josh Carmichael, the Bombers went for D’Ambrosio, who’s impressed at every level he’s played so far this season with his pinpoint kicking and dash from half-back.

Carmichael was then overlooked by five clubs — including Adelaide, which opted for experienced Glenelg midfielder Brett Turner — before Collingwood snared the 189cm on-baller at Pick 9 in what was the steal of the night. He booted eight goals and averaged 27.2 disposals, 5.2 clearances and 4.3 inside 50s from his past six SANFL games.

I think he’s probably to old for the pathways line, but I think it’s safe to say that elite pathways falls under the elite systems blanket, therefore, minimal exposure to those

He used to say pathways. It makes me think that he was bullshitting us and some of our previous blokes had limited exposure to elite pathways but were fully exposed to elite systems. This time it sounds all encompassing, unless Carmicheal has been strolling on elite pathways within mediocre systems.

Despite being heavily linked to West Adelaide midfielder Josh Carmichael, the Bombers went for D’Ambrosio, who’s impressed at every level he’s played so far this season with his pinpoint kicking and dash from half-back.

Carmichael was then overlooked by five clubs — including Adelaide, which opted for experienced Glenelg midfielder Brett Turner — before Collingwood snared the 189cm on-baller at Pick 9 in what was the steal of the night. He booted eight goals and averaged 27.2 disposals, 5.2 clearances and 4.3 inside 50s from his past six SANFL games.

I'm pretty sure we won the midseason draft.

Unofficial Preview 2022 Mid-Season Rookie Draft