Certified Legendary Thread Alastair Clarksons.

Alistair to North in 2023?

• Yes

Votes: 257 77.4%
  • No

Votes: 75 22.6%

We have the potential, I'd reckon, of a finals contender, with a potentially champion midfield. I'm looking for a coach that can get our payers both to play to their potential and to play for each other, in a game plan that's executable with our skills, and will be robust in the cauldron of final's football.

My dream team would be Clarkson and Williams; would be very happy with Choco on his own. But I doubt that either can be our messiah; too many of our support structures, in player development, skills development, recruitment, fitness and so on, have demonstrated time and time again that they're not up to scratch. Hopefully, some of our most recent changes, in fitness for example, will bring us close to the required standard.

What worries me is that I'm not sure that we have the capacity to get all of these things right.

On the flip side, Clarko could go all mad professor and burn the place to the ground completely.
Well that is a risk. Pagan went top up over and above his draft impediments very quickly at Carlton.

We'd need to have list management controls in place to stop Clarkson going Crazy Vossy.

I’m sure Graham Wright wouldn’t have taken any s**t.
Aha I knew I was forgetting someone.

That's who it was with regards to Clarkson. As in judging the whole Hawthorn 2005-15 product has to account for Pelchen's mix of boldness and sheer luck, Dicker and Kennett's presidencies, Wright's list management etc.

Clearly whoever was doing the poaching of opposition players was doing an incredible job too because they landed basically anybody they chased when I'm sure there were other clubs happy to evade the cap which is not something I've particularly heard levelled at them.

So it was a team effort with Clarkson obviously able to do his bit to drive it home.

So this is the Crow GF team, now I'm not a great judge of other squads and don't tend to follow other sides closely, so is this a good to great side?
I don't really think so.
Could be wrong.

View attachment 1447175
Not as much top end talent as some successful teams but very few weak links.

If Clarko came in and said we’re going to get Buddy and Brayshaw and we’re aiming for a flag tilt next year so let’s trade our picks out..
how many dissenting voices, strong enough to say ‘NO’ do you think we have?
And how many would nod along and get all giddy at the dream of holding up the cup?
That depends on what he says his ... process is.

If he's got a viable plan and believes in our list enough then its worth going with.

Stevo is on the board. He's a premiership player under Pagan. He's tough, reasonably switched on and obviously prepared to act. He played in the same side and was probably better and tougher. I doubt he'd intimidated by Clarko.

Hood wants Alastair Clarkson to consider the senior coaching role at North. Picture: Dylan Burns/AFL Photos

MR: Back to footy, how much is the AFL going to play a role in beefing up your football department?

SH:
Don’t know. I’ll tell you what, I’ll take all the advice I can get, all the good advice I can get and the AFL’s got better advice than anyone.

MR: Alastair Clarkson’s shadow is all over this football competition? Have you spoken to him?

SH:
No.

MR: Would you like to speak to him or would you leave that to someone else?

SH:
In terms of the process, I’d like to speak to him. I’d like to have a conversation with him aside from everything else and even if he didn’t end up being the coach, I’d love to have a conversation with him.

MR: Would you like him to strongly consider the position?

SH:
My personal opinion ... Yeah, I would. Firstly, I’m aware there’s no silver bullet solution to North’s footy problems. Again, we’ve got work to do getting our structure right and our organisation right. And we’ve got good parts to our list (laughing). If Leigh Matthews is reading this, yes, I’m aware there are some holes on our list. What do you think he’d give me for my performance on Tuesday? Five out of 20?

Was listening in. Sonja's list comments were brought up and used as an excuse for not getting a PPs. Then you had the Tiger fan speaking about no one getting PP's for mediocrity. Yet his club got a number of them for being mediocre.

Surely the program host pointed out to this nuffy that PPs tend to only go to mediocre rather than highly functioning and successful teams.

How many of those players were established players/stars before Clarkson arrived at Hawthorn? That's much more of an indicator as to his coaching ability than who arrived after he joined and probably more relevant to how he would go with our list too.

When he arrived at Hawthorn, Mitchell had played 50 games, Hodge had played 45 games, Bateman 42 games, Sewell 6 games and Buddy, Roughead and Lewis had yet to debut. Crawford was arguably the only established senior player he inherited who would go on to win a flag under him (unless you count Dew/Guerra from their Port years).

It's a bit of a chicken and egg situation - you can say he inherited great players but they also became great players under his coaching. It's not like someone else did the hard work and got the first 70-80 games into them all first.
Spot on, those guys improved a lot after Clarko took over. He also got rid of spuds - including those who couldn't kick. He then beat a very good Geelong side in 2008, he was no tactical mug.

MR: Back to footy, how much is the AFL going to play a role in beefing up your football department?

SH:
Don’t know. I’ll tell you what, I’ll take all the advice I can get, all the good advice I can get and the AFL’s got better advice than anyone.

MR: Alastair Clarkson’s shadow is all over this football competition? Have you spoken to him?

SH:
No.

MR: Would you like to speak to him or would you leave that to someone else?

SH:
In terms of the process, I’d like to speak to him. I’d like to have a conversation with him aside from everything else and even if he didn’t end up being the coach, I’d love to have a conversation with him.

MR: Would you like him to strongly consider the position?

SH:
My personal opinion ... Yeah, I would. Firstly, I’m aware there’s no silver bullet solution to North’s footy problems. Again, we’ve got work to do getting our structure right and our organisation right. And we’ve got good parts to our list (laughing). If Leigh Matthews is reading this, yes, I’m aware there are some holes on our list. What do you think he’d give me for my performance on Tuesday? Five out of 20?

OK. I think it's time to almost get ready to potentially consider the possibility that it might be happening.

Clarko witnessed our young talent first hand at Launceston last year when we beat the Hawks. LDU, Powell, Zurhaar, Thomas - if there was one game he saw, glad it was that one.
It was Jy and Cunners tore them apart that day.

Yep, they played well too - I was there. LDU topped off a brilliant patch with a slalom run and goal, Powell was brilliant in the centre square including a deft handball to Goldy, Zurhaar kicked multiple goals in the second half and Thomas kicked an amazing goal in the last quarter.

IT's HAPPENING!

I'm no tin foil hat but one scenario bugs me.

Clarko loves the idea of coming to North. Bizarrely so. And huzzah! Buddy signs for a modest fee. It's a rebirth kind of.

Then in the off-season there's a big Tassie push from nowhere. Maybe a board spill. No one saw it coming. The afl loads us up with picks that essentially guarantee us a flag or two. You know, to shut the whingers up.

Good on Launceston, they're champions you'll agree
Hobart Lonny Roos with strong morally satisfying Melbourne connection will be premiers just you wait and see

I don't think it will happen, but if I was the afl trying to hatch relocation plan 2.0, that is probably as good idea as any. Also the time to strike is probably now.

Did I mention the part I don't think it will happen. But Clarkeso? I don't know.

I'm no tin foil hat but one scenario bugs me.

Clarko loves the idea of coming to North. Bizarrely so. And huzzah! Buddy signs for a modest fee. It's a rebirth kind of.

Then in the off-season there's a big Tassie push from nowhere. Maybe a board spill. No one saw it coming. The afl loads us up with picks that essentially guarantee us a flag or two. You know, to shut the whingers up.

Good Launceston, they're champions you'll agree
Hobart Lonny Roos with strong morally satisfying Melbourne connection will be premiers just you wait and see

I don't think it will happen, but if I was the afl trying to hatch relocation plan 2.0, that is probably as good idea as any. Also the time to strike is probably now.

Did I mention the part I don't think it will happen. But Clarkeso? I don't know.
I reckon Buddys off to Freo, he’d be the final piece to their premiership push.. Would be a marketers dream, Buddy goes home and wins team inaugural cup, hometown boy fairy tail moment.

Clarko comes to North as coach , Buddy decides to come also at a price and we get another 2 established players to help with our rebuild...sounds like a page from the chapter of Norths 1970 foreign legion which got us 2 flags in 7 years...l like it..;)