Player Watch #11: Jason Castagna - signed to 2023

Should Castagna be dropped for the Port game after his 2 disposal effort vs the Swans?

• Yes - for Cumberland

• Yes - for anyone

• No

• Make him Sub

Results are only viewable after voting.

100% not true.
This comes up semi regularly and is absolute BS.

LOL
Said with all the conviction of Dan Andrews ... 'I don't know who made the decision to employ private security andI'm not sure why I said we would use private security, even though I said it on TV and put it in the govt. press release.
;)

Funny thing watching the finals series in 2017 he was the same as now. Lost a lot of contests easily, flew for mark got hands on it and dropped it, fumbled at crucial moments, kicks smothered when it seemed impossible it could happen, often being unable to kick more than 20 metres around his body, handballs without his fist making contact. Zig zag running and no composure. Has been so consistent.
So true, but it was funny for many while we were winning and rest of team could carry this bloke.

I’ve got nothing but respect for the bloke and will forever appreciate him as a triple tiger premiership hero.
But he’s a great example of how much luck there is in footy in regards to where you end up.
If he’d landed at a north, Suns, Carlton, Essendon etc he would have been one of those clubs many who’ve long been spat out of the system with 20 odd games to his name I reckon, or be one of those players who ekes out 100 of basically nothing .
On the other side some unlucky kid who got drafted to those clubs could be in his shoes now.
It’s just amazing how footy works and good luck to him.
Really puts into perspective how tough it is for number one draft picks. Who the **** would want to be Jason Horne-Francis?

I’ve got nothing but respect for the bloke and will forever appreciate him as a triple tiger premiership hero.
But he’s a great example of how much luck there is in footy in regards to where you end up.
If he’d landed at a north, Suns, Carlton, Essendon etc he would have been one of those clubs many who’ve long been spat out of the system with 20 odd games to his name I reckon, or be one of those players who ekes out 100 of basically nothing .
On the other side some unlucky kid who got drafted to those clubs could be in his shoes now.
It’s just amazing how footy works and good luck to him.
Really puts into perspective how tough it is for number one draft picks. Who the duck would want to be Jason Horne-Francis?
With regards to Horne-Francis, pretty sure his pre-draft comments (I could be wrong here) were consistently all about wanting to go number 1 and happy to build a team up from the bottom and put all that work in to do that.
Easier said than done as he's now finding out.

He could’ve been dropped 2 years ago, 1 year ago, 3 years ago for the same reasons.
He’s not playing much differently now than he always has.
SO there must be something that keeps him in. No one on here seems to have any idea, me included, although I do try to find the answer. Others don’t.
What I do know is that Hardwick has won us 3 flags. He keeps picking him and instructing George what to do. So until Hardwick drops him I’m happy to stay on the fence.
Heaps of posters have been potting George for years. They’ve been wrong and do not know why he gets picked.
If he gets dropped this week it’s for failing to achieve Hardwick‘s KPIs, not because of anything I’ve read on here.
I’m a fan of Castagna when he is in decent form, but he’s been down on how he usually performs since the Round 5 game against St Kilda in 2021. It’s not just this year.

He is down on goals and goal assists so we should really be trying someone else while he regains form.

Miguel Herrera Win GIF

With regards to Horne-Francis, pretty sure his pre-draft comments (I could be wrong here) were consistently all about wanting to go number 1 and happy to build a team up from the bottom and put all that work in to do that.
Easier said than done as he's now finding out.
He was always number 1 pick though. Not like he could say I don't want to be #1 pick and go to a rabble, everyone pass on me so I can go to a contender :D

Player Watch #11: Jason Castagna - signed to 2023