Game Day Round 19 2022, Eagles vs Saints (include witty subtitle for match here before posting)

Nov 13, 2014
At last comrades, we have made it!

Finally, we’ve arrived at the worst game of the year. Thankfully, there aren't too many rounds left.

In fact, the only thing worse than this game would be a panel about healthcare featuring Patrikios and Darling.

4560.jpg
98d10750b6285d8c13910063bdd4310cb3515572-4x3-x457y0w1835h1376.jpg

who wore it better

And yet, here we are with both teams having everything to lose and nothing to gain. Saints are still a minor chance to get eliminated first week of finals, and we are a slight chance of falling below North on percentage. The stakes could not be higher or more interesting.

Ryder vs Naitanui​

4e7dd60ebe290d6a3edac4d849af47cd
r0_0_800_600_w800_h600_fmax.jpg

two of the few reasons to actually watch these teams, both absent

Yes, the respective midfields really WILL have to go head-to-head without any hit outs to advantage this week.

Rotham might get a chance on-ball to show us how he’s not just a good late night dancer with a weird kicking action.

Forget Bailey vs Marshall. Rotham vs Liernert in the ruck is shaping up as one of the most interesting and horrible things about this game.

Two sides who can’t draft an inside mid or play them in their correct position​

dheKMZLC.jpg
images

AKA Kelly vs Steele: it's more than impact vs cost, okay?

Kelly has been in the sort of form that has been commanding a tag and Steele is by and far one of the best players to watch in the competition, leading his team in clearances and tackles most games.

Steele never lost the defensive nous he began his career with and Kelly can turn a game. So let’s hope they go head-to-head for a little while to make this interesting.

Meanwhile, careful VFL and WAFL watchers will be comparing how Clark and Bytel go this week in the seconds while they accumulate credits in the bank.

Stopping Max King

IcpQr5H5.jpg
83401039149b35bab43466b56803116bd624047d.jpg

Harry Edwards was given a bath by the agile Saint tall Max King last year, who was marking everything in sight. So… we know what match-up to avoid now, I guess?

More recently, our emerging leader Tommy Barrass pulled down a whopping 18 marks and 30 disposals last week whilst casually destroying the Hawk’s Mitch Lewis and racking up a perfect 10 coaches votes.

King has not been in amazing form lately, but here’s another contest that could stop us all from stabbing our eyes out.

Generating run from the defensive half​

Can we stop a team from chopping us up on the rebound this year?

Not looking good, with Brad Hill and Jack Sinclair both finding space and biting off some great kicks through the middle of the ground this year.

On the other hand, Saints have also been picked apart this year, and now's a good a time as any to see some improvements with how we transition the ball.

The future: Culley’s tackle average​

2f518ec6ef8758fa2cd2e90ee448c9928070f4d6-4x3-x704y30w2894h2171.jpg
d3778f8b01b6a127cef367323bcfdd32ff676263-16x9-x0y0w4000h2250.jpg

Will Jai Culley maintain his staggeringly high tackle average this season?

Yes, he will again make 11 tackles. You heard it here first.

Culley gets a chance to compete against Cooper Sharman, another mid-season draft pick who'll always be described as such.

At the very least, we get to look to the future this week. Hough and Bazzo have shown they deserve a spot and will keep getting better. And clearly, XON will have his best game since the win against the Pies earlier this year.

Speculative and unjustified concluding remarks​

There is no way we don’t win against this middling rabble.

It will be punctuated by moments of awfulness, culminating in the sweet schadenfreude of ruining the finals chances of another team from the bottom of the ladder.

Eagles by 32 points.

After winning that award for Best Stadium recently it’s fair to say Optus Stadium’s surface hasn’t been given a glowing endorsement from the travelling UK media pack. Even with moving the U18 curtain raiser it’ll be interesting to see what it’s like this arvo. Sun out this morning is a positive sign though.

I was surprised how well the pitch played for the game last night, no real demons - looked awful though - but it was absolutely soaked last night and it’s hard to imagine it’ll be in great condition today.

Hoping for no injuries otherwise Optus can expect a please explain.

Honestly shocked Saints have dropped Wanganeen-Milera for this game. Reckon his skills would have been very handy with a slippery ball, and it’s Tactics 101 against the Eagles to load up on quick players who can break the lines.

I can see us getting up today. Eagles by 17.

St Kilda scoring streaks allowed, last five games
vs WB: seven consecutive goals, 46-2.
vs FRE: seven consecutive goals, 45-1.
vs CAR: five consecutive goals, 32-1.
vs SYD: seven consecutive goals, 49-6.
vs ESS: six consecutive goals, 38-1.

Even in their lone win, Carlton, they have periods of shutting off completely and being there for the taking.

For reference, our five games since the bye we’ve allowed runs of five goals, eight goals (end of Carlton game), five goals, three goals, three goals.

I’m not saying we’re a shoe in, but there is a path to winning this game as St Kilda are as prone to taking entire quarters off as anyone, including ourselves.

Certainly had a
St Kilda scoring streaks allowed, last five games
vs WB: seven consecutive goals, 46-2.
vs FRE: seven consecutive goals, 45-1.
vs CAR: five consecutive goals, 32-1.
vs SYD: seven consecutive goals, 49-6.
vs ESS: six consecutive goals, 38-1.

Even in their lone win, Carlton, they have periods of shutting off completely and being there for the taking.

For reference, our five games since the bye we’ve allowed runs of five goals, eight goals (end of Carlton game), five goals, three goals, three goals.

I’m not saying we’re a shoe in, but there is a path to winning this game as St Kilda are as prone to taking entire quarters off as anyone, including ourselves.

Saints have had a tough draw especially mid season.

The early optimism is reminiscent of our game against Carlton. Saints by plenty.
Saints should win, but the things they aim to do are things that do play into our hands even as a rabble.

They over possess the footy and play the most back flank kick-mark game of any team, enough to make even Simmo’s eyes water. Their defence is very very short, especially compared to our forwards. They also have a tendency to go to sleep as badly as any team in footy, even us.

If they go fast and get Hill involved early, they’ll carve us open. If they insist on playing slow (they had 48 uncontested marks to quarter time last week, were leading the possession count and trailed 32-2 on the score board), it gives our old bones time to get back, it’s inviting a slip or a mistake in the wet, it lets us in.

Saints should do us, but there’s a path to winning this game.

After winning that award for Best Stadium recently it’s fair to say Optus Stadium’s surface hasn’t been giving a glowing endorsement from the travelling UK media pack. Even with moving the U18 curtain raiser it’ll be interesting to see what it’s like this arvo. Sun out this morning is a positive sign though.
I remember the club had offered to returf the ground at their own expense and were rejected. We could have had a much better surface. 😫

Was there last night and can confirm the pitch is hacked to shit! Lots of muddy patches around southern 50 end. Any rain today and it will be a slip and slide

The early optimism is reminiscent of our game against Carlton. Saints by plenty.
This.

If we win it will be due to StK poor kicking and us being accurate AF.

If we keep within 3-4 goals and can kick 10+ I reckon that'll do.

Hopefully 60+ tackles too

On SM-G925I using BigFooty.com mobile app

Was there last night and can confirm the pitch is hacked to s**t! Lots of muddy patches around southern 50 end. Any rain today and it will be a slip and slide
But a significantly reduced chance of stress fracture, hot spot, syndesmosis injuries?

It's probably a pretty good trade off (noting the increased risk of joint injury and muscle strain with a surface shifting under foot).

On SM-G986B using BigFooty.com mobile app

We will win.

I’ll counter by saying we will not win.

Shuey to ping a hammy, Max King to kick at least 5, taking marks either directly next to our defenders or by simply standing in space with his arms in the air.

Culley to be pushed out to the ‘Brendan Ah Chee Half Forward-Wing’ - will lay 4 tackles today.

Liam Ryan to return to his disinterested 2022 self.

Other than that, it’ll be ok.

43 points.