Player Watch #17 Maurice Rioli Jnr Re-Signed 2026

Didn't think he was as bad as everyone is making out.
That handball to Pickett for a goal in the last was sublime.
Certainly Maurice wasn't great though.

I feel he feels nervous when he has the ball. Confused even. When there is superstars around him, he probably feels the need to give it to them.

akin to rodan next to richo
Hopefully with more time his confidence will approve. I would like to think this off season he will put in a lot of hard work and have a good 2024. Talks of delisting are pure rubbish.

I wonder of the same posters saying its not a big deal and defending him etc would do the same if he played for the Cats or Pies? Lemme answer for you.

No they wouldnt.
Spot on. I am sure everyone has got around him. Just unfortunate it was caught on camera.

People can't see the forest for the trees. The sooking is borderline irrelevant. What's not irrelevant is his form across all levels. Total of 2 goals both in round 1 (1 was a Joe the goose) none since. 14 games total for the season. None has he played remotely well.... But his bloody opponents are carving him up. He's missing shots from 15-20m out by miles barely scraping through for a point or missing altogether.

He can't hit a teammate from 15m away, can't mark, can't break free gets run down. And plenty of times the Brothers try bring him in the game but he constantly fluffs it. I would've loved to see Knights, Turner's, Lambert's, Broderick, Weightmans etc sons playing AFL in Yellow and Black but the club deemed them not up to scratch fair enough. HTF is MRJ getting deemed up to snuff when his 4 reserves games have been equally as putrid as his seniors games?

The penny may drop and he may become a player one day. But right now he should be grateful to be even getting a reserves game and probably embarrassed to be selected for seniors cos he's making Aarts, Castagna and Mansell look like Leigh Matthews. Difference being those players are hacks but desperate and played their ass off. MRJ is coasting on his dad's coat tails. He'd wanna show up first day of preseason without the gut and maybe some muscle definition and fitness under his belt.

People were happy to lay the boots into Patty Naish, he was dominating at reserves winning BnF's and finished 4th in the Frosty Miller/ Brownlow? Whilst missing a handful of games playing seniors. Can't remember Naish getting more than 2 games on the trot then dropped. MRJ is getting gifted the entire year cos he certainly hasn't bloody earnt it.
This is bizarre. You're saying he's getting games only because of his last name and then list countless examples of the club clearly not gifting games to players because of their last name. You can't have it both ways?

Genuinely surprised this has generated this much discussion - ok, was caught on camera so media will see it as an opportunity for a 'small' story line, but will be dealt with and be forgotten in a couple of days.

Kid has had a stop start season, in and out, sub and not sub, injured - really should not have been selected as often as he has but that's not his fault is it?

Was certainly pissed off with being hooked and to some degree also probably with his form, was sitting and stewing about it and made a bad call to not take the phone.
An immature mistake - will be spoken to by coaches and peers and will learn, likely to drop back to the VFL for Mansell anyway and hopefully be given a good month if not the rest of the year there to actually develop his game.

I wonder if the same posters saying its not a big deal and defending him etc would do the same if he played for the Cats or Pies? Lemme answer for you.

No they wouldnt.
I suspect for most of us it wouldn't register, wouldn't care one or way or another. I for one don't live and breath what players from other clubs do, unless it's unbelievably egregious, is someone especially unlikeable (so yeah half the Geelong list is valid) or affects us in some way. So I for one wouldn't care, and but even if I did I wouldn't go out of my way to crucify that said hypothetical non-Richmond player. For what it's worth I didn't especially like what Rioli did, but I can understand why he did it and at least unlike say a Sydney Stack, he seems to care about his football.

His being gifted games and his form doesn't warrant it be nice if Cumberland had the same opportunity's.
Had opportunities. Cumberland doesn’t do what MRJ does. Doesn’t chase, stuffs up and drops his head. That’s why he isn’t getting games, not because of his ability or talent.
Both having ordinary years.

Genuinely surprised this has generated this much discussion - ok, was caught on camera so media will see it as an opportunity for a 'small' story line, but will be dealt with and be forgotten in a couple of days.

Kid has had a stop start season, in and out, sub and not sub, injured - really should not have been selected as often as he has but that's not his fault is it?

Was certainly pissed off with being hooked and to some degree also probably with his form, was sitting and stewing about it and made a bad call to not take the phone.
An immature mistake - will be spoken to by coaches and peers and will learn, likely to drop back to the VFL for Mansell anyway and hopefully be given a good month if not the rest of the year there to actually develop his game.

Put simply, it might not normally have been much of a problem or issue.
But when you serve up utter shite on the field - and let's not mask it, he was ultra-poor on Sunday - you invite the scrutiny.

I wonder if the same posters saying its not a big deal and defending him etc would do the same if he played for the Cats or Pies? Lemme answer for you.

No they wouldnt.
Why would anyone care if he played for the Cats or Pies?

I suspect for most of us it wouldn't register, wouldn't care one or way or another. I for one don't live and breath what players from other clubs do, unless it's unbelievably egregious, is someone especially unlikeable (so yeah half the Geelong list is valid) or affects us in some way. So I for one wouldn't care, and but even if I did I wouldn't go out of my way to crucify that said hypothetical non-Richmond player. For what it's worth I didn't especially like what Rioli did, but I can understand why he did it and at least unlike say a Sydney Stack, he seems to care about his football.
It obviously depends on the players standing. Richo’s behaviour on field was far worse over a long period of time, but he generally got away with it because of what he could produce.

Why would anyone care if he played for the Cats or Pies?
You dont think oppo supporters look for reasons to shit can other clubs, throwing our comments like poor culture etc.

You must be new to this place, welcome.

The small forward position is also a career killer at Richmond.

George maligned untill he quit the game.
Daniel rioli absolutely copped it when he played there later in his time down there. People wanted him traded / delisted as well. Which was absolutely insane, always an obviously extremely talented footballer.
Butler copped it.
Cumberland is starting too as well now.
And now MRJ.

Footy isn’t enjoyable when your role isn’t to find the ball/hit the scoreboard

Club needs to change this

This post is a puss-weeping mess.

Maurice has played 8 games this seasons, not 14.

Who are these opponents who are carving him up? Hint: if he wasn't doing his role defensively he simply would not be getting selected.

Can't hit a team-mate from 15m...but has 5 goal assists in about 7 games worth of time on ground.

Can't break free but ran bouncing the ball and evading players as recently as yesterday.

To answer your fairly dumb question about how he is getting picked....because he is the best pressure forward at the club and possibly as good as any in the competition. This is one reason why we win a lot more games when he plays than we win when he does not play.

In your world the best pressure player isn't worth as much as a rank kick chaser. You are way out of touch.

Total means including reserves and preseason games. He can't even get a kick in the Magoo's against tired part timers who work as tradies 40 hours a week. Castagna and Aarts could even dominate Magoo's. I'm not sure MRJ could get a kick in amateurs ATM. As I said previously Short kicked 2 goals in 5 minutes from the backline without setting foot in the F50. The brothers have tried squaring up to gift MRJ opportunities but he can't take simple marks or he misses when he has a shot. Do you even realise he's been putrid in Magoo's only getting 2 or 3 effective disposals and 0.0?

This is bizarre. You're saying he's getting games only because of his last name and then list countless examples of the club clearly not gifting games to players because of their last name. You can't have it both ways?

You're an imbecile. I'm saying the club deemed other father sons unworthy fair enough. Learn to read and process.

No they wouldnt.
Or if Castagna or Aarts did it last year

Player Watch #17 Maurice Rioli Jnr Re-Signed 2026