Past #12: Lindsay Thomas - released by NM to pursue rookie list spot at PA - thx4 everything Lindsay

Full credit to the club for the way they have looked after him. In hindsight, his demotion back to the VFL looks like a player management initiative. He finds himself unjustly pilloried by the media, from all angles, so he goes back to the VFL for a break. While he's away, the furore dies down, is largely forgotten, and then he comes back and plays the way he used to.

Credit to the club for looking after him. If not, then it's serendipity. Either way, it's good to have him back kicking goals.

Full credit to the club for the way they have looked after him. In hindsight, his demotion back to the VFL looks like a player management initiative. He finds himself unjustly pilloried by the media, from all angles, so he goes back to the VFL for a break. While he's away, the furore dies down, is largely forgotten, and then he comes back and plays the way he used to.

Credit to the club for looking after him. If not, then it's serendipity. Either way, it's good to have him back kicking goals.

Don't just blame the media. There are people on this forum who would have Lindsay delisted. Apparently not AFL standard.

It's obvious he's been told not to be so selfish, my question is what took so long to tell him, have the players had a 'leading teams' event?

The selfish calls are rubbish. BT and the Triple M flogs were all over that today (see, proof it's wrong!) They were saying North plays much better when Lindsay and Boomer are not being selfish.

No, idiots.

Boomer and Lindsay are two players who take responsibility and try to win games when the rest of the team has passed the buck. Boomer and Lindsay would share the ball around if some other bastard would put in half the effort that they do. You can't pass to someone who is standing flat footed and looking the wrong way. We play best when our B graders get off their arse make themselves an option for match winners like Lindsay and Boomer.

The selfish calls are rubbish. BT and the Triple M flogs were all over that today (see, proof it's wrong!) They were saying North plays much better when Lindsay and Boomer are not being selfish.

No, idiots.

Boomer and Lindsay are two players who take responsibility and try to win games when the rest of the team has passed the buck. Boomer and Lindsay would share the ball around if some other bastard would put in half the effort that they do. You can't pass to someone who is standing flat footed and looking the wrong way. We play best when our B graders get off their arse make themselves an option for match winners like Lindsay and Boomer.

He admitted after the game to Barry Hall he wasn't doing team things hence he was dropped, get your facts right before calling people idiots.
Not doing team things equals being selfish.

Couldn't stand this guy several years back, continually cocked up on-field, but over the last 3 years or so i've grown to love everything he does, his overall skill is huge, match winners are hard to come by and he is a match winner of the highest order. H wears his heart his sleeve, loves this footy club and i only wish some of our so called leaders showed/played with the same passion. You get to see the true character of a player when he is banished for a couple of weeks, since being back, i'm loving what i'm seeing

F...in Gun when he is on, was epic in those finals last year, seems to be getting back to that form.

I don't think he will ever get a free kick again only get soft frees payed against him.

It's nice watching him not trying to take mark of the year every contest now he has faith that Waite/Petrie/Brown will actually offer a contest and have a good chance of plucking it.

One of my favourite players, he looked lethal today and could have kicked more, but was very unselfish. Some of his selling the candy and handballs are sublime, wish he was a tiny bit bigger so he could play wing more

No, idiots.

Yeah, I've said this before. Selfish is handballing it to someone with just as much of a shot as you because you don't want to be responsible for missing.

F...in Gun when he is on, was epic in those finals last year, seems to be getting back to that form.

I don't think he will ever get a free kick again only get soft frees payed against him.

my favourite goal last week was the one were he got about 300 cm away from his defender and got a kick away in a millisecond. So talented. Loved when he said he was gutted to be dropped. Its true he is our soul man

Bump.

We need to address one of the elephants in the room. The frees have almost completely dried up, including the legitimate ones. I could be wrong or biased but it looks to me like his first instinct is still to try and get a set shot on goal thanks to a free. I can handle that. I don't like it but there are a dozen frees a game that are a result of the recipient 'helping' the process.

What I can't handle though is his defensive game. It's not good enough. Hasn't been for quite a while (with a few exceptions). Sometimes his defensive efforts rival Cyril's and are all you can ask for. All too often though they are either half-hearted or not there. I don't know the reason why. For all we know he's playing under incredible duress due to injuries/niggles; lets be honest he wouldn't be the first player for us to be playing (and badly at that) under those conditions.

The reason doesn't matter though. What does matter is winning finals. I was so hopeful about LT after he got dropped. Seeing him on the bench mentoring the other smalls when he was sub made me think the dropping had the desired effect; I think i was wrong though. As it stands I would prefer any of Garner, Turner, Harper (the last 2 games and the recent article give me hope), or even a slightly underdone Wells (mixing limited midfield minutes with playing as a smaller forward) playing his role.

Thoughts?

I have heard there is a chance he is headed back home to south Australia. Wouldn't be ideal but if his head and heart isn't here then will be for the best.

Sent from my GT-I9305 using Tapatalk

He was bloody horrible today and your right, his first instinct is to play for a free kick. Its not hard to fix, just go hard for the ball.

I reckon he will be dropped with Turner and Garner snapping at his heals.

Hands on his hips, staring at his feet and had his back to the play on far too many occasions today... absolute nothing game from him.

Sad to see from one of my favourite players.

Bump.

The reason doesn't matter though. What does matter is winning finals. I was so hopeful about LT after he got dropped. Seeing him on the bench mentoring the other smalls when he was sub made me think the dropping had the desired effect; I think i was wrong though. As it stands I would prefer any of Garner, Turner, Harper (the last 2 games and the recent article give me hope), or even a slightly underdone Wells (mixing limited midfield minutes with playing as a smaller forward) playing his role.

Thoughts?
Nah for mine none of them do as well as LT in the role, deserves his spot, shouldn't have been dropped he's a gun!

Past #12: Lindsay Thomas - released by NM to pursue rookie list spot at PA - thx4 everything Lindsay