List Mgmt. Trade & Free Agency - Fred 11

What Picks Will Richmond Get For Baker Bolton & Rioli

Waking up today with no Trade Radio or Kaneo's dulcetones.....

Sad Cry GIF by Piñata Farms

THE PARABLE OF THE DOG TURDS

One day, God told a man that if he would eat only dog turds for 2 weeks, there would be great rewards laid up for him at the end of those days. The man greatly desired these rewards, so he ate only dog turds every day for 2 weeks. At the end of the 2 weeks, God came to him and showered him with rewards and wonders. The next day, the man rose and found a sumptuous breakfast waiting for him.

His only thought was: "Where are my dog turds?"

Karen Cornhole saying we were lucky our players wanted to go to clubs that had picks
Wow, we are sooooo lucky that our CONTRACTED players wanted to go to clubs with picks. It is almost like Freo and Gold Coast knew they could get a deal done during courtship.

Apparently we ranked 11th of teams in our trading. Of course, Carlton and Essendon are ahead 🤣

I think the ranking is heavily leaning towards players recieved rather than the value of draft picks.

After the national draft they will do another "winners and losers" in which we would be considered winners while not acknowledging that the reason why clubs don't have picks is because they acquired players during the trade period.

I think the ranking is heavily leaning towards players recieved rather than the value of draft picks.

After the national draft they will do another "winners and losers" in which we would be considered winners while not acknowledging that the reason why clubs don't have picks is because they acquired players during the trade period.

Don’t forget it’ll all be based on perception as we have no idea how these players will adapt in their new homes or how well new draftees will be at afl level.

It’s content for the sake of content… but I’ll still read it and think they’re stupid. 🤣

That can't be seen as the standard. It was a horrendous trade.

It also ignores the fact that there maybe a clear top 2 (which imo there is) so 3s perceived value will be far less.

Reminds me of 07 when most people (bar weaver) were of the belief that Kruezer and Cotchin were the clear top 2 and WCE were desperate to get Blues no.1 while Blues had zero interesting in trading it and keeping 3 for Morton/masten

Interesting that the two clubs that are probably in the most dyre need for some elite youth have next to nothing in what is reported to be such a strong draft even into the 2nd round (Pies and Geelong)

Wonder if they will live to regret it

I cant believe how reckless Collingwood (and McRae) have been. Its completely selfish by Fly and unbelievably arrogant.

Even if they win the flag this year, they have 9 x 32s+ that will be no longer there when Tassie enter the draft. Even if they win the next 2 flags, they're not going to have a pick in the top 30 for the next 4 drafts! It will be just impossible.

I reckon the arrogance is from them saying that they'll poach the shithouse out of GCE, WCE and Tassie on all their kids that want to come home or free agents. But to get the homesick kids, you need to trade for them. And the free agents dont want to come to an old, dated and aging list. They might snag say 1 free agent per year, but they're gonna need to replace 9 of their current best 22. You cant do that with free agents.

And doing ANY kind of rebuild when Tassie come would make me feel absolutely sick. Carlton have only just come out of having to do it with GC/GWS... Essendon, North, Saints still havent. Saints are the perfect example, the missed the 2010 flag by a whisker with an aging list, then have been stuck in no-mans land since - and will be for another 5 years.

We had absolutely no option but to make the call we have, regardless of the pain for the next 3-4 years.

Collingwood want to be a Geelong/Sydney and constantly top up to avoid the word rebuild. But its an absolute furphy. Melbourne clubs trying to exist like that is foolish. Geelong is basically in a different state, with a 15% bonus on their salary cap on all Melbourne clubs. You can have the dream lifestyle, for a 15% reduction on COLA... yet still be in Melbourne. Its the leg up that no other club can compete with. And they're not competing with anyone. They can make players sign for 700, instead of a million.... because they're going to make in back and more on within minutes of buying their first Bellarine home. Its not Geelong's "culture" allowing them to do it... its ****ing 15 free kicks a year. Its not cheating, but their using a different "currency" to anyone else.

Collingwood thinking they can do the same is just absolute arrogance. But the pain is going to be brutal - even if they snag another flag. The thinking that they can rely on brand for free agents or buying homesick kids is mental. A "Harry Perryman at $900k" addition each year will only make their whole structure even worse. And its all going to happen when their messiah - Nick Daicos - is in his absolute prime. When the AFL bring in changes to trading picks 2 years in advance... if Collingwood think that will help... no one is going to go hard on that, because pick 1 for the wooden spooner is going to be pick 6... a preliminary finalist will be 30 - who's buying that?

You watch the Collingwood Board in 24 months time complaining about equalisation when their new reality hits. Discussions of the NSW teams regaining COLA, the draft measures for Tassie, the Academy free kicks for northern states..... EDDIE and Collingwood supporters will be vicious, deafening. The AFL needs to remember this moment, this point in time... because whilst Carlton has chosen one direction in getting pick 3 (the right strategy), Collingwood has chosen to not think past their own nose. And if Houston doesnt get the flag he wants in the next couple of years.... he'll just **** off like any player can do these days.

I know this is thread is about Richmond and should be. But l cannont fathom what Collingwood have just done. It looks good on paper, but they are so ****ing stupid. That's what happens when you have a Coach and List Manager that long time mates/teammates... the conflict of interest is ridiculous. There is no separation and rationalisation. They've ****ed themselves HARD.

We have/had to take our medicine - but our timing is going to be the envy of 16 other clubs - who have to experience the 'rebuild' model when their time comes.

I cant believe how reckless Collingwood (and McRae) have been. Its completely selfish by Fly and unbelievably arrogant.

Even if they win the flag this year, they have 9 x 32s+ that will be no longer there when Tassie enter the draft. Even if they win the next 2 flags, they're not going to have a pick in the top 30 for the next 4 drafts! It will be just impossible.

I reckon the arrogance is from them saying that they'll poach the shithouse out of GCE, WCE and Tassie on all their kids that want to come home or free agents. But to get the homesick kids, you need to trade for them. And the free agents dont want to come to an old dated and aging list. They might snag say 1 free agent per year, but they're gonna need to preplace 9 of their current best 22. You cant do that with free agents.

And doing ANY kind of rebuild when Tassie come would make feel absolutely sick. Carlton have only just come out of having to do it with GC/GWS... Essendon, North, Saints still havent. Saints are the perfect example, the missed the 2010 flag by a whisker with an aging list, then have been stuck in no-mans land since - and will be for another 5 years.

We had absolutely no option but to make the call we have, regardless of the pain for the next 3-4 years.

Collingwood want to be a Geelong/Sydney and constantly top up to avoid the word rebuild. But its an absolute furphy. Melbourne clubs trying to exist like that is foolish. Geelong is basically in a different state, with a 15% bonus on their salary cap on all Melbourne clubs. You can have the dream lifestyle, for a 15% reduction on COLA... yet still be in Melbourne. Its the leg up that no other club can compete with. And they're not competing with anyone. They can make players sign for 700, instead of a million.... because they're going to make in back and more on within minutes of buying their first Bellarine home. Its Geelong's "culture"... its a ****ing 15 free kicks a year. Its not cheating, but their using a different "currency" to anyone else.

Collingwood thinking they can do the same is just absolute arrogance. But the pain is going to be brutal - even if they snag another flag. The thinking that they can rely on brand for free agents or buying homesick kids is mental. A Harry Perryman at $900k addition at the year will only make their whole structure even worse. And its all going to happen when their messiah - Nick Daicos - is in his absolute prime. When the AFL bring in changes to trading picks 2 years in advance... if Collingwood think that will help... no one is going to go hard on that, because pick 1 for the wooden spooner is going to be pick 6... a preliminary finalist will be 30 - who's buying that?

You watch the Collingwood Board in 24 months time complaining about equalisation when their new reality hits. Discussions of the NSW teams regaining COLA, the draft measures for Tassie, the Academy free kicks for northern states..... EDDIE and Collingwood supporters will be vicious, deafening. The AFL needs to remember this moment, this point in time... because whilst Carlton has chosen one direction in getting pick 3, Collingwood has chosen the not think past their own nose. And if Houston doesnt get the flag he wants in the next couple of years.... he'll just **** off like any player can these days.

I know this is thread is about Richmond and should be. But l cannont fathom what Collingwood have just done. It looks good on paper, but they are so ****ing stupid. That's what happens when you have a Coach and List Manager that long time mates/teammates... the conflict of interest is ridiculous. There is no separation and rationalisation. They've ****ed themselves HARD.
I'm surprised McRae isn't interested in drafting younger players to develop considering he was a vfl coach ans helped our younger players

But seems obsessed with making finals again by taking short cuts

List Mgmt. Trade & Free Agency - Fred 11