Opinion Sack Hinkley 11 - Gentlemen, this is democracy manifest

On pure numbers that is an undeniable fact. But can you honestly say that Hinkley has had the same talent at his disposal in his tenure as Williams did in his first few years? That for me is the key yardstick.
You guys were robbed of a GF in 2014 by a disgraceful umpiring decision in the last minute by Stevic. I reckon you'd have walloped the Toilet Ducks if you had got there. That wasn't Hinkley's fault.
So, hypothetically, if you win this year's flag, do you then rate Hinkley as equal to Williams? I rate Port more than Geelong this year as a chance. If your midfield clicks in the QF, quite frankly, we're screwed.

As far as 07 goes, I think it was more a combination of 44 years pent up frustration, annoyance at having lost a couple of weeks before at Kardinia Park, and a feeling of confidence that your game plan wouldn't stand up in the big one. A lot of the Geelong boys had points to prove. Not wishing to dwell on that though. I'd rather it have been the Clowns to be honest.
I can agree on Williams should have done better with the list.
Now Ken has had more time than any coach in AFL history at one club to win a flag.

Nobody should get 12 years as a coach with no return.
And before you ask, return for Port supporters is winning flags.
I’m sure your club wouldn’t have kept him on in the same circumstances.

On pure numbers that is an undeniable fact. But can you honestly say that Hinkley has had the same talent at his disposal in his tenure as Williams did in his first few years? That for me is the key yardstick.
You guys were robbed of a GF in 2014 by a disgraceful umpiring decision in the last minute by Stevic. I reckon you'd have walloped the Toilet Ducks if you had got there. That wasn't Hinkley's fault.
So, hypothetically, if you win this year's flag, do you then rate Hinkley as equal to Williams? I rate Port more than Geelong this year as a chance. If your midfield clicks in the QF, quite frankly, we're screwed.

As far as 07 goes, I think it was more a combination of 44 years pent up frustration, annoyance at having lost a couple of weeks before at Kardinia Park, and a feeling of confidence that your game plan wouldn't stand up in the big one. A lot of the Geelong boys had points to prove. Not wishing to dwell on that though. I'd rather it have been the Clowns to be honest.
Hinkley and Williams basically have the same home and away record. Yes, Port's list in 01-04 was top shelf but Hinkley has had a very, very good list as well and has failed to make it consistently good (i.e. our list management is considered one of, if not the best in the league).

If Hinkley wins it this year, he gets the plaudits. Every Port fan should want this because it means we have a flag, which is what we're all about.

If he fails again, he rightly holds on to the ignominy of being the longest serving coach without a flag at a single club. That it's our club and, so far, it's allowed this national laughing stock to roll on, is appalling.

I'm not mentioning THAT other grand Final.
IMHO though with the squad you had in the early 2000s, one flag is a poor return.
1 flag in 6 years, not 0 flags in 11.5 years. He never had the off field financial support, footy department cashed up, Adelaide oval or 65,000 members and was not paid near 1 million a year. Mark also won the flag for the club and the supporters that he never neglected, not like this blow in Victorian country potato.

Give me a break, Hinkley is not a Port man, he never even mentions the supporters because he doesn't care, he only cares about ken.

Coincidentally, since he was booed he suddenly pulled his finger out, make no mistake if it wasn't for the untenable comment by the great WGT and the booing by Port supporters we would probably be finals onlookers and not finals participants.

For us Hinkley's season starts week 1 of the finals and will be judged on those results, no shifting of the goal posts to suit his narrative this time.

Bell Park might be impressive but one time my primary school beat another primary school in a game after they didn't have enough players and we had to give them our 3 best players. Now that's what you call a real challenge. Our coach, Tommy's step-mom, is surely at least at the level of Ken Hinkley with this achievement. Not to mention she did it while also bringing oranges to the game!
My self-declared captain/coach performance of the church's youth volleyball team in the '96 Sidepart and Long Cullotes Baptist Convention outshines anything stinkers has done at port, we had some real tough competition that day

I can agree on Williams should have done better with the list.
Now Ken has had more time than any coach in AFL history at one club to win a flag.

Nobody should get 12 years as a coach with no return.
And before you ask, return for Port supporters is winning flags.
I’m sure your club wouldn’t have kept him on in the same circumstances.
We've actually followed pretty much the same path with Chris Scott, although he has coached 2 premierships, but we have had our share of finals disappointments too - getting beaten at Kardinia Park by Fremantle in a final was pretty embarrassing and we have had a few early exits.

not like this blow in Victorian country potato.
Just curious, do you apply this same description to the games record holder at Port, Travis Boak?
Seeing as he is a blow in Victorian country potato from Torquay on the Great Ocean Road.

Surely he'd qualify as a loyal Port man now?

We've actually followed pretty much the same path with Chris Scott, although he has coached 2 premierships, but we have had our share of finals disappointments too - getting beaten at Kardinia Park by Fremantle in a final was pretty embarrassing and we have had a few early exits.
What suffering you have endured. 😂

Not a troll at all. A genuine opinion of where I see things.
In view of the clubs' history and tradition I understand there is some discontent with Hinkley's length of tenure vs lack of silverware, but I don't see any real difference to the Williams era. More than happy to be corrected.

Rodney Eade took over the Western Bulldogs at the end of 2005, at a time when they had barely 20,000 members, and were coming off a wooden spoon with a meagre 9 wins across two completed seasons under Peter Rohde.

He immediately whipped them into shape, going 11-11 in his first year, 13-9 in his second (including their first winning final since 1998), before suffering a disappointing 9-win backslide to 13th in his third.

The Dogs immediately bounced back to make 3 consecutive Prelims, going down in spirited contests to the reigning premier Cats in 2008, and Ross Lyon’s peak Saints in 2009 & 10.

But the very next year, with it mathematically impossible to make the eight, he was told he wouldn’t be getting an extension and walked, just shy of 7 completed seasons in the job.

Now it’s the strangest thing.

Not once did I hear the industry, media and opposition fans alike defend his legacy.

Scoffing at a supposedly deluded Whitten Oval administration and fanbase, accusing them of being fickle, ungrateful, and “be careful what you wish for”.

Pointing out how he got soooo close a few times, with an allegedly inferior squad to his peers and predecessors: “poor Rocket”.

How he saved the joint, was responsible for their all-time record membership figure, or had made it a destination club (Jason Akermanis and Barry Hall two of the more eye-catching captures).

How his record was kinda-sorta-almost just like their 1954 premiership coach, Charlie Sutton.

How he won a reserve grade premiership with the Brisbane Bears, and what a fantastic achievement that was given the strength of second-tier monsters such as the Dees and Roos.

I didn’t even hear how he was the guy who kicked the ball towards a stoned Geoff Hayward admiring the seagull, in The Club, 30-some years ago in a place and context utterly irrelevant to his job in the present.

Crickets.

It’s a funny old caper.

Just curious, do you apply this same description to the games record holder at Port, Travis Boak?
Seeing as he is a blow in Victorian country potato from Torquay on the Great Ocean Road.

The difference between Travis Boak and Ken Hinkley is one has given to the club and the other has taken from the club.

It is obvious that you are a Williams hater, so our opinion on Hinkley is as justified if not more than yours is on Williams.

The difference between Travis Boak and Ken Hinkley is one has given to the club and the other has taken from the club.

It is obvious that you are a Williams hater, so our opinion on Hinkley is as justified if not more than yours is.
Fair point.

I wouldn't say I am a Williams hater, I just think he enjoys a vastly overstated assessment of his achievements and qualities as a coach. IMHO the players under his coaching in the early part of his gig at Port made him look good and when the better ones moved on or retired, his lack of coaching ability was exposed.
He was a total failure coaching Werribee in the VFL recently as well with a pretty decent list.
I get your sentiments en masse re: Hinkley, and agree your opinions are justified in terms of your expectations.

Just because ya not born in alberton doesn't mean ya not port Adelaide.

A lot of our greats came to port via opposition/different states.

When they got to port they got indoctrinated and became port people (winners).

Hinkley did not he went the opposite way indoctrinated port people into his loser finals are scary 😯😯 someone has to lose blah blah bullshit. (Losers)

Fair point.

I wouldn't say I am a Williams hater, I just think he enjoys a vastly overstated assessment of his achievements and qualities as a coach. IMHO the players under his coaching in the early part of his gig at Port made him look good and when the better ones moved on or retired, his lack of coaching ability was exposed.
He was a total failure coaching Werribee in the VFL recently as well with a pretty decent list.
I get your sentiments en masse re: Hinkley, and agree your opinions are justified in terms of your expectations.
Screenshot (9).png

History says that Mark Williams is up to now our only Premiership coach, that was also achieved in half the time that Hinkley has been coach, with much less footy department funding.

Mate you just emphasised my point.
This was his biggest failing. Playing players out of position or wrecking their careers by trying to completely change their natural game. Salter was just one of at least a dozen.
Referring to someone as a ' moron ' does not imply hate - it simply means you are at odds with their actions.

No chance. Even on raw numbers, 1 GF and 1 flag < 2 GF and 1 flag

But also, Choco never disrespected Port's traditions in the way the Ken era has (and I know this isn't all on Ken but it isn't all not on him either). We had one captain the whole time Choco was coaching. We used the real club motto "We exist to win premierships". We didn't constantly spin and actually accepted wins as wins and losses as losses.

Ken would need to go back to back to go past Choco.
Plus Choco never smirked after a loss - far from it!!!!!

Mate you just emphasised my point.
This was his biggest failing. Playing players out of position or wrecking their careers by trying to completely change their natural game. Salter was just one of at least a dozen.
Referring to someone as a ' moron ' does not imply hate - it simply means you are at odds with their actions.
The simple facts are, Williams took 6 years to get a flag, Hinkley 11.5 years for 0.

It's time to go Hinkley.

Ok, message understood, you guys don't think the Bell Park thing is relevant.
For what it's worth, I feel your pain. The 70s and 80s were very bleak days for Geelong and losing 4 grand finals in 6 years between 89 - 95 was hard to swallow. If we don't win it this year, and I'm pretty sure we won't, I sincerely hope you guys do. I'd hate to see Boaky bow out without a premiership for one thing, and I have always admired the passion you have for your club and guernsey. And I think it's your time.

To be honest, I think Koch is the 'you know what' in the woodpile you need to weed out.
Josh Carr won an SANFL flag as senior coach, a near infinitely more impressive feat than some bush league premiership. If we are supposed to be impressed by the Bell Park stuff we surely must have ordained Carr as a coaching god.

Therefore Hinkley should be sacked.

It's the same situation if you ignore the one variable which is different which coincidently is the only variable in which we are judging the quality of Hinkley versus Scott.

If Hinkley had coached 2 premierships at this point I'm pretty confident we wouldn't be on Sack Hinkley 11 and we wouldn't all be having these arguments with people