Player Watch #20 Sam Reid

Sam_Reid_2017.6.jpg

Sam Reid

Sam Reid’s outstanding athleticism and strong contested grab make him a genuine threat inside 50. The 2012 premiership forward showed exactly that when he booted six goals in the Sydney Swans’ clash with Collingwood in Mark Grook at the SCG to win the 2019 Goodes-O’Loughlin Medal. The 2009 draftee can also play as a loose man in defence or pinch-hit in the ruck. Reid has had very little luck on the injury front in his time in red and white, but he didn’t miss an AFL match in 2019. He’s played 143 career games at the top level for a return of 154 goals.

Sam Reid
DOB: 27 December 1991
DEBUT: 2010
DRAFT: #38, 2009 National Draft
RECRUITED FROM: Wangaratta Rovers (Vic)/Murray U18

Has showed tremendous resilience to come back from injury so many times in his career. Particularly after 2019 when he'd had such a solid year. His kicking for goal has been a weakness since which is such a shame, as I reckon he has a lot of the aspects you want in a modern key forward. If he can continue his round the ground effort each week I'm sure the goals will come purely from a confidence perspective.

I hope he manages to buck the trend this time around... But he's currently in the "performing consistently" phase in the cycle, which comes after a period of inconsistent performances while he builds back his fitness after returning from injury. I hope he manages to avoid injury and continues to contribute consistently.

Has showed tremendous resilience to come back from injury so many times in his career. Particularly after 2019 when he'd had such a solid year. His kicking for goal has been a weakness since which is such a shame, as I reckon he has a lot of the aspects you want in a modern key forward. If he can continue his round the ground effort each week I'm sure the goals will come purely from a confidence perspective
Let's set the record straight on Reid, once and for all. Reid kicks as well or better for goal than half of our regular goal kickers. At 58% he's a better kick for goal than Papley, McDonald, Amartey, Bell, Wicks and Warner. Buddy is only 1% better at 59%. Mclean, Ronke, Heeney and Hayward kick a bit straighter than Reid but Sam still kicks more goals/game than either McLean or Ronke do.

When he's not kicking an early goal or two to get the team going, as he's done the past couple of games, Reid still brings intensity from the opening bounce. His work around the ground, particularly on Gawn, was Reid doing what he does best. He's a smart user of the ball and he bleeds red and white.

No.1 total contested marks per game
No1. total tackles inside 50 per game
No.3 in total tackles per game
No.3 in total hitouts per game
No.5 in marks inside 50 per game
No.6 in one percenters/game

The only knock on Reid is he's missed about 1/3 of possible games since debut. Big guys who go hard at ground level and crash the packs tend to get injured. Reid's could never be accused of lacking courage.

Why does it take a commentator to remind Swans fans what they should've known all along?

I will never trust Sam Reid again, be it on the ground, rehab or drive thru.

He erred on Ch7 by saying he had trained harder. Many of his injuries have been soft tissue related. Many inc me had given him passes for the injuries but here he was saying he could have done better.

Sam would have benefited from being dropped years ago. He was a Horse favourite which meant he had the decade long pass card to play like a steaming pile on match day.

His form always seems to peak at contract renewal time. If he is retained next year it should be on or near minimum chips. No other Club will touch him. Personally I would have him on week to week casual employment.

I will never trust Sam Reid again, be it on the ground, rehab or drive thru.

He erred on Ch7 by saying he had trained harder. Many of his injuries have been soft tissue related. Many inc me had given him passes for the injuries but here he was saying he could have done better.

Sam would have benefited from being dropped years ago. He was a Horse favourite which meant he had the decade long pass card to play like a steaming pile on match day.

His form always seems to peak at contract renewal time. If he is retained next year it should be on or near minimum chips. No other Club will touch him. Personally I would have him on week to week casual employment.
You're entitled to your opinion... BUT the 'Horse favourite' bit is just rubbish, in MY opinion!

The idea that the whole selection committee colludes with Horse to allow him to play his favourites each week is just laughable in my opinion. All of these people would be on bonuses for wins and where they finish in the season, and you're thinking they throw that away to allow Horse to play his favourites...

You're entitled to your opinion... BUT the 'Horse favourite' bit is just rubbish, in MY opinion!

The idea that the whole selection committee colludes with Horse to allow him to play his favourites each week is just laughable in my opinion. All of these people would be on bonuses for wins and where they finish in the season, and you're thinking they throw that away to allow Horse to play his favourites...

Horse learnt a hard lesson with the Grohan and Read. Selected them on auto pilot for years, irrespective of form.

The Grohan was finally dropped for a game v Bris and named as sub. He spat the dummy and withdrew. It was the beginning of the end for him with us.

Read's admission that he had worked harder on his fitness was a stunner. For someone prone to soft tissue injuries not working as hard as possible suggested a level of complacency. Umpteen times he has disappeared in games and/or missed goals that took momentum away.

For a couple of seasons he worked on his accuracy and results improved. It has fallen away the past few seasons. Someone compared his accuracy with others and it looked ok. The difference is most of his attempts are set shots. It is ludicrous to compare him with Papley or Buddy who have more shots in general play.

I think Read got the message last year. There was no interest in the trade period and he took a one year contract. Maybe he should always have been on one or two year contracts. At his best he is a B Grade player IMV. At any event he had a 'breakout game' v the Dees and people are seeing him as an every week weapon and best 22.

I really do not get it.

We have paid overs for him. I dont know the numbers but interest from the Pies and other Melbourne clubs drove his price up as a young forward. He owes the Club big time.

Horse learnt a hard lesson with the Grohan and Read. Selected them on auto pilot for years, irrespective of form.

The Grohan was finally dropped for a game v Bris and named as sub. He spat the dummy and withdrew. It was the beginning of the end for him with us.

Read's admission that he had worked harder on his fitness was a stunner. For someone prone to soft tissue injuries not working as hard as possible suggested a level of complacency. Umpteen times he has disappeared in games and/or missed goals that took momentum away.

For a couple of seasons he worked on his accuracy and results improved. It has fallen away the past few seasons. Someone compared his accuracy with others and it looked ok. The difference is most of his attempts are set shots. It is ludicrous to compare him with Papley or Buddy who have more shots in general play.

I think Read got the message last year. There was no interest in the trade period and he took a one year contract. Maybe he should always have been on one or two year contracts. At his best he is a B Grade player IMV. At any event he had a 'breakout game' v the Dees and people are seeing him as an every week weapon and best 22.

I really do not get it.

We have paid overs for him. I dont know the numbers but interest from the Pies and other Melbourne clubs drove his price up as a young forward.
Mate, I get it... I may not agree with all or even any of it, but I do get it... (You all rave over COR, and I just don't see it...)

I absolutely agree that it's useless to compare him to Buddy or Papley, because: 1. NOONE compares to Buddy; and 2. Reid and Papley play different roles. But I also think you can't compare him to Rowan either.

But my basic view of both Horse and Reid, and their respective roles, is completely different to yours.

Whatever Reid was paid as a young forward, there is no real evidence to indicate that he has been overpaid at all since then. It's just conjecture and media beat ups. If your view is that he should have been delisted in '16 or '17, then we'll have to agree to disagree. I think he has played a role for us, and that he has been excellent at that role, and I think it is most likely he has been compensated accordingly.

If he has a strong stretch of form and stays fit, and we can make use of it keeping the team balanced, then I think we will. But he is definitely on the way out...

Just as a point of interest, I was listening to Buckley talk the other day, and he was saying he played his best football between 28 and 32. It was the point in time in which his knowledge, experience, and physical capacity all came into balance. Now, I'm not comparing Reid and Buckley, just noting that Reid has been displaying some of his best ever form in his later years. Will it continue, I don't know... but if it doesn't, first the first time in a very long time, there are others who might be able to come in and do a better job.

Read's admission that he had worked harder on his fitness was a stunner. For someone prone to soft tissue injuries not working as hard as possible suggested a level of complacency.

I didn't hear the Ch 7 interview, but I wonder if that comment is more a reflection of our previous fitness/rehab people?

Sam would presumably be working under instruction from them.
Certainly our soft tissue injuries seem to have dropped since Raper & Inness arrived and perhaps they have refined Reid's training program to his benefit?

I really do not get it.

We have paid overs for him. I dont know the numbers but interest from the Pies and other Melbourne clubs drove his price up as a young forward. He owes the Club big time.
I agree with only one of your points, the one where you write 'I really do not get it.' You really don't seem to. I read your posts and my thoughts were, why does a normally rational poster seem to have a genuine chip on his shoulder against Reid?. For some reason you feel the need to denigrate a faithful club servant and revered veteran of our 2012 premiership, you find it amusing to deliberately misspell his name, you label him a B-grade player after being judged our best on ground and so you also insult the rest of our team. You insult Horse by accusing him of playing favourites at the expense of the team.

Maybe Reid does get more set shots, he is our best contested mark after all. If his ability to take those contested marks his kicking more accurate then good on him. He doesn't get handed set shots, he has to earn them. Reid clunks contested marks all over the ground too. His contribution to the team is not only as a forward but also in general play, as an outlet mark, in ruck and in defence. His utility is broad, his presence and pressure is huge. He impacts a lot more contests than he collects a stat for. He's not only our best inside 50 tackler but the 3rd best tackler per game over the entire ground.

The fact that Reid takes a back seat to allow the younger forwards to get more senior time, and works with them in the reserves, speaks volumes of his dedication to the club. His team mates certainly don't feel the way you do. Watch Reid train and you'll see he does nothing by half-measures.

By standing up to Gawn physically, marking in front of him, even out-muscling him at times. By throwing his body into packs, lunging tackles, chasing and harrassing, with little or no thought for his own safety, Reid was an inspiration to this young team. It's not the first time he's clunked a big mark inside 5 0 to settle the team jitters to get us kicking straight. It's not the first time he's made younger players feel braver just knowing he's playing beside them.

All players can work harder on their fitness, though that has to be balanced with other aspects of their games and their lives. Buddy claims to have worked much harder on his fitness over the past couple of years, that doesn't mean he was a slacker before that. Players who are getting older need to work more on their strength, recovery and fitness to help prevent injuries.The way Reid uses his body as a battering ram means he will always be at risk of injury. It was pretty clear to me that Logan was inspired to go in even harder by seeing Reid's efforts against Melbourne.

How about giving credit where it's due? You say Reid owes the club big time? He'd been asked to hold contract talks while more valuable players were secured. He accepted a one year deal to continue playing with the Swans. He was playing reserves until the Richmond game. Yet, when called up he kicked 3 goals against Richmond and then, without Buddy, he stood up and kicked another 3 against Melbourne, leading the team by example. As our best player on that field, his actions inspired a young team to secure a gutsy win against the best team in the comp. That's a pretty handy payback from Reid.

Your are, of course, entitled to an opinion.

I agree with only one of your points, the one where you write 'I really do not get it.' You really don't seem to. I read your posts and my thoughts were, why does a normally rational poster seem to have a genuine chip on his shoulder against Reid?. For some reason you feel the need to denigrate a faithful club servant and revered veteran of our 2012 premiership, you find it amusing to deliberately misspell his name, you label him a B-grade player after being judged our best on ground and so you also insult the rest of our team. You insult Horse by accusing him of playing favourites at the expense of the team.

Maybe Reid does get more set shots, he is our best contested mark after all. If his ability to take those contested marks his kicking more accurate then good on him. He doesn't get handed set shots, he has to earn them. Reid clunks contested marks all over the ground too. His contribution to the team is not only as a forward but also in general play, as an outlet mark, in ruck and in defence. His utility is broad, his presence and pressure is huge. He impacts a lot more contests than he collects a stat for. He's not only our best inside 50 tackler but the 3rd best tackler per game over the entire ground.

The fact that Reid takes a back seat to allow the younger forwards to get more senior time, and works with them in the reserves, speaks volumes of his dedication to the club. His team mates certainly don't feel the way you do. Watch Reid train and you'll see he does nothing by half-measures.

By standing up to Gawn physically, marking in front of him, even out-muscling him at times. By throwing his body into packs, lunging tackles, chasing and harrassing, with little or no thought for his own safety, Reid was an inspiration to this young team. It's not the first time he's clunked a big mark inside 5 0 to settle the team jitters to get us kicking straight. It's not the first time he's made younger players feel braver just knowing he's playing beside them.

All players can work harder on their fitness, though that has to be balanced with other aspects of their games and their lives. Buddy claims to have worked much harder on his fitness over the past couple of years, that doesn't mean he was a slacker before that. Players who are getting older need to work more on their strength, recovery and fitness to help prevent injuries.The way Reid uses his body as a battering ram means he will always be at risk of injury. It was pretty clear to me that Logan was inspired to go in even harder by seeing Reid's efforts against Melbourne.

How about giving credit where it's due? You say Reid owes the club big time? He'd been asked to hold contract talks while more valuable players were secured. He accepted a one year deal to continue playing with the Swans. He was playing reserves until the Richmond game. Yet, when called up he kicked 3 goals against Richmond and then, without Buddy, he stood up and kicked another 3 against Melbourne, leading the team by example. As our best player on that field, his actions inspired a young team to secure a gutsy win against the best team in the comp. That's a pretty handy payback from Reid.

Your are, of course, entitled to an opinion.

As are you. For me the Melbourne game was an anomaly.

First off, I'd like to start by saying that I genuinely want to see Reid succeed and play an important role for us. I acknowledge his role in helping us to win a premiership, however, apart from that year, and maybe 2-3 other stretches of games where he's put together some strong performances, he has really been a passenger for most of his career. Of course, a bunch of soft tissue injuries have contributed to that, but he's come back from those injuries in poor form and has taken a fair amount of games to get back up to speed each time. So imo, injuries and poor form probably make up two thirds of his career.

I feel like some of the comments about Reid being in great form are a little revisionist (based on his last two games). While I agree he was great in the last two rounds, he was in really poor form earlier in the year and was dropped accordingly (1 goal in 3 games).

While RubberDuck quoted his favourable kicking accuracy, I have to agree with Horace, most of Reid's goal attempts are from set shots, and due to his marking ability, are generally in very kickable positions. My memory of Reid (both in the last couple of years, but also throughout his career) is him missing some very gettable shots that he should have put away.

Bar his last two games, he was in poor form earlier this year (and missed a couple of easy shots). He was disappointing last year, and the fact that his contract was put off until the last minute is evidence of that.

He knows each year is potentially his last, so if he's playing like his future depended on it, that's because it is. At his age, he can't afford to be an 'almost' player, he needs to be a player that the team can rely on to play his role, whether that's taking his opportunities in front of goal, battling in the ruck, or taking marks around the ground. If he can't do all three of those consistently, after 12 years in the system, then there are other players waiting to come in and play a role.

With all that said, his last two games were superb, and if he can continue to play like that, with the odd quiet game, then he definitely has a place in the team.

Apparently Sam Reid was asked to get 6 medium Sprites at the drive-thru. But he picked 7 up.

How about giving credit where it's due?

100% this.

I have spent the better part of the last decade complaining about, getting frustrated by, and persistently criticising Reid. Some of that criticism occasionally veered into vitriol (kudos to BruceFromBalnarring and the like for calling me out on that when I wasn't even aware it needed to be done.)

But there is a stubbornness to some fans (not just on here) that simply won't allow them to change their opinion of someone or something, or, at the very least, just give unconditional credit where it is due. I think there is merit to the idea that Reid isn't in our best 22, or that he should be "politely" moved on at the end of the year, or that we should invest more games in the younger forwards. But while he is putting up performances like he has been for the last fortnight - and the majority of the last eighteen months really - it's a moot point. Because everyone knows damn well he's not getting dropped on the back of those performances and that he doesn't deserve to be.

So why the constant "but"s? "He played well BUT...", "He looks okay as second ruck BUT...", "He turned the clock back BUT..."

But nothing. He played well, he'll be in the team again this week, end of. Why can't we just enjoy what he's done for us these last few weeks without there having to be some caveat, as if he's anchored to the ten years before it?

If anything, I actually think his last year and a half has added a bit of weight to whatever his legacy will be. My one consistent criticism over his career was his lack of intensity - getting outbodied too easily, not showing enough physical presence, playing too passively. Whether he was or not, only he can really know. It's just how I always perceived him to play. But the last eighteen months, he's played desperate, hungry, committed footy. No the skill isn't always there, but I've not once doubted his commitment out there since round 1 last year.

There is something very admirable about a player willing to work hard to squeeze every last drop out of his career while he can. That is a good way for him to go out, whenever that will be, and a good way for his career to be regarded.

First off, I'd like to start by saying that I genuinely want to see Reid succeed and play an important role for us. I acknowledge his role in helping us to win a premiership, however, apart from that year, and maybe 2-3 other stretches of games where he's put together some strong performances, he has really been a passenger for most of his career. Of course, a bunch of soft tissue injuries have contributed to that, but he's come back from those injuries in poor form and has taken a fair amount of games to get back up to speed each time. So imo, injuries and poor form probably make up two thirds of his career.

I feel like some of the comments about Reid being in great form are a little revisionist (based on his last two games). While I agree he was great in the last two rounds, he was in really poor form earlier in the year and was dropped accordingly (1 goal in 3 games).

While RubberDuck quoted his favourable kicking accuracy, I have to agree with Horace, most of Reid's goal attempts are from set shots, and due to his marking ability, are generally in very kickable positions. My memory of Reid (both in the last couple of years, but also throughout his career) is him missing some very gettable shots that he should have put away.

Bar his last two games, he was in poor form earlier this year (and missed a couple of easy shots). He was disappointing last year, and the fact that his contract was put off until the last minute is evidence of that.

He knows each year is potentially his last, so if he's playing like his future depended on it, that's because it is. At his age, he can't afford to be an 'almost' player, he needs to be a player that the team can rely on to play his role, whether that's taking his opportunities in front of goal, battling in the ruck, or taking marks around the ground. If he can't do all three of those consistently, after 12 years in the system, then there are other players waiting to come in and play a role.

With all that said, his last two games were superb, and if he can continue to play like that, with the odd quiet game, then he definitely has a place in the team.
It's disingenuous to lead with some false praise before putting the dagger into a favourite whipping boy. Reid was never gifted games. He's never been a passenger. No team carries passengers. No coach gifts games. The fact that Reid still forces his way into the team despite a wealth of competition from young forwards and the injury interruptions to his career suggests the coaches see the value in Sam. He remains our 2nd best tall forward with the added value that he can play in a number of other positions.

I laid out the hit/miss ratio. Ried is not our best forward but he is in the top half. He doesn't miss any more gettable shots than most of our other forwards, but you have a perception. Buddy missed a couple of very gettables this weekend. Papley missed a sitter, Hayward a no-brainer and McDonald missed another gettable set shot. It's unfortunate that your perception colours your view. Perception and reality are often worlds apart.

It's disingenuous to lead with some false praise before putting the dagger into a favourite whipping boy. Reid was never gifted games. He's never been a passenger. No team carries passengers. No coach gifts games. The fact that Reid still forces his way into the team despite a wealth of competition from young forwards and the injury interruptions to his career suggests the coaches see the value in Sam. He remains our 2nd best tall forward with the added value that he can play in a number of other positions.

I laid out the hit/miss ratio. Ried is not our best forward but he is in the top half. He doesn't miss any more gettable shots than most of our other forwards, but you have a perception. Buddy missed a couple of very gettables this weekend. Papley missed a sitter, Hayward a no-brainer and McDonald missed another gettable set shot. It's unfortunate that your perception colours your view. Perception and reality are often worlds apart.
My comment was purely in response to those suggesting he was in great form, so I provided points to contrast that . And as far as my opinion of Reid's kicking being based purely on 'perception', it's really not, I've seen him miss enough sitters that he should have kicked to know the difference between perception and reality. I don't recall the last time he took a shot on the run, but I'm certain it doesn't happen very often.

With that said, I was pleased with his game yesterday, he presented around the ground, took some great marks (especially early on), and applied great pressure. Despite not scoring a goal, the other work he did around the ground was valuable for the team and for that reason he continues to earn his spot in the team. He's doing really well atm and will continue to be picked based on his strong performances.

My comment was purely in response to those suggesting he was in great form, so I provided points to contrast that . And as far as my opinion of Reid's kicking being based purely on 'perception', it's really not, I've seen him miss enough sitters that he should have kicked to know the difference between perception and reality. I don't recall the last time he took a shot on the run, but I'm certain it doesn't happen very often.

With that said, I was pleased with his game yesterday, he presented around the ground, took some great marks (especially early on), and applied great pressure. Despite not scoring a goal, the other work he did around the ground was valuable for the team and for that reason he continues to earn his spot in the team. He's doing really well atm and will continue to be picked based on his strong performances.
Your memory can't be too good. Reid kicked one on the run just two games ago against Richmond, (11:45 in Q3).

Reid kicked the first goal of the Richmond game, before Heeney, Buddy and Gulden missed set shots. Parker kicked true, then the next goal came from Hayward after Reid won the ruck dual with a 2nd effort. Clumsy tackles from Rampe and Hayward gifted Richmond's next goal and Richmond slowly skip out to a dominant lead. 38 goalless minutes pass before Campbell kicks one from long range set shot. Reid misses one - probably one you committed to memory. Rowbottom gets one roving the pack as Reid backs into it, creating a spill. Papleys lines up on 48m dead in front but Bud has a complete brain fade and gives away a free. The ball goes down the other end to a Richmond goal and a 12 point turnaround. The margin is blowing out. Buddy, eager to make amends, marks and goals dead in front. Warner misses on the run. The 1/2 time margin is 25 points.

At the opening of the 2nd half McInerney ambles to the ball as Ralphsmith burns past him and takes ownership of the ball. He shakes off McInerney's half-tackle and handballs to Short who turns and goals from 55 to take the margin back out to 31 points. Florent kicks from 50m but doesn't make the distance. The game is deadlocked, Swans goalless for the last 10 minutes until Reid's pounces on a loose ball, snaps truly around his body and gets us going again. His goal opens the flood gates. Buddy goals and we finally get back to back goals. Then Papley goals, Ladhams misses twice, Heeney's shot is smothered. It's become a real arm wrestle. With 5 seconds to go before half time Reid goals again from a free kick to get the Swans to within one goal. The game is on.

Not only did Reid kick 3 goals, including one on the run, but he threw his body into the packs, either marking or bringing the ball to ground. Reid gets games because he has enormous balls. His courage frequently puts him at risk of injury, but the coaches know he won't shirk a contest. There are players with better skills than Reid, but few with bigger gonads. He certainly doesn't deserve the scorn he gets from some punters.

I must say, I missed a fair portion of that Richmond game, including Reid's goal on the run. I don't disagree with anything you've said. Based on his last 3 performances, it's Reid's spot to lose, and I think he'll hold onto the position with both hands. The only thing that could potentially derail him is injury, and I hope the footy gods are kind to him for the first time in his career.

And given I've sunken the boot into Reid in the past, I'm obligated to heap praise on him when he's performing. You're right, Reid doesn't shirk a contest, he doesn't do things in halves, and he was one of the few that could hold his head high after that monstrosity against Port (coming off two of the best performances of his career). To have gone from being made to wait until the 11th hour to get a contract extension, to playing with real intent and being on the cusp of almost guaranteeing himself a new contract is a great achievement for Sam, and I'm sure he'll play out the year in the same spirit.

I didn't see this coming earlier in the year, so he's proved me wrong.

I must say, I missed a fair portion of that Richmond game, including Reid's goal on the run. I don't disagree with anything you've said. Based on his last 3 performances, it's Reid's spot to lose, and I think he'll hold onto the position with both hands. The only thing that could potentially derail him is injury, and I hope the footy gods are kind to him for the first time in his career.

And given I've sunken the boot into Reid in the past, I'm obligated to heap praise on him when he's performing. You're right, Reid doesn't shirk a contest, he doesn't do things in halves, and he was one of the few that could hold his head high after that monstrosity against Port (coming off two of the best performances of his career). To have gone from being made to wait until the 11th hour to get a contract extension, to playing with real intent and being on the cusp of almost guaranteeing himself a new contract is a great achievement for Sam, and I'm sure he'll play out the year in the same spirit.

I didn't see this coming earlier in the year, so he's proved me wrong.
GTS, you might have started a dangerous trend. If we all start giving credit where it's due what will become of the board?

Seriously though, full credit to you for an honest admission.

Player Watch #20 Sam Reid