Unofficial Preview 2022 Mid-Season Rookie Draft

the madge does get a kick.....but i'd be tossing up whether i'd pick callum for the VFL list

Short of a slate of injuries to players under 185cm, Callum Brown should never really see Senior footy ever again

I agree totally. Why not take a chance on a young kid! He could not be any worse than Callum Brown or Jack Madgen going forward. I am totally non-plussed by Hine.
Of course they could be worse than Brown and Madgen. Both Brown and Madgen at times have shown that they can play at the highest level of footy there is. But yeah, a random kid who no club wanted must be able to do better because unrealised ability trumps track record all the time.

If you look at it this way, it’s one less midfielder we look at in the ND. We can load up and take 3 KPP’s if we want.
I reckon our midfield depth was even worse than talls. We just haven’t had any injuries there. I'm really happy with getting a mid now.

How many SA players on the list now?

Grundy
Noble
Poulter
McCreery
Draper
Harison
Murley
Carmichael

Maynard was born in Adelaide but moved to Melbourne as a kid
Johnson has played in the SANFL

Lmao at the melts over not selecting a KPP with one of the final picks of the most speculative draft of the year…

True and in these Kind of Drafts Talls go Early in the Draft.

We got a Possible Steal

We do need Inside Mids that Can Win Clearnces as outside of Adams we don't really have much else outside of Adams.

Hopefully be better then Callum Brown

I reckon our midfield depth was even worse than talls. We just haven’t had any injuries there. I'm really happy with getting a mid now.
Yep agreed.

I think our backline shaped up well on the weekend and our mids were our weakest line on the day. Adding more depth is important, although we need it everywhere atm.

How foolish was I to think that Hine would take a KPP, by the end of the year we should have a team of midfielders, fmd. Anyway, I am happy with Carmicheal but a free hit at a KPP with our second pick was just too much for hine
Do you understand that any bloke we would have taken will most likely still be available for us at the end of year if we want them, but so too will others not available now and others who will improve and impress over the rest of the season.

I wanted talls but once Derksen and Dawson were both gone early and Carmichael was available we had to go there.

We possibly now think we can get the talls we need through trade and draft period.

I’ll get back on to my Highmore, Amartey/McLean and Jack Payne bandwagon now.

Carmichael was a great pick, in an area of need and the perfect age demographic. Particularly if JDG does actually leave.

I wouldn’t be surprised to see him get games closer to the back end of the season once he learns the system and game plan.

The issue with El Nour isn't El Nour. If they didn't rate him, they shouldn't take him. That's fair. I really hope he continues to bulk up and ply his trade, then hopefully get that AFL chance one day.

It's just the frustration of supporting a club that has Madgen playing week in, week out as a key defender and Mihocek as the only reliable key forward. Checkers is a gun and I love him, but he should be a second or third tall... Imagine the damage he could do playing off a Naughton or McKay for example.

We can't just spend year after year saying "best available" at all costs. Better land a quality tall kid in the ND this year or I'll... continue to sook about it on BigFooty. That'll show em.

Unofficial Preview 2022 Mid-Season Rookie Draft