1st round Adelaide v Hawthorn...Ur thoughts?

The last time I went to AAMI in 08, when Hodgey kicked that winner, we were nearly in 3 punch ons, just walking into the ground. The game had not even started yet. And after the game, well, I tell ya, they are very sore losers over there.

And they get more heated when you ignore their bs!

We will decide when we get over there. Plus $29 for general admin.....bit steep!

Well the last time my family and I saw us play Hawthorn in Melbourne, my wife and 2 yo daughter, while waiting for me to go to the loo after the game, had abuse hurled at them and were spat on by about a dozen very brave hawks men.....so how about we just agree that every ream has them:rolleyes:

I totally agree with you. Go to a Collingwood game, then you will know FERAL!

Surely attending this match is a no-brainer mate? People are flying from all over the country (myself included) to attend this game, and many who aren't would kill to be there. But you'll happen to be in the same state and are only thinking of going? :confused: I know what AAMI is like but if you head in and out with Hawks fans, and watch the game amongst Hawks fans, there shouldn't be many problems - there will be plenty of us there.

And about the whole $29 thing... you serious? $29 to watch the Hawks kick-start their season on enemy territory is not what I'd consider a rip-off. I reckon I'd pay double that in a flash.

Not defending such behaviour, but it may have been brought on by the ****wit Crows fans attending games in Melbourne. Not to tar you all with a same brush, but the last game at the G, a group of 6 or 7 of your fans made a 'guard of honour' to jeer Hawthorn supporters out of the game, because our team had lost.

I wouldn't even rank Collingwood fans that low to do that.

My thoughts are this:

when you get a group of several thousand people in one place, where the idea is to yell and scream and clap and cheer every time your team does something good, and there is a 95/5 split of team representative in the crowd the 5 is going to cop a lot.

The colours don't matter.

Anyway - back to the game at hand. I think we'll surprise ourselves and win by six goals. The crows are doing some memorial service for their 20th anniversary of being in the league and those things rarely repeat themselves just because someone has decided to mark the occasion.

Without Bock there Buddy is going to enjoy showing a young crow what the big league is all about. Rioli and Burgoyne WILL dominate.

Enjoy!

Whilst we are a considerably better side than the Crows they are still very hard to beat on their own dunghill this combined with the fact we are very poor [ read mentally weak] away from melbourne means this game will be very close and could go either way. If we are to be a force these are the games we have to win, we have to start winning when all things are not in our favor such as travel , underdone Hodge etc.., this club must become ruthless again , the killer instinct is what has been missing these past few years, lets hope saturday these things can be restored.

And you know what happened 20 years ago. I think the Adelaide players and crowd will be up for this.

As I said in the post above, these things rarely repeat the way the organisers want them to. Sport just isn't that poetic.

Adelaide will not win by 14 goals this time. If they win it will be between 1-6 goals. If they lose it will be by a similar amount, but all this retrospective crap can really bring a side undone. It's a distraction.

Remember Port's tribute to it's heroes of yesteryear? The side got pumped and it literally rained on their parade. Embarrassing day out. Would love to deliver the same kind of stunned silence to the Adelaide crowd on Saturday night.

Would love it even more if we won the game with a little Hodgey sidestep like our last victory over there! Who's got the footage???

Really looking forward to this.

While I'm quietly confident on one hand, I'm nervous on the other knowing what could happen if the Hawks talent shows up ready to roll. In other words, I don't know who will win.....must be footy season.

Going to come down to a battle of midfield clearance and midfield defence. If we can move it through the middle quick enough to exposure lots of 1on1's in the forward line, we'll be damaging. However, if you slow us up and force turnover, you may have too much firepower in the way of attacking mids and forward talent.

Really looking forward to see how Philthy goes on Buddy.

Really looking forward to this.

While I'm quietly confident on one hand, I'm nervous on the other knowing what could happen if the Hawks talent shows up ready to roll. In other words, I don't know who will win.....must be footy season.

Going to come down to a battle of midfield clearance and midfield defence. If we can move it through the middle quick enough to exposure lots of 1on1's in the forward line, we'll be damaging. However, if you slow us up and force turnover, you may have too much firepower in the way of attacking mids and forward talent.

Really looking forward to see how Philthy goes on Buddy.

just quoting so i can say.... DEFTONES!!!

Sorry all, good post though, carry on....:eek:

We should, and will win. Talk on the Crows board is that Phil Davis will line-up on Franko. I know he's a highly rated kid but expect Franklin to turn him inside out, if true.

Go Hawks!

No, the 60, 70 and 80 year anniversaries cancel that out. :)
And they would be the most recent Richmond premierships would they Ron? :)

We have all the major anniversary Premierships in 2011.
50 years
40 years
25 years
20 years
3 years (well that's not really a big one...)

If we hadn't lost by a goal to essendon in 2001 Prelim, we may have also had a 10 year one too. That would have been nice symetry. Bloody Umpires stole that one. :thumbsdown:

Maybe it wouldn't be so terrible if we lost this one.

As noted in the Hawks Footy Flashbacks:

1991 was part of an amazing sequence of Round 1 results in the years 1987 to 1997. The only three seasons in which the Hawks lost in Round 1 (1988, 1989 and 1991) were also the only three when they went on to win the flag.

Hawks also lost round one in 1961. But I think we'll beat the Bumblebees.