Rumour GFC 2023 Player Trading, Drafting FA, Rumours and Wish lists Pt1

As we are now getting into the season and we are starting to get a bit more serious with discussion, seems a suitable time to post the following as it's repeatedly shown itself to be a value reference tool in trade & draft discussion

And as per normal, thanks to Lore for putting this together - always a fantastic reference tool

And yes this post is now stickied - makes it easy to keep track of (can easily reverse this though if needed)

I dont ever think zuthrie was a list clogger as far as the meaning of the word as such but i do think he would have been delisted. I could roll out for you 15-20 names we have drafted in the last 10 years who werent best 22 after 5 years and basically all of them were either delisted or traded out. You dont tend to survive more than 5 years as a non best 22 player unless youre a specific key postion backup (as clubs carry less of them on a list). Thats no criticism of simpson as i rate him and i agree the talent is there but i stand by what i said that if he doesnt become best 22 next year (which hes capable of he did it 2 years ago) he will be gone. In my view the only thing that would save him otherwise would be an absolute stack of retirements (ie 6 or more) and no trades and FAs in and i dont think either of those things are likely.
Better player but career panning out very similar to Josh Cowan.

I don’t think Zuthrie would have been delisted. As I posted in his defence early this year, why get rid of a young backup player who was a great team player.
I never thought he would reach the heights he did this season, but I took exception to him being called a list clogger.
I don’t agree there is necessarily a formula that you are out after 6 years if not in the best 22. Narkle doesn’t support your point as he had opportunities and wasn’t good enough.
Simpson is now 24 and a half. With our still ageing list, greatly improved by this draft/trade though, Simpson could become a regular from 2024 on after all the retirements and play for years.
Why get rid of him and replace him with a gamble on a draft pick?
In 2020, he was way ahead of Zuthrie and look how good he has turned out to be.
Simpson seems like a good bloke as well which is important for the club.

Some valid points. but ZG got in and made himself a permanent selection backed by improvement and performance. At 24 SS is right in the sweat spot. Not sweet... he is under the pump. He needs to climb past a lot of players and demand election or he will be passed by others...but he has a chance to change his story like ZG. He has done it before. Go back to the swans game and on that earned himself years extra.

Basically he has to get selected in front of the players on our list with less games to his name, and that are younger. If Bruhn and Clark and others get selected infront of him..he is going to struggle to be around for another contract.

Better player but career panning out very similar to Josh Cowan.

He is the player I thought of. What we all do not know is what specific players can mean to the group. I do not think Cowan was kept for purely footy reasons. Maybe if SS is loved and admired by the playing group he may get more leniency than someone drafted and is gone in a blink of an eye.

I dont ever think zuthrie was a list clogger as far as the meaning of the word as such but i do think he would have been delisted. I could roll out for you 15-20 names we have drafted in the last 10 years who werent best 22 after 5 years and basically all of them were either delisted or traded out. You dont tend to survive more than 5 years as a non best 22 player unless youre a specific key postion backup (as clubs carry less of them on a list). Thats no criticism of simpson as i rate him and i agree the talent is there but i stand by what i said that if he doesnt become best 22 next year (which hes capable of he did it 2 years ago) he will be gone. In my view the only thing that would save him otherwise would be an absolute stack of retirements (ie 6 or more) and no trades and FAs in and i dont think either of those things are likely.

There are only so many spots ... and some guys will fail for a few reasons. All it takes is a wild card like Osheen or Dempsey to offer more an it will make it hard for him as he is a little vanilia.

He was the highest rated wing in the league across the last 10 or so weeks of the season - you don't reach those levels if you're no good

My concern was Max's footskils in his first year but seems to have countermanded as what he offers is so much more valuable. I could see him being in the aa squad within two years ..if he stays fit and plays the next 40-50 games on the trajectory he was on in 2022

There are only so many spots ... and some guys will fail for a few reasons. All it takes is a wild card like Osheen or Dempsey to offer more an it will make it hard for him as he is a little vanilia.

Its not so much that he is vanilla (the talent is there) but more we have a lot of depth in his position (hff/small fwd) just like we had a lot of depth in zuthries position (non kpp defenders small/meds). Now simpson has played in a GF so he is ahead of where zuthrie was 12 months ago but if he spends the whole year in the vfl he will be moved on like zuthrie would have been. Sav is lucky that hes a specific kpp backup for sdk and we dont have any other such player on the list or he would have been moved on too (and probably will be 12 months from now). You rarely survive beyond 5 years on a list if you are depth only.

He is the player I thought of. What we all do not know is what specific players can mean to the group. I do not think Cowan was kept for purely footy reasons. Maybe if SS is loved and admired by the playing group he may get more leniency than someone drafted and is gone in a blink of an eye.
I agree with all of that, including the Swans game you mentioned in a previous post buying some more time.

Its not so much that he is vanilla (the talent is there) but more we have a lot of depth in his position (hff/small fwd) just like we had a lot of depth in zuthries position (non kpp defenders small/meds). Now simpson has played in a GF so he is ahead of where zuthrie was 12 months ago but if he spends the whole year in the vfl he will be moved on like zuthrie would have been. Sav is lucky that hes a specific kpp backup for sdk and we dont have any other such player on the list or he would have been moved on too (and probably will be 12 months from now). You rarely survive beyond 5 years on a list if you are depth only.

I think he is the epitome of vanilla. I can not think of anything he is great in. ...but there have been guys who have played 300 games who have been like that. If he is depth after 5 years that confirms to me he lacks a weapon that would see him elevate past others

Not sure there are too many 300 game players that would appreciate being called vanilla!

At the start of season 2022, Zuthrie would have been described by most as vanilla. Not fast, tall, heavy, aggressive or high marking.
Good thing we hadn’t delisted him for not being best 22 after 5 seasons.

You seem to have forgotten that in 2020 Simpson played 9 games compared to Zuthrie’s 3 games, including best 22 in three final’s including the Grand Final.
Since then concussion and injuries have limited his opportunities.

That was two years ago, he played 5ish games at any level out of 50 since then. Z.Guthrie has played about 70 games more at all levels over their careers.

You said Simpson had played little football at any level. He was good enough to play in a match at the highest level, the Grand Final, and if we had made the most of our chances in the first half, he would be a premiership player.
If he hadn’t been injured for the last two years, he probably would have been a regular selection.
What I am saying is that if he recovers his form (if), he still may not make our best 22 as we are a premiership team that has recruited well, but the following season, he might. He is in the age group where we have fewer players.
No need to release him and get a late draft kid in just yet.

And when teams make the effort to actually utilise that role & select the right players in that position, we see the positive impact it has - with a few teams showing quality players in that role, I'm thinking other teams will start to invest more into finding the right wing/s for them

And if their smart a left wing too. ;-)

I'll show myself out.

I mean what i saw in 2020 was better than vanilla and if we hadnt bottled the GF he would be a premiership player now. But his best footy was played under the old gameplan, we have no idea if the new gameplan suits his skillset or not (as he hasnt played much since) and we no doubt have far better depth and competition for spots now than we did in 2020. So this year is make or break for him and for the mids/fwds we have heaps of options

Hawkins I think goes again
He won't. Have heard from a very reliable source that he struggled big time recovering from matches this year. Will have to be heavily managed next year. Won't be physically capable of going again in 2024 and he knows it.

Question is was that because of the foot injury he carried (which has now been operated on) or is his body almost done? I also think mentally he might enjoy it a lot less without joel there and thus i reckon this will be his last year (hence we need to retain neale).

Tomma gets to make any choice he wants when he wants to. He's earned that right.

That said id hope he can make 1/2 the games this season plus Finals.

That opens a lot of games at FF ... * cough NEALE... cough *

GO Catters

will miss a chunk of season 23 anyway

He will only miss the first few rounds. But it will create chances for neale and also ollie henry.

I think its likely all of hawk sav and rohan wont be on our list in 2024 so hopefully neale can see a path for him to be the 2nd kpf in 2024 and he signs on.

He will only miss the first few rounds. But it will create chances for neale and also ollie henry.

I think its likely all of hawk sav and rohan wont be on our list in 2024 so hopefully neale can see a path for him to be the 2nd kpf in 2024 and he signs on.
We shall see about missed early games.
And I'm still hopeful 23 will see Sav emerge.