Past #14: Gavin Urquhart - delisted at end 11 season, re-listed as rookie, re-de-listed at end '12 season

Some of the destructive posts on the board after yesterday's game sicken me.

We had quite a few passengers yesterday so let us not single anyone out.
It was the first game under a new coach, which unfortunately had to be carried out in shocking conditions- not helpful.
However considering how badly Melb and Richmond carried out their new game plans we are stand alone winners.

Our boys got the wake up call they needed after half time and we started to see what they are capable of if they stick to the coach's instructions.

There is a huge upside for improvement and whilst fighting back from a 50 point deficit is no way to win a game, our boys fought back and kept Port from destroying us on the scoreboard.

Under Laidley the 50 point deficit would have increased not decreased. This fight back was something I needed to see - it is onwards and upwards from here with the new game plan.
So to all the knockers please be patient for awhile before you go slagging the coach and individual players to an unnecessary extreme.
Give them all time to settle and adapt- remember NEW GAME NEW ERA

GO ROOS:thumbsu::footy:

I know that mate, however by my reckoning, he only got 1 on Lachie.

He kicked the other on Hunter (who BTW has had better games)

Lachie had him for about 80% of the match.

0 goals conceded by Lachie in my book.

Tredrea kicked one on Thompson and got the other from a holding the ball on Rawlings. Hansen beat him in almost every contest. Tredders got a few cheap marks on him up the ground.

The free ride is over.

White has been playing good VFL footy for over 12 months now.

Wells, Harvey, Anthony, Ziebell, Swallow are all playing in the same side, Bastinac and Cunnington pushing in too, which means guys like Harding have to be pushed to other positions.

Also his inability to grab his opportunity in the midfield, means that opportunity has now passed.

Id much prefer to see the minutes pumped into Bastinac and Cunnington in those positions.

MacMillan has a fairly AFL ready body as well.

Pratt, Firrito, Wright, Grima, McMahon are pushing for spots in the defensive half.

He is in alot of trouble imo.

Agree 100%.

Also, i thought Hansen was very servicable, not sure how he could be rated poorly on yesterday's performance.

On the other hand, we were f'n terrible in the first 70 minutes. Scotty T & Spitter had their worst games i can remember bar their first few yet we still only lost by 14 away from home. That's a big positive for me.

Did he get a run in the centre square?

He can't handle the pressure when he is on his own, what makes you think that would change in the middle with 10 people around him?

Until he stops fumbling, taking the wrong option and turning it over he plays in the VFL. If he was hard at it and giving it 100% I would tolerate it but he doesn't even do that. As much as Pratt turns it over at least he will put his body on the line.

Some of the destructive posts on the board after yesterday's game sicken me.

We had quite a few passengers yesterday so let us not single anyone out.
It was the first game under a new coach, which unfortunately had to be carried out in shocking conditions- not helpful.
However considering how badly Melb and Richmond carried out their new game plans we are stand alone winners.

KL, this is not about not following team rules, this is about a player who refuses to put his body on the line, this is a player who continues to make bad decision and this is a player who continues to fumble and turn it over. This is not a one off occurrence, this is a trend since the start of last year. At his current standard, he should not be in the team until such time he is prepared to lift his standards. He is coasting so he can coast in the VFL. I saw two pre season games live this year and he did not impress at all in any of those games.

He can't handle the pressure when he is on his own, what makes you think that would change in the middle with 10 people around him?

Until he stops fumbling, taking the wrong option and turning it over he plays in the VFL. If he was hard at it and giving it 100% I would tolerate it but he doesn't even do that. As much as Pratt turns it over at least he will put his body on the line.

Yep, absolutely. The problem with Gav (and Wells) is that people forget they grew up playing in the centre. Gav looks more comfortable in a pack than out in space because it is pure instinct. Wells is the same, want him to be star, stop protecting him!

While gav had an ordinary start is there an option of playing wright up forward were he has played a lot of his junior footy and play gav as a running half back

I have several questions. How many of you experts have actually played footy at this elite level? How many of you attend team meetings where strategies are discussed? How many of you are aware of instructions given to players? Seems to me your observations are made on a shallow knowledge base. If you are a true Kangas supporter, look at positive plays and stop the uninformed criticism made from the stands!

Seems to me your observations are made on a shallow knowledge base. If you are a true Kangas supporter, look at positive plays and stop the uninformed criticism made from the stands!

But that'd remove 80% of all posts on our board plympton.

I have several questions. How many of you experts have actually played footy at this elite level? How many of you attend team meetings where strategies are discussed? How many of you are aware of instructions given to players? Seems to me your observations are made on a shallow knowledge base. If you are a true Kangas supporter, look at positive plays and stop the uninformed criticism made from the stands!

I don't know about everyone else but we've all played footy at the elite level, except for giantroo. He's played it at the Official Level only.

My advice is to not read bigfooty if you think it might upset you. If only I could take that advice myself...

I watch footy at an elite level. Does that count?

Who's going to play on Riewoldt this week... I think we need him to do his Hammy early in the game .... (Hansen???????) .... we tend to match up alright agains the Saints, reckon we will give them a big fright...
Probably a combination of Grima and Hansen rotating I reckon karjam. Roo has a huge motor and has developed it over many years. Both Grima and Hansen can run hard and long so should be able to keep up, if not outlast Roo. The main thing with Roo is that as long as he gets his kicks on the wing we should be in with a shot. Making sure that he doesn't get loose in the front half by wearing out his opponent is imperative.

I have several questions. How many of you experts have actually played footy at this elite level? How many of you attend team meetings where strategies are discussed? How many of you are aware of instructions given to players?

I don't think we've ever really done an official head count. :scratches inner scrotum

I am Sam Powers.

Gav struggled. He was so sure with his hands when he debuted, where has it gone.
Wright was poor, but he'll learn.
Wells jibbed a contest by reaching instead of putting his body on the line. He was very disappointing.
Swallow battled, but he was trying his guts out.
Thompson really struggled, Ebert had his measure today.
I think our backline is far better with Grima down there.
AS for Hansen, anyone bagging him has no idea at all.
Blanketed Tredrea and offered some run.
Was our best in the first half.

I know the contest your refering to with wells but as I see it we dont need wells to be smashing head on into packs. Carlisle was the bloke inthe contest who has 20 kilos on wells . The last thing we need wells to do is get smashed and we dont expect him to play like that either. I could see his thought process in trying to knock the ball from carlisles reach and get back onto it . Some players have to play like that there not all suicidal like ziebell warren etc. I think were best served by wells getting into space and out of harms way . His light frame enables him to do his tricks and we cant have it both ways . Let the others do the smash and grabs and get it out to him .I can live with a couple of contests like that for majic he brings the other way .

Well said, Shinbones. This captures my view on the incident perfectly. At the time, Carlisle was hitting the contest from well back and had heaps of momentum. I was glad Wellsy didn't jump in front of him, but tried to flick the ball out. It didn't work, but jumping in front of Carlisle would've been 20 times worse.

On Wellsy, I thought he was in for a big one as he was in a lot of contests in the 1st quarter. I was a little disappointed with him fading out of the game, but on the other hand, what can we expect with him having played so little football. Plus the conditions didn't help.

Wellsy's in for a big season - keep the faith.

I would suggest you got to Fort Apache and spew your vitriol there. That is if you are in fact a Carlton supporter.

Good post, plympton. I reckon a few of the posters sticking up for Gav would have to admit they don't know what they're talking about.

I've seen enough of this guy now to say he is not up to AFL standard. Turns it over, soft, panics and fumbles which is a recipe for shitness.

Time for him to play VFL and bring in someone who at least can go in hard and make a contest and not be a witches hat like Gav.

Terribly disappointing:thumbsdown:

He shouldn't have been in the side for round 1. He should have been a late withdrawel, because he simply can't play wet weather footy. I am not his biggest fan and never have been. I went to the game on sunday at AAMI and had seats in the members with a great view and I have watched the replay. I walked away from the game saying this??

Ill take a 14 point loss after being 50 pts behind

I Hate having an interstate game in round 1

Bring on St Kilda and I hope Koschitzke gets rubbed out

Shit day for footy

Did Swallow even play today. Was he a late withdrawel??

Why did blokes try and take marks in their hands when they are by themselves in the terrible conditions.

The backline just needs to play the percentages more often

Players had very poor body language at times for AFL footballers

Warren takes an impossible mark one minute and drops a chest mark the next. He needs to get consistancy and do the basics better, but he has endeavour.

I love Ziebell

I have a man crush on Anthony

Daniel Wells is so over rated and very soft

Boomer is going to have a big year

Petrie a huge loss

You can be an outsidish type but you should be able to take the hits and when it's your time to go then you've gotta. You can't just try and do something fancy because you're a receiver and that's what you do then muck it up and discourage the rest of the team from putting their head over the ball. It's just rubbish. I'm prepared to cut a little slack for Wells for now though.

Past #14: Gavin Urquhart - delisted at end 11 season, re-listed as rookie, re-de-listed at end '12 season