Preview Round 1 v Carlton MCG Thursday March 14 7.30pm

The ball was coming down at a stupid rate in the first half... Any teams defence would've crumbled with the lack of pressure up the ground. If we had a Rance, he may have stopped 5 of those goals
What’s your point? Are you trying to tell me grimes isn’t finished?

Shorty can’t be captain this week, he’s too responsible and scared to make a mistake..

When he ain’t captain he’s so much more free and head clear…

We need him be the class clown across half back and hand out his hits of speed to everyone pre game cos **** me that 1st half everyone was still on Dima’s medicinal weed

What’s your point? Are you trying to tell me grimes isn’t finished?
Calm down and don't get aggressive and defensive

My point is that even if he is finished, judging him off last week's game is too small a sample size and we all need to chill out before we all wrote his obituary too early.

Shorty can’t be captain this week, he’s too responsible and scared to make a mistake..

When he ain’t captain he’s so much more free and head clear…

We need him be the class clown across half back and hand out his hits of speed to everyone pre game cos * me that 1st half everyone was still on Dima’s medicinal weed
reckon nank will be captain

No it wasn’t just the last qtr. Was s**t all game. Had a terrible season last year. No pre season
Should not be playing and shouldn’t have been waltzed back in for the suns game.
Was he? I didn’t see it that way. I thought he was pretty decent all game until he had a meltdown in the 4th quarter. Bigger fish to fry than him. Broad in comparison was pretty ordinary all game.

But I do agree that Grimes had a bad year last season. He and the rest of the defenders would want to play better against Curnow and McKay. Otherwise, they’ll get smacked worse than what Ben King did.

This is how I'd go for Round 1.

OUT: Grimes, McIntosh, Dow, Ryan, Banks, Koschitzke
IN: Lynch, Clarke, Martin, Ross, Cumberland, Nankervis

B: Tylar Young, Noah Balta, Nathan Broad
HB: Nick Vlastuin, Josh Gibcus, Jayden Short
C: Marlion Pickett, Jacob Hopper, Judson Clarke
HF: Dustin Martin, Noah Cumberland, Seth Campbell
F: Daniel Rioli, Tom Lynch, Maurice Rioli
R: Toby Nankervis, Shai Bolton, Tim Taranto
Int: Sam Naismith, Liam Baker, Jack Ross, Dion Prestia

Emg: Kane McAuliffe, Tom Brown, Thomson Dow, Sam Banks

How much better does that look on paper than our round 0 side?

- I'd almost be tempted to drop Prestia too, and bring in McAuliffe for a game.

- Baker and Balta back to defence where they belong.

- Play one tall forward (Lynch) and a ruck can rest down there at times.

- Dusty and Bolton to play mostly midfield but rest forward too.

- Put the Rioli boys together, just give it a GO.

- Clarke to come in and play on a wing, no more McIntosh. Clarke should be ahead of Banks too.

- Ross to play in the guts.

- Happy to admit I was wrong about playing Seth Campbell, he was lively, need to persist.
Looks worse

While I get the concept in returning players to where they played the best previously, I'd like to see some time given to how Yze wants the team to structure up and play before they go making drastic changes like this. The players have spent all summer learning new roles and game style. Throwing it out after 1 regular season game seems way too reactionary.

Remember both the Pies and Giants were slow to adjust to the new game plans that McCrae and Kingsley wanted them to play before it finally clicked in the second half of their first seasons.
Well said 👏 bravo

Koschitzke, Ryan, Young, Grimes really struggled. Taranto and Baltaneed to play alot better if we are to win games. Dow and Banks need to make more of an impact if they are to establish themselves in the side, but they are still inexeperienced so give them a run of games before writing them off
opening rnd player ratings 1.jpg Screenshot 2024-03-11 175153.jpg Screenshot 2024-03-11 175214.jpg

Our leaders need to step up
True, but problem is we seriously lacked leadership on Sat and generally just lack leadership this year period IMO!

With Cotch and Jack no longer there, Lynch not seen for 20 odd rounds, no Dusty to lead by example on Saturday and no Capt Nank we were ruderless in the first 2 quarters.

Took the extended half time break to re-set.

Strong leadership was missing on the field during Q1 and Q2 when Suns were flying - players watching, reacting and no one willing/able to stem the momentum.

We will be much better in this department this week if Lunch, Nank and Dusty all return.

Both Grimes and Broad have been great players for our club but the end is nearing, Grimes is almost there.
Both gave away crucial goals in that last qtr.

Here are their stats for round 0
Grimes
, 8 disposals, 62DE%, 4 contested, 5 marks, zero tackles, 5 pressure acts, 65 meters gained = 8 meters a possession. (bad day at the office)
Broad, 9 disposals, 44%DE, 1 contested, 6 marks, 3 tackles, 10 pressure acts, 294 meters gained (average performance also), but marginally better than Grimes)

Both Grimes and Broad have been great players for our club but the end is nearing, Grimes is almost there.

Grimes
, 8 disposals, 62DE%, 4 contested, 5 marks, zero tackles, 5 pressure acts, 65 meters gained = 8 meters a possession. (bad day at the office)
Broad, 9 disposals, 44%DE, 1 contested, 6 marks, 3 tackles, 10 pressure acts, 294 meters gained (average performance also), but marginally better than Grimes)
Grimes has never been a big possession winner, even at his absolute best he would play incredible defensive games that were often not reflected on the stat sheet.

I just find it hard to find a matchup for him now. At his size he won’t get a KPF. He’s not only lost his speed, but also his sideways movement and mobility. Half decent medium/small forwards turn him inside out. And we are talking about a player that in his prime could play on Betts, Gray and Charlie Cameron.

He’s been a massively important part of our team for a long time now, could argue our most important defender during our golden era, but his time is up

Grimes
I still think Broad has some good footy left in him. Had a great year last year, but a bad game on the weekend.

Kano thinks both shouldn't be playing.

Did a field umpire accidentally rotary hoe your dog into your lawn? Champ, every club has supporters who think there's a conspiracy against them. Carlumpireton? Are you 8?
Grimes rugby tackled off the ball while dudes mate waltzed in kicks a goal when we were coming back into the game nothing was said hummm well you're right about most spectators being one-eyed but sometimes eyes don't lie.
Watching your game in the first half I thought wtf is this clear foul play on and they kick another how did you feel? I know after that I turned it off and I hate you guys lol.

This is how I'd go for Round 1.

OUT: Grimes, McIntosh, Dow, Ryan, Banks, Koschitzke
IN: Lynch, Clarke, Martin, Ross, Cumberland, Nankervis

B: Tylar Young, Noah Balta, Nathan Broad
HB: Nick Vlastuin, Josh Gibcus, Jayden Short
C: Marlion Pickett, Jacob Hopper, Judson Clarke
HF: Dustin Martin, Noah Cumberland, Seth Campbell
F: Daniel Rioli, Tom Lynch, Maurice Rioli
R: Toby Nankervis, Shai Bolton, Tim Taranto
Int: Sam Naismith, Liam Baker, Jack Ross, Dion Prestia

Emg: Kane McAuliffe, Tom Brown, Thomson Dow, Sam Banks

How much better does that look on paper than our round 0 side?

- I'd almost be tempted to drop Prestia too, and bring in McAuliffe for a game.

- Baker and Balta back to defence where they belong.

- Play one tall forward (Lynch) and a ruck can rest down there at times.

- Dusty and Bolton to play mostly midfield but rest forward too.

- Put the Rioli boys together, just give it a GO.

- Clarke to come in and play on a wing, no more McIntosh. Clarke should be ahead of Banks too.

- Ross to play in the guts.

- Happy to admit I was wrong about playing Seth Campbell, he was lively, need to persist.

The expectations on Lynch are crazy. You are playing him one out first up for 12 months off no preseason games at all? He would break down for sure.

I dont hate the Riolis together, id def be moving Daniel to the mid or even the wing though. Shai obv has to go on the ball more as well.

Defence looks too tall, they would just lock Short down when we have the ball and force the talls to try and create out of defence. Need 2 ball users back there at all times. If Balta goes back, Broad needs to be dropped.