Player Watch #29: Will Phillips - tags N.Daicos vs Collingwood - subbed off at 3/4 time??

Behind the likes of LDU, Thomas and Wardlaw? It wasn't that long ago that our midfield looked potentially empty by 2020.

Our midfield will be s**t hot once its a bit older. Being third or fourth best player cin it won't be a bad thing.
Was thinking about the mix of LDU, Thomas, and Simpkin have the runs on the board but the excitement of Wardlaw's games this year you'd think he might even rival LDU at some point for best mid.

I think that's what worries opposition supporters. Having LDU, Thomas, Wardlaw, Powell, Philips, and Simpkin rotating through the midfield (plus what we get this draft) is scary.

We're a gameplan and right mix in the arcs and the wings short of being a contender.

Was thinking about the mix of LDU, Thomas, and Simpkin have the runs on the board but the excitement of Wardlaw's games this year you'd think he might even rival LDU at some point for best mid.

I think that's what worries opposition supporters. Having LDU, Thomas, Wardlaw, Powell, Philips, and Simpkin rotating through the midfield (plus what we get this draft) is scary.

We're a gameplan and right mix in the arcs and the wings short of being a contender.
I reckon Sheezel will be on the wing and rotating through the middle.

He's too good to just be at one end and has an elite tank.

God I hope Will becomes a gun. In part to stick it up that campaigner corn-Francis.
I’m not the type to call into talk back radio, but god as my witness I will bludgeon him into quitting with calls about Phillips.
But is there room for Phillips AND Jy in the same midfield? And what does "Phillips making it" look like? Solid B Grader?

Powell & Phillips would have opposition fans very concerned? I doubt most would even know who they are to be honest.
Wardlaw yet to string 5 games together.
Simpkin can't kick.

Scary ain't the right word.

Powell & Phillips would have opposition fans very concerned? I doubt most would even know who they are to be honest.
Wardlaw yet to string 5 games together.
Simpkin can't kick.

Scary ain't the right word.
Opposition fans look at the number of high picks (of which they all are). I'm referring to what it could become (not what it is now).

In fairness to Simpkin, his disposal isn't great but the man can seriously accumulate the ball. There's plenty of opposition players in a similar boat that are highly rated.

But is there room for Phillips AND Jy in the same midfield? And what does "Phillips making it" look like? Solid B Grader?

Ave 25 disposals at 80%, 5 clearances, 5 tackles, high pressure rating, 0.5 goal assists and 0.5 goals a game.

All but the last two he’s well on track for. Hopefully with improved fitness he can get the footy on the outside and forward a bit more.

Edit: coincidentally that’s what Jy should gets in a normal year

I reckon Phillips can be super damaging because he's just as dangerous being the extractor with a quick opening handball, or the link from extraction to outside or when he gets it on the outside he can hit the 25-35m kick to advantage as well as anyone on our team. Moves well through the contest, always goes when it's his turn, there's just too much good stuff to work with and his limitations (size and speed) won't stop him being impactful.

Phillips is above jy in mine. We can't have butchers of the ball at the coal face anymore. LDU, TT, Phillips/Warlord R1 midfield

Neither will be starting mid-fielders for us from here in (assuming no injuries). Both however - along with Powell - will be important midfield depth and be starting 22 players.

Far out.. people still bagging/questioning this guy?..

He’s played 32 games.. he’s a ****in pup!!

His first 16 games he averaged 10 ppg, in his next 16 games he doubled his average to 20 ppg!

Most inside midfielders don’t become truely dominant until their 5th year (100+ games) onwards, this kid will be a force when his tank catches up with his head.

I listened to Shane Crawford say the other day the best footballer in their glory years including; himself, Buddy, Hodge, Roughy, Lewis, Bruest, Sewell, etc was Sam Mitchell.

He was at the bottom of most packs as the extractor and was sublime with his foot skills on the outside, Will is our version of Mitchell.

Will he be as good?.. probably not, but he’ll be just as important to our future success.

Go get them Will, prove all the naysayers wrong mate 👍

Far out.. people still bagging/questioning this guy?..

He’s played 32 games.. he’s a *in pup!!

His first 16 games he averaged 10 ppg, in his next 16 games he doubled his average to 20 ppg!

Most inside midfielders don’t become truely dominant until their 5th year (100+ games) onwards, this kid will be a force when his tank catches up with his head.

I listened to Shane Crawford say the other day the best footballer in their glory years including; himself, Buddy, Hodge, Roughy, Lewis, Bruest, Sewell, etc was Sam Mitchell.

He was at the bottom of most packs as the extractor and was sublime with his foot skills on the outside, Will is our version of Mitchell.

Will he be as good?.. probably not, but he’ll be just as important to our future success.

Go get them Will, prove all the naysayers wrong mate 👍
👊 I agree with this. People who bag him out have never won a hard ball to save their life

One player is a "future superstar" of the competition.

The other is talked about like he is trash and barely holding a spot on a list.

Screenshot_20230927_205813.jpg

I have faith in the Honey Badger. Anyone with a stocky build like him that can go into a mid rotation and lace Larkey up with campaigners flying everywhere trying to intercept Larkey, because they know he’s our only target… shows enough promise.

Surprised to see the flack Will is copping on some threads here.

The kid came off no football with Covid, has a training age of 1 and has had the glandular, which I can tell you from personal experience takes a long time to rebuild from.

Another pre season and Will will look even stronger, a clear run and 2025 pre season we should see his best.

Patience people it will pay off.