Player Watch #13 Clayton Oliver – UNPRECEDENTED 4x B&F, 3x AA, 2x AFLCA Winner and Premiership Player (formerly)

OK, I've removed about three pages of posts.

Please do not use this thread to speculate about Oliver's private life – medical or otherwise.

Regardless of the veracity of your rumour, or what you know/have heard, if it's not public knowledge, just don't post it.

I don't want to turn this place into Demonland, but if you can't see the potential harm that this sort of rumour-spreading can cause (regardless of your intentions), then perhaps it's best if you take a bit of a break.

Thanks.

a huge dent on making the top 4 without him. I would say that he can't play round 1 now.
There is nearly 3 months between now and the start of the season. It is a bit early to rule him out. Also we won a lot of games without him this season, and a number of the games he played were only average, we are not a one player team. We can beat the Swans without him.

Appreciate you're new here (welcome!) but Danster's never wrong mate.
Oliver confirmed out for Round 1!!! Bookmark it!!!

There's seems to be issues with some/many distinguishing between 'one party' looking after the welfare of another as it may well should... and... looking after the big picture (itself )

Why is it some seem to think helping a lad through difficulties ( whether brought on by self or otherwise ) equates to handing out an obscene contract where plainly not warranted. ( but hey...that's how the MFC rolls.....we're not especially clever...very middle of road intelligence here )

Oliver is/will be of very limited use going forward. Get used to that. He won't be in the team photo holding up the next cup.
We missed the boat...the trade boat. We got suckered in to the "right thing" . There are actually TWO right things in this respect....right for Clayton....and right for us as a team/club. They may overlay but they ARE mutually independent by way of interest.

I feel genuinely sorry for the bloke. He's a mess. Not the first . He now not only DOESN'T impact the teams ability to function as designed...i.e...he's incapable of contributing.... but at same time DOES impact caps etc etc etc.

13.. unlucky for some

Wish him well...hope he gets better. Should be off OUR list.

There's seems to be issues with some/many distinguishing between 'one party' looking after the welfare of another as it may well should... and... looking after the big picture (itself )

Why is it some seem to think helping a lad through difficulties ( whether brought on by self or otherwise ) equates to handing out an obscene contract where plainly not warranted. ( but hey...that's how the MFC rolls.....we're not especially clever...very middle of road intelligence here )

Oliver is/will be of very limited use going forward. Get used to that. He won't be in the team photo holding up the next cup.
We missed the boat...the trade boat. We got suckered in to the "right thing" . There are actually TWO right things in this respect....right for Clayton....and right for us as a team/club. They may overlay but they ARE mutually independent by way of interest.

I feel genuinely sorry for the bloke. He's a mess. Not the first . He now not only DOESN'T impact the teams ability to function as designed...i.e...he's incapable of contributing.... but at same time DOES impact caps etc etc etc.

13.. unlucky for some

It took you over 14 years to make your first post after joining BF in 2009. Well worth the wait. Well said.

Disagree completely. Once you start dumping players whenever they hit a speed bump you start having trouble keeping players or attracting new ones. If we want the players to give their all in playing for the club and each other, that has to go two ways. Just as players can't decide "when to go" or not, same with the club.

Absolutely correct, and if you've paid attention the last few years it's clear the AFL landscape has shifted in terms of doing all they can to fix their investment rather than dump it. Collingwood and North are obvious recent examples of this.

The days of dumping a gun player with issues just so another team can pick them up for nothing are gone.

Absolutely correct, and if you've paid attention the last few years it's clear the AFL landscape has shifted in terms of doing all they can to fix their investment rather than dump it. Collingwood and North are obvious recent examples of this.

The days of dumping a gun player with issues just so another team can pick them up for nothing are gone.
Yep, glad we are supporting Oliver. Shipping him off isn't going to solve the problems he has. Probably untradeable now anyway. I highly doubt any club would have traded for him after a physical/meeting etc. So its a moot point. Hope he gets back to a healthy place. Guys a gun when up and about

Not sure if Collingwood with DeGoey is the best example because we also let go/pushed out Treloar, Stephenson, Philips and Grundy to fix our issues with the cap and it sort of worked. You could also argue that getting back Dayne Beams in 2019 with his mental health issues caused a lot of our salary cap issues.

Anyway I understand if this post gets deleted because of the thread rules.

Not sure if Collingwood with DeGoey is the best example because we also let go/pushed out Treloar, Stephenson, Philips and Grundy to fix our issues with the cap and it sort of worked. You could also argue that getting back Dayne Beams in 2019 with his mental health issues caused a lot of our salary cap issues.

Fixing issues with the cap is a bit different to dumping a player because they have 'issues' though. DeGoey I don't think was on the level that Oliver is on right now.

Maybe the fact we gave him a long contract means we feel we have to stand by him during his issues. Would we be standing by him if he was a fringe player or out of contract next season? Not sure. I'd like to think we would, but I dare say the answer is no. IMO we have a duty of care here. Happy to get shot down for that, but I remember a bloke back in my late junior days of country footy having drug issues. Footy club got around him and now he's a very successful entrepreneur. Sometimes the best place to be is around the club with your mates who care for you. Dumping the bloke and trading him for peanuts could have a hugely negative affect. His issues aren't necessarily going away in a new environment. With the contract we offered, and with his close mates at the club, i reckon his best chance to get back to his best is at the Dees. Maybe we only give it 12 months, who knows. Sounds like he's burnt some bridges, so the welcome mat only extends so far, but I'm happy with us sticking by him for now.

Also De Goeys issues were way over played.

I'm talking more personal issues and off field troubles, salary cap issues are a whole other kettle of fish.

Timing wise, I reckon the DeGoey one was a major turning point in what we saw from clubs. The Pies really stuck by him despite all the noise.

I'm talking more personal issues and off field troubles, salary cap issues are a whole other kettle of fish.

Timing wise, I reckon the DeGoey one was a major turning point in what we saw from clubs. The Pies really stuck by him despite all the noise.

They stuck by him mostly, The New York incident in my opinion we turned out back on him after knowing that he wouldn't be charged, it was to please the media.

The New York incident was pretty overblown, they had a private booth at a night club, girls kept coming in and one in particular kept coming in grabbing 2 drinks walking out and giving to her partner.

They told her to stop, security told her to stop, the partner started Degoey and the mate, unfortunately the mate was an idiot and assaulted the girls partner after he walked into private area and approached them aggressively,

Degoey and the guy who did the wrong thing were not even kicked out, the couple did get kicked out and hours later they were arrested.

The Bali incident was stupid had a photo taken with an Instagram model that he was having good time with, she loved it, her friend took the photo, Degoey cracked it and had nothing to do with her after the trip.

He has stuffed up with drink driving and the Dog punch bar incident and really needed to figure out who he should hang out with, I personally know couple people he knocks around with, Jordy started to focus on real estate and motor cross all while cutting off alot of people who just seemed to get him in awkward situations.

Never any gambling or substance issues (that's not saying he hasn't done both) just being in stupid situations.

I hope this post comes across in the right way not trying to cause any issues, this situation with Oliver has a real Dayne Beams feel about it, I had a fair bit of info on Beams that Pie supporters wouldn't accept until it all started to come out.

Oliver is a far better person then Dayne who by far is one of the biggest pieces of crap you'll meet, I hope he gets back, have had in my Supercoach keeper team for 3 years love how he goes about it.

They stuck by him mostly, The New York incident in my opinion we turned out back on him after knowing that he wouldn't be charged, it was to please the media.

The New York incident was pretty overblown, they had a private booth at a night club, girls kept coming in and one in particular kept coming in grabbing 2 drinks walking out and giving to her partner.

They told her to stop, security told her to stop, the partner started Degoey and the mate, unfortunately the mate was an idiot and assaulted the girls partner after he walked into private area and approached them aggressively,

Degoey and the guy who did the wrong thing were not even kicked out, the couple did get kicked out and hours later they were arrested.

The Bali incident was stupid had a photo taken with an Instagram model that he was having good time with, she loved it, her friend took the photo, Degoey cracked it and had nothing to do with her after the trip.

He has stuffed up with drink driving and the Dog punch bar incident and really needed to figure out who he should hang out with, I personally know couple people he knocks around with, Jordy started to focus on real estate and motor cross all while cutting off alot of people who just seemed to get him in awkward situations.

Never any gambling or substance issues (that's not saying he hasn't done both) just being in stupid situations.

I hope this post comes across in the right way not trying to cause any issues, this situation with Oliver has a real Dayne Beams feel about it, I had a fair bit of info on Beams that Pie supporters wouldn't accept until it all started to come out.

Oliver is a far better person then Dayne who by far is one of the biggest pieces of crap you'll meet, I hope he gets back, have had in my Supercoach keeper team for 3 years love how he goes about it.
De Goeys also good mates with young UFC prospect Jack Jenkins and trains with him now aswell. The MMA gym crowd is a great influence

The only way Oliver is playing elsewhere beyond next year would be him walking away from the contract or taking a pay cut or the contract being torn up due to breaching it. I assume that’s pretty hard to do though. He’s on too much money for another club to take on. And we wouldn’t be paying a massive chunk for 6 years.
I think we’ll back him in to take the time off and get right. The support is there from the club.
The issues are probably deeper than we know. People speculate but I don’t think anyone has given us much concrete info. From track watchers seemed he was in good spirits a few weeks back and was keen to work hard to get back in shape.

Wasn't comparing the issues of Oliver and DeGoey. Plus, let's remember those weren't the only incidents involving DeGoey, there was also the assault charge, the drink driving, the broken hand he lied about, he was well and truly in the 'troubled star' category, it wasn't just two minor unlucky incidents.

Just pointing out that the days of dumping a 'troubled star' are all but over IMO. Clubs will now look to support them through it whilst protecting their investment. Doesn't mean there's not a line, but it's a different atmosphere now to the days when gun players were traded for peanuts due to a couple of off field indiscretions.

dude, you said Grundy was going to be a good pick for us...speaks for itself.
Dan, I’m sorry to say this but you are actually the biggest nuffy on bigfooty. I don’t even need to find a quote to prove it, everyone with a functiong braincell understands this already. Here and on the mainboard. Arguing with you is utterly pointless so I’ll abstain, as I always do.

I will add though that I’m genuinely embarrassed to follow the same club as someone as stupid as you.

Merry Christmas!

Player Watch #13 Clayton Oliver – UNPRECEDENTED 4x B&F, 3x AA, 2x AFLCA Winner and Premiership Player (formerly)