List Mgmt. Trade & Free Agency talk Pt 5

So Willie Rioli is out of contract? So what happens there? Forcing us to trade by matching our offer if we even make one?

3rd round pick it is.
psd

Hopper looks like ending up at Geelong ... dont know what 71 says but thats the latest i heard on that front. He actually wants to go their as 1st preference.

Hopefully we can do something on the Taranto front with GWS and with Fogarty at Adelaide. Willie Rioli if we have any interest should be the last target. Rioli would help us in that Aarts and Castagna would struggle to get games and Willie at 28 still has 3 good years of footy left.

Hopper looks like ending up at Geelong ... dont know what 71 says but thats the latest i heard on that front. He actually wants to go their as 1st preference.

Hopefully we can do something on the Taranto front with GWS and with Fogarty at Adelaide. Willie Rioli if we have any interest should be the last target. Rioli would help us in that Aarts and Castagna would struggle to get games and Willie at 28 still has 3 good years of footy left.
Aarts should be off our list entirely.

I think we have to look smarter at getting draft capital.

If we are challenging and winning premierships for the next six years it will be hard for us to get great draft capital apart from our number one(first rounders).

I think we need to start looking at trading for future draft picks like Norths this year that we got last year.

How can we get better draft picks this year in what is looking at a reasonable draft? Do we turn three draft picks into a better two? Who are we targeting in the draft now that we can?

Which clubs are looking to drop next year? I am thinking Port could fall further next year. I am also thinking Collingwood could easily be worse next year although they might be risky with trades and how bad other teams are. Should we trade for Geelongs first rounder next year? Geelong will be thinking they can keep going for a year or two especially if they get hopper. Should we get Melbourne's next year first round pick? If they get Grundy they will be thinking in the now for sure

I think these are legitimate questions we need to ask because we have a lot of talent, we need to find ways of keeping that talent for longer, we need to use 3 draft picks usually each year and would rather not waste them on third rounders and speculative late picks if we can help it.

The other thing is if we start winning a number of premierships again clubs will be gunning for us and the hate will be extreme to pick away our assets so we need to make our assets as robust as possible beforehand including enhancing our future premiership credentials.

If our window looks as wide as the pacific ocean with talented youth coming out of all our orifices it will be hard for that youth and others to leave because they will be missing out on highly possible future premiership opportunities. Look at GWS, they are looking suspect, Taranto, Hopper and Bruhn looking to depart, Bulldogs, Dunkley might go, Melbourne a little suspect, Jackson looks headed to a supposed rising Freo. Has De Goey changed his mind with a supposed rising Pies?

If we think we are going to surge in 2023 should we trade our first and second rounder in 2023 for other clubs first rounders we think will fall in 2023?

lol, im not going to go back through 5-10 years of threads, but all of those players were frequently touted as being lock and already signed on to come to the club by people on this forum. dont rw-write history just to make this board look less pathetically unreliable than it is.

funnily enough, you want to know who has been correct with all the 'inside mail' about players coming to and leaving the club? the media. im not going to believe taranto is coming to the club until the media reports it as a certainty.
Again they weren't 'locks'.

T71 doesn't even use that word in the context of trades as far as I'm aware, and I've watched bloody hours upon hours of him talk about football.

Good luck with trusting the media too. Say hi to your mate Sliding Doors.

I think we have to look smarter at getting draft capital.

If we are challenging and winning premierships for the next six years it will be hard for us to get great draft capital apart from our number one(first rounders).

I think we need to start looking at trading for future draft picks like Norths this year that we got last year.

How can we get better draft picks this year in what is looking at a reasonable draft? Do we turn three draft picks into a better two? Who are we targeting in the draft now that we can?

Which clubs are looking to drop next year? I am thinking Port could fall further next year. I am also thinking Collingwood could easily be worse next year although they might be risky with trades and how bad other teams are. Should we trade for Geelongs first rounder next year? Geelong will be thinking they can keep going for a year or two especially if they get hopper. Should we get Melbourne's next year first round pick? If they get Grundy they will be thinking in the now for sure

I think these are legitimate questions we need to ask because we have a lot of talent, we need to find ways of keeping that talent for longer, we need to use 3 draft picks usually each year and would rather not waste them on third rounders and speculative late picks if we can help it.

The other thing is if we start winning a number of premierships again clubs will be gunning for us and the hate will be extreme to pick away our assets so we need to make our assets as robust as possible beforehand including enhancing our future premiership credentials.

If our window looks as wide as the pacific ocean with talented youth coming out of all our orifices it will be hard for that youth and others to leave because they will be missing out on highly possible future premiership opportunities. Look at GWS, they are looking suspect, Taranto, Hopper and Bruhn looking to depart, Bulldogs, Dunkley might go, Melbourne a little suspect, Jackson looks headed to a supposed rising Freo. Has De Goey changed his mind with a supposed rising Pies?

If we think we are going to surge in 2023 should we trade our first and second rounder in 2023 for other clubs first rounders we think will fall in 2023?
I get the points you are making and I'm also a big proponent of building through the draft as much as possible.

The issue is going to be the blokes that would arguably get us first rounders we won't want to be trading because they are important for the future, guys like Balta, Baker etc. or the sort of players that are required like a Vlastuin.

The CCJ trade was highway robbery in retrospect but I'm not sure we've got too many of those up our sleeve.

Again they weren't 'locks'.

T71 doesn't even use that word in the context of trades as far as I'm aware, and I've watched bloody hours upon hours of him talk about football.

Good luck with trusting the media too. Say hi to your mate Sliding Doors.
im not singling out t17, i only mentioned them because they specifically posted about not wanting to dela with the criticism on here. although given our trading history the last few years, undoubtedly any inside mail they had has turned out to be wrong as well.

I take it you'll be there for his first training run for a jumper sign?:D

1yjPxrOc8dO102HG_D3SLJA.gif

im not singling out t17, i only mentioned them because they specifically posted a,bout not wanting to dela with the criticism on here. although given our trading history the last few years, undoubtedly any inside mail they had has turned out to be wrong as well.
Bullshit,every player t71 mentions, ends up moving,players, offer's, are always changing ,
Your bitterness is best served with a cheap nasty beer,if u can't see past your own nose ,that's on you.

Bullshit,every player t71 mentions, ends up moving,players, offer's, are always changing ,
Your bitterness is best served with a cheap nasty beer,if u can't see past your own nose ,that's on you.
No they don’t (narkle) however I do accept that just because it’s noted we could be interested doesn’t mean that’s exclusive

well i hear we're into grundy, naughton and ranking, plus making a real late play for JHF

I get the points you are making and I'm also a big proponent of building through the draft as much as possible.

The issue is going to be the blokes that would arguably get us first rounders we won't want to be trading because they are important for the future, guys like Balta, Baker etc. or the sort of players that are required like a Vlastuin.

The CCJ trade was highway robbery in retrospect but I'm not sure we've got too many of those up our sleeve.

Ha ha, some of you guys always think the worst.

I am not talking about trading our players out.

I am talking about trading draft picks. Like trading 2023 first rounder and second rounder for Melbournes 2023 first rounder and Geelongs 2023 first rounder.

Getting Brisbanes first rounder as they want points for Ashcroft, that type of thing by trading other picks

Ha ha, some of you guys always think the worst.

I am not talking about trading our players out.

I am talking about trading draft picks. Like trading 2023 first rounder and second rounder for Melbournes 2023 first rounder and Geelongs 2023 first rounder.

Getting Brisbanes first rounder as they want points for Ashcroft, that type of thing by trading other picks
Oh no I get it. It's just akin to gambling.

I'm reminded of this thread last year where everyone was baying for Collingwood's future first as they were absolutely dead sure that a) they'd be willing to give it up for Daicos points and b) that they'd be a lock for bottom 4........ Wouldn't have been great if we'd given away something like a Tom Brown and Sonsie to move back last year and have the benefit of what is looking like pick 16-18 this year.

While we should be maximising our 'top' picks, we've built our flag from guys like Grimes, Lambert, Broad etc. late in the draft. Just more important that the recruiters hit the picks as in my view the midfield is suffering from the years where we took Lennon, Ellis etc.

Oh no I get it. It's just akin to gambling.

I'm reminded of this thread last year where everyone was baying for Collingwood's future first as they were absolutely dead sure that a) they'd be willing to give it up for Daicos points and b) that they'd be a lock for bottom 4........ Wouldn't have been great if we'd given away something like a Tom Brown and Sonsie to move back last year and have the benefit of what is looking like pick 16-18 this year.

While we should be maximising our 'top' picks, we've built our flag from guys like Grimes, Lambert, Broad etc. late in the draft. Just more important that the recruiters hit the picks as in my view the midfield is suffering from the years where we took Lennon, Ellis etc.

What are you talking about??

Where is the gambling? Life is a risk. If Geelong and Melbourne think they will win the premiership in 2023 and reckon we drop off its great for them. If we think we will win the premiership in 2023 and do its smart by us. Richmond are getting old, their players injuried, watch them they will fall away in 2023 they have not got much coming through, you now the banter and rhetoric, Dusty is about to retire, RFC are a wash up that is what some in Geelong and Melbourne could be thinking, Do not underestimate the fishbowl outlook

The downside is Melbourne and Geelong are still picks 17 and 18 in 2023 in worse case sceanrio but your getting them with a first and second reflecting those expectations anyway so risk is minimised, plus Geelong and Melbourne are focused on the now so draft picks are not as important to them, they want current players for current premierships. They might want our earlier pick for a expected trade next year to keep them up by getting a player. We simply act like we are focusing on the future down the track when really we just got better younger talent coming through and reinforcing that in the years ahead

It is about us capitalising on our glass half full perspective for us compared to their glass half empty perspective of us relative to them and the fact they very much are thinking premierships now before eventually they drop off. Mathew Lloyd said on air this week to Caro he does not think we can win the premiership this year on Footy Classified, he would not be alone surely. Why not gain from this?

In 2020 when we won the last premiership we gave up our early picks. Our first pick was Ryan, this might turn out a great value pick but it was a later pick