AFL Player #12: Will Setterfield - Re-signed for 2025

I think you are right with Stringer. Perk could get into the role better and get more minutes but I think his goalkicking could be much more valuable, esp with Setterfield onboard, but yeah he has that x factor.

Out of Parish & Shiel, Shiel is the biggest worry for me. Still needs more consistency. Parish looked quite hungry in the GC game so hoping last week was the "don't get injured before round 1" week. Seems he wasn't alone accross the whole comp but thought he might have wanted to impress the new coach! Frustrating as his best is elite.

Mcgrath in emergency only.

It was an indictment on our midfield the Setterfield was best of the lot, but could be a massive addition imo.
Im quite happy with the position we're in with Parish

We won't be good this year, especially if he's not pushing beyond that 2021 form.
So if he isn't doing what we need, we test the FA waters and get a good pick. Or he does push beyond and we either keep him or same thing we get a decent pick for him.

Shiel would want to do better than he has in pre-season. he's looking very headless chook lately.

Still believe we can carry one of these guys in the side.
Parish makes more sense with where we're at. But he's also the better one to cash in on.

Thought Merrett was fine, 7 clearances and 400m gained plus equal leading tackler.

Parish & Shiel were poor though. Setterfield definitely has a spot there to make his own.
Merrett and Setterfield paired up quite well against the Saints and Suns.
i'd like to see Zach take it upon himself to push Shiel/Parish on expectations. Im fine to drop talent and cop losses for the sake of resetting the culture in the side.

Merrett and Setterfield paired up quite well against the Saints and Suns.
i'd like to see Zach take it upon himself to push Shiel/Parish on expectations. Im fine to drop talent and cop losses for the sake of resetting the culture in the side.

Looking forward to Hobbs & Tsatas being injury free and ready, keeps pressure on the rest of the midfielders to perform with some actual genuine mids pushing for spots.

I'm mindful of not overrating what Setterfield does just because we finally having a big guy doing it.

But it's hard to resist the idea that even if he is just fodder he is going to be an important player.

He's been influential so far but has also been very scrappy. I think it is fair to put that down to him essentially wearing the bulk of the physical load in the middle.

I'd like to see him with a bit of support to see what the rest of his game is like.

eDPS was right, Setterfield has the bull in him.

I don’t know if it’s strategy or coincidence that we have been grabbing discarded top 10 picks from other clubs.

Regardless, they are likely to are talented players who have upside we may or may not be able to unlock.

Wright needed confidence and the chance to get on the park.

Setterfield doesn’t have to change much, just needs the opportunity to play in his preferred position I reckon.

Weideman needs to toughen up and my hope is that the second half of his 20s brings him some natural gravitas & power advantages as if sometimes does for talls, and he starts throwing his weight around more.

I don’t know if it’s strategy or coincidence that we have been grabbing discarded top 10 picks from other clubs.

Regardless, they are likely to are talented players who have upside we may or may not be able to unlock.

Wright needed confidence and the chance to get on the park.

Setterfield doesn’t have to change much, just needs the opportunity to play in his preferred position I reckon.

Weideman needs to toughen up and my hope is that the second half of his 20s brings him some natural gravitas & power advantages as if sometimes does for talls, and he starts throwing his weight around more.
I kind of feel like Wright was a little soft too, so Weideman coming over might be an indicator that Weideman may have been inspired by him.

Dodoro was really big on Setterfield from memory?
Yeah I think it was Setterfield, McGrath and McClug we were tossing up with. Ironic that it’s Taranto that probs would have been the best fit 😂. We had the chance to get Setters from GWS but we were too preoccupied with Shiel and that’s when Setterfield went to Carlton.

I'm mindful of not overrating what Setterfield does just because we finally having a big guy doing it.

But it's hard to resist the idea that even if he is just fodder he is going to be an important player.

He's been influential so far but has also been very scrappy. I think it is fair to put that down to him essentially wearing the bulk of the physical load in the middle.

I'd like to see him with a bit of support to see what the rest of his game is like.

eDPS was right, Setterfield has the bull in him.
im happy for scrappy. Im not looking for a Cripps/Oliver out of him. Just someone who can do the role to the best of their ability because no one else in our side can do it at all.
The question/watchpoint for me now is can Perkins step in and play a role next to him
Draper Setterfield Perkins Merrett is a nice balance IF Perkins can step in and do what Stringer was able to in 2021.

Yeah I think it was Setterfield, McGrath and McClug we were tossing up with. Ironic that it’s Taranto that probs would have been the best fit 😂. We had the chance to get Setters from GWS but we were too preoccupied with Shiel and that’s when Setterfield went to Carlton.
Hindsight = Clug was the pick. Taranto a good pick (and my preference) but Clug fulfilled the promise.
And Setterfield should have been our target in 2018 over Shiel. Or both.

I think he'll be solid but can't say i'm seeing what others seem to be. I'd say he's someone who can play a role.

He is big and has a good mindset in close but still lacks some of the strength to dispose the ball as effectively as you'd hope while being tackled by smaller players. Also seems to instinctively dish off backwards a bit too much, which has reminded me somewhat of the great Nick O'Brien.

I think he'll be solid but can't say i'm seeing what others seem to be. I'd say he's someone who can play a role.

He is big and has a good mindset in close but still lacks some of the strength to dispose the ball as effectively as you'd hope while being tackled by smaller players. Also seems to instinctively dish off backwards a bit too much, which has reminded me somewhat of the great Nick O'Brien.
Exactly right.
Perhaps a reason we didn't bid in 2016 was he wasn't necessarily a #1 pick, but he knows how to stand up in congestion and support his midfield group. No one else on the list does that. So it's nice to have him in.

An issue with dishing off backwards is our midfield doesn't run that way. He'll figure it out :p

Not even sure that was hindsight to be honest, a lot were disappointed on Bigfooty/BBlitz.
It was almost as loud as the Steinberg over Parker pick.

McCluggage would look horrible with us, we'd all be sooking about why we picked yet another soft outside player. Basically what people are saying about Tsatas despite Tsatas having more of an inside game than McCluggage.

And McGrath would be VC at GWS right now and we'd be whinging about how we passed on the next Hodge

Only Hodge was the opposite of the panic merchant that Andy McGrath is.
It's like he holds his breath when he has the ball, and he can't breathe until he disposes of it.

McCluggage would still be doing his HFF apprenticeship with us, and would have done stints at HBF and Ruck.

Only Hodge was the opposite of the panic merchant that Andy McGrath is.
It's like he holds his breath when he has the ball, and he can't breathe until he disposes of it.
Would love to see early years McGrath come back, oozed confidence in his first few years after being drafted aswell

I’ve been wondering if his stints on the wing at carlton called for him to shed some weight so he can run more and now as a pure inside mid at essendon we need him to put on a few extra kgs of muscle

The running helps. He’s always where he needs to be before he needs to be there, providing the right option and seems to be regarded as a safe pair of hands already.

Rewatch the first quarter against St Kilda and keep an eye on who is at the stoppages. It’s interesting. He’s one that keeps popping up and you start to notice him.

Davey and Menzie have a similar effect of just being everywhere and doing good stuff. Also Weideman to some extent, although I’m still learning to recognise him. “Who the heck just laid that tackle.. oh. Huh?” BZT as well, whenever the pill is anywhere near half back.

AFL Player #12: Will Setterfield - Re-signed for 2025