Let's talk Ports! Part 3

The trouble with Bucky, Choco, and Shine is that they are combined efforts not really good enough on an individual basis as just either player or coach or administrator. Hodges great SANFL deeds are after the AFL started so that wont count highly. Oliver could eventually get in on his playing deeds.

And the default tiering and paradoxically-punishing overlap for many of the SANFL guys like Hodges is absurd.

Chris McDermott is the premium example of this.

085EF700-4055-4B31-A3CD-7EBCF7626CDA.jpeg

He was a vastly superior footballer to the likes of Garry McIntosh and Mark Bickley, but he’s effectively being punished by default for only having half an AFL career — which he excelled at on par with his pre-1991 SANFL/State portion. Held the AFL record for most average disposals in a season for over two decade, won a club B&F and was All-Australian to go with the ones he won at carnivals.

But had he stayed behind and won the next 2-3 Magareys in a weakened comp similar to McIntosh, he’d have already been in for a decade. And beyond that, he ticks the good bloke box for all his work with Little Heroes.

As with most things the AFL do, such an inconsistent, flawed process.

When Aliir is on, he’s absolutely unstoppable!

When he’s off, however….
Against Geelong he missed some of the easiest marks I’ve seen, straight through his hands!!

And the default tiering and paradoxically-punishing overlap for many of the SANFL guys like Hodges is absurd.

View attachment 1719945

He was a vastly superior footballer to the likes of Garry McIntosh and Mark Bickley, but he’s effectively being punished by default for only having half an AFL career — which he excelled at on par with his pre-1991 SANFL/State portion. Held the AFL record for most average disposals in a season for over two decade, won a club B&F and was All-Australian to go with the ones he won at carnivals.

But had he stayed behind and won the next 2-3 Magareys in a weakened comp similar to McIntosh, he’d have already been in for a decade. And beyond that, he ticks the good bloke box for all his work with Little Heroes.

As with most things the AFL do, such an inconsistent, flawed process.
McDermott was not vastly superior than McIntosh. Its not even close. Saw both of them play many times. McIntosh >>>> McDermott.

Sent from my SM-G781B using Tapatalk

McDermott was not vastly superior than McIntosh. Its not even close. Saw both of them play many times. McIntosh >>>> McDermott.

Sent from my SM-G781B using Tapatalk

Fair enough. Disagree.

McDermott must've have been reasonably good if he was skippering loaded SA state sides in the days of yore.
I thought so. Definitely deserved his AA selections in 86-87 in my view. His acl rupture in 1987 (during an exhibition game in Canada of all things) slowed him down a bit given it was the relatively early days of full knee reconstructions.

His problem when he went to the crows under Cornes was his one two short hand-balling BS with his former Glenelg team mate McGuiness that racked up the stats but allowed defenders to man up in the forward line.

He was a vastly superior footballer to the likes of Garry McIntosh and Mark Bickley,....
I liked your post because I agreed with the overwhelming majority of what you wrote, but I wouldn't say McDermott was vastly superior to McIntosh. Bickley yes, but not Macca. I think over their career McDermott was better, and there was a gap post about 1989 when they both got to about 25, but Macca's first 100-150 games was as good as any midfielder in his age group in SA.

I liked your post because I agreed with the overwhelming majority of what you wrote, but I wouldn't say McDermott was vastly superior to McIntosh. Bickley yes, but not Macca. I think over their career McDermott was better, and there was a gap post about 1989 when both they got to about 25, but Macca's first 100-150 games was as good as any midfielder in his age group in SA.

Yeah, I’m obviously biased against Glenelgs and Norwoods for obvious reasons, but McDermott’s ability to step up and be a seriously good AFL player, indisputably against the best of the best week after week, is the cherry on top.

His 1986-88 was outrageous.

B&F in a premiership team (the ultimate individual accolade according to Nathan Buckley), BOG against WA in Origin, BOG against Victoria in Origin and All-Australian Captain. All amidst a knee reco after blowing it out in the exhibition game in Vancouver.

A bit like Port’s 2004’s exploits tend to get overlooked by the wider world because all the traditional ‘big clubs’ were absolute sh¡te at the time and the focus wasn’t as close as it might otherwise have been, a substantial chunk of McDermott’s footy was sensational at a time when Port was uncharacteristically poor (85-87). But I accept that can also apply to me because I was too young to see/remember anything prior to this period.

All-in-all I think his resume is clearly superior, and uniquely so given the two distinct halves. From there it’s all intangibles regarding subjective style, efficacy, and whathaveyou.

My overwhelming point is that it’s ridiculous that he’s not in the HOF while select contemporaries are (Peter Carey another).

I liked your post because I agreed with the overwhelming majority of what you wrote, but I wouldn't say McDermott was vastly superior to McIntosh. Bickley yes, but not Macca. I think over their career McDermott was better, and there was a gap post about 1989 when they both got to about 25, but Macca's first 100-150 games was as good as any midfielder in his age group in SA.
Platten was in McIntosh's age group. I reckon his first 100 games before going to Hawthorn was better than McIntosh in same period.

SA had an exceptional group of mids appear around that time, Bradley, Anderson, Platten, McIntosh, Aish, Antrobus, McDermott, McGuinness, Naley, even Abernethy (a little older but still relatively young).

Platten was in McIntosh's age group. I reckon his first 100 games before going to Hawthorn was better than McIntosh in same period.
Might have been better, but not by much. Macca as an 18 year old was bloody critical part of Norwood winning a flag in 1982 and again in 1984.

Let's talk Ports! Part 3