Certified Legendary Thread Alastair Clarksons.

Alistair to North in 2023?

• Yes

Votes: 257 77.4%
  • No

Votes: 75 22.6%

I just don't have a great feeling about Clarko is all. As to him being the right fit. More of a gut feeling, I trust my gut.
If Clarko came in and said we’re going to get Buddy and Brayshaw and we’re aiming for a flag tilt next year so let’s trade our picks out..
how many dissenting voices, strong enough to say ‘NO’ do you think we have?
And how many would nod along and get all giddy at the dream of holding up the cup?

I will never try and besmirch a coach who is rated highly.

What is he rated for? Park the flags for a tick. His last 3 seasons he had roughly a 33% W/L record.

Did he forget how to coach? Or was his mind elsewhere?

Pagan was a terrific coach, " right today we're going to mix it up- I want you to kick it to Carey lol, was joking boys . see ya's all around 5 pm.

At the Blues he had a five year stint for a 25% win record

Did he forget how to coach as well?

Now as much as landing an Al would look great on many levels I'm thinking he wouldn't be our best bet.
I'd rather Lyon or Pike purely from a tactical POV.
Which I think we need.

I won't be crying should we land Al, quietly I'll be relieved if we don't.

Interesting thoughts TAO. I don't really know what to wish for, a bit like when Noble started stumbling a couple of months ago. I thought he was a good man with good skills and a good background. But results suggested that wasn't enough.

While Clarkson has long been the coaching **** fantasy a few discussions on here lately have fleshed out the thought that it's hard to know exactly what coach the 2023 version of Alistair Clarkson at North Melbourne would be.

Looking at the 2008 hawks flag side - I've crossed out the players he inherited in his first preseason.

So of the 2008 premiership side only had 6 arrived during his tenure. It's not a big deal but dispels that he was some list rebuilding genius either.

While it sounds like lip service, I think Clarkson's own wonderings about whether he's an incredible coach or was in the right place at the right time actually carry some validity. Obviously he knew how to get a group playing a particular gameplan and hitting a peak during the finals. But it helps a hell of a lot when you had cluster of players who will go down as some of the best in your club's history.

Then add that Hawthorn had a strong (albeit dickheadish) administration and financial base. Not strong as in "breaking even" but as in having the resources to get whatever they need to be successful.

Should he come to North will all those factors align for him in the same way? Would he rather go to GWS where we all know if the momentum picks up the AFL will make sure he gets to complete fairytale by hook or crook?

If you're talking tactics, it was Clarkson who came up with an antidote to the best ever modern footy side I've seen in Geelong.

Anybody who can nut out a gameplan, be able to teach that plan & stop a juggernaught in full flight is a ******* wizard.

It's all about the fire with him. If he's got it & he wants us, it's a total no brainer.

He aint just a firey little angry ant (which he totally is), he's also a brilliant teacher.

Exactly what we need.

Every now and again a coach comes along who's able to tactically change the game, find gaps in the rules and exploit them, what are others not doing, etc. He's great at it but we're not even close to that stage yet.

I'd rather Clarkson's posse. The coaches who did all the hard work to get that team up.

Clarkson has mastered the PlayStation controller, but that's useless if we cant jump when he presses x.

If Clarko came in and said we’re going to get Buddy and Brayshaw and we’re aiming for a flag tilt next year so let’s trade our picks out..
how many dissenting voices, strong enough to say ‘NO’ do you think we have?
And how many would nod along and get all giddy at the dream of holding up the cup?

Being brutally honest- no one would stand up to him I'd suggest

Interesting thoughts TAO. I don't really know what to wish for, a bit like when Noble started stumbling a couple of months ago. I thought he was a good man with good skills and a good background. But results suggested that wasn't enough.

While Clarkson has long been the coaching **** fantasy a few discussions on here lately have fleshed out the thought that it's hard to know exactly what coach the 2023 version of Alistair Clarkson at North Melbourne would be.

Looking at the 2008 hawks flag side - I've crossed out the players he inherited in his first preseason.

So of the 2008 premiership side only had 6 arrived during his tenure. It's not a big deal but dispels that he was some list rebuilding genius either.

While it sounds like lip service, I think Clarkson's own wonderings about whether he's an incredible coach or was in the right place at the right time actually carry some validity. Obviously he knew how to get a group playing a particular gameplan and hitting a peak during the finals. But it helps a hell of a lot when you had cluster of players who will go down as some of the best in your club's history.

Then add that Hawthorn had a strong (albeit dickheadish) administration and financial base. Not strong as in "breaking even" but as in having the resources to get whatever they need to be successful.

Should he come to North will all those factors align for him in the same way? Would he rather go to GWS where we all know if the momentum picks up the AFL will make sure he gets to complete fairytale by hook or crook?
Well said and thanks as I felt a little exposed right there. Yep he inherited a great list of fine footballers, I knew that but wasn't prepared for the leg work you undertook.

Yes he had a very strong group of admin support, which we all know we don't have.

Yes they had money of which we don't have.

And yes he'd be mad not to take on an AFL fav, they will ensure he is well resourced and yes we will be made out to be bridesmaids again.

But again I actually want Pyke.

How many of those players were established players/stars before Clarkson arrived at Hawthorn? That's much more of an indicator as to his coaching ability than who arrived after he joined and probably more relevant to how he would go with our list too.

When he arrived at Hawthorn, Mitchell had played 50 games, Hodge had played 45 games, Bateman 42 games, Sewell 6 games and Buddy, Roughead and Lewis had yet to debut. Crawford was arguably the only established senior player he inherited who would go on to win a flag under him (unless you count Dew/Guerra from their Port years).

It's a bit of a chicken and egg situation - you can say he inherited great players but they also became great players under his coaching. It's not like someone else did the hard work and got the first 70-80 games into them all first.

Dwayne’s been running a free for all on why North shouldn’t receive a priority pick today. Every oppo nuffie with a phone has joined the pile-on.
Was listening in. Sonja's list comments were brought up and used as an excuse for not getting a PPs. Then you had the Tiger fan speaking about no one getting PP's for mediocrity. Yet his club got a number of them for being mediocre.

How many of those players were established players/stars before Clarkson arrived at Hawthorn? That's much more of an indicator as to his coaching ability than who arrived after he joined and probably more relevant to how he would go with our list too.

When he arrived at Hawthorn, Mitchell had played 50 games, Hodge had played 45 games, Bateman 42 games, Sewell 6 games and Buddy, Roughead and Lewis had yet to debut. Crawford was arguably the only established senior player he inherited who would go on to win a flag under him (unless you count Dew/Guerra from their Port years).

It's a bit of a chicken and egg situation - you can say he inherited great players but they also became great players under his coaching. It's not like someone else did the hard work and got the first 70-80 games into them all first.
So Doc you sayin that Al will turn Mahony, Turner, Walker into superstars :p

Dwayne’s been running a free for all on why North shouldn’t receive a priority pick today. Every oppo nuffie with a phone has joined the pile-on.
I might start a free for all on why Dwayne should receive a priority pick to the head.

The big risk with Clarkson is it turns out like Malcolm Blight at the Saints.

But he could be Matthews at the Lions.

We should go for him, even if it goes south, he will revive us, everyone will sign on and he will probably attract a couple of players. Worth the risk.

I do like the idea of Pyke. Shown he can harness a team quickly, he would be humble from his demise at the Crows and if he applies, you can be sure there is a very strong desire for redemption.

He will be highly motivated.

Red flag with him is that the players hated him too for the off-season 🤦🏻‍♂️

My number 1 criteria - they have coached a premiership at some level.

But again I actually want Pyke.
I didn't think much of him - maybe as he was very dismissive of North a few years back when Adelaide beat us in a round one match (or an early seaason game anyway). But it is possible that he could get North back to playing good football.

And the marketing department will be on to something good as well...

1657860002891.png

Was listening in. Sonja's list comments were brought up and used as an excuse for not getting a PPs. Then you had the Tiger fan speaking about no one getting PP's for mediocrity. Yet his club got a number of them for being mediocre.
No shit, from the big mouth knobs who ring in to bag us, to the average "SEN Football Expert" sitting behind the microphone, these dudes have no self awareness whatsover.

Not sure if you're replying to me mate but Alistair Clarkson is my and probably 99% of people on this board's preference for our senior coaching job.

But I'm just cautioning that you need to factor in some context as to whether Alistair Clarkson in 2023 at our club is going to produce what Alistair Clarkson in 2005 did at that club.

The Pagan scenario has been done to death but is very instructive. And I don't think that can be put down to losing 1 year of picks the way he himself paints it. He failed.

After 6 years, the vast majority of our drafting of key players has already taken place. Dunno why people are talking as if we need to start the list build as of today.

I do like the idea of Pyke. Shown he can harness a team quickly, he would be humble from his demise at the Crows and if he applies, you can be sure there is a very strong desire for redemption.

He will be highly motivated.

Red flag with him is that the players hated him too for the off-season 🤦🏻‍♂️

My number 1 criteria - they have coached a premiership at some level.

So this is the Crow GF team, now I'm not a great judge of other squads and don't tend to follow other sides closely, so is this a good to great side?
I don't really think so.
Could be wrong.

1657860087581.png

How much input did Clarkson have on them becoming greats? It’s impossible to know. Most of them we’re just unproven kids when he got there.

People might look back at our list in time and say “yeah but Clarko walked into a team with LDU, JHF, Thomas, Phillips, Powell, McKay, Comben, Goater etc…how could he fail”

I hope we find out.

Not sure if these people are ignorant or stupid.

How much input did Clarkson have on them becoming greats? It’s impossible to know. Most of them we’re just unproven kids when he got there.

People might look back at our list in time and say “yeah but Clarko walked into a team with LDU, JHF, Thomas, Phillips, Powell, McKay, Comben, Goater etc…how could he fail”

I hope we find out.
Totally. I'm just playing Devil's Advocate - he didn't go the draft repeatedly to build up a list. His key players were all already about where Jy and LDU were at the start of Noble's stint.

A couple of days ago Dwayne also encouraged one of his callers who’d rang in to call for North’s relocation to Tassie once again based on limited talent across the competition. Was gobsmacked. Has serious issues with us. Rather than tell the caller the issue was dead and buried he instead responded by saying he might open up this for discussion during tomorrow’s program.

I texted in to say “Five years ago North was in a prelim. Right now we are at the bottom of the ladder and in a bad way. Dwayne stop feeding these bottom feeders that are calling for our relocation. As you noted (almost) every club takes their time struggling. Dogs, Dees, Lions, Blues have all struggled through desperate times over the last decade or so. We are an easy target and people such as yourself encourage vultures. No point in opening this up as a topic tomorrow. It's been done to death, it's pointless, hurtful to 50,000 North members, countless more supporters and not going to happen.”

He didn’t mention my text and I’m not sure if he decided to raise it as a topic the next day as I wasn’t listening. Would not have been surprised however if he did. He’s a slime ball.