Toast Ross Lyon returns to St.Kilda #UnfinishedBusiness

Happy?

• Yes

Votes: 225 86.2%
  • No

Votes: 36 13.8%

If you were a Mad Saints fan growing up and you're playing for another club, you may be thinking it's a good time to see if you can get traded to play under RTB, Harvs and Lenny

Bing Bing

I've haven't been this emotional regarding the saints since Roo and Hayes retired.

We have well and truly turned the corner. I would be very very surprised if our membership doesn't grow by at least 5K even with our s**t season.

This is the first time to me anyways that it feels like we are a well run club. A club that doesn't take mediocrity and a club that will leave no stone unturned for the ultimate success.
Let me help with that

Sad Cry GIF

Has he really spent that much though? The 2019 draft was used up in order to bolster the older end of the list but that was mostly it. The "holes" are in the 24 - 26 area where we dont have many remaining from the 2015/2016 drafts which he wasnt a part of.

People seem to forget how many players he brought in that are best 22 in that one trade period which is no mean feat.

Did some weird shit in 2018. Luckily kept King's pick but traded a lot of picks to take mature state league players like Parker, Hind and Young. Traded in Hanners for future pick and traded for Kent. Also drafted Bytel.

2016 traded forward our first round pick for the 2017 draft.

2017 Coff Clark, Paton and Clav.

2018 King, Bytel.

2019 pretty much traded out of but still got Byrnes and Connolly.

2020 paid for Higgins with a pick downgrade and future second rounder and Jones took a pick. We drafted Allison and Highmore.

2021 Took Nas, Windy, Owens plus Adams. Hayes on the supplementary list.

The 2021 draft looks like how you are meant to do it. Our drafting has been poor for a long time so really need a few drafts to access kids with our first and second rounders.

Yep, I'd be after Cripps for list manager and Simon Dalrymple for head recruiter and some more interstate talent spotters. Toce is on notice but gets another chance.

Dream team with Cripps and Dalrymple.

Dalrymple will be very difficult to lure away from the Swans. He will be tightly contracted and works closely with the brilliant Kinnear Beatson.

We may need to offer Dalrymple a creative role that appeals to him.

I think the article is pretty bang assessment of Lyons personality and the issues that face him if he is going to win a premiership this time around. Lyon admits it himself - the game has changed, he needs to change.

As for his 2009/10 style and scoring capabilities, his defensive strategies were way ahead of their time but they are the norm now. As good at the 2009 team was, they'd find it harder to score now than they did back then.

One thing I certainly agree with in the article is the sentence that immediately follows the one you quoted

"To make this work, he’s going to have to change, to delegate and to soften. He said as much on Monday. If he’s given time and space by the new regime, and if he can make this list pop, he’ll go down as one of the great coaches of the modern era."

At the moment I rate him as a very good coach, I'm now hoping like hell that he does become great coach.
Agreed. I think the Guardian article is the best thing I've read on Rossy's return. I thought this was a good summary:

Ask football people about him and you’ll get 100 different answers. He’s pitiless; he’s caring. He’s hilarious; he’s boorish. He ruins football; he understands it better than anyone else. He builds lifelong relationships; he leaves his clubs in disarray. He’s too rigid; he’s five years ahead of the competition.

I guess I'll put my cards on the table. I absolutely loved Ross when he coached us - he turned a bunch of soft pretenders into a hardened, scary outfit. I didn't begrudge him leaving us at all. I really hoped he'd get that premiership at Freo. I was bemused at all the people on here who poured so much hate on him after he left.

But I wasn't blind to his faults. After he left, we fell in a hole, both emotionally and from a list point of view. The club was broken, and he has to wear some of the responsibility for that. I hated the way he spoke to journalists who were just doing their job. He sexually harrassed a pregnant employee at Freo.

IMO you can't claim (though many on here have) that this has been a proper process. Some have claimed that appointing Ross was our only option because it was too late to run a proper process, which really proves the point that this has been a debacle. Unlike most on here, I'm very skeptical of the people running the club.

I'm fearful that this is the wrong decision, but I'm also excited in spite of myself because he was an incredible coach in his heyday and he will at least bring the rigour and pursuit of excellence that we've so sorely lacked. We haven't run a proper process for the last three coaches now. but the last two times we ran a proper process, we got Scott Watters and Ross Lyon. So there are no certainties. I just really hope Ross can bring the magic back.

I'll be happy to go with Gallagher for at least the off season if it means getting Jason Cripps back home to replace him, rather than replace Gags immediately with SOS.

After feasting on a homecoming entrée, main and cheese plate worthy of the finest Bayside restaurant, finishing it off with Stephen Silvani as our new list manager would be like getting a caramel paddle pop for dessert.

Not a caramel paddle pop. More a home brand lemonade icy pole.

Did some weird s**t in 2018. Luckily kept King's pick but traded a lot of picks to take mature state league players like Parker, Hind and Young. Traded in Hanners for future pick and traded for Kent. Also drafted Bytel.

2018 King, Bytel.

2020 paid for Higgins with a pick downgrade and future second rounder and Jones took a pick. We drafted Allison and Highmore.

The 2021 draft looks like how you are meant to do it. Our drafting has been poor for a long time so really need a few drafts to access kids with our first and second rounders.
Gallagher joined Sept 2018. Didn’t have much time before that year’s trade and draft period. Been pretty messy ever since with Covid etc. I’m still not sure why he gets the grief that he does.

Harves used to run some of the time trials at the Pies.

Lenny walks with a significant limp last I saw him the day we drew with the giants (Carlisle non free kick/ Dropped mark)

Footy leaves its toll for some, Baker was on the radio the other day, said he'd just had a hip replacement.

Did some weird s**t in 2018. Luckily kept King's pick but traded a lot of picks to take mature state league players like Parker, Hind and Young. Traded in Hanners for future pick and traded for Kent. Also drafted Bytel.

2018 King, Bytel.

Wasn't 2018 2ndRDP pulled forward and used on Clav?
Bytel at 41 our 3rdRDP
Then some junk left over from the Austin Logan and Clav trades?
They wanted some pace IIRC and took 3 quicks from the state leagues. It was a reasonable gamble with junk picks imho.

Gallagher in my mind has left holes in the list and the age profile looks really uneven. Spent a lot of draft capital topping up and so far haven't reaped rewards. I think we'll have to wait and see what Ross can do with this list before we completely write him off but there are a few concerns there.
Whose fault was it to top up?
Was it ratten, football manger, Gallagher, toce or others.

Whose fault was it to top up?
Was it ratten, football manger, Gallagher, toce or others.
Wasn't a 'top up' we had gaping holes in defence (Howard), small forwards who could pressure (Butler), some help for Marshall (Paddy) some run in the middle (Jones) and some outside run (Hill).
All was desperately needed.

Are you alright EH? Hopefully you just need a short break.
I'm good gringo! Just a quick break will do I reckon. All this coach talk before Ross even signed was just so much discussion and noise without anything really happening. Once the board moves back to draft chat and which new player will be our Bont or Petracca or Billings it should be good.

Three's a party tbh

Could be useful to have an old dog in there to teach him some new tricks, spice things up a bit. Starfish vibes whenever I get my leg over these days.

Didn't know Ross was apart of our recruitment and drafting teams after he left. Our the admin who appointed Scott Watters.
I'm sorry, I am reading this for the first time. Is that actually true? He was signed with Freo but still on our drafting and recruitment team?? Baffling!

No of course not.
I think he's saying that Ross isn't to blame for some things because he wasn't involved in drafting, development or appointing coaches after he left.

Time for bed mate

Sounds like Ross is really stepping back from his old roles. Says he'll trust the assistants to work on tactics and take training. I was kinda hoping that he would fully take charge of of all that and clean the place up. But he did say that's where the game has gone and it's part of his own growth to let that go a bit. Well, it's gotta be better than the last decade.

If things aren't going well, Ross will step in and sort out any area that isn't working. He won't be able to help himself.

Toast Ross Lyon returns to St.Kilda #UnfinishedBusiness