List Mgmt. 2023 Draft & Trade Hypotheticals

Key Trade & Draft Dates
Key Dates:

Trade Period, October 6–18
  • Restricted & Unrestricted Free Agency Period: Friday, October 6, 9am – Friday October 13, 5pm (bid matching ends Monday October 16, 5pm)
  • Trade Period (1), picks & players: Monday, October 9, 9am – Wednesday October 18, 7.30pm
Quiet Period, October 19–November 20
  • Trade Period (2), picks only: Monday, October 23, 9am – Friday November 10, 5pm
  • List Lodgement 1*: Tuesday, October 31, 2pm
  • Delisted Free Agency Period (1): Wednesday, November 1, 9am – Wednesday November 8, 5pm
  • Delisted Free Agency Period (2): Friday, November 10, 9am–5pm
  • List Lodgement 2*: Tuesday, November 14, 2pm
Draft Period, November 20–22
  • Round 1 of the National Draft: Monday, November 20, time and venue TBA
  • Trade Period (3), picks only: Tuesday, November 21, 5.45pm–6.30pm
  • Round 2–end of the National Draft: Tuesday, November 21, 7pm until completion
  • Rookie Promotions: Tuesday, November 21, after the National Draft
  • Delisted Free Agency Period (3): Tuesday, November 21, after the National Draft
  • List Lodgement 3*: Wednesday, November 22, 10am (optional; required for those participating in the PSD)
  • Pre-Season Draft: Wednesday, November 22, 3pm
  • Rookie Draft: Wednesday, November 22, 3.20pm
  • Final List Lodgement*: Thursday, November 23, 4pm
* List lodgement dates are yet to be made public, so are approximate based on past history and the requirements of the AFL Rules. When lists are lodged, the number of players on the list must not exceed maximum list sizes. At the same time, clubs must provide the AFL with estimates of total player payments in the current and following year, which must prove the club is not and will not exceed the salary cap. (AFL Rules 5.3, 6.1, 6.8, 7.2, 7.9)

Few reasons:

Grundy is not in best 22 for Dees and is tak8ng up a large amount of cap. We would be doing the dees a favour purely taking his wage from their cap.

Secondly, why pay pick 12 for someone who cost pick 27 a year ago. His value has not gone up and if he choses us, it would be around dame value.
If we had Gawn, he wouldn't be in our best 22 either. Last time I looked we had Ladhams. Say no more.

No it's not.
He is so desperate for Grundy to go back to SA because of his constant ramblings that Grundy said some along the lines of Its Victoria or SA.
Something Grundy said when he was rumoured to be out of Collingwood. You need to realise when a poster here in this particular thread is against trading in a player they will post anything they can in the hope it does not eventuate. It still may not but posting misinformation sure won't change it.

The GC pick 4 to bulldogs for there two first round 10 and 17 could work cause GC is open to trading 10 to maximise there options

That’s why many think Bulldogs are better placed then Sydney

Obviously that only works if no one bids on Croft until after bulldogs picks which is a possibility
I wouldn't have thought there was that much difference between their pick 10 and our pick 11,

Bayley Fritsch legit does my head in how does he find so much space and convert like a boss

Underrated probably

Just Explain what clickbait means for an uneducated Bum like me will you ????

Is it clickbait if it is printed in the AFL's Number 1 Print Media Outlet ?

With said Clickbait Journalist's name attached ?
I'll give it a shot. Clickbait is where the Headline doesn't match the content. For example: The headline might read 'Grundy to Swans' but the content will provide no confirmation on it - only speculation presented as fact as to why everyone thinks he's going to the Swans and why he should go to the Swans.

This is prevalent particularly around Trade time, and believe me its a pain in the arse.

I look after the Rumours thread on the Trade & Draft board and I see it through most AFL accredited media daily posts. There's no fact around most of the articles. Another prevalent approach is their suggestion a specific player is going to a team for no other reason than the journalist thinks its a good idea - but the headline makes you think the player or clubs involved are actually contemplating it.

Just Explain what clickbait means for an uneducated Bum like me will you ????

Is it clickbait if it is printed in the AFL's Number 1 Print Media Outlet ?

With said Clickbait Journalist's name attached ?
“Daicos to retire?”

The aforesaid “headline” would be clickbait.

Upon clicking, you would discover (in para. 7 of the resultant story) that Daicos was actually seen looking at investment properties for his superannuation fund.

I think the doubts re: Rampe aren’t yet warranted.

Through the back half of the season, our defence was one of the best in the league, often getting us home despite playing behind a beaten midfield.

Rampe was part of that defence, despite an injury interrupted year.

I reckon we have issues, but Rampe isn’t top of the list - provided we find depth to cover injury.
Another player who did not have much continuity his year because of injury. Yes he is nearing the finish line but with a full preseason and an unhindered year with injury next year I am sure there is a role for him down back next year for one more than reliable year of footy from him. Having said that it will depend much on the possible trade in of Mckay and structure down back. Minding monsters is long gone for him and leg speed small forwards will be danger but mid size forwards sure are not.

FOUND IT!! frack me I'm good:raisinghand:

At 3:15mins into the video Cornes says he thinks Grundy will go to Sydney and it would be better for him. Damo then states he thinks its still a line ball. So, to clarify, there is no clarification or additional news that what is already being stated.

So pleased to hear your positivity. Think you are wrong on every level but I suppose you're entitled to your opinion as poor as it may be,
What am I wrong about? Why is my opinion poor? All you’ve said is that you disagree, but you didn’t bother explaining why. Not a very constructive post or one to inspire discussion.

I'll give it a shot. Clickbait is where the Headline doesn't match the content. For example: The headline might read 'Grundy to Swans' but the content will provide no confirmation on it - only speculation presented as fact as to why everyone thinks he's going to the Swans and why he should go to the Swans.

This is prevalent particularly around Trade time, and believe me its a pain in the arse.

I look after the Rumours thread on the Trade & Draft board and I see it through most AFL accredited media daily posts. There's no fact around most of the articles. Another prevalent approach is their suggestion a specific player is going to a team for no other reason than the journalist thinks its a good idea - but the headline makes you think the player or clubs involved are actually contemplating it.

Basically if you want the TLDR version cheesy tactic to get views.

Extremely prevalent on Youtube.

Arent challenging?? Mate we’ll have Goulden, The Chad & Sheldrick in our mids.. Add some nice tap work from a decent ruck & our opponents will be shaking in their boots!
Sheldrick is young and unproven. Nothing I’ve seen from him indicates he is ready to dominate. Warner and Gulden played this year and we kept getting trounced in the midfield. The only relief came in the few games Parker played out of his skin. So I don’t think Grundy sorts out our midfield. We lack a specific type of midfielder. Rowbottom doesn’t get enough ball, Parker is declining, and Warner is a Rolls Royce, downhill skier type. We need a new JPK. Even Crouch would have been useful. Someone to get the contested ground ball.

And why all this excitement about Grundy? Wasn’t his last good season 2019? Didn’t he end up in VFL at both Collingwood and Melbourne? This isn’t the elite get like many of you seem to be saying.

On Ben McKay.

McKay and McCartin have had to spend the majority of their careers playing on the number one key forward. In spite of this, they've both been effective intercept markers.

This season McKay was ranked equal first for intercept marks per game (I've filtered the below data to exclude anyone that played less than 6 games - a quarter of the season)

Tom sits in 21st, which I think is a bloody good effort from him given the issues he's had.

Put the two of them in the same backline, with one of them getting an easier match-up, and it's the best intercept marking combination in the competition this season.

As per above data (combined intercept marks per game):

And that's with both of them predominantly taking the best forward.

Think about what they could be capable of in the same backline. Could be our Lever and May, our Barrass and McGovern.
I was at the Lions v Port final last night, seated behind the posts so had a good view of the respective key position players. The emergence of Jackson Payne (pick 54 2017 draft) has freed up Andrews to take intercept marks but more importantly, to kill contests with what is the best spoil in the game. Payne is not flashy and most probably won't attract the attention of his more illustrious team mates but he is absolutely crucial to the Lions. What he brings is a big body to tie down the biggest forward of the opposition. My Lions mates tell me he is on about 500k a year which to me is excellent value for a player who essentially makes everyone else around him play better.

The contrast to this was Port who really only had one key defender in Aliir, who is more interceptor than lock down. Aliir not only struggled to contain Daniher and Hipwood but also was less influential intercepting and killing Lions attacking forays.

To me, this emphasised that we do need to play 2 proper key defenders (I dont count an ageing Rampe as one anymore, nor Fox or Blakey), with one being a big bodied type. McKay may be the man but as the Lions show, you don't necessarily have to have a big name performing that role. So if we're confident in Melican and comfortable with the back-ups, then we could save ourselves alot of coin that could be put to other uses.

Are there any other suitors for Grundy apart from us and Port? I'm not aware of any but I may be wrong. If we are the only two, then we are in a situation where we can offer Melbourne one of 11, 21 or 32. Port can't offer them anything better than 37.
It's almost like playing blind man's bluff with the PSD. Will we stand strong and risk getting nothing OR get the deal done. As much as we need a ruck, I'm sure that Melbourne don't want $700K of their cap being wasted playing VFL. Someone mentioned earlier that they have cap space this year but why waste it. That is even worse than paying McKay $200K more than he is worth in order to get the deal done.
As a result, I don't see that Melbourne are in a position to say no to whatever our offer is.
Agree with all this, and I am yet to see anyone who wants us to offer pick 12 from the outset.

What I am saying, and what I think others are saying, is that if Port makes a strong offer (eg. trading a player for a pick) or if Melbourne are legitimately willing to hold onto Grundy if our pick is too high, then we should be willing to trade a pick as low as pick 12.

You’ve convinced me though that the likely outcome may be better than what I was first thinking.

I was at the Lions v Port final last night, seated behind the posts so had a good view of the respective key position players. The emergence of Jackson Payne (pick 54 2017 draft) has freed up Andrews to take intercept marks but more importantly, to kill contests with what is the best spoil in the game. Payne is not flashy and most probably won't attract the attention of his more illustrious team mates but he is absolutely crucial to the Lions. What he brings is a big body to tie down the biggest forward of the opposition. My Lions mates tell me he is on about 500k a year which to me is excellent value for a player who essentially makes everyone else around him play better.

The contrast to this was Port who really only had one key defender in Aliir, who is more interceptor than lock down. Aliir not only struggled to contain Daniher and Hipwood but also was less influential intercepting and killing Lions attacking forays.

To me, this emphasised that we do need to play 2 proper key defenders (I dont count an ageing Rampe as one anymore, nor Fox or Blakey), with one being a big bodied type. McKay may be the man but as the Lions show, you don't necessarily have to have a big name performing that role. So if we're confident in Melican and comfortable with the back-ups, then we could save ourselves alot of coin that could be put to other uses.
We can't afford to be relying on Melican unfortunately. He's shown he's absolutely good enough, but there is always going to be question marks over his durability.

I am really trying to not get too upbeat about Grundy turning up.

Melbourne tried to turn him him into a forward ruck. he is a decent Knick but not a forward. They stuffed up with an idea that just failed. Gawn has been the best ruck since Cox. Grundy is a quality ruck.

An undersized McLean is our best ruck on the current list, followed by the still developing Stretch. I no longer see Ladhams as a viable option.