AFLW 2024 - Round 10 - Chat, game threads, injury lists, team lineups and more.
Hence the classy moniker. Intercepting is dirty work, just ask Sic.I do think his intercept game isn't as strong as those two but he's much, much more dangerous getting involved in attacking chains. His defensive intent is great. My biggest concern would be he's from WA.
West Coast have a great retention rate, as soon as you come to WA, why would you leave? Many Eastern State players never do, so that is a risk true.I keep on seeing this but it only works if they are wanting to leave as well
He went to the races ffs he didn’t get on it give the kid a breakComparing him to the biggest risk that club has taken on a young player.
Think why Collingwood were quick to let him go….
It’s been no secret Ginni loves his bags.
Who would visit the races before a Grand Final.
The McStay fiasco which is fact
He is going to need guidance
and won a Flag.He went to the races ffs he didn’t get on it give the kid a break
This is the single biggest beat up of a story i have seen, no coach, team mate or fan should care.He went to the races ffs he didn’t get on it give the kid a break
The way MM spoke sounds like we plan to trade into next year with the picks.
Comparing him to the biggest risk that club has taken on a young player.
Doesn't need to be when you have Blanck as a pure stopper.
Mitchell's gameplan really values a CHB that can get involved in attacking chains. Curtin is exceptional for that role.
Sounds like 'alternate facts' akin to the ones propagated by lackeys of the 45th President of one of our main allies.
Not worried about next year's draft hand. Could easily trade out certain players to acquire back second and third round picks. In fact, I'm sure, that's what'll happen.
Will be Wiz or Duursma. Whoever is there.
We have no need for Curtin.
Because you feel like you in a fish bowl thousands of kms away from the rest of the world…West Coast have a great retention rate, as soon as you come to WA, why would you leave? Many Eastern State players never do, so that is a risk true.
This doesn't have the Roos pick 3.That is a very real possibility.
Looking at the club draft picks, I can see lions asking for our pick 44 and swapping it for 51+67+F3. Just a bit under in points but we get F3 to make up for it.
In addition if we are able to make the trade for Pick 1, we need to force Suns to trade their 2 F3 picks if they don't want us to bid on Walter. Saves them 500 points.
Once we have these F3 picks, it gives options to trade back into the draft after McCabe bid.
The attached image is the 2024 draft picks based on current ladder.
View attachment 1835051
Come on down Axeman!This absolutely.
Personally think end of next season only one of Reeves or Meek will be considered the way forward and the other might get offered to the wind - especially if a first or early second rounder can be enticed from some Ruck needy contender.....Some others I think will need good years are CJ and Scrim if they are to be sureties to stay at the Hawkers and not instead be pieces that get moved for better ones.
It's time to build a dinkum list, with young talent pushing the boundaries of the team forward and further with every pre season and season under the brilliant Sam Mitchell, building our next scintilating brand of footy to lash the competition with.
Seems strange the number of posters turning your noses up at the work done by some very capable employees of the HFC.
Personally think the upcoming pre season for the list this year is going to be absolutely maximum freakin awesome and there's plenty of good growth and ceiling to be explored as this team builds.
Happy to be watching, hope everyone else can try and get the exciteds going in time for next season.
Talent level is building nicely just quietly.
Ohh Bulls!t. D-
Chol >>> Koz
Ginn >> Brockman
Gunston > Ryan (Gunston will end up assistant forwards coach at some point. Has IQ)
Ambrosia free hit.
The players that want to play for the brown and gold are in and those that don't are gone.
Good to see that you have a good clear mind, not clouded by the facts.
KL, I like your posts… but I do not understand the idea of giving Trade value for respect for Massi, surely a senior contract says respect. If making the guy feel good is the reason… I don’t understand that. Do rookies feel bad because they don’t have respect…Did Newcombe feel disrespected?The club is very happy with how trade night finished up. Contrary to who some supporters believe we should or shouldn't have traded for we got exactly the players we identified as being part of our structural rebuild (and in Gunston's case an invaluable teaching tool also) and are pleased we got all our men.
Also, we started with picks 4, 39 & 54 (thereabouts) and have finished with 4, 44, 47, 49 & three in the early sixties. These picks are essential in securing McCabe and Dear amongst others.
Edit: Some will say this trade or that trade wasn't good for us but in totality who and what we got in far outweighed who and what we gave out. We got everything we wanted for pretty close to the price we wanted to pay. That's a big win.
We've now got a 'safe' draft with a couple of plans still to put forward on draft night in regards to trading up or down as we see fit.
Finally some will question our trade for Massimo when we could have gotten him for basically nothing. It was about respect. It was saying 'we value you enough to have you join your new teammates now' instead of him feeling an extra we just pick up off the heap on November 1st. We felt that was a strong message in relation to how we see ourselves as a club and how we treat our players.
Finally, finally I was not on any part of the telecast of our rooms - my head isn't pretty enough for tv
There's a difference between picking up a new player like Duke in the MSD who's not had previous club ties and leaving Massimo to stew for another fortnight before picking him up as an extra. Besides all that, a late sixties pick and a future 4th wouldn't be used by us anyway so we weren't giving up anything serious..
KL, I like your posts… but I do not understand the idea of giving Trade value for respect for Massi, surely a senior contract says respect. If making the guy feel good is the reason… I don’t understand that. Do rookies feel bad because they don’t have respect…Did Newcombe feel disrespected?
I was OK with the Massi trade… but not on the idea of respect for the player. Massi will get a payday that few in their lifetimes could think about. If he or the club is concerned about respect for money… grrrrr
Thanks for all the updates KL. Just one question are we still a chance for pick 1?There's a difference between picking up a new player like Duke in the MSD who's not had previous club ties and leaving Massimo to stew for another fortnight before picking him up as an extra. Besides all that, a late sixties pick and a future 4th wouldn't be used by us anyway so we weren't giving up anything serious.
Bottom line, that's how the club felt.
I’m going to let you in on a little secret, a lot of AFL players love a bag, a significant amount even. It might shock you to know there would be at least a few currently on our list.Comparing him to the biggest risk that club has taken on a young player.
KL, I like your posts… but I do not understand the idea of giving Trade value for respect for Massi, surely a senior contract says respect. If making the guy feel good is the reason… I don’t understand that. Do rookies feel bad because they don’t have respect…Did Newcombe feel disrespected?
I was OK with the Massi trade… but not on the idea of respect for the player. Massi will get a payday that few in their lifetimes could think about. If he or the club is concerned about respect for money… grrrrr