Discussion 2022 General AFL Discussion

Sergeant Shultz is the only Freo forward looking dangerous.

I miss the old Grant Thomas era from around 2004-06, we didn't win a flag in that era but we played some exciting footy and kicked some big scores.

Our forward line was fun to watch back then, now our forward line is like torture to watch with how we butcher forward entries and shots for goal.
Agree. My seven year old son was asking me the saints highest scores ever. Lots are in that era. Amazing.

Apparently the Australian womens national soccer team played a warm-up game against the Newcastle Jets boys under 14’s team and got spanked 7-0. Against 13/14yo schoolboys!

Same thing happened with a US womens national team (might have been baseball) getting destroyed by a similarly aged team of boys.

So they’re putting up a vastly vastly inferior quality/standard product, but want to be paid like it’s primo. Just “because”.

They get away with it because the beta males of the world don’t have the balls to say no to anything they ask for, and think they’ll get some thrown their way if they comply.

Little do they know…
Now ask yourself what happens when the Australian mens netball team plays the woman’s and ask yourself why that’s never televised…

Agree. My seven year old son was asking me the saints highest scores ever. Lots are in that era. Amazing.

I remember we had a 100 point win over Carlton when Fevola got thrown to full back by Pagan as a punishment and the G Train tore him a new one.

We also flogged West Coast by a hundred points back then which was enjoyable as I was working in an office with some West Coast supporting d/heads.

Bill Burr does a great set on this exact subject, how commentators all have to play dumb when asked why women aren't paid as much as men in sport. Very funny and true.
Some womens sport I prefer over men's but not many. Swimming, athletics, cycling etc I enjoy as much as men's. Can't say that for football's or cricket etc.
Women jockeys are my faves.

I remember we had a 100 point win over Carlton when Fevola got thrown to full back by Pagan as a punishment and the G Train tore him a new one.

We also flogged West Coast by a hundred points back then which was enjoyable as I was working in an office with some West Coast supporting d/heads.
Remember when we beat the bombers by 100 last round to finish 4th or something like that? Great times!

I had a cute Freo supporting secretary that pinned a St Kilda emblem on my cubicle wall when we beat West Coast by 100 points.

She was my Dobby, I should have banged her in the stationery closet.

If memory serves me correctly these games were in consecutive weeks. The good old days of GT

Lenny made a point in one of the Saints website vids that he's particularly looking forward to working with Billings. He must see something that I don't, but if he can get him going to a level befitting his natural ability it'll be a definite win. To me he looks shot, and it'll be a huge task to pull him out of that kind of headspace and comfort zone...but stranger things have happened 🤷🏼‍♂️

I watched some snippets of old games and he used to be a good player. Ratts seems to send players down hill until they look beyond saving and then resurrects them. Billings has been injured as well on top of not really having a spot recently. To me he looks exactly like he's ready to do a Seb Ross. Lenny might be the best thing that ever happened to JB.

I watching the footy with mates from other clubs who rate him this year, I was bagging him and they kept pointing out how well he was playing.....and he was. I think when you get it into your head that someone is shit they have to play like 3 men before you'll even give them a break.

Of course it needs to make money, that’s rule number 1,2,3,4&5 in business.
It will be like the WNBA with the NBA fully funding it for eternity.

They see it like advertising. Same with the franchise teams. Saturate all markets all of the time and all genders. They believe it's like throwing seeds around.

Billings is a good player but is vanilla. The day Carlisle cucked Murphy, Billings had 30 and kicked 5 and I hardly noticed him.

He suffers twofold.

1) Taken before Bont. Not his fault and as it stood at the time was a reasonable decision.

2) The expectations of the success starved Saints supporters.

We as supporters look at the immediate. If we look at the likes of DMAC or Wood we see how a player can show their ability with a good run of injuries ( although DMAC got injured again). Wilkie is another who with consistent games was almost AA.

A good run with injuries and Lenny in his corner gives me hope Billings can be a significant contributor. I don't expect Billings to be a superstar, but his ability hasn't disappeared and would love him to get back to good consistent football.

It will never stand alone. WNBA been around since 96, way more population, viewership etc. Still leeching off the mens league.
I’m no fan of the plastics either fwiw, reckon the AFL have royally rooted the comp tbh.

Plastics are like offering subsidies to industry. The Automotive industry took $6 billion in subsidies but returned $10 billion in income tax from all the associated worker's income tax and all of the smaller suppliers and transporters that were being fed off it.... (made up figures but gives the idea).

TV rights and all the rest get increased as they have more eyes on the product and it pushes kids into pathways which gives them a life time interest. Same with the girls. It picks off Rugby League's market and players from pathways and has all of the talent pooled which pushes them further down.

I had a cute Freo supporting secretary that pinned a St Kilda emblem on my cubicle wall when we beat West Coast by 100 points.

She was my Dobby, I should have banged her in the stationery closet.

My 17 yo son loves Peep Show, I've met a heap of celebrities over the years but the only one he's impressed with is Matt King who plays Super Hans. He used to live in Melbourne back in the day.

Plastics are like offering subsidies to industry. The Automotive industry took $6 billion in subsidies but returned $10 billion in income tax from all the associated worker's income tax and all of the smaller suppliers and transporters that were being fed off it.... (made up figures but gives the idea).

TV rights and all the rest get increased as they have more eyes on the product and it pushes kids into pathways which gives them a life time interest. Same with the girls. It picks off Rugby League's market and players from pathways and has all of the talent pooled which pushes them further down.
Yes, it’s clear why they have done, and are doing these things.
Doesn’t mean I enjoy them.

1662859046113.gif

Just watching the VFL Prelim between Southport and the Suns, been quite entertaining actually. Good to see Goober still rockin' the handlebar! Looks like he's been rockin' the donut shoppe too. 🍩🤨

Discussion 2022 General AFL Discussion