List Mgmt. Contract, Trade and Draft Discussions - 2024 Edition

What should we do with our 1st round draft pick?

• Finn O’Sullivan

Votes: 57 19.0%
  • Sid Draper

Votes: 86 28.7%
  • Josh Smillie

Votes: 22 7.3%
  • Jagga Smith

Votes: 34 11.3%
  • Split for best mid and Tobie Travaglia

Votes: 46 15.3%
  • Split for best mid and Liam Baker

Votes: 20 6.7%
  • Split for best mid and best KPD

Votes: 4 1.3%
  • Split for best two mids

Votes: 9 3.0%
  • Other

Votes: 13 4.3%
  • Sam Lalor

Votes: 9 3.0%

• This poll will close: .

Quick links:
Player contract status
Draft prospect video highlights (thanks to noobermensch)
AFL retirements and delistings

Latest news and rumours:

Last edited by a moderator:
Luke Urquhart continues to push his case to be taken in the first round of the draft with his stellar play in this years Champs series. He was red hot early, seeming to win every center bounce clearance in the opening quarter which lead to WA getting on top in the contest. He was quieter after halftime as WA increasingly got overrun by Metro's greater depth, although he did get involved in a couple of notable and impressive scoring chains. His kicking was off for most of the game, highlighted by some extreme shanks.

Is this the year to trade forward next years 1st rounder? Problem is if Warner does want to come home next year we will be well short on capital.

Would GC take a future first for there 2 first rounders this year?

If Warner wanted to come home this year would we be willing to pay likely pick 3 this year and maybe a top 5 pick next year? Is he worth it?

IF Freo are in the box seat for Warner

Id look at giving them our F1 for Freo for 11 & 14

Gives them x2 F1 for Warner, if 1 being top 4. Plus how good to weaken it in 2025

Gives us 3, 11, 14 and 23

Imagine getting best mid, with Travaglia, Urquhart and Allen

If we're in the frame for Warner

Split 2 with Gold Coast for 9 and 10

Would neat us Trav, Urquart and Allen

Doesn't seem to be shaping up as a particularly great draft year. Plenty of question marks about the top rated talent. Maybe the perfect year for teams to split or trade.
And that’s also one read it will be harder to split a top 5 pick.

There are no Wardlaw or Sheezel types at the top end, that would see teams wanting to potentially trade up.

The one possible player, if he gets healthy and has a good back end, that teams might be willing to package up picks for is O’Sullivan. And if he has good end of season, then you don’t want to trade back your pick

Splitting pic 3 for travaglia and bo Allen using GC pics is currently best practise atm imo. That adds a lot of depth to the wing and back flank. Just thinking do we try and get Moyle in the deal too? He probably desperate to get out of witts shadow and consensus on here is bbw/flynn combo not exactly positive
I’m not sure GC is interested in moving up the draft.

I believe their priorities will be;

1) Trade for Dan Rioli.

2) Move one or two of their current first round picks in to next year. Your future first round pick might be very attractive to GC. So you accelerate your rebuild by turning your future first in to picks 9 + 20 this year, plus keep your current first round pick.

3) Make sure they have the points this year for Lombard. I’m pretty confident they will achieve this easily.

No our future first must not be touched under any circumstances unless for Warner.

1. Theres a standout pick 1. Dyson Sharp. At worst Dyson sharp is Tom Green with manic defensive pressure (think Wardlaw). He's the lynch pin for our mid setup.

2. Then there is a WA Mid in top 3. And one in top 10 and one before pick 15. Chock full of WA Mid talent.

****ing WA Mids. How does bo Allen and urquett provide any point of difference compared to clay hall??? Also Clay hall could match it with wafl league in his draft year and he cost a second rounder.

Until I see those two elevate themselves on wafl league I'm not all that fond

Some Woodcock wisdom on our out of contract players..

West Coast landed the big fish in re-signing star Elliot Yeo on a three-year deal but there are still a few Eagles awaiting a new deal beyond 2024. In this special edition of Motormouth Mitch, The West Australian’s Mitchell Woodcock takes a look at the out-of-contract Eagles and where they stand.

Alex Witherden
The former Brisbane defender only earned a one-year extension despite finishing eighth in the John Worsfold Medal last year.
Was dropped after round one but returned in round six in the win over Richmond and has been crucial down in defence ever since.
Witherden has played both as a rebounding defender and also above his height as a third key defender at times that has allowed the Eagles to free up Jeremy McGovern to be the intercept defender.
Will turn 26 in September and helps fill that age gap where the Eagles are desperate to get players in.
If he continues this form he should get at least a two-year extension.

Andrew Gaff
Unfortunately, it feels as if the veteran is in the final year of a wonderful career.
Gaff selflessly turned his back on a return to Victoria to stay at the Eagles on a long-term deal after missing the 2018 premiership through suspension.
Recently turned 32 and was dropped for the second time this season with the return of speedster Jayden Hunt despite having 21 and 19 disposals in his two return games against St Kilda and North Melbourne.
The trajectory the Eagles are going on it’s hard to see Gaff getting another deal.

Coby Burgiel
Burgiel is the only Eagle from the 2022 AFL draft yet to debut but mainly because of a series of soft tissue injuries.
Started his career at half-back but has this year predominantly played as a wingman where he is slowly building form.
The Eagles have been open about their need for speed going forward and that is one of Burgiel’s biggest weapons.
It’s that speed and the potential Burgiel has that should lead to him at least earning another year.

Harry Edwards
West Coast have plenty of holes on their list that their slowly beginning to fill in their rebuild, but they are especially short of key defenders.
And this probably lends itself to Edwards staying on beyond this year given he is 200cm and soon to turn 24, should be coming into his own as a big player.
The Eagles are only an injury to Jeremy McGovern or Tom Barrass away from needing a tall defender and while Rhett Bazzo has plenty of talent, injury and circumstances has meant he’s yet to establish himself in the AFL side.
Edwards has shown signs that he can play as a serviceable AFL defender and there is score for improvement so he should be re-signed.

Jack Williams
As reported by The West Australian at the weekend, the talented youngster is in talks to re-sign on a multi-year deal.
Williams has played predominantly as a forward-ruck because of injuries to Matt Flynn and Nic Naitanui in recent years.
His natural game is as an athletic tall forward and it will be interesting to see how he develops in that role as they slowly transition club great Jack Darling into retirement in the next few seasons.
Williams showed his potential with three goals against Essendon in round eight of this season and should be considered unlucky to not be in the side regularly given his promise.

Jai Culley
Another midfielder seen as a part of the Eagles rebuild but has been set back by a devastating ACL injury last year just as he started to look comfortable at the AFL level.
Culley is tough and while he is not blessed with pace, is a big-bodied midfielder who can help the likes of Elliot Yeo and Harley Reid around the contest.
The 2022 mid-season draftee earned a rising star nomination after kicking four goals against Port Adelaide last year, showing his versatility.
Another player who should be contracted for at least another season to see if he is up to the level.

Jamaine Jones
Like Burgiel, Jones offers the speed that the Eagles are lacking across most lines.
The former Geelong rookie has played 55 games in four seasons for the Eagles since coming across with good mate Tim Kelly.
Jones has struggled for consistency this season but when he plays well across half back the Eagles look more dangerous in their ball movement.
It will be interesting to see where the Eagles see him fitting going forward but will want a big second half of the season to convince them beyond doubt he should stay.

Jordyn Baker
The former Category B Rookie showed some really good signs late last year in the WAFL as a solid rebounding defender who can also do a lockdown job.
Baker has struggled for consistency at the level this season and doesn’t appear close to an AFL debut at this stage.
Is a real 50-50 chance to earn a new deal beyond this year, but will want a good patch of form quickly.

Josh Rotham
Another player in that 24 to 29 age bracket that the Eagles need as they continue through this rebuild.
Was a casualty of the 99-point loss to Adelaide after only four touches, but forced his way back in with a good showing in the WAFL.
Rotham had an interesting 2023 when he played as a back-up ruckman in both the WAFL and AFL side but clearly is best as a medium-sized defender.
Is developing strongly as a leader and is one of the players great to have culturally around the club and deserves an extension.

Liam Duggan
The co-captain is in talks for an extension which looks like it’s going to be three years.
Duggan has been one of the most consistent performers in recent years as both a defender and midfielder, while his leadership has been pivotal.
Because he debuted in 2015 and played in the 2018 premiership it feels like he’s been around forever but he will only be 28 in December.
Needs to be locked away ASAP.

Loch Rawlinson
Picked up in last year’s rookie draft, Rawlinson debuted only minutes from his home in South Australia when he was the sub against Sydney in Mt Barker during Gather Round.
He hasn’t played since and to be fair hasn’t been setting the world on fire in the WAFL, but at only 19 there is a lot to like about him.
Rawlinson has impressive speed and endurance, running the 20m sprint in only 2.894 seconds.
He can play either as a deep small forward or could be the long-term replacement for veteran Jamie Cripps as that hard-working high-half forward.
There is enough evidence that the Eagles should persist with Rawlinson.

Luke Edwards
When Luke Edwards had 27 disposals against Richmond in only his second back in 2021 there was a lot of optimism around the South Australian product.
The son of former Adelaide star Tyson, Edwards has played 34 games in four seasons – including nine this season – with injury and form having him in and out of the side.
Edwards has only had 20 disposals or more once since his breakout game and hasn’t been able to find a consistent role in the side.
The question will be have the Eagles seen enough from Edwards to decide if he’s got it to make it in the AFL.
Needs to take his next chance with both hands or could be in danger.

Tyrell Dewar
Like Baker, Dewar was a Category B Rookie in 2022 but last year looked a long way off debuting.
Dewar has a lot of skill and speed but was listed as only 67kg so it was hard to see him breaking in at the level until he put on some size.
His talent and work-rate led to a debut against Collingwood in round nine and he showed promise with a goal from nine touches and three inside 50s.
Played as the sub twice for little impact in little game-time before being sent back to the WAFL.
Eagles coach Adam Simpson has said that Dewar has AFL qualities that they like so it would be surprising to see that they don’t persist with him beyond 2024.

Zane Trew
Has to be the unluckiest Eagle on their list right now.
Trew has played only one game – as the sub in the loss to St Kilda in round 12 – despite being the most in-form and consistent midfielder at WAFL level.
Even with Tim Kelly and Harley Reid out with injury and suspension respectively, Trew has still been unable to break in and add to his seven AFL games.
Trew deserves a stint in the AFL side to show whether he’s got what it takes to make it at the level before a decision is made.

I thought the Rotham spiel was a bit interesting and something i definitely haven't heard spoken about before: "Is developing strongly as a leader and is one of the players great to have culturally around the club".

I’m not sure GC is interested in moving up the draft.

I believe their priorities will be;

1) Trade for Dan Rioli.

2) Move one or two of their current first round picks in to next year. Your future first round pick might be very attractive to GC. So you accelerate your rebuild by turning your future first in to picks 9 + 20 this year, plus keep your current first round pick.

3) Make sure they have the points this year for Lombard. I’m pretty confident they will achieve this easily.
Even if the afl tighten the academy rules gc will get lombard using those pics in the 20. Without being an expert on their list I'd say they'd be keen to trade up for best key back with our pic 3. Gc Pics 7 and 8 are very much on the table to the highest bidder imo

They want a gorilla defender to take over from Collins. You don’t need a top 5 pick for that type. They’re usually found in the late second round or third round.

Otherwise, they’re probably more keen on their academy kids next year, than anyone else in this years draft.

No our future first must not be touched under any circumstances unless for Warner.

1. Theres a standout pick 1. Dyson Sharp. At worst Dyson sharp is Tom Green with manic defensive pressure (think Wardlaw). He's the lynch pin for our mid setup.

2. Then there is a WA Mid in top 3. And one in top 10 and one before pick 15. Chock full of WA Mid talent.
Who are these 3 WA mids for next year?
****ing WA Mids. How does bo Allen and urquett provide any point of difference compared to clay hall??? Also Clay hall could match it with wafl league in his draft year and he cost a second rounder.

Until I see those two elevate themselves on wafl league I'm not all that fond

I've been of the opinion since last year, that we're best of splitting this years pick. Draft looks deep with heaps of good talent that can fill lots of list holes.
Would we not take pick 3 into the draft and try to offload our F1 into 2 picks. (Oh but the WA talent!)

We go to the draft with for eg
3, 7, 12

Trade F2nd for busslinger.
Trade 3rd rounder and Petch for Baker.

On Pixel 6 Pro using BigFooty.com mobile app

Would we not take pick 3 into the draft and try to offload our F1 into 2 picks. (Oh but the WA talent!)

We go to the draft with for eg
3, 7, 12

Trade F2nd for busslinger.
Trade 3rd rounder and Petch for Baker.

On Pixel 6 Pro using BigFooty.com mobile app
Currently there are restrictions on trading some future picks.

You can trade your F1, but need to keep a hold of F2 & F3. If you want to trade F1 & F2, you need to trade back in either a F1 or F2.

If they open up 2 years in advance pick trading, I wonder how much value a 2026 pick would have if brought forward.
Would our 2026 first pick get us a pick around the top 10 for Travaglia?

Clubs like Brisbane or Gold Coast might consider it as theyve got plenty of young talent coming in anyway

Currently there are restrictions on trading some future picks.

You can trade your F1, but need to keep a hold of F2 & F3. If you want to trade F1 & F2, you need to trade back in either a F1 or F2.

Currently true but I think one of the most probable changes to the draft is the relaxing of this rule from this year onwards

And just like that we have a new pick 1 contender. Sam Lalor playing his first game back in the Talent League since returning from a long injury layoff to start the season demonstrates that every part of his game is in tip top condition as he turns in possibly the best performance of the season. Powerful, brutal, attacking and clean, he was strong overhead, hit up targets over all distances by foot and absorbed contact to release teammates with long creative handballs. The most impressive thing of all might have been his bruising tackles.

If they open up 2 years in advance pick trading, I wonder how much value a 2026 pick would have if brought forward.

Clubs like Brisbane or Gold Coast might consider it as theyve got plenty of young talent coming in anyway
We need points this year. Probably not interested in future picks. I expect next year, we’ll probably try and trade our 2026 pick in to 2025.

Not much.

In fact you will find the draft strategy of matching clubs is now going to flip.

Someone like Brisbane and GC is going to need to trade up the draft, not down it.

There will be less liquidity in top picks than there might have been previously, but maybe more mid, late R1, R2 picks on offer.

You don’t want to be matching bids with more than 2 picks. This puts a premium on high value picks and picks near bidding ranges.

It’s going to be the death of the “double dip” strategy and getting picks ahead of bids. Clubs doing this will almost certainly go into defecit on high end picks as well as having to list 2-3 kids from the back of the draft to compensate.

Some Woodcock wisdom on our out of contract players..

I thought the Rotham spiel was a bit interesting and something i definitely haven't heard spoken about before: "Is developing strongly as a leader and is one of the players great to have culturally around the club".

So according to splinters :

Being extended
  • Duggan
  • J Williams

Should be extended
  • Witherden
  • Rotham
  • H Edwards
  • Burgiel
  • Rawlinson (R)
  • Culley (R)
  • Dewar (Cat B)

In doubt/ Gone
  • Gaff
  • L Edwards
  • Jones
  • Baker (R)
  • Trew (R)

That gets us from 37 main list, 6 rookie list and 2 Cat B rookies to 34, 4 and 2 giving us the ability to add just 4 new players

Now whilst I can see his reasoning behind the players he talks about retaining, it doesn’t scream aggressive list management to me

Think we need to open up at least 2 more list spots, maybe more depending on how many players we bring in via trade/FA. If dajesmac is correct that we’ve offered Steely Green a contract then it appears we’re casting a rather wide net

Means that splinters isn’t being ruthless enough with this crop of out of contract players or we will be trading out some in contract players and/or retiring an in contract player early.

I don’t think both of Rotham and Harry Edwards survives. Perhaps neither if we do land Busslinger as many here hope

Culley being retained may hinge on whether he can be kept on the rookie list or needs to be upgraded to the main list. Either way I still hope we keep him

I think GC are a very likely to try and trade and get ahead of Leo this year after rorting the system last year. Definitely might be one of the last teams to be able to do it. Trainor and Leo would be a great haul.

Not sure the Dogs and Suns first this year will be juicy for other teams but that will depend on where they finish.

I reckon the Dogs might also fall into buyers if they let English walk and Smith leaves as expected. Probably find out about English in the next fortnight