List Mgmt. Contract, Trade & Draftee Discussion, 2023: Picks 1,20,34,39,53 ,58

Link to contract status of all players

Link to Lore ’s excellent draft order thread that is updated to reflect current ladder positions

And, this leaves us with the weakest midfield in the comp for years. We need gun mids (they are the top draft picks for a reason) at the contest to win the ball and deliver. Fill in the others later.
As an aside Curtin was given a football lesson by the Allies. He would have ranked about 15th best on the field at a generous stretch - looks a second rounder that may develop. Doesnt it makes sense to look at the players that overwhelmed him one on one?

English will be retired before we are a serious contender - and he is soft,

This is where i question your eyes Curtin did very well under heaps of pressure
Allies dominated possession and played footy in there half.
He was up against a very good player and both did well.

Western Australia key defender Daniel Curtin was the top-ranked player for his side with 18 disposals and eight marks.

Seriously starting to question your ability to understand how a key defender plays

Given the emergence of Bailey Williams and the potential for Barnett and maybe Jamo, is it worth spending $1m a year on English? I like the potential to get him as an FA but do we want to tie up that much salary for one position?

As previously stated, I'm all in on Harley Reid unless the godfather of all godfather offers comes up or over the course of the next 4 months we see significant change in the draftees.

Murmurs that he may be a slight risk, his family is 3 hour plus drive from Melbourne so not as like he's a privileged bayside kid who doesn't want to be far from his family, the reality is he will be where ever he ends up.

What I loved recently, was when Ryan Maric flew into Perth airport and was greeted by our recent draftees;

350837886_795964798708598_6975504264042697_n.jpg

Great group of young guns that Harley can bond with, he's already played Vic Country with Burgiel and Long but add Chesser, Jai Culley and now Ryan Maric you've got a heap of young Vic kids around his age at the club! Throw in Barnett who's in the same boat, SA kid living in WA. Put him with the best host family in the Eagles nest, I think we have every chance of making him a long term Eagle.

We shouldn't be too worried by previous comments IMO.

Interesting. What would happen WC fronted up to Darling and said "Jack I understand that you are contracted for next year but we feel it's in the best interests for you and the club if we explore a trade. We can get your wage (or part of it) off our books & you get a chance at a premiership which you wouldn't get here"

Now I know Jack can dig in his heels but I would imagine a discussion like that would create a situation where Darling would not be happy & given his wife's propensity for being a mercenary I would imagine it would actually create a division where he would go.
Why would we get rid of darling ?

We saw just in the short time he was out apart from Allen the cupboard is bare !

Also Allen was double teamed at every opportunity.

Better to keep darling IMO for al least 1 more year until he is Out of contract.

Next year with Logan MacDonald out of contract dangle a juicy big contract in front of him and see if Sydney can match it .

We would be much better off signing McGovern for 2 years then trading him to Carlton with us paying his salary .

Carlton get a key defender + 2 years × 500k salary as part of the deal .

You can't directly trade salary for picks but this the afl would probably allow .

We have 3 key defenders apart from McGovern

Why would we get rid of darling ?

We saw just in the short time he was out apart from Allen the cupboard is bare !

Also Allen was double teamed at every opportunity.

Better to keep darling IMO for al least 1 more year until he is Out of contract.

Next year with Logan MacDonald out of contract dangle a juicy big contract in front of him and see if Sydney can match it .

We would be much better off signing McGovern for 2 years then trading him to Carlton with us paying his salary .

Carlton get a key defender + 2 years × 500k salary as part of the deal .

You can't directly trade salary for picks but this the afl would probably allow .

We have 3 key defenders apart from McGovern

Why.

Short term pain long term gain.

Well I hope the club has that conversation a bit like the Pies obviously had with Grundy last year.

I agree in theory that WC need Darling riding shotgun for Allen but not in practice. Jack had a purple patch a couple years back where for 6 or 7 matches he was near on unstoppable. I would think he's had bugger all matches since where he's come anywhere close to that.

Bingo.. he had a purple patch at the start of 2018 where he was one of the best if not the best player in the comp. .. he did his ankle and has never gotten anywhere near that level of performance since for any period of time…

He does look like he'll be a pretty good player really.

I have said this numerous times before, but just how good are his foot skills.
Hit pretty well every one of his targets.

Curtin is a very skilful players who reads the play exceptionally well.
I can see him having a long career in the AFL and will become a reliable defender at the next level.

Busslinger was a better overhead mark but his footskills were no where near as good as Curtin’s.

All we need to do to ensure our recruiters draft Curtin is convince them that he is an attacking half back flanker with midfield potential, remind them that he was injured most of last year and went to a Private School.

I reckon that pretty much ticks all the boxes that our recruiters like ticked. ✅

I think it will happen this year.

WB being average and will want to shake it up. Especially if they think English is out the year after.

They will want to pick before FS Croft projected pick.

I can see him having a long career in the AFL and will become a reliable defender at the next level.

Busslinger was a better overhead mark but his footskills were no where near as good as Curtin’s.

All we need to do to ensure our recruiters draft Curtin is convince them that he is an attacking half back flanker with midfield potential, remind them that he was injured most of last year and went to a Private School.

I reckon that pretty much ticks all the boxes that our recruiters like ticked. ✅
It’s interesting you mention his marking Monocle I’ve only got to watch Curtin a bit and I’m still away so haven’t watched the weekends state games.

However that’s the thing from what I have seen of him that he possibly lacks. It’s like he doesn’t read the ball well of the boot or good body positioning doesn’t come naturally in the marking contest.
Seems to find himself in awkward positions in the marking contest.
He often finds himself just throwing an arm out in a marking contest.
Certainly has a lot of other classy attributes however.

I do agree with Goss. Williams is a Fwd/Ruck and not a Ruck/Foward.

English will help elevate the young kids straight away. Win/win imo
You do realise the dogs will request pick one for English.

We will end up with English, Suns 1st that the dogs have swapped for there two 1st rounders. And a future 1st

So English, pick 9, and a future late 1st pick(they probably play finals).

No thank you be absolutely nuts when you have a kid you can potentially build a team around for decade.

Kind of stuff Freo did back in 1995.

Do you think he could develop into a CHF potentially at AFL level?

It’s interesting you mention his marking Monocle I’ve only got to watch Curtin a bit and I’m still away so haven’t watched the weekends state games.

However that’s the thing from what I have seen of him that he possibly lacks. It’s like he doesn’t read the ball well of the boot or good body positioning doesn’t come naturally in the marking contest.
Seems to find himself in awkward positions in the marking contest.
He often finds himself just throwing an arm out in a marking contest.
Certainly has a lot of other classy attributes however.

I have seen him play as a forward where his marking ability is not an issue.

What’s also a bit disconcerting for him is that he keeps getting thrown all of the field positionally, which is a good sign of his versatility, but makes it more difficult to hone his wares.
I see him as being much more damaging off the half back line than being wasted on the last line of defence.

Agree not a top 5 pick but he has as good a claim as several others, at this point in the year, to be taken in the first round.

But as has been mentioned by others previously, still lots to unfold in the remainder of the season as far as the pecking order goes.

Side note wow how good has O’Sullivan been in the champs at CHB for the Allies.

Calinan must also be climbing up draft boards too.

I think it will happen this year.

WB being average and will want to shake it up. Especially if they think English is out the year after.

They will want to pick before FS Croft projected pick.

Dogs will want to do it this year to get fair value for him, but we need to avoid being sucked into that. He will artificially improve our team a year before we really want to ascend the ladder.

The upside to leaving him in Melbourne for another season is just too much to ignore. We get another full year of exposure to Baz to better understand if we even need another ruck. We get English for free if we decide we still want him. We remain garbage in 2024 to hit another draft with excellent picks. We get a real shining light from the doldrums of this year with a pick in the first couple.

Trading for English this year depletes our 2023 draft capital, bandaids over our list next year which will in turn rob us of better draft picks and it affects the growth of Baz who might then up and leave. Two years of compromised draft picks plus losing a real positive from 2023 to pick up some cheap wins. It's astounding the club would even be considering it. They can't be.