2009 Big Footy Official Phantom Draft- Trial Run (Discussion thread)

SYDNEY- Bloods Boy From The Bush

7- Dustin Martin
23- Andrew Moore
39- Andrew Hooper
55- Sam Reid
71- Levi Casboult

Two absolute steals... I would of thought Andrew Moore would be a certainty to be gone by our second pick...

And Surely Reid will gone by pick 55 he has too much potential to go that late in the draft (Especially with the lack of KPP)

I would be over the moon if the Swans got these players

You can't really rate how people are doing in the trial, because picks usually aren't matched up all that importantly to their teams, and people are often just drafting guys to get their names out there.

I think overall the total list of players is pretty solid - There are only one or two guys that I thought would get drafted that missed out.

this guy impressed me more then the bigger names even though he is not that eye catching.

but from what ive seen of duncan he can go anywhere from 15-25, because he is not that flashy and doesnt standout as much as others as well as not being the most athletic, id have him somewere after pick 20, but certainly shouldnt go much later then 25, even west coast's second pick would be the limit youd think.

he wont be a superstar but a very solid player, more consistent and his true worth will be realised at the top level because he does the hard things right.

Pick 69 - WCE - Aaron Black, 196, 85?, Peel Thunder

Simply couldn't resist this KPP at this stage of the draft. Has very good hands in the mark, good lead and an exceptional kick at goal, I am told. Was draftable last year but is a big lad that has come up from the bush this year. Very happy to draft him at this stage.

Pick 69? Wow.

Anyone want to wager that he rises in the real thing more than any other player listed so far?

Great draft for the Lions by quigley. Well done mate. I would be stoked if it ended up this way. Tapscott and Rich give me a good feeling. Mcneil could be a very good servant of the club as well. Very good solid player but not a superstar.

this guy impressed me more then the bigger names even though he is not that eye catching.

but from what ive seen of duncan he can go anywhere from 15-25, because he is not that flashy and doesnt standout as much as others as well as not being the most athletic, id have him somewere after pick 20, but certainly shouldnt go much later then 25, even west coast's second pick would be the limit youd think.

he wont be a superstar but a very solid player, more consistent and his true worth will be realised at the top level because he does the hard things right.

Can't agree with that.

Personally, I see him as a Brendan Goddard type player. He can kick accurately over 55m, is a threat overhead and can move off a line. He's also a very good decision maker. I think he's a perfect fit for the modern game and has plenty of upside relative to the draft pool.

Where he probably slips down a little bit is that he's probably best used off a flank, but I reckon he's every bit as good as the guys being considered top 10 picks.

I was happy with TFLUA's draft. If it went down like that in Nov i would be pleased. Given I don't know much about Harwood but if TFLUA's wrap on him is accurate I would be more than pleased.

I keep viewing Duncan as a Corey/Enright styled player, he will get the job done and be super reliable.
I can picture Duncan being our token West Australian and another Wayne Hughes special slash Jack of all trades with our first pick.

The reaction to his selection would be "But he isn't a tall!" ;) :p

We still need to find a replacement for Stevens or Scotland...

WESTERN BULLDOGS - chb_25

13- Jordan Gysberts
29- Tom Hill
45- Myles Pitt
61- Edward Carr
77- Josh Purcell

Been a very short write up on Hill but nothing else apart from that, not sure if chb_25 is around often as grub conveyed most of his picks. Could someone talk a little about these guys as to be honest I don't know much about them and am interested in players that may be around when we have our picks. Thanks

Just a few short comments divvyvan.

Jordan Gysberts- Midfielder who is a very good player. More footballer than athlete IMO and capable of winning a lot of ball and uses it well.

Tom Hill- Athetic tall who is lightly built but does have talent. Very similar to Baumann in size etc.

Myles Pitt- Key forward who is big bodied and can mark. The exact opposite to Tom Hill.

Ed Carr- Tough on baller who can win his own footy.

Josh Purcell (My pick as chb_25 disappeared)- Medium defender who is aggressive and is a smart player an well.

Wouldn't read TOO much into the selections in the mock. It is merely there to warm out our brains and have a play, get some names on the table and have a discussion. Cards up sleeve until the main one.

If ya wanna judge, go back on previous years. I did so today, was particularly happy with my 2007 draft with all players currently playing AFL. Always good to see how we go to known what track we are on!

Wouldn't read TOO much into the selections in the mock. It is merely there to warm out our brains and have a play, get some names on the table and have a discussion. Cards up sleeve until the main one.

If ya wanna judge, go back on previous years. I did so today, was particularly happy with my 2007 draft with all players currently playing AFL. Always good to see how we go to known what track we are on!
Wouldn't be upset if the Crows read out the same names you said.

Though I only expect us to take 2-3 players.

colyer with 21

fyfe with 37

and someone else with 53, definitely not kickett!

desperately hoping that wont happen in the draft

i heard Kevin Sheahan say that Ayden Kennedy can run 2.90 in the 20m sprint and he could be a 2nd round selection.

Would not surprise me one little bit if he was a 2nd round selection. And in my write up, i probably don't give his kicking as much credit as it deserved which is what Blueboys7 was eluding to. Don't hear a whisper about this bloke around here.

Looking for some feedback on Luke McDonald. Kid is a mile in front in the goal kicking for the U/18 with 8 hauls of 5 goals or more, but noticed he didn't even rate a mention in the Phantom draft. As a Richmond fan he looks like he could be a handy pick up with a late round selection.

i heard Kevin Sheahan say that Ayden Kennedy can run 2.90 in the 20m sprint and he could be a 2nd round selection.

He is very quick for his height which is what makes him a good prospect, once he fills out a little more he could be a very dangerous and exciting player.

As I have said previously in this thread he comes from my footy club so I know a little about him. Not much has been said on this board about him, so he is some what underrated on BF, but his draft camp results will see his prospects elevated and maybe into the second round as recruiter these days hold athetic ability fairly highly on their lists of critea.

He is a good kick on both sides of his body and can take a strong grab. I can see him playing on a wing/HFF/HBF early on and with time in the gym could become more of a KPP but I would say the latter is less likely. His speed and agility is his strength especially for a kid of his size, I would love to snare him in the 3rd round.

Sheehan loves him.

Looking for some feedback on Luke McDonald. Kid is a mile in front in the goal kicking for the U/18 with 8 hauls of 5 goals or more, but noticed he didn't even rate a mention in the Phantom draft. As a Richmond fan he looks like he could be a handy pick up with a late round selection.

Maybe a little similar to Rockcliffe last year when he led the goal kicking bit wasn't drafted till the PSD. I was a little suprised he was overlooked but IMO players with the ability to kick goals should be looked at closely.

just looking to get a bit of info on jaryd cachia
currently playing at northern knights and is in the bests' almost every week
did he get invited to national draft camp or state draft camp??
what are his draft chances etc.
any feedback would be greatly appreciated